The Week Ahead 7 December 2017

Dear Parents

This is the final Week Ahead piece of the term, but there is still so much to do next week that it represents something of a bumper edition. My colleagues, members of the WCA, and indeed a couple of pupils, outline the key events for next week, as well as reporting back on some highlights of the week in review.

I hope you have enjoyed this format of the Week Ahead over the term. The aim has been to offer some thoughts about the school and its forward momentum; inform parents and friends of Wellington of imminent calendar events and to allow time for some reflection of the week just gone, usually with a specific emphasis on the work in the Junior School. The Week Ahead is one of the most important ways for us to communicate news to our community, and it is published each Thursday in email form, via our WeChat channel and in hard copy, pinned in our three main language versions, to the Bus Hall noticeboard. I trust that, in whatever format you choose to read it, you have found it to be a useful guide to what’s on at Wellington.

The Week Ahead will be back in January. You will find a more thorough celebration of the term and a preview of the key diary events for the coming year, in my End of Term letter, which goes out to parents on Friday 15th December. In the meantime, let me take this opportunity to thank you all for your support for the school this term and to wish all our families and friends a peaceful holiday season.

Best wishes
Julian

Parents’ Meeting: Year 11 AL Induction Year
Sixth Form Common Room
1700hrs-1800hrs
Thursday 14th December

Parents’ Evening for the parents of the pupils in Year 11 (AL Induction Year) is on Thursday, 14th December from 1700hrs to 1800hrs in the Sixth Form Common Room. The meeting will cover your child’s progress, areas for improvement and the holiday homework set by the subject teachers.

Year 11 Science Trip
0930hrs-1500hrs
Tuesday 12th December

The Science department has organized a day trip to Tianjin TASLY Pharmaceutical Co Ltd. for all Year 11 pupils on Tuesday, 12th December. The School Bus departs at 0930hrs and will be back by 1500hrs. This trip will help pupils to develop some understanding about various techniques used in Pharmaceutical industries like Polymerase Chain reactions (PCR) and high-performance liquid Chromatography (HPLC). There will be chance to visit their health exhibition centre and research centre.

Christmas Concert
Theatre
1900hrs
Wednesday 13th December 

We warmly welcome you to attend our annual Christmas concert, where you will see a mixture of choirs, ensembles and the Wellington Orchestra. You will hear some well-known music with an international flavour and the beautiful Christmas carols, traditional and new. This is a great occasion for friends and family of the Wellington community to come together and celebrate the festive season, and see our fantastic pupils perform on stage. Feel free to wear your favourite Christmas jumper and we hope you will join us for some refreshments after the concert.

The Nest: Pyjama Party
1200hrs-1500hrs

Eaglets
Thursday 14th December

Nursery, Reception and Year 1
Friday 15th December

Children in the Nest are invited to wear their favourite pyjamas on Thursday, 14th December for Eaglets and Friday, 15th December for Nursery, Reception and Year 1. Please ensure that pyjamas are modest and within the school dress code policy. Children will read stories, sing carols and enjoy warm cocoa with marshmallows and cookies. The day ends with a special visit from Santa with gifts for all the children.

Winter Book Fair
Outside the Black Box
0900hrs-1600hrs
Thursday and Friday 14th -15th December

Long winter evenings offer us a perfect opportunity to enjoy reading. It is an ideal time for the Winter Book Fair at Wellington. On the 14th and 15th December, we will have as our guest one of the biggest foreign language bookstores in Beijing. Every child and adult will be able to find interesting books at attractive prices, so please come an browse the selections!

Milepost 3 River Walk
0830hrs-1130hrs,
Monday 11th  December


Milepost 3 will be going on a river walk on Monday to see the Grand Canal as it runs through Tianjin. This will be part of our conclusion to the topic “Go with the Flow”.

Milepost 3 Exit Point
0900hrs-1030hrs,
Thursday 14th December


Years 5 and 6 will be celebrating the conclusion of our topic “Go with the Flow” with an exhibition of work in the lunch hall at 0900hrs followed by some musical items in the Theatre at around 0930hrs.

