The Week Ahead 16 November 2017

Dear Parents,

One of the pleasures of working within the Wellington group of schools is that we have considerable contact among the teaching and administrative staff with our peers across the globe. We have a visit next week from a senior colleague from the UK, Mr Iain Henderson. Mr Henderson is our formal link to the UK, in his capacity as Deputy Head in charge of Educational Partnerships, as it is rather dryly termed. This means he maintains links to all the Wellington schools, and thus is uniquely positioned to help us to coordinate our shared plans and values. He will be offering our staff training in coaching. This is not to be mistaken for sports’ coaching, although the skills of a good coach in athletics or football are also those of the skilled educational coach. At its most fundamental, coaching is the art of asking the right questions of the person being ‘coached’; by drawing out their own, internalised insights, this method establishes an inherent determination to enact the changes needed, rather than adopt the advice of others. It is this encouragement of reflective practice and asking questions, rather than imposing answers, which makes coaching such a potentially powerful tool in learning, and I am delighted that we have so many colleagues undergoing the various stages of the training.

The College has an on-going commitment to offering its staff, from both the academic and non-academic teams, the finest opportunities in professional development. In this way, we can foster and grow our own talented staff, encouraging longer terms of employment and thereby ensuring that your children have greater continuity in their schooling. We celebrate the achievements of our colleagues in their training, none more so than the wonderful recent news that Jordan Zhao, part of our team in Year 1, was declared the International HLTA of the Year by the training institution we use in the UK. The HLTA is a prestigious qualification, and several of our staff team have completed the training over the past 12 months. Not only are we very proud of this accolade for Jordan, but all our HLTA candidates have shown the determination and professionalism to help grow their skills and improve the learning experience for your children. It underlines our commitment to being the best, and to continue to improve all that we do as an institution here in Tianjin.

Best wishes
Julian Jeffrey
Master

MEET THE MASTER
Master’s Office
1400hrs-1515hrs
Thursday 23rd November

This week, the Meet the Master slot is aimed at parents of pupils in Nest. If you would like to attend, please confirm via email with Ms. Polly Zhang (polly.zhang@wellingtoncollege.cn) by Wednesday 22nd November.

COACHING IN EDUCATION
Black Box
0900hrs-1000hrs
Wednesday 22nd November

Every Wednesday morning from 0900hrs, parents will have the chance to engage with the school in sessions that cover all aspects of your child’s education, from the Early Years to A Levels and university admissions. The venue will vary according to the anticipated audience, and for next week’s meeting, Mr Paul Findlay, the Head of EAL, will give a lecture on Coaching in Education. 

Coaching is a very powerful developmental tool which has been successfully used in business and leadership training in recent years. It unlocks a person’s natural ability and works by identifying goals and defining the steps as they come into focus through discussion and expert questioning, ensuing that goals are far more likely to be achieved. As success enhances wellbeing, this leads to a growth mindset that drives more creative solutions in all aspects of life.

Because it makes personal growth as the central focus of one’s development, coaching is becoming a key training tool in the best education systems in the world by enhancing the performance in areas specifically chosen by the individual. If you are interested in learning more about how coaching can help you and your children achieve more and become more inspired, empowered and engaged individuals then please do come along.

Senior School Assessment Week

Assessment Week for the pupils in the Senior School in Years 7, 8, 9, 10 and Year 11 A Level Induction group will start on Monday, 20th November. The revision guide and the timetable have been sent by email to all the pupils. There are no ASA that week.

Free online courses from UCAS to help students, parents, and teachers make big decisions

UCAS has launched a series of innovative online courses to help today’s students, and the people who advise them, navigate the tricky business of deciding what to do when they leave secondary education. With the International demand shifting away from the US, programmes in Europe and Canada are about twice as likely to report growth in international applicants compared with the US.
Young people have a greater range of options than ever before when considering their next steps after school or college, and most rely on busy teachers or parents for advice and guidance.

To help teaching staff, advisers and parents explore university, college, work, apprenticeships, and other choices, and to advise our pupils about contemporary choices, UCAS is running a pair of free online courses: one for teachers, advisers and parents, followed by an accompanying course for our pupils.

