1

教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力

来自英语教师

EPQ协调员

 

Louise Chapman

教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力

简述独立学习

对当今许多教育工作者来说,培养学生独立的品质是他们的重要教学目标之一,对于惠灵顿公学大家庭来说,我们也同样关注这一品质的培养。在天津惠灵顿学校,我们十分看重学生对元认知技能的运用,该技能被Zimmerman在其著作中定义为“对自身思维的认识和了解”(2002年著作,第65页)。因此,我们将被动行为转变为主动,鼓励学生在课堂上不要被动地接收知识,而要意识到自己的“个人局限性”(出处同上),进而挑战自己和他人先入为主的一些观念。元认知技能与独立学习彼此关联,通过对自身思维进行元认知思考,学生们会成为“自我管理的学习者”(出处同上);同时避免了Kirschner等人曾指出的问题,即独立学习等于教师给予学生“最低限度的指导”(2010年著作,第75页)或者(通俗来说)“随它去吧”。恰恰相反,学生能够对自己的认知能力有清晰的认识,以便不断反思及构筑自己的学习历程。

高中阶段的学生独立性

我们的高中生们正处于初中和大学教育之间,独立学习的能力是至关重要的:他们即将离开熟悉的课堂式教学,进入讲座、研讨会、和不停赶截止日期交作业的世界。即使是最积极、最坚定的学生,在开始深入学习A Level课程后也需要加强他们的元认知能力,这样才能为将来在所向往的世界顶尖大学学习做好准备。因此,现在我们必须问自己:怎样进一步帮助这些优秀的高中生们提升他们的独立学习能力?

教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力

什么是EPQ?

EPQ项目,即拓展项目资质,是我校于上学年引入的一项资质认证,适用于AS阶段的学生,这一资质认证给出了上述问题的解决方案。参加这一项目的学生需要在他们的A Level课程学习之外再选择一个学科或领域,进行独立的研究项目;他们需要做研究记录,最终汇总成一篇5000字的论文,并就自己的研究项目为没有相关背景知识的观众做演讲。在这个项目中,学生会接受总计时长为30小时的“培训”,内容包括如何运用参考资料、资料分析、时间管理工具等;学生要另外花至少90小时的时间,独立研究、记录、撰写论文和演讲稿。

教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力

教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力

表格1:EPQ项目考察内容表以及各部分所占比重

教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力

EPQ项目与独立的品质

但在这一资格认证项目中,我们并不是让学生们完全依靠自己的力量去完成研究项目,正如Hendrick和Macpherson所指出的:“学生无法就他们未知的事物做出批判性的思考”(2017年著作,第204页)。我们会引导学生运用大量的基本技能来探索自己所选择的领域,例如批判性地剖析一位开创性作者的论点,与一位学科专家进行辩论,或去了解如何评价不同方法的有效性。在EPQ项目阶段,学生对有些技能的运用还比较初级,但这对他们未来在大学的学习是有益处的;因为EPQ项目不仅要求学生在某一学科汲取大量知识,更要挑战他们自己和他人的思考方式。因此,参与EPQ项目的学生们需要去挑战自己的认知和元认知能力。

教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力

英国剑桥大学对此评价道:“我们非常乐见各种拓展项目的引入,鼓励学生们参与其中,因为这有助于学生提高独立学习能力、调查研究的技能;当学生们走入大学就读,这样的活动经历能够帮助他们更好地适应。”

(2020年载于英国资格评估与认证联合会网站)

此外,EPQ项目的一大要素是要求学生自主选择感兴趣的话题。因此,学生对这个话题往往会从仅仅是感兴趣,进而发展为对学生,乃至于对更广泛的学术界都有真正的意义。Hendrick和Macpherson就此写道:“如果教师想要影响学生思维的方式,就需要给予他们世界上真实的、重要的事物去思考”(出处同上)。但我认为,仅仅给这些学有余力的学生教师认为“重要”的内容是不够的——与之相反,允许并给予学生机会通过自己的学习研究,积极地寻找、探索重要的事物更为重要,这样他们更能够从广泛的视角来理解这些事物的重要性。

教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力

EPQ项目“市集”

EPQ项目的最后,是一个供学生展示的舞台。他们需要把自己所撰写的5000字论文转变为引人入胜的演讲。今年10月9日,周五,9名13年级的学生在EPQ市集上进行了精彩演讲,展示了他们所研究的课题,主题涵盖多个方面。详细列表请见下:

1

为什么西巴尔干国家不属于欧盟?他们至今不加入欧盟的主要原因是什么?

2

量子计算机:现代加密技术在未来所面临的风险,以及后量子密码学的不同方式

3

美国经济增长的黄金时代(1950-73年)在多大程度上是由政府干预造成的?