 

Art Class
Junior Art Room
0830hrs-1100hrs
every Friday 

Christmas decorations that WCA Art Classes made for the Charity Bazaar will be exhibited in the music atrium as a prelude to Christmas time. The Music Department will be the new home of our Christmas decorations before they find a final warm home to start celebrating Christmas. Wellington mums want to decorate some space for kids at school as well as for hardworking teachers while they are diligently practising for plenty of Christmas concerts around the city, and to support them in thriving through the final days of the Michaelmas term.

Beside parents, students from the Art Recycling After School Activity will be involved in charity work as well, making various useful things.

We will continue with applying the decoupage technique on some new and useful home products on Friday. Feel free to contact me and join us in the Junior Art room.

Pilates
Black Box
1100hrs-1200hrs 
every Tuesday 


Dance Studio

0930hrs-1030hrs
every Friday

Pilates is physical exercise system developed by Joseph Pilates. It is complete coordination of body, mind and spirit. Pilates focuses on core strength and balanced muscle development as well as flexibility and increased range of motion for the joints. So, don’t hesitate, join our classes and feel better.

You are warmly welcomed.

There were 28 parents attending our Open Day this week. We had as usual Year 6 ambassadors to show the parents around: KaiYi, Alex, Julia and Jason – a huge thank you to these wonderful children, who confidently explained the superb learning opportunities that are taking place in the school. The parents were shown around the classes to see the excellent teaching and learning. One group of parents was also privileged to see the Junior School choir rehearsal.

There is lots of learning in the Junior School: Year 1 were practising their subtraction skills; Mandarin pupils were having a reading comprehension quiz; the Year 3 Immersion class sang the Gruffalo song, read their Gruffalo story to the parents and showed off their table Maths skills and angle knowledge; Year 6 were finding coordinates in four quadrants.

We also took parents to the library which is now is more ‘child-friendly’; please do visit it to see the new bookshelves and seating area. There also many parent books in the library that parents can borrow – please see Ms Jola for any support you may require.

Our next open day will be Tuesday 23rd January. Please ensure that you email Polly Zhang at polly.zhang@wellingtoncollege.cn if you are interested in attending; attendance is by registration only. The open morning is to show parents around the whole school to see the excellent learning in ALL lessons and classes. Therefore, please be mindful that we will not be spending the whole morning in one class, but in every class around the school for approximately ten minutes in each lesson.

Several Classes won the 100% Attendance award: Year 2C, Year 4W, Year 5O, Year 5F, Year 6B – well done everybody; you get 10 minutes extra play time.

During our Celebration Assembly, we heard Siya and Suah playing a four-hand piano duet, a piece from Carmen the opera.

The children in the Junior School are bringing in their Exit Point projects, which are amazing. We like to display the children’s hard work along the corridors to parents and children, however, unfortunately some children’s projects have been damaged by accidentally touching. Please can you support the school and the children’s very hard work by not touching the projects or allowing your children to do so? Your support will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Golden Learning Moment 

Year 5 is using Talk4Writing to learn to write poems. Elena read a few Czech poems to the class to show us how rhyme and rhythm in poetry is similar across languages.

These are the House door winners in the Junior school and Nest. Congratulations to Mrs. O’Donoghue Year 5 class and Mr Philpott’s Year 3 class and Ms Monika’s Nursery class.

 

Korean Cultural Centre Trip in Beijing

On Wednesday 29th November, pupils from Years 9 to 11 embarked on a trip to the Korean Culture Centre in Beijing, a centre made to promote awareness of Korean culture in China.  Whilst there we learnt more about the rich culture and the beliefs of the Haenyeo women, a practice that the UNESCO added to its list of Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity for its 2000 years of history.

During the course of the day, we learnt about their daily life and how the people dive for sea urchins and other edible sea life without the use of artificial machinery. These surprising women show a lot of courage in returning daily to an ocean that might one day be their graveyard. As the main breadwinners of their families, they return after 8 hours of work to roast their snacks and feed their families.

