USAD & USAP – A novel experience for Wellington pupils

Last year saw our debut in the United States Academic Pentathlon (USAP) and the United States Academic Decathlon (USAD) competitions, and we can still recall the jubilation that followed our successes in both. This year’s events have unsurprisingly, been online, but with the number of entrants from across China increasing by 1/3rd from 2019, the level of competition was significantly higher.

The USAP and USAD competitions have been another great experience for all our participants this year. From learning the history of diseases and their cures methods in Social Science to acknowledging the causes of cancer in Science and the impact of the pandemic in Philadelphia in English Literature, the historical events from the USAP and USAD have ironically interwoven into the current COVID-19 pandemic. One of our USAP participants said he could not believe how sometimes the historical events of the past would easily be replayed in modern society even with the advanced development of medical technology.

Ms. Luyi

Team Advisor

the College University Counselor

With the prevalence of the pandemic, all the participants had to finish their learning and group discussions online, including setting up new technical devices to prepare for the Super quiz. The team leaders would always encourage their teammates when an online lesson was about to finish. The swift adaptation, positivity, maturity and resilience shown during the competition are certainly characteristics of true Wellingtonians.

Particular congratulations go to the winners, Sam (Year 8); James, Frank and Coco (all A-Level Induction); and Catherine (Year 11), but at the same time, their achievement would not have been possible without the support of other student leaders such as Ted, August, Hongyu, and Kaiser. Well done to all our determined competitors and congratulations to the 2019-2020 USAP and USAD participants!

 

CERTIFICATE

James

A-Level Induction Year

Speech – Gold Medal

This was my first chance to participate in the USAD competition. The topic of USAD 2020 was “in sickness and in health: an exploration of illness and wellness”, which was such an ironic topic given the current serious situation today. While this novel coronavirus is spreading around the world, millions of students are suffering too. The competition was originally scheduled to be held in Chengdu in early February. We tried our best to go through the resource guide to fully prepare for the competition and to aim to win some medals, but we were informed that the competition was postponed and changed to online format. After the announcement, preparations for the competition stalled for about half a month. I even thought of giving up because of the high pressure from the school curriculum and the standardized tests. But I was encouraged by my teammates and continued preparing. Thanks to the persistence at that time and the guidance from Miss. Luyi, Ted, August, and Hongyu, I consequently gained a gold medal in the speech section.

In the subsequent preparation process, there was no room for learning after school four days a week during which we acquired much knowledge and experience from student leaders and Miss. Luyi. We converted the normal USAD After School Activity (ASA) time, which was used to be held on Tuesday after school, to online teaching. During that time, we had completed some recap of the content from the 7 subjects especially, Social Science. For the interview and speech sections, Miss. Luyi corrected my scripts and even staged simulations which we went over many times. This online study group continued until the night before the competition.

In conclusion, this was an extraordinary and valuable experience for me, and I have learned the importance of teamwork. At the beginning was a pile of resource guides, from not knowing where to start, to the final success, an inseparable journey, from the help of student leaders, peers, to Miss. Luyi. I am proud of being a teammate in such an excellent team, and I am looking forward to taking part in more of these types of competitions!

 

CERTIFICATE

Coco

A-Level Induction Year

Science – Bronze Medal

This year is the first year that I attended an international competition with a team. I first heard about the USAD competition from our team leader Catherine, and initially, I thought it might be too hard for me, so I did not sign up for it at first. I then heard about this year’s topic and it piqued my interest, and that there was only one place left. Because of my curiosity, I, at last, took the entry test and signed up.

The learning process was both interesting and tiring. At first, I was only thinking of gaining experiences for my College application, but when I received the resource guide, the ideas were quite interesting to me. Science and social science are the subjects that I’m best at, however social science is much harder considering the dates and timing.

I did not think this year’s topic of Sickness and Heath could be so poignant at first, however it was a fact. I am not sure if I would win more medals if we are having the competition offline, but I’m sure it would be much more interesting. Nevertheless, it was still a fun experience. I did get a medal, although not as I expected (I would attribute that to the statistics’ part in science). And I did improve my relationship with a very important friend of mine, our team leader. I believe all those involved can allow me to evaluate this USAD competition as “successful”.

