The Week Ahead 9 March 2018

 

MEET THE MASTER
Master’s Office
1400hrs-1515hrs
Thursday 15th March

This week, the Meet the Master slot is aimed at parents of pupils in Years 12 and 13. If you would like to attend, please confirm via email with Ms. Emma Shi (emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn) by Wednesday 14th March.

Parents are reminded to collect their children promptly at the end of school each day. If you cannot be at school in good time, please contact Mrs Cissy Zhao (cissy.zhao@wellingtoncollege.cn) to arrange for supervision. Children cannot be left unsupervised on school grounds once the school day is finished.

THE NEST
Common Room
0900hrs-1000hrs
Wednesday 14th March

Every Wednesday morning from 0900hrs, parents will have the chance to engage with the school in sessions that cover all aspects of your child’s education, from the Early Years to A Levels and university admissions. The venue will vary according to the anticipated audience, and for next week’s meeting, Mrs Dionne Zantua, the Head of Early Years, will discuss the personal, social and emotional development of pupils in the Nest at Wellington.

The personal, social and emotional development (PSED) of children, as an indicator of higher cognitive ability and future success in life, is this week’s topic in the Nest Parents’ Briefing. Mrs Zantua will deliver this session with an overview of PSED and offer some practical tips for parents to enhance this skill. In addition, Mrs Stephanie Lewis will also introduce parents to Makaton, a programme of using signs and symbols designed to support spoken language in younger children. We hope to see you there!

KOREAN UNIVERSITIES
Common Room
0930hrs-1015hrs
Tuesday 13th March

There will be a special Parent Briefing this week on Tuesday, 13th March in the Common Room. Mrs Jayne Sabio, the Head of Sixth Form, will give an overview of the latest news and developments in the process of application to Korean universities.

Parents’ Evening: Years 7 and 8
Dining Hall
1700hrs-1830hrs
Thursday 15th March

Parents’ Evening for the parents of pupils in Years 7 and 8 will be held on Thursday, 15th March from 1700hrs to 1830hrs in the Dining Hall. Pupils should make appointments with their teachers in advance to ease the queues that can form at such events.

Parents will have an opportunity to talk to their child’s teachers about their performance this term. Members of the Senior Management team will be present to address any questions that parents might have.

FROM THE HEAD OF SIXTH FORM
University Visits
Thursday 15th March

There will be two visits from two very different universities next Thursday 15th March.

The International College of Liberal Arts, Yamanashi Gakuin University, Japan will give a presentation in the Seldon Theatre from 1000hrs until 1035hrs to all pupils in Years 10, 11 and 12. The presentation will be followed by questions on studying in Japan in general. Parents of pupils in ALL year groups are welcome to attend.

We will also have a visit from PolyU – The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, one of the top universities in Hong Kong and ranked 20th in the world in the Young University Rankings (2017). The Admissions’ officers will be in the Sixth Form Common Room from 1230hrs. Any pupils interested in applying to universities in Hong Kong in the future should go and speak to them. This is open to pupils in all year groups. Parents are also welcome to drop in.

Positive Parenting Class (basic)
MB125
0930hrs-1130hrs
every Monday
Charges: 30RMB/time or 200RMB/8 times

Positive Discipline is a programme designed to teach young people to become responsible, respectful and resourceful members of their communities. Based on the best-selling positive discipline book by Dr Jane Nelsen, it teaches important social and life skills in a manner that is deeply respectful and encouraging for both children and adults.

Parents will learn to avoid power struggles while helping their children to learn self-control and self-discipline. Classes are in a small group setting, allowing deeper discussions and very personalized experience.

www.positivediscipline.com

Art Class
Junior Art Room
0830hrs-1100hrs
every Friday 

The Art trip to YangliuQing that we organized will remain in our best memories. The very day of the Lantern Festival provided a wonderful atmosphere of celebration. The view of thousands of lanterns around the city was indescribable. Our trip through time enabled us to see how people were thinking artistically 400 years ago, as well as to see the applied artefacts from 19th century. We will continue the fun from the YangliuQing print workshop this week by colouring characteristic traditional New Year paintings. Join us in exploring symbols of how generations wish for successful and auspicious new year.