The exhibition also introduced us to a wide variety of traditional Korean food for different occasions such as weddings and funerals, gave us access to a library with over 20,000 Korean books and shared the mission and vision of the Centre in bringing Korean culture to the world.

We would like to express our gratitude to Mr Ogando, Mrs Kim and Ms Jesudoss for giving up their time to be with us on the trip and we would like to give special thanks to Mrs Kim for organizing this entertaining, educational and cultural trip.

Monday 11 December 2017
0830hrs – 1130hrs
Milepost 3 River Walk (RWB)

1400hrs – 1530hrs
Mile Post 2: Exit Point (EP)

1500hrs – 1830hrs
HS Basketball vs TIS (a) (SC)

Tuesday 12 December 2017
0830hrs
Science Trip (Year 11) (DA)

1100hrs – 1200hrs
WCA: Pilates (Black Box)

1400PM – 1830hrs
MS Volleyball vs TEDA IS (a) (SC)

Wednesday 13 December 2017
1600hrs – 1730hrs
HS Boys’ Basketball vs TIS (h) (SC) (Sports Centre)

1900hrs
Christmas Concert (FG) (Theatre)

Thursday 14 December 2017
All Day
Winter Book Fair (to 15th) (JP)

0900hrs – 1030hrs
Mile Post 3: Exit Point (RWB)

1500hrs – 1830hrs
MS Boys’ Volleyball vs TIS (h) (SC)

1700hrs – 1800hrs
Parents’ Meeting (Year 11 AL Induction Year) (YY)

Friday 15 December 2017
All Day
Winter Book Fair (JP)

0830hrs – 1100hrs
WCA: Art Class (KM) (Junior Art Room)

0840hrs – 0930hrs
Junior School ASA Showcase (YT) (Theatre)

0930hrs – 1030hrs
WCA: Pilates (Dance Studio)

1200hrs – 1500hrs
The Nest: Pyjama Party (DZ) (The Nest)

每周快讯 2017年12月7日

亲爱的各位家长:

这是本学期最后一次的《每周快讯》(Week Ahead),下周学校仍旧有非常多的活动。我的同事们,惠灵顿社群联盟(WCA)的成员们,还有学生们,下周,都活跃在各类校园活动中。本期的上周回顾,您也可以看到相关的信息。

我们希望这个学期的《每周快讯》对您有帮助。阅读它,您能够知晓学校的讯息和趋势;通知家长和惠灵顿友人近期活动;对过去一周活动亮点进行回顾,通常是小学部上周活动要点。《每周快讯》是学校与惠灵顿社群进行讯息沟通最重要的方式之一,于每周四通过邮件的形式发出,通过微信平台发布,三种语言纸质版张贴在主楼校车等候厅的公告栏上。我相信,无论您习惯于何种阅读方式,都可以访问Week Ahead,了解校内的各项事务。

下期Week Ahead将于1月份出版。12月15日,来自我本人的本学期总结邮件将发送给各位家长,您将读到学期回顾和未来重要的学校活动。在此,请允许我向您致以我最诚挚的感谢,感谢您给予学校的支持。祝愿您和家人度过平安快乐的假期。

此致
校长 Julian Jeffrey

家长会:11年级AL 预备年级
高中部自习室238
12月14日 周四
17:00-18:00

11年级(AL 预备年级)学生家长会将在12月14日周四17:00-18:00举行,地点在高中部休息室238教室。家长会上将介绍您孩子的进步情况,需要提高的方面以及各学科老师布置的假期作业。

11年级科学之旅
12月12日 周二
9:30-15:00

科学学科组将在12月12日周二组织11年级学生赴天津天士力制药公司参观。校车将在9:30出发并在15:00返回。本次参观活动将帮助学生们了解多种制药工艺,例如聚合酶链反应(PCR)以及高效液相层析 (HPLC) 届时学生将有机会参观健康展示中心以及研发中心。