4

感知程度不同对口味和健康的影响:对美味的敏感度如何影响体重

5

古罗马的社会习俗如何影响其人民对杀戮的看法?

6

通过探索朱利亚集合和曼德勃罗集合,将现有概念应用于复数领域,从而创造出深刻的数学思想

7

让龙飞翔:2015年户籍改革背后的经济激励机制,以及相应改革成效

8

我们为何能感到恐惧与愤怒?探索人类情绪背后的真谛,情绪的成因及其影响。

9

罗伯特·诺齐克、约翰·罗尔斯和亚里士多德的正义论在教育平权中的应用

表格2: 13年级学生EPQ项目主题

教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力
教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力
教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力

这样的展示市集在任何一所惠灵顿姊妹校都是首次。莅临活动的惠灵顿(中国)创始人兼理事长乔英女士给予了很高的评价,她对主题的多样性、演讲的质量、学生的自信心以及流利的语言大吃一惊。

教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力
教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力

学生点评EPQ项目

项目的最后一个重点,是由学生探讨自己对EPQ项目的看法。我们挑选了三名13年级的学生回答一些关于他们的EPQ经历的问题。参与者在性别、国籍和项目主题选择方面在同龄人中具有代表性。

教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力

问题一

你在这个项目中最享受哪个部分?

Jurek

教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力

能够自主选择研究任何感兴趣的话题的自由。一切都必须由做EPQ项目的学生自己决定。此外,我可以在更高的层次上,在学校范围之外,研究一个我非常感兴趣的话题。

Eric

教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力

我很喜欢我们在这个项目中的自由度和独立性,因为我们可以根据自己的兴趣选择课题,而不受固定课程的限制。在研究过程中,我们的独立学习也是令人愉快的,因为这让我可以与专家讨论我个人非常感兴趣的领域,从不同的角度来考虑问题,最终达成结论,并最后的演讲中运用前期所学所得,进行简明有效的交流。

Isabela

教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力

我最喜欢EPQ的一点是,它让我学习到了固定课程之外的知识;我所专注研究的主题,我不仅在学术上对它感兴趣,而且情绪上对它充满热情。EPQ所要求的独立性对我来说也是非常有意义的,因为这个项目的进行在很大程度上依赖于自我规划和管理。独立规划、研究、写作和展示的过程,无论在个人还是学术发展方面都让我非常有成就感,我觉得这绝对是未来学习中必不可少的技能。

问题二

你为何选择你的研究课题呢?

Jurek

我之所以选择量子计算对加密技术的影响这个题目,是因为这个问题有两个组成部分:既包括计算机科学和信息技术方面的内容,也包括量子计算背后的物理学。这两个题目我都非常感兴趣,而且计算机科学也是我在大学想学习的专业。因此,我认为在这个项目中获得的课外知识将对我的大学学习很有帮助。

Eric

教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力

我选择研究味觉和健康作为我的研究课题,是因为这两个主题与未来科学的发展息息相关。最近有研究发现味觉受体对人的身体发挥着多方面的作用,我对味觉这个话题很感兴趣。此外,这对我是一个机会,可以利用在大学里能学到的技能来进行研究,并在这个过程中发现我可能存在的任何不足之处。

Isabela

教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力

我决定围绕国际关系主题进行研究,主要是因为我希望明年能在本科阶段学习国际关系专业。更具体地说,我选择研究一个政府间组织,是因为我对这些机构在全球范围内制定和执行政策的方式感兴趣。我个人对西巴尔干地区的政治事务感兴趣,是因为我有阿尔巴尼亚的血统,因此对该地区和大陆的发展有天然的好奇心。

问题三

通过EPQ项目,你学到了什么?

Jurek

教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力

通过EPQ项目我了解到,如果你在一件事情上投入足够的时间,无论这件事多么困难,你最终都能达到目标。另外,我觉得在这段经历中,我独立学习的能力获得了极大的提高。所以,总的来说,我学到了,我自己有能力自学自己感兴趣的题目,只要我投入足够的时间。

Eric

教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力

我在这段时间学习到的是,完成长期项目中时间管理的重要性,以及如何将整个项目拆分成短期内可以实现的小目标,从而缓解来自项目的压力。此外还有批判性地看待所得参考信息的重要性,我需要考察信息来源的可信度和权威性,以及获得信息所采用的方法是否让它适用于我的项目。

Isabela

教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力

我认为我从EPQ项目中学到的最有价值的一点是,在进行一个大型项目时制定计划的重要性。在这个项目的开始,我有点不知所措,因为想到要进行如此大规模的研究和记录;但我很快就了解到,某种形式的计划对规划整个项目是至关重要的。在撰写论文的过程中,我了解到“少而常”的写作技巧远比试图一次性写出大篇幅的文章更容易管理,也更有效;因为我发现这样做往往会使写作更流畅,更有效。这无疑是我在今后的学习中可以运用的一种技巧。