 

Art is a real connecting link of our lives. Reconnect yourself! Art always helps as a best friend.

 

Lower Level EAL Class
MB 235
0830hrs-0930hrs
every Tuesday 

This class is for beginner level learners who would like to improve their grammar, vocabulary and all-round language skills.

Higher Level EAL Class
MB 231
1100hrs-1200hrs
every Thursday

This class is for more confident learners who would like to extend their grammar and vocabulary and will have a focus on improving spoken fluency.

Pilates
Dance Studio
0900hrs-1000hrs
every Tuesday 

Dance Studio
0930hrs-1030hrs
every Friday

Pilates is a physical exercise system developed by Joseph Pilates. It is complete coordination of body, mind and spirit. Pilates focuses on core strength and balanced muscle development as well as flexibility and increased range of motion for the joints. So, don’t hesitate, join our classes and feel better. You are warmly welcomed.

WCA Yoga
Dance Studio
0900hrs-1000hrs
every Wednesday 

Welcome to our newly introduced yoga classes at Wellington College. Yoga philosophy and practice has its origin in India. The word ‘Yoga’ comes from the word “yuj”, which means “to yoke”, to unite your body and mind. Regular yoga practice helps your body to become strong, flexible, balanced and healthy. The same will happen with your mind. Yoga has become very popular all around the world for its healing benefits. It does not matter if you are new to yoga or a regular practitioner; everyone is welcome.

每周快讯 2018年3月9日

 

校长室
3月15日 周四
14:00-15:15

本周与校长见面主要面向12年级和13年级的学生家长。如果您想要参加,请在3月14日周三之前发送邮件给Emma 石老师进行预约(emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn)

 

温馨提示
各位家长请在放学时间准时从学校接走孩子。如果您不能按时到校接孩子,请您联系Mrs Cissy Zhao赵老师 (cissy.zhao@wellingtoncollege.cn)以便安排老师进行照看。学校放学以后孩子不能在无人看管的情况下在校园内自行玩耍逗留。

员工休息室
3月14日 周三
9:00-10:00

每周三上午9:00,家长们将有机会参与到学校的各项有关您孩子教育的工作中,从早期教育到A Level以及大学录取工作全都会有所涉及。地点会根据参加的观众有所不同,下周的分享会将由幼儿园园长 Mrs Dionne Zantua 向您介绍在惠灵顿幼儿园,孩子们的个性、社交和情感的成长情况。

孩子们的个性、社交和情感成长(PSED),是在未来取得成功的重要认知能力的指标,这也将是本周幼儿园家长分享会的主题。Mrs Zantua 将在分享会上概述PSED并为家长提供如何帮助孩子强化相关技能的实用的小贴士。此外,Mrs Stephanie Lewis也将向家长们介绍Makaton,这是一套标识和符号系统,主要用于帮助低龄的孩子进行口语的学习。期待您的到来!

韩国大学
员工休息室
3月13日 周二
9:30 -10:15 

3月13日周二在员工休息室将举办一场特殊的家长介绍会。届时,高中部主管Mrs Jayne Sabio将向您介绍有关韩国大学申请流程的最新情况。

家长会:7年级和8年级
学校餐厅
3月15日 周四
17:00-18:30

3月15日周四17:00-18:30将在学校餐厅举办7年级和8年级学生家长会。学生们需要提前和他们的老师进行预约,以便减少家长的排队等候时间。

届时,各位家长能够有机会和孩子的老师讨论学生的学习情况和表现。教学高管团队的成员们也将到场解答您的疑问。

大学来访
3月15日 周四

3月15日周四将有两所大学来访我校。

日本山梨学院大学国际文理学院将于10:00-10:35 在塞尔登剧场为全体10年级,11年级和12年级的学生举办宣讲会。简短介绍之后,在提问环节他们将解答到日本留学的相关问题。诚挚欢迎各年级的学生家长前来参加。