 

CERTIFICATE

Frank

A-Level Induction Year

Interview – Gold Medal

Speech – Bronze Medal

 

 

CERTIFICATE

Catherine

Year 11

Interview – Bronze Medal

 

 

August

Year 12, USAD Student Leader

Economics – Gold Medal, 2019

Essay – Bronze Medal, 2019

Being a USAD subject leader this year was a great experience for me. It was a good opportunity for me to deepen my understanding of subject knowledge. To be able to present relatively complex economic concepts in front of a mostly non-specialist audience, I had to get a decent grasp of the knowledge first and then be prepared to speak about that material in an engaging and accessible way. I spent a lot of time reading the subject material and writing notes. Limited by its length, the material booklet only provided a narrative of the concepts, and it did not give the ‘big picture’ of economics. Therefore, during the process of preparation, I also had to consider adding related concepts to supplement the learning but not go so far as to confuse them, which was a great challenge for me. Plus, this experience taught me to manage time and make plans reasonably. In the first class, I was too ambitious and talked about a lot of basic concepts in detail, but when the class ended, I only managed to teach them a few pages of content on the resource guide. That was an important lesson for me and something I could improve on if I were to do it again. Overall, being a subject leader was a precious experience, allowing me to practise English and public speaking while helping me to get a good understanding of the knowledge needed through teaching. Most importantly, it was a lot of fun to work with all the participants and a great way to meet nice and interesting people.

捷报频传 | 惠灵顿学子2020美国学术竞赛中再战佳绩

犹记得我校学子去年在美国学术五项全能和十项全能竞赛上的精彩首秀,让我们都为之欢欣鼓舞;今年的这两大竞赛改为线上模式,中国赛区的参赛人数比2019年增加了三分之一,竞争比之去年更为激烈。

今年的美国学术五项全能和十项全能竞赛对参赛选手们来说,称得上是一次前所未有的经历。在赛前培训的过程中,选手们在社会科学学科中学习到人类与疾病斗争的历史,在科学学科中了解到癌症的致病原理,又在英文文学学科中读到美国费城传染病大流行造成的影响。书本上的历史事件奇异地呼应着当前的全球疫情,也让备赛的年轻学子们不禁感慨历史的轮回。

Ms. Luyi

竞赛辅导老师

升学指导老师

在当前全球疫情的形势下,所有参赛选手必须以在线的形式完成赛前培训和小组讨论,并提前调试、适应超级问答环节所需要的新设备。队长还在培训过程中不断鼓励自己的队员。学生们在整个培训与比赛过程中所表现出的适应能力、积极乐观、成熟稳重和抗挫力,真实展现了惠灵顿学子的精神风貌。

热烈祝贺8年级的Sam、国际课程中心高一年级的James、Frank和Coco、11年级的Catherine在此次竞赛中获得优异成绩。同时,他们的好成绩离不开其他同学的支持,尤其是担任队长的Ted、August、Hongyu和Kaiser。祝贺我们所有2019-2020年度美国学术五项全能和十项全能竞赛的参赛选手,也感谢他们强有力的竞争对手们,大家都表现得非常出色!

 

荣誉证书

James

天津惠灵顿国际课程中心高一年级

演讲竞赛金奖获得者

这是我第一次参加美国学术十项全能竞赛。2020年 主题是“生命的光与影:探索疾病与健康”,在当前的疫情形势下,显得似乎恰逢其时。当新型冠状病毒在全球肆虐,千百万计的年轻学子也受到极大的影响。本次竞赛原定于今年2月初在中国成都举办,正当我们全力以赴准备时,收到了比赛延期,并将改为线上模式的消息。我们的准备时间因此延长了大约半个月。这段时间学校的课业和考试压力也非常大,我一度考虑过放弃这次比赛机会。但我的队友们不断鼓励我,帮助我继续准备比赛。感谢伙伴们的坚持不懈,也谢谢Luyi老师、Ted、August、Hongyu对我的指导和支持,帮助我最终在演讲比赛部分获得金牌。

我们原本每周放学后有四天时间,参加针对美国学术十项全能的课后活动(ASA),我们利用这段时间在Luyi老师的指导下学习相关知识,还从去年参加过比赛的队长们那里了解参赛经验。但在今年这段额外的赛前培训时期,我们将平时的学习交流内容转移到了线上。我们完成了涵盖7个学科的复习内容,尤其关注了社会科学的知识。此外,在准备面试和演讲的环节时,Luyi老师帮我修改了讲稿,和我们一起进行了无数次的模拟练习,这个在线学习小组在赛前每天都奋斗到很晚。

总而言之,这对我来说是一次无与伦比的宝贵经历,让我充分了解到团队协作的重要性。从开始时面对小山一样的复习资料不知从何下手,到现在成功获奖,担任队长的学长、学姐,队友和Luyi老师一直陪伴着我,我们共同走过了这段学习之旅;我深深以成为这个优秀团队的一员为荣,并且非常期待能有更多这样的比赛机会!

