What a Fantastic Term!

From the Master
Mr. Julian Jeffrey

Dear parents

As the end of 2019 draws closer, and the first of our two winter holiday breaks loom large, I wanted to write to you all to provide an overview of the highlights of the term and to look forward to some of the exciting things we have planned for 2020.

Christmas Bazaar

As ever, our overarching goal is to keep improving the educational experience we provide for you and your children. The record-breaking public examination results from the summer, which saw 62% of all IGCSE grades rated as A* and A and 74% of all A Levels grades as A*-B place us among the very best international and UK schools. Our graduates from the class of 2019 will all have significantly improved life chances as a result of these results. Of course, whilst exam results are crucial, they are not the only message a school can send out about its success with pupils. We have developed a new way of measuring pupil progress as well as straightforward attainment data over the term, using our results and comparing them with data from CAT4 tests and other standardised assessments such as Progress through English (PTE) and Progress through Maths (PTM). This is called a ‘value-added’ score because it shows how much better (or worse) a school has performed against the targets of the pupils sitting exams. Using this measurement, I am delighted to be able to report to you that our IGCSE cohort in Year 11 achieved on average +1.76 grades / subject better than they would have done in an equivalent school in the UK and almost a whole grade better / subject when compared to other international schools. Such progress is quite exceptional – a school in the UK would be overjoyed at registering a positive ‘value-added’ score of even +0.5 grades/subject for each pupil, so it is clear how significantly the school outperformed its peers. Even more encouragingly, some of our top ‘value-added’ results came in language-rich subjects such as History, English Language and English Literature. Evaluation of pupil attainment in Tianjin, relative to peers within the Wellington College China (WCC) group, indicates that in Key Stages 2 – 4 most pupils achieve 1 grade higher than their peers. You will hear more about value-added data from across the school in the new year.

Younger pupils too have benefitted from some developments this term. The Nest and Junior School have embraced Read, Write Inc as a novel way to teach phonics and accelerate language proficiency. The AET maths programme in the Junior School is proving a challenge for even the most able mathematician, and with closer integration with the Senior School, pupils in Years 5 and 6 are finding that their work aligns much more closely with that of Years 7 and 8. Outdoor learning has featured more this term in the Nest, with the opening of our bespoke outdoor area. I have been very pleased to see our younger pupils taking advantage of the new learning stimuli that the outdoor space provides, and this clearly represents a significant new dimension in the early years’ provision.

Other facilities across the school have been subject to widespread renovation and development as well. Our art and design galleries, housed in the main building and the stairwells, now provided year-round examples of excellent work from our examination classes.

Art Galleries

The school’s ICT provision, such a focus for investment for us over the past three years, will see more devices introduced across the school and the very exciting news that we will soon become a Microsoft Showcase school. This recognition is granted to very few schools and Wellington College in Tianjin is the first international school in China to receive the accolade. In the initial phase, we will focus on working with Microsoft on the ‘classroom of the future’ and coding education. These two are already areas of focus in our development plans and sit closely with our ambition to become a beacon school for IT in northern China.

In terms of the estate, we now have a new security house and waiting area for visitors; the facial recognition software and access restrictions both help to keep your children safer in school. Mr Roundell led our external safeguarding and child protection audit back in August, and as a result, you will notice more signs across the estate, warning against photographing our pupils, as well as further information for visitors to the site and a police officer stationed at the entrance gate during peak times of the day. Our aim, as ever, is to keep our community of children, teachers and visitors safe at all times and anything that you can do as parents to support us in this process is much appreciated.

Carmina Burana

The term has been enriched by several wonderful shows, concerts and sporting events. No one who was there will soon forget the majesty of Carmina Burana in October, nor the charm on show in the Nest Christmas concert.

Nest Christmas Concert

Junior Christmas Show

Senior Christmas Concert

The Junior School show and the full Christmas Concert over the last week have also been undoubted highlights, as was the memorable drama show Under the roof of Shanghai back in September. The latter was a chance for pupils to write and perform a show that offers both a celebration of the Chinese language as well as a testament to their talent as stage stars of the future. The drama week in November for the Junior School, coupled with Roald Dahl day in October, proved a huge success. The former, with its emphasis on improvisation and wordplay, helped to cement our work on language acquisition this term and explored really imaginative and challenging themes with pupils and staff from the Senior School there to lend their support.

Chinese Drama – Under the Roof of Shanghai

Roald Dahl Day

In sport, our first two elite golf scholars have settled in very well, and I am delighted to report that their hard work on and off the golf course has seen significant achievements for both. Their dedication to their sport and their ability to juggle the competing demands of their academic work and training mean they are an inspiration to all our pupils in how to manage the school-life balance. Our swimmers too have grown in confidence and the team is now strong enough to compete at city-level in tournaments. It was great to see our first competition result in one first place and two seconds. This will continue to be a focus for our growth over the coming months as we look to train and compete more regularly.