The courses are delivered through FutureLearn, and are available at www.futurelearn.com/courses/smart-advice/2.

The first, Smart Advice: Broadening Your Students’ Horizons gives teachers, advisers and parents strategies and practical advice for supporting our pupils’ research and decision-making, as they approach their transition from full-time secondary education. Insight into the changing career landscape is provided, alongside information about higher education, apprenticeships, taking a gap year, and going into work. The course includes videos, and articles, and gives an opportunity to discuss questions and queries online with specialists – including experienced careers advisers, and university and college admissions staff.

The second, Smart Choices: Broadening Your Horizons, is designed to help our pupils understand the options available to them after school, how to research these, and how to make the right choices.

These free online courses, or massive open online courses (MOOCs), are a new venture for UCAS. Registration for these courses is now open at: www.futurelearn.com/courses/smart-advice/2.

Art Class
Junior Art Room
0830hrs-1100hrs
every Friday 

Approaching Christmas, beside inner decor, we will be preparing some outside decor as well. Everybody loves Christmas tree decoration, even Santa Claus. That’s how we draw his attention to give us some presents with being good all year long (he trusts us when we say, ‘I swear I was’). So, let’s do it on time! Friday 17th November, we will be making salty dough decorations in decoupage technique. Pick up the knowledge, because your kids will love this when you do it at home with them. Their sparkling eyes are the most valuable gift we could receive.

Furthermore, WCA Art classes will be making Christmas decorations and selling them on Christmas Charity market on December 1st. All money raised will be donated to the charity.

I looking forward to seeing you all in a good mood in Junior Art Room!

Lower Level EAL Class
MB 235
0830hrs-0930hrs
every Tuesday 

This class is for beginner level learners who would like to improve their grammar, vocabulary and all-round language skills.

Higher Level EAL Class
MB 231
1100hrs-1200hrs
every Thursday 

This class is for more confident learners who would like to extend their grammar and vocabulary and will have a focus on improving spoken fluency.

Pilates
Black Box
1100hrs-1200hrs
every Tuesday 

0930hrs-1030hrs
Dance Studio
every Friday

Pilates is physical exercise system developed by Joseph Pilates. It is complete coordination of body, mind and spirit. Pilates focuses on core strength and balanced muscle development as well as flexibility and increased range of motion for the joints. So, don’t hesitate, join our classes and feel better. You are warmly welcomed.

Monday 20 November 2017
All Day
Senior School Assessment Week (to 24th) (DP)

All Day
Junior School Assessment Week (to 24th)

All Day
Universal Children’s Day (JL)

Tuesday 21 November 2017
0830hrs – 0930hrs
WCA English Class: beginners (PF) (MB 235)

0900hrs – 1030hrs
WCA: Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) (WCA Room)

1100hrs – 1200hrs
WCA: Pilates (Black Box)

Wednesday 22 November 2017
0900hrs – 1000hrs
Parent Briefing: Coaching in Education (JL) (Black Box)

Thursday 23 November 2017
All Day
House Basketball (Years 1-3 & 4-6) (JM) (Sports Centre)

1100hrs – 1200hrs
WCA: English Class – Intermediate/Advanced (PF) (MB 231)

1400hrs – 1515hrs
Meet the Master: Nest Parents (ES) (Master’s Study)

Friday 24 November 2017
0830hrs – 1100hrs
WCA: Art Class (KM) (Junior Art Room)

0930hrs – 1030hrs
WCA: Pilates (Dance Studio)

1255hrs – 1320hrs
Lunchtime Recital (FG) (Black Box)

Saturday 25 November 2017
0900hrs – 1230hrs
Saturday Activity Programme (SAP) (EvK)

每周快讯 2017年11月16日

亲爱的各位家长:

在惠灵顿,有一件令人可喜的事情,那就是我们在世界范围内有非常可观、可覆盖教学领域和管理领域的联络网。下周,来自英国惠灵顿公学的高管Iain Henderson先生将到访我校。Henderson先生在英国惠灵顿担任副校长,主管教育支持与合作领域,同时,他还是我校与英国惠灵顿的官方联络人。他的工作就是保证英国惠灵顿公学与世界范围内的惠灵顿学校保持联通,协调校际合作项目并提供支持。下周,他来访的目的,是为教师提供执教技能培训(coaching)。执教技能(coaching)这个词,虽然常常被用在体育训练中,但其中的方法是能够被教师借鉴和使用的。深入来讲,执教是一门艺术,习得这门艺术可以让执教人对受教者提出正确的问题,引导受教者提出自己内在的想法,树立起内在的决心去催生必要的改变,而不是仅仅听从他人的想法;这是在鼓励反思性实践和提出问题这两项方法论,而不是被动接受问题的答案。执教技能是一种能够为教学所用的的强大工具。我非常高兴地看到,很多天津惠灵顿的老师们正在接受这项培训。

学校一项坚持不懈的承诺就是,为我们的教师和非教学岗员工提供从业领域最优质的职业发展培训。以此,来使优秀员工获得成长,激励员工为学校提供长期服务,从而保证您的孩子的教育有更好的连续性。学校会为每一位受训后取得成绩的员工庆贺,最近有一个特别好的消息和大家分享,目前在1年级任教的Jordan Zhao老师,正式获得了国际HLTA资质,她之前一直接受一家来自英国本土的专业机构的培训,这家机构在英国本土得到认可并被使用。HLTA在英国家喻户晓,是一项富有威望的资质认证。在过去的一年,我们有多位教师完成了相关培训。学校为Jordan的成功感到高兴,不仅如此,那些准备考取HLTA的教工都显示出决心和专业水准,这将帮助他们提高技能,不断在教学中取得进步。

以上种种,都表明了惠灵顿的决心,我们要成为最棒的学校和教育机构,在各方面工作领域中不懈改进。

向全体惠灵顿大家庭致以诚挚问候
校长 Julian Jeffrey

和校长见面
校长办公室
11月23日周四
下午2:00-3:15

本周与校长见面时间主要面向幼儿园学生家长。如果您想要参加,请您在11月22日周三前通过邮件和Ms. Polly Zhang 张老师进行预约(polly.zhang@wellingtoncollege.cn)。

教育指导
黑箱剧场
11月22日周三
上午9:00-10:00

每个周三的上午自9:00开始都会有家长分享会,内容涵盖从早期教育到高中以及大学申请的各个方面,家长们将有机会就有关孩子在校教育的问题与学校交流。分享会地点将根据参会听众人数来设定,下周的分享会将由EAL学科主管Mr Paul Findlay围绕就教育指导的主题进行演讲。

近年来,指导作为一种有力的启发性工具被成功地应用于商业及领导力培训中。它可以开启个人的本能,通过讨论和专业问答的形式帮助人们理清思路,进而明确目标和行动步骤,从而使目标更易实现。成功可以提升幸福感,促进心态的成长,进而在生活的各个方面推动更有创造性的解决方案。

正由于其着眼于以个人成长为发展的中心,强化那些由个人所选定的领域的性能,指导正日渐成为世界上最好的教育系统所普遍采用的关键性培训工具。若您希望学习更多关于如何通过指导来帮助您及您的孩子获得更多成就并变得更有灵感、更有力量、更积极的方法,欢迎您届时前来参加。

中学部考试周

中学部7,8,9,10和11年级(A Level准备年级)考试周将于11月20日周一开始。复习指导以及考试时间表已经通过邮件发送给全体学生。下周的课后活动将取消。

 

UCAS的免费在线课程,帮助学生,家长以及老师做出重大决定

UCAS开设了一系列创新性的网上课程来帮助当下的学生们以及那些可能为他们提出指导的人们,帮助他们在决定自己完成中学学业后的去向,这类棘手问题上指明方向。随着国际需求从美国转移,相比于美国,欧洲和加拿大的课程项目的国际申请者数量增长了大约两倍。

年轻人比以往任何时候都有更大的选择余地,当他们考虑到学校或大学毕业后的下一步时,他们中的大多数都依赖于向忙碌的老师或家长寻求建议和指导。

为了帮助教职员工,指导者及家长了解大学、学院、工作、实习期及其他选择,也为了指导学生们处理他们面临的选择,UCAS开设了一组免费的在线课程:分别是针对老师、指导员家长以及针对学生的课程。