圣诞音乐会
塞尔登剧场
12月13日 周三
19:00

我们诚挚地欢迎您前来参加我们的年度圣诞音乐会,您将欣赏到一系列的合唱表演,以及惠灵顿管弦乐队的表演。您将听到一些世界闻名的曲目,优美的圣诞颂歌,包括传统曲目和新曲目。这是惠灵顿社群大家庭以及各位好朋友们欢聚一堂庆祝圣诞季的机会,您也将有机会在舞台上看到我们学生们的出色表演。当天您可以穿着喜爱的圣诞服饰,音乐会后有饮料供应,我们期待您的加入。

幼儿园:睡衣派对
雏鹰班12月14日 周四
小班,中班和大班
12月15日 周五

幼儿园的孩子们可以在睡衣派对上穿着自己最喜欢的睡衣,雏鹰班的孩子派对时间是12月14日周四,小班,中班和大班学生的活动时间在12月15日周五。请确保睡衣适宜在学校穿着并且符合学校的着装要求。孩子们将读故事,合唱并且享用热可可饮料以及棉花糖和饼干。当天活动结束时将有圣诞老人来访并给所有的孩子们发放小礼物。

冬季图书展
黑箱剧场外
12月14日-15日 周四和周五
9:00-16:00

漫长的冬季夜晚给了我们享受阅读的完美时间。这也是惠灵顿举办冬季书展的最佳时间。在12月14日和15日,我们将迎来北京最大外文书店来访。每个孩子和大人都能够在书展上找到适合自己的图书和低廉的价格,欢迎您前来浏览选购!

Milepost 3 河滨漫步
12月11日 周一
8:30-11:30

Milepost 3将在周一进行河滨漫步以便观察大运河流经天津的河段。这将作为我们的主题单元“顺流而下” 结课活动的一部分。

Milepost 3 单元结课
12月14日 周四
9:00-10:30

5年级和6年级将庆祝主题活动“顺流而下”将以作品展的形式作为结尾,展览将在9:00于餐厅举行,之后9:30 将在剧场有音乐作品表演。

艺术课
小学艺术教室
0830hrs-1100hrs, 每周五 

WCA艺术课上大家为圣诞集市制作的装饰品将在音乐走廊展览。音乐教室将暂时成为这些圣诞装饰的新家,直到他们最终在圣诞庆祝活动上找到自己的家。惠灵顿的妈妈们想要为孩子们装饰校园,同时也为辛勤准备圣诞音乐会的老师们装饰教室,也在Michaelmas学期的最后一周支持他们圆满完成本学期的学习生活。

除了家长们,参加艺术回收课后活动的学生们也将参与到慈善活动中来,并将回收来的物品制作成各种有用的物品。

周五,我们将继续把剪纸装饰工艺应用在一些日常物品上。请您随时联系我并加入我们的小学艺术教室活动。

普拉提
黑箱剧场
每周二 11:00-12:00  

舞蹈教室
每周五 9:30-10:30

普拉提是一项由Joseph Pilates开发的身体运动系统。它全面协调了身体,意志和精神。普拉提专注核心肌肉群和平衡肌肉群的发展,增强柔韧性和关节机能。所以请不要犹豫,加入我们成为更好的自己。热烈欢迎你的加入。

共有28位家长参加了我们本周的开放日。同以往一样,由6年级的学生领袖带领家长们参观了校园,学生领袖成员有:KaiYi, Alex, Julia and Jason – 感谢这些优秀的孩子们,他们自信满满地向家长们介绍了校内的各项教学活动。家长们参观了课堂,观摩了出色的教学活动。一部分家长还观看了小学合唱团的排练。

小学部的学习内容十分丰富:1年级的学生正在练习减法;学中文的学生参加了阅读理解测试;3年级的浸入式教学演唱了咕噜牛之歌,向家长们阅读了咕噜牛的故事并展示了他们的数学和三角知识;6年级学习了在四象限中定位坐标。

家长们还被带去参观了我们更加方便儿童使用的图书馆;请一定来看一看新的书架和座椅区域。图书馆里同样有许多适合家长们阅读和借阅的书籍 – 如果您有需求,请联系Ms Jola。