希望这篇文章能令您对学校的EPQ资质项目有了一些了解——它是学校独立精神的体现,当学生们在未来走入大学学习,这样的经历仍能使他们受益。

教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力
教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力
教育焦点丨EPQ项目:帮助高中学生提升独立学习的能力

Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils

From the English Teacher / EPQ Coordinator

Louise Chapman

Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils

A brief overview of independence in learning

Fostering independence in pupils is a goal for many of today’s educators and is also a key focus within the Wellington College China group. At Wellington College Tianjin, much emphasis has been placed on pupils utilising skills of metacognition, defined by Zimmerman as “the awareness of and knowledge about one’s own thinking” (2002, p.65). Thus, by turning implicit into the explicit, we are encouraging pupils to not take in information during lessons passively, but to become aware of their “personal limitations” (ibid) and, by extension, challenge their own and others’ preconceptions. There is a correlation between metacognition and independent learning since, by thinking metacognitively about their own thinking, pupils become “self-regulated learners” (ibid), whilst avoiding the fallacy criticised by Kirschner et al that independence equates to teachers giving “minimal guidance” (2010, p.75) or as it is frequently colloquially expressed, ‘just get on with it’. Instead, pupils have an awareness of their cognitive capabilities in order to reflect upon and structure their own learning experience.

Independence in the sixth form

For our sixth form pupils, the skill of independent learning is crucial as these pupils are on the precipice between secondary and tertiary education: leaving the nurturing familiarity of classroom-based teaching for the world of lectures, seminars and ruthless deadlines. Even the most motivated and determined A-level pupil, who accesses the curriculum at an advanced level, still needs enhanced metacognitive abilities in order to prepare for the demands of the world’s leading universities — destinations for so many of our pupils. Therefore, our question is: how can we further enhance the level of independence in learning in our high attaining sixth form pupils?

Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils

What is EPQ?

The Extended Project Qualification (EPQ) is an AS-level qualification which was introduced to our school last academic year to tackle the question postulated above. Pupils enrolled on the course undertake an independent research project in an area of their choice outside of their A-level studies, the outcome of which is a 5000-word dissertation, production log and presentation to a non-specialist audience. The pupils receive 30 hours of ‘training’ in skills such as referencing, source analysis and time-management tools, whilst the remainder of the qualification time (90 hours plus) is spent researching, logging and writing independently.

Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils

Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils

Table 1: The AQA EPQ Assessment objectives and weightings

Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils

The EPQ and independence

In this qualification, it is not the case that pupils are left entirely on their own to complete the project, as Hendrick and Macpherson note “students cannot think critically about things they do not know” (2017, p.204). Instead, pupils apply the general skills to their chosen area, for example by critically dissecting an argument of a seminal author, engaging in a debate with a subject specialist or knowing how to evaluate the effectiveness of different methodologies. These skills, even if somewhat more rudimentary at the EPQ level, are suited to undergraduate studies since the EPQ requires pupils to not only acquire enhanced subject knowledge but to challenge their own and others’ ways of thinking. Thus, EPQ pupils are challenged both cognitively and metacognitively. The University of Cambridge has commented that:

Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils

 

We welcome the introduction of the Extended Project and would encourage you to undertake one as it will help you develop independent study and research skills and ease the transition from school/college to higher education.

(published on the AQA website, 2020)

Furthermore, a major attraction of the EPQ is that it requires pupils to be autonomous in their topic selection. As a result, the chosen topic will often evolve from merely being of superficial interest to the pupil, to being of genuine significance to both the pupil themselves and even wider academic circles. Hendrick and Macpherson write that “students need to be given real and significant things from the world to think with and about if teachers want to influence how they think about thinking” (ibid). However, I suggest that simply giving our high attaining pupils something which the teacher deems to be ‘significant’ is not enough. Instead, it is important to permit pupils the opportunity to actively seek and explore this significance through their work, generating an understanding of why it is important on a wider scale.

Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils

The EPQ marketplace

The final stage of the EPQ process requires pupils to transform their 5000-word essay into an engaging presentation. On Friday 9th October, the nine year 13 pupils presented their final projects in a marketplace display which contained an array of topics. The extensive list is contained in Table 2.

1

Why are the Western Balkans not part of the European Union and what is the primary cause for their heretofore non-accession?

2

To what extent was the Golden Age of economic growth in the USA (1950-73) caused by government intervention?

3

Quantum Computers: Risks to the future of modern day encryption and different methods of post quantum cryptography.

4

Perceptual Variations in Taste and Health: The Impact of Umami Sensitivity on Body Weight.