我们还将迎来PolyU–香港理工大学的来访,这是香港顶尖学府之一,同时在世界新型大学排名(2017年)中位列第20 。当天12:30之后,该校的招生部老师将在高中部学生休息室办公。对于未来想要申请香港大学的学生们应该去和招生老师们了解相关情况。欢迎各个年级的学生们前去咨询。同时也欢迎各位家长的到来。

正面管教课程(基础班)
主楼125教室
每周一9:30-11:30
费用: 人民币30元/课时,或人民币200/8课时
联系方式:杨晨  13132235299

正面管教家长课堂到底长啥样?看完《正面管教》书觉得很好,但是体会不深刻,也不知如何用?想要进一步了解风靡美国40年的家庭教育方式?就让WCA正面管教家长课来帮助你吧!

无论你有多爱你的孩子,在养育的过程中总会让你遇到烦恼、难过、纠结、沮丧、不知所措的时候。每当孩子在商场哭闹着要买玩具,在饭桌前挑三拣四不想吃饭,在学校学习懈怠,晚上不想睡觉、早上拒绝起床,你是如何解决这些问题的呢?每一位父母都希望自己的孩子学习认真,生活自律、有爱有责任感、愿意合作、自信、有解决问题的能力……那如何才能培养孩子的这些品质和技能呢?

WCA正面管教家长课将会让你了解孩子的成长信息,帮助你找到育儿的有效方法和技能。当你掌握了正面管教的育儿方式后,就会有自信、有技巧、有尊严的运用自己的心灵和智慧找到自己解决问题的答案。

正面管教家长课让你打开读懂孩子的大门。每周两个小时的学习,持续学习,就能获得亲子教育的新知。与新知家长们一起,懂孩子,受益的将不仅是你的孩子还有你的亲密关系和你自己。

我能收获到什么:

1.    学习正面管教的基础理论知识

2.    解密亲子关系

3.    学会有效的亲子沟通

4.    找到孩子错误行为背后目的

5.    良好的情绪管理

6.    找到适合孩子的教育方式

7.    自我成长

艺术课程
小学艺术教室
每周五08:30-11:00

我们刚刚举办的杨柳青艺术之旅将成为美好的记忆。因为正值元宵佳节,充满了节日的气氛。城市中被花灯装点的分外妖娆。本次参观活动让我们看到400年前的人们是如何进行艺术创作的,同时也了解到19世纪以来实用手工制品的情况。我们将继续杨柳青年画的创作,使旅行的欢乐继续。请您加入我们,一起探索这些传承多年的创作形式,也为新一年的吉祥顺遂祈福。

艺术能够帮助我们建立起和生活的联结,以及自我的联结!艺术始终是我们最好的朋友!

初阶英语课程
MB 235教室
每周二 8:30-9:30

本课程适合初学者水平,帮助他们提高语法水平,词汇和全面语言能力。

高阶英语课程
MB 231教室
每周四 11:00-12:00

本课程适合对自己目前语言水平更有信息的学习者,帮助他们进一步拓展语法和词汇,并且专注在提高口语流利程度上。

普拉提
舞蹈教室0900hrs-1000hrs
每周二

舞蹈教室0930hrs-1030hrs
每周五

普拉提是一项由Joseph Pilates开发的身体运动系统。它全面协调了身体,意志和精神。普拉提专注核心肌肉群和平衡肌肉群的发展,增强柔韧性和关节机能。那么不要犹豫,来参加我们,来感受改变。期待你的加入。

WCA 瑜伽
舞蹈教室 每周三上午9:00-10:00 

欢迎参加在天津惠灵顿学校新开设的瑜伽课程。瑜伽哲学和功法起源于印度。“瑜伽”这个词来源于“yuj”这个词,意是“去除束缚”,将身心统一起来。定期的瑜伽练习可以帮助你的身体变得强壮、灵活、平衡和健康。对您的精神面貌也是如此。瑜伽在世界各地都很受欢迎,因为它的治愈效果很好。无论您是初学者还是资深瑜伽爱好者,这都没关系,我们欢迎每个人来参加。