Looking ahead to the Lent term, it is clear that we will once again be a busy and purposeful school. Chinese New Year is early, of course, but that will not stop us from having a raft of great events in the week leading up to the 17th January. Parents are warmly invited to attend the Nest and Senior School shows on 16th, as well as the Temple Fair on the last day before the holiday break (17th). Once February and March get underway, our exam preparation will be in full swing for pupils in Years 11-13 – please do help to ensure that, if you have a child in these years, they get lots of time and support for the revision they need at home. The Annual Review (16th-18th March) also rolls back into Tianjin. You will be getting the annual parent survey in January as part of the preparation for that short visit. On top of all that is our wonderful new full school musical, Chicago, which will run from 18th-21st March. Tickets will go on sale in the new year, so please make sure you book early to avoid disappointment!

Further ahead, there are a couple of new holiday programmes we would like to offer parents in the next 6 months, on top of our own Summer Camp (July/August). We are really excited to announce that we are partnering with Role Models, a British education company run by Old Wellingtonian Hugo Shephard, to deliver Life Skills Courses (on vital areas such as Resilience and Leadership) for 6-7 year olds and 8-11 year olds over the Easter and first week of the Summer 2020 holidays.  

The Role Models vision is to inspire a generation of children to become the very best they can be through their relationships, their well-being and that their own sense of purpose aligns perfectly with Wellington’s. All of the work done on the courses will complement the work we do every day with your children.  A variety of courses are scheduled to run in the holidays from March 28th – April 3rd, June 29th – July 3rd and August 10-14th at the school premises. There will be further information in January, so please look out for that.

Finally, as last year, I thought a list of some of the key dates for the next six months might be useful for parents, as the term diary will not be published until January.

Lent term 2020

6th January

Lent term begins

18th January

Chinese New Year / Spring Festival begins (to 2nd February)

16th-18th  March

Annual Review

18th-21st March

School musical – Chicago

27th March

Term ends

 

Summer Term 2020

8th April

Summer term begins

1st May

May Day holiday (school is closed)

16th May

Summer Fair

22nd May

Year 13 Graduation

23rd-26th May

Half-term

24th June

End of Summer term

I would like to take this opportunity to wish you all a very happy, peaceful holiday.

Best wishes

 

 

 

Julian Jeffrey

MASTER

我们共同走过精彩的一学期

来自校长
Mr. Julian Jeffrey

亲爱的各位家长:

随着2019年底的临近,我们两个冬季假期中的第一个假期即将到来,我想给大家写这封信,回顾一个学期的精彩时刻,并期待着2020那些激动人心的活动。

圣诞慈善市集

一如既往,我们的首要目标是为学生提供优质的教育。今年夏天我校公共大考成绩突破了历史记录, IGCSE考试A*-A占比62%, A Level考试A*-B 占比74%,这让我们进入了最好的国际学校和最好的英国学校行列。取得佳绩的毕业生都将因此获得人生的良机。考试成绩是非常重要的,但我们不想告诉孩子们,那是唯一重要的。我们研发了一种新的数据统计方法跟踪学生的学习进展——Added Value(教育“附加值”),这是对直观的学术成绩数据很好补充。具体说就是,将学术成绩与CAT4测评数据和其它体系化的数据——例如PTE(英语进步追踪)和PTM(数学进步追踪)——进行比较,得出的分数。这个分数,显示了,学生在考试目标成绩这个维度上,一所学校是做的更好还是更糟,它是将“进步”进行了量化。下面我特别高兴地和家长们分享,在Added Value的评分体系中,我校的得分。IGCSE阶段11年级学生组,Added Value平均成绩达到+1.76 (以学科为单位),这个成绩,比英国同等学历学校的同龄组的平均成绩更好,而Added Value总成绩比其它国际学校也更好。这个将 “进步”进行量化的分数,+1.76是非常棒的、也是不多见的——英国的一所学校如果得到了+0.5分,就会非常高兴,可以这样说,我们在支持学生取得进步方面做的比业内同行都要好。更令人鼓舞的是,我们一些高分数的Added Value成绩来自需要语言支持的学科,例如历史、英语语言和英语文学。在参考了惠灵顿中国其它学校的分数后,我校在关键学段2-4 (KS2-4)的大多数学生的Added Value分数比其他学生高出1级。未来您将会听到更多关于Added Value的信息。

这个学期,没有参加公共考试的学生们也都有很多的收获。RWI(读写项目),作为一种教授自然拼读和加速语言习得的新颖而有效的方法,正在幼儿园和小学部深入开展;事实证明,小学部AET数学课程即使是对最有能力的数学学习者来说也是一个挑战;随着小学部与中学部课程衔接的更加紧密,五年级和六年级的学生发现,他们的作业与七年级和八年级的作业更加一致。幼儿园本学期加强了“户外学习”,园内开辟了新的户外活动场地,我特别高兴地看到幼儿在探索户外空间时所获得的丰富体验,“户外学习”是幼儿教育中前沿的实践领域,也是新增加的惠灵顿幼儿园办园特色之一。