课程在 FutureLearn的网站上,网址是 www.futurelearn.com/courses/smart-advice/2。

其第一个,Smart Advice: Broadening Your Students’ Horizons是针对老师,指导员和家长的策略和实用建议,来帮助学生在面临从全日制中学教育转变时着手调研并作出决定。会提供对变化的职业前景的洞察,同时提供关于高等教育,实习期,空档年以及进入工作方面的信息。课程包含视频和文章,并有在线专家互动讨论环节 – 这些专家包括有经验的职业顾问,以及大学和学院的招生官员。

其第二个,Smart Choices: Broadening Your Horizons,专为帮助学生而设计,帮助他们了解毕业后所面临的选择,以及如何做出正确的决定。

这些在线课程及大量的在线公开课(MOOCs),是UCAS的新业务,现正开放注册,网址为:

www.futurelearn.com/courses/smart-advice/2.

艺术课程
小学艺术教室
每周五上午8:30-11:00 

圣诞节临近了,除了进行内部的装饰之外,我们将准备进行室外的装饰。大家都喜欢圣诞树装饰,甚至是圣诞老人也是如此。这是我们用来吸引他给我们礼物奖励一年的良好表现的方法(当我们回答说我发誓我表现很好,圣诞老人都相信我们)。 因此,让我们准时进行装饰吧! 11月17日周五,我们将制作装饰性的咸面团。好好学习制作的方法吧,因为孩子们会很喜欢在家和你一起做。孩子们闪亮喜悦的眼神就是我们能够得到的最有价值的礼物。

此外,我们惠灵顿社群联盟工作坊将制作其他的圣诞装饰品并在12月1日的圣诞集市上出售。商品出售的全部收入将捐赠给慈善机构。

我们期待您到小学部艺术教室加入我们!

初阶EAL英语课程
主楼 235
每周二 上午8:30-9:30

本课程适合英语初学者,可以帮助他们提高语法,词汇和全面的语言技能。

高阶EAL英语课程
主楼231
每周四上午 11:00-12:00

本课程适合有一定基础的学习者,能够进一步提高语法和词汇知识,课程将重点关注提高口语流利度。

普拉提
黑箱剧场
每周二上午 11:00-12:00
舞蹈教室 
每周五上午 9:30-10:30

普拉提是一项由Joseph Pilates开发的身体运动系统。它全面协调了身体,意志和精神。普拉提专注核心肌肉群和平衡肌肉群的发展,增强柔韧性和关节机能。所以请不要犹豫,加入我们成为更好的自己。热烈欢迎你的加入。

 

 

2017年11月20日 周一

全天

中学部考试周 (持续到 24日) (DP)

全天

小学部考试周 (持续到 24日)

全天

国际儿童节 (JL)

2017年11月21日 周二

8:30AM – 9:30AM

WCA 英语课: 初级班 (PF) (MB 235)

9:00AM – 10:30AM

WCA: 传统中医 (TCM) (WCA 会议室)

11:00AM – 12:00AM

WCA: 普拉提 (黑箱剧场)

2017年11月22日 周三

9:00AM – 10:00AM

家长分享会: 教育指导 (JL) (黑箱剧场)

2017年11月23日 周四

全天

学院篮球赛 (1-3 年级& 4-6年级) (JM) (体育馆)

11:00AM – 12:00PM

WCA: 英语课程 – 中阶/高阶 (PF) (主楼 231)

2:00PM – 3:15PM

与校长见面: 幼儿园家长 (ES) (校长办公室)

2017年11月24日 周五

8:30AM – 11:00AM

WCA: 艺术课程 (KM) (小学艺术教室)

9:30AM – 10:30AM

WCA: 普拉提 (舞蹈教室)

12:55PM – 1:20PM

午间音乐会 (FG) (黑箱剧场)

2017年11月25日 周六

9:00AM – 12:30PM

周六课外课程 (SAP) (EvK)