5

How did the conventions of Ancient Roman society influence its citizens’ perception of killing?

6

An investigation into how an application of existing concepts to the realm of complex numbers creates insightful mathematical ideas by exploring the theory of Julia and Mandelbrot sets.

7

Let the dragon fly: economic incentives behind the 2014 Hukou reform and the reform’s effectiveness in responding to them.

8

Why do we experience fear and anger? An exploration into the nature of human emotions, their causes and ramifications.

9

An application of the theories of justice of Robert Nozick, John Rawls, and Aristotle on Affirmative Action in education admissions.

Table 2: List of the current year 13’s EPQ titles

Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils
Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils
Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils

The marketplace was the first of its kind in any Wellington international school and Joy Qiao, Founder and Chairman who visited the event, commented that she “was blown away by the diversity of the topics, quality of the presentation, confidence of our pupils and the fluency of their English.”

Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils
Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils

Pupil perception of the EPQ

Our final focus is to explore the perceptions of the EPQ pupils themselves. Three year 13 pupils were selected to answer some questions about their EPQ experience. The participants were representative of the cohort in terms of gender, nationality and project choice.

Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils

Question one

What did you enjoy the most about this programme?

Jurek

Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils

I enjoyed the freedom to be able to research into any topic of interest. Everything had to be decided by the student doing the EPQ.  Furthermore, I was able to research a topic that I am very interested in at a much higher level and outside of the school boundaries.

Eric

Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils

I enjoyed the degree of freedom and independence that we had during the programme as we could select our topics based on our interests without the constraint of a set curriculum. The independence we had during the research process was also enjoyable because it allowed me to discuss a field that I was personally very interested in with experts. I was also able to consider different perspectives to arrive at an understanding and finally, applying that understanding to communicate it simply and effectively at the final presentation.

Isabela

Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils

My favourite aspect about completing the EPQ has been how it has allowed me to learn beyond the typical curriculum and focus on a topic that I am not only academically interested in but also personally passionate about. The independence that the EPQ requires was also very rewarding for me – as undertaking the project very much relies on self-determination and personal agency. The process of independently planning, researching, writing and presenting is very fulfilling in terms of both individual and academic development. It is definitely a skill that I feel will be essential for future study.

Question two

Why did you choose this topic for your project? 

Jurek

I chose the topic of how Quantum computing effects encryption because there are two components to this question. Both the computer science and information technology side of computing, but also the physics behind quantum computing.  I am very interested in both topics, and computer science is a major I want to study at university. Hence, I thought that this would be useful for some extra knowledge.

Eric

Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils

I chose to investigate the topic of taste perception and health for my project because of how relevant the two topics are to the future development of the sciences. I was interested in the topic of taste perception due to the recent discovery of the multifaceted role played by taste receptors in bodily processes […] I saw the opportunity to utilise the skills I have picked up at the university to conduct my own research, and in the process potentially discover any shortcomings that I may have.

Isabela

Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils

I decided to centre my project around international relations primarily due to the fact I hope to study it at an undergraduate level next year. More specifically, I chose to look into an intergovernmental organisation due to my interest in the way in which these bodies create and implement policy on a global scale. My personal interest in the political affairs of the Western Balkan region stems from the fact that I have Albanian heritage and therefore have a natural curiosity in both its regional and continental development.

Question three

What lessons will you take away from the EPQ programme?

Jurek

Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils

From the EPQ I have learnt that if you put enough time into something, no matter how difficult it is you can eventually get to it. Also, I think the biggest skill I have developed over this journey is independence. So, the overall lesson I will take away is that I am capable of self-teaching myself topics that are in my interest if I put enough time into it.

Eric

Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils

The importance of time management when completing a long-term project, and how splitting the entire project into smaller mileposts that are achievable in the short term, can help alleviate the stress of such a project.  Also, the importance in looking at resources critically, from how trustworthy and authoritative a source is, to see if the methodology employed by the source makes it appropriate to use within the context of my project.

Isabela

Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils

I think that the most valuable lesson that I will take away from the EPQ programme is the importance of planning when undertaking a large project. Towards the beginning of the process, I found myself somewhat overwhelmed at the thought of carrying out research and notetaking on such a large scale – and soon learned that some form of planning is crucial to organising this process. In terms of the writing process, I learnt that a ‘little and often’ technique is far more manageable and effective than trying to write large portions of the essay at once, as I find this often makes writing more fluent and cohesive. This is certainly a technique that I can apply to future study.

We do hope this article has provided some insight into the EPQ qualification offered at the College – promoting a culture of independence in learning which ultimately benefits our pupils as they move toward their university of choice.

Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils
Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils
Educational Insights丨Developing Independence in our Pupils