 

荣誉证书

Coco

天津惠灵顿国际课程中心高一年级

科学学科铜牌获得者

今年是我第一次和一个团队一起参加国际性的学术竞赛。我从我们的队长Catherine那里第一次听说了美国学术十项全能竞赛,但觉得这对我来说太难了,因此并没有报名参加。但听说了今年的主题之后,我对此非常感兴趣。我的好奇心驱使着我参加了选拔考试,并在仅剩一个位置时成功报名。

为了竞赛培训学习的过程虽然很累,但非常有趣。我最初只觉得这次经历对我的大学申请会非常有利,但当我收到学习资料,就发现学习内容妙趣横生,而且科学和社会科学也是我擅长的学科。但考虑到一天比一天更近的比赛日期和有限的准备时间,这个学习过程还是十分艰难的。

我原先并没有理解到今年“疾病与健康”这一主题的深刻意义,但随着时间的推移,我渐渐有了更多的体会。今年的竞赛对我来说是一次很有意义的体验,但它如果能够按照原计划在线下举办,一定会是一次完全不同的经历。我收获了一枚奖牌,尽管结果与预期稍有不同(我把这归因于科学竞赛中的统计学部分);此外,我还收获了其他宝贵的东西:我们的队长也是我非常重要的一位朋友,我们的友谊在这几个月中变得更为亲密。我想这次参赛经历完全可以称得上“大获成功”了吧。

 

荣誉证书

Frank

天津惠灵顿国际课程中心高一年级

面试环节金牌获得者

演讲竞赛铜牌获得者

 

荣誉证书

Catherine

11年级

面试环节铜牌获得者

 

August

天津惠灵顿国际课程中心高二年级

美国学术十项全能竞赛学生队长

2019年经济学科金牌获得者

2019年论文竞赛铜牌获得者 

今年能够成为美国学术十项全能竞赛的学生队长对我来说是一次绝佳的经历,这让我得以进一步加深对一些学科知识的理解。我需要给别人讲解一些复杂的经济学概念,其中大部分没有相关背景知识;为了做到这一点,我自己要先将知识理解吃透,然后再思考如何用简明易懂但引人入胜的语言来解释这些知识。为此我先是通读了竞赛的培训资料、记笔记,但发现受限于其篇幅,我们的学习资料中只叙述了相关经济学概念,但并没有就经济学本身给出一个“全景”的介绍。因此,在为此次比赛做准备的过程中,为了帮助学弟学妹们能更好地学习、理解,我还需要考虑为他们加入补充材料,但又要控制这部分内容的深度,以免反而让他们感到迷茫,这对我来说也是一大挑战。此外,这次经历也对我合理管理时间、制定计划的能力是一次锻炼。在第一次给参赛的学弟学妹们讲课时,我野心勃勃地打算给他们详细讲解许多经济学概念,但当一节课结束,我只来得及讲到培训资料上的几页内容。这给我上了重要的一课,如果能让我再来一次,我会在这方面多多改善。总体而言,作为学生队长在经济学科上指导学弟学妹备赛,是一次非常珍贵的经验。在此过程中我不仅锻炼了英语和在公共场合讲话的能力,还帮助我在指导别人的过程中对一些知识有了更深的理解。更为重要的是,我和其他参与活动的学生们度过了非常愉快的时光,这也是结识优秀的新朋友的好机会,让我们留下了美好的回忆。

 

一直以来惠灵顿都致力于培养学生们的全球视野、独立思考的能力、适应能力、团队合作能力以及尝试新事物的勇气,这些都将成为他们面对瞬息万变的世界的根本。再次恭喜这些心中有火,眼中有光的少年们。恰同学少年,风华正茂。青春,加油!