学校的硬件设施在这一学期得到了进一步的提升。坐落在主楼楼梯间的艺术画廊,展示了学生们的优秀作品;

艺术画廊

信息和通信技术项目(ICT)是我们过去三年的投资重点,您将看到更多与之有关的信息。例如,我校将很快成为微软示范校,这是一个令人兴奋的消息。我们将是中国第一所获此殊荣的学校,也是第一所获此殊荣的国际学校,这种认可,反映了在过去三年里,我校在技术应用于教育这一攻坚课题上所付出的努力,也预示着未来,我们将与前沿技术更加密切的互动,我们将获得来自微软集团的培训和项目支持,打造“未来的课堂”,为学生开设编程课;

这个学期学校有了一个崭新的保安室和访客等候区; 门禁系统新增加的面部识别功能和访问权限管理有助于帮助您的孩子在学校更安全。Toby Roundell先生带领校外评审团(校园安全和儿童保护领域)在今年8月对校园安全做了全面的检查和回顾,并做出了改进,您会发现,学校的各个地方有了更多的警示标识和提示语,比如“禁止拍摄未成年人”,“访客须知”等;上下学进出校园的高峰时间,学校大门外会有驻守的警力。我们的目标,一如既往,是让惠灵顿的学生、教师和访客在校园里获得安全,同时感谢家长们对学校相关规章制度的支持和理解。

《布兰诗歌》

精彩的演出、音乐会和体育赛事令这个学期特别丰富多彩。您应该没有忘记10月份《布兰诗歌》的盛况,也不会忘记刚刚结束不久的幼儿园圣诞演出的精彩;

幼儿园圣诞演出

小学部圣诞演出

圣诞音乐会

小学部圣诞演出以及9月份上演的中文话剧《上海屋檐下》都是不能不说的大亮点,特别是《上海屋檐下》,为学生提供了展示写作能力和表演技巧的机会,也是展现双语学习者风采的机会,也证明了学生们的才华;小学部11月的戏剧周,加上10月份的罗尔德·达尔日(Roald Dahl day),都取得了巨大的成功,前者侧重即兴表演和文学实践,巩固了语言习得项目的学习,学生和老师一起探讨了富有想象力和挑战性的话题。

中文话剧《上海屋檐下》

罗尔德·达尔日

在体育方面,两名高尔夫特长生已经很好地安顿下来,适应了惠灵顿的学习和生活,我很高兴地看到,他们在学习和竞技运动两方面平衡的很好,启发着其他学生如何在时间管理上有更好的表现;校游泳队的队员们更加有信心了,除了竞技水平不断增长外,最近的一场校外游泳比赛中,还拿到了一个第一名和两个第二名的好成绩。期待,校游泳队未来几个月的好成绩,当然更重要的是不间断的训练和参与竞技比赛。

展望第二学期,我们的学校一定再次会是繁忙而目标明确的。虽然中国新年还有不到两个月,但这并不影响我们组织各种大型活动的热情。在这里诚挚邀请家长参加1月16日幼儿园和中学部的两场庆祝中国新年的演出,以及假期开始前一天的庙会。11-13年级将在二月和三月进行重要考试,请家长务必确保孩子在家中有足够的复习时间。惠灵顿年度评审工作将于2020年3月16日至18日期间进行,作为考察工作的重要组成部分,学校将邀请各位家长完成年度家长满意度调查。2020年3月18日至21日,我们精彩的年度校园音乐剧《芝加哥》,将上映。门票将在不久后开售,请提前订票,不要错过!

关于假期项目,未来,除了我们自己开办的夏令营(每年7月- 8月),我们还将为家长们提供一些新的项目,供您选择。学校正在与Role Models(一家英国教育公司)合作,在复活节假期和暑假期间,为6-7岁和8-11岁的孩子提供生活技能类课程,比如抗挫力、领导力等。这家公司由Hugo Shephard先生运营,他毕业于英国惠灵顿,是全球惠灵顿校友会成员。

Role Models的愿景是激励儿童拓展社交、获得幸福感,让年轻人成为最好的自己。Role Models的课程将与惠灵顿提倡的生活软技能教育形成很好的互动。该项目的开课时间如下:3月28日至4月3日、6月29日至7月3日、8月10日至14日,都是学校假期。详情我们将于一月份公布。

下面列出了本学年后两学期的重要活动时间,供您参考:

2019-20学年 第二学期

1月6日

第二学期开学

1月18日

中国新年假期开始 (至2月2日结束)

3月16日至18日

惠灵顿年审

3月18日至21日

年度音乐剧《Chicago》

3月27日

第二学期结束

 

2019-20学年 第三学期

4月8日

第三学期开学

5月1日

劳动节假期

5月16日

夏日嘉年华

5月22日

13年级毕业典礼

5月23日至26日

期中假期

6月24日

第三学期结束

 

祝愿惠灵顿大家庭度过一个快乐祥和的假期

 

 

 

校长Julian Jeffrey