下一个开放日将设在1月23日星期二。如果您有意参加,请一定发邮件给Polly Zhang进行预约登记,她的邮箱是polly.zhang@wellingtoncollege.cn。在早间开放日中,我们将带领家长们参观校园,观摩全部课程和班级中的精彩教学活动。因此,届时我们将不会只停留在一间教室内,而是会观摩每一个教室,在每间教室大约停留10分钟左右的时间,敬请请知悉。

部分班级赢得了100%的出勤奖:Year 2C, Year 4W, Year 5O, Year 5F, Year 6B – 干得好!你们赢得了10分钟额外的游戏时间。
在我们的庆祝集会中,我们聆听了Siya和Suah演奏的四手联弹钢琴二重奏,曲目选自歌剧《卡门》。

小学部的孩子们带来了精彩的单元结课作业。我们欣喜地在走廊向家长和学生们进行了展示,然而不幸的是,有些孩子的作品被不小心碰坏了。请您一定支持学校及孩子们的辛勤工作,请不要触摸也不要让您的孩子这样做。感谢您的大力支持,谢谢!

黄金学习时刻 

5年级运用Talk4Writing学习了写诗。Elena通过在班里朗读捷克诗歌来向我们展示了诗歌的韵律和节奏是可以跨越语言的。

下面是小学和幼儿园的学院赢家,恭喜Mrs. O’Donoghue的5年级班级, Mr Philpott’s的3年级班级,以及Ms Monika’s的幼儿园小班。

 

北京的韩国文化中心之旅

11月29日周三,9-11年级的学生出发前往北京的韩国文化中心,该中心致力于在中国推广韩国文化。我们此行丰富了对于韩国文化的认知,了解了Haenyeo女性的事迹,在2000年的历史中,联合国教科文组织将其列入人类非物质文化遗产名录。

在当天的课程中,我们了解了他们的日常生活,人们如何浮潜去取海胆,以及其他在没有人工机械的条件靠海为生的生活方式。这些令人钦佩的女性们每天都冒着葬身大海的风险回归到海中劳作。作为家中的顶梁柱,她们每天都要劳作8个小时来养家糊口。

展览会上,我们看到了来自韩国的各类传统美食,比如在婚礼、葬礼等场合大家会吃些什么。还有超过2万本的韩国书籍,与参观者共享韩国文化的愿景。我们想在此感谢Mr Ogando老师、Mrs Kim老师和Ms Jesudoss老师大力支持此次出行,并特别感谢Mrs Kim老师组织此次富有教育性和文化性的旅行。

2017年12月11日周一
8:30AM – 11:30AM
Milepost 3 河滨漫步 (RWB)

2:00PM – 3:30PM
Mile Post 2: 单元结课 (EP)

3:00PM – 6:30PM
高中篮球赛 vs TIS (a) (SC)

2017年12月12日 周二
8:30AM
科学学科参观 (11年级) (DA)

11:00AM – 12:00AM
WCA: 普拉提 (黑箱剧场)

2:00PM – 6:30PM
初中排球比赛 vs TEDA IS (a) (SC)

2017年12月13日 周三
4:00PM – 5:30PM
高中男生篮球赛vs TIS (h) (SC) (体育馆)

7:00PM
圣诞音乐会 (FG) (剧场)

2017年12月14日 周四
全天
冬季书展 (持续到15日) (JP)

9:00AM – 10:30AM
Mile Post 3: 单元结课 (RWB)

3:00PM – 6:30PM
初中男生排球赛vs TIS (h) (SC)

5:00PM – 6:00PM
家长会 (11年级 AL 预备年级) (YY)

2017年12月15日 周五
全天
冬季书展 (JP)

8:30AM – 11:00AM
WCA: 艺术课 (KM) (小学艺术教室)

8:40AM – 9:30AM
小学课后活动成果展示(YT) (剧场)

9:30AM – 10:30AM

WCA: 普拉提 (舞蹈教室)

12:00PM – 3:00PM
幼儿园: 睡衣派对 (DZ) (幼儿园)