The Week Ahead 8 February 2018

Dear Parents

Welcome to this final edition of the Week Ahead before our half term break and the Spring Festival. I wanted to use the opportunity to wish all our families a very happy holiday and a prosperous Year of the Dog.

Our focus thus far this year has been on re-establishing some of the fundamental things that make our Wellington community such a vibrant one. You will know all about the way we have developed the core values into a ‘living values’ project; contributions from all parts of the school family now feature in our statements around each value and the behaviours we as a group feel are central to those values.

Improved communication has also formed a major part of our drive to reconnect with the community. The term diary, regular Open Days, newsletters and opportunities to meet the Master, Bursar and other senior teachers have all played their part in keeping parents and friends of Wellington more informed about the work of the College. We are now building up to our Annual Review visit on 13th/14th March, which I very much hope will find that the school is making strong progress against all our targets. I will brief parents on the interim results as soon as we have them, as well as provide a full report on the responses to your recent Parents’ Survey. There is a more thorough parent briefing on the Annual Review and an outline of our next steps on Wednesday 2nd May at 0900hrs.

There is one more change to announce this week. Avid readers of the Week Ahead will notice that this publication will be a more streamlined version after the holiday break; the focus will be on the important events of the coming week, making it a more digestible document. To compensate, we are launching a new series of Insight articles, focusing on the education and wider opportunities we provide for our young people. I hope that readers find these new pieces, including analyses of teaching in an Early Years’ setting, Wellington’s pastoral care provision and the increasingly sophisticated university admissions’ programme, stimulating and informative, offering new ways for parents and the friends of the school to learn more about the learning journey at Wellington College in Tianjin. As ever, I would welcome your feedback on the new format.

Best wishes
Julian Jeffrey
Master


MEET THE MASTER
Common Room
1400hrs-1515hrs
Thursday 1st March

This week, the Meet the Master slot is aimed at parents of pupils in Y2-Y6. If you would like to attend, please confirm via email with Ms. Emma Shi (emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn) by Wednesday 28th February.

WHAT IS ‘SERVICE LEARNING’?
Black Box
0900hrs-1000hrs
Wednesday 28th February

Every Wednesday morning from 0900hrs, parents will have the chance to engage with the school in sessions that cover all aspects of your child’s education, from the Early Years to A Levels and university admissions. The venue will vary according to the anticipated audience, and for next week’s meeting, Ms Divya Jesudoss, will introduce the ‘Service Learning’, and Mr Amos Owiti will be offering an introduction to the International Duke of Edinburgh’s Award scheme.

 

Parents’ Evening: Years 11,12&13 (AL & IB streams)
Dining Hall
1700hrs-1900hrs
Wednesday 28th February

Parents’ Evening for the parents of the pupils in the exam year groups (Year 11, Year 12 and Year 13, IB and A level streams) will be held on Wednesday 28th February from 1700hrs to 1900hrs in the Dining Hall. Pupils should make appointments with their teachers in advance to ease the queues that can form at such events.

Parents will have an opportunity to talk to their child’s teachers about the mock examination results and areas for improvements before the public examination season in May/June 2018. Members of the Senior Management team will be present to address any questions that parents might have.

 

Positive Parenting Class (basic)
MB125
9:30hrs-11:30hrs, every Monday
Date:  22nd and 29th Jan, 5th and 26th Feb, 5th, 12th, 19th and 26th Mar
Charges: 30RMB/time or 200RMB/8 times

Positive Discipline is a programme designed to teach young people to become responsible, respectful and resourceful members of their communities. Based on the best-selling positive discipline book by Dr Jane Nelsen, it teaches important social and life skills in a manner that is deeply respectful and encouraging for both children and adults.

Parents will learn to avoid power struggles while helping their children to learn self-control and self-discipline. Classes are in a small group setting, allowing deeper discussions and very personalized experience.

www.positivediscipline.com

Art Class
Junior Art Room
0830hrs-1100hrs
every Friday
next session – March 2nd

After a long week of taking care of your beloved children it’s time to think of yourself as well. A little oasis from everyday noise, ART classes can give you much needed relaxation. An excellent way to cope with your everyday stress routine, and to prepare yourself for the upcoming busy weekend.

Painting, sculpture, drawing, acrylics, aquarelle, crayons won’t be a mystery to you anymore. All the things you always wanted to try but didn’t have time for, now in the most convenient time and place for you – when your kids are at school.

Each month we will be focusing on something new that you might like to try.

Expressing yourself in an artistic way combined with relaxing, inspiring music and a glass of tea or coffee can help you find your new daily joy. Come and join ART classes every Friday as soon as you leave your little one(s) in school.

The Junior Art Room will be open for you from 0830hrs to 1100hrs to learn some new skills, chat with friends, and share your love of art.

Looking forward to seeing you in the Junior Art Room.

Lower Level EAL Class
MB 235
0830hrs-0930hrs
every Tuesday 

This class is for beginner level learners who would like to improve their grammar, vocabulary and all-round language skills.

Higher Level EAL Class
MB 231
1100hrs-1200hrs
every Thursday 

This class is for more confident learners who would like to extend their grammar and vocabulary and will have a focus on improving spoken fluency.

Pilates
Black Box
1100hrs-1200hrs
every Tuesday 

Dance Studio
0930hrs-1030hrs,
every Friday

Pilates is physical exercise system developed by Joseph Pilates. It is complete coordination of body, mind and spirit. Pilates focuses on core strength and balanced muscle development as well as flexibility and increased range of motion for the joints. So, don’t hesitate, join our classes and feel better. You are warmly welcomed.

WCA Yoga
Dance Studio
0900hrs-1000hrs
Every Wednesday 

Welcome to our newly introduced yoga classes at Wellington College. Yoga philosophy and practice has its origin in India. The word ‘Yoga’ comes from the word “yuj”, which means “to yoke”, to unite your body and mind. Regular yoga practice helps your body to become strong, flexible, balanced and healthy. The same will happen with your mind. Yoga has become very popular all around the world for its healing benefits. It does not matter if you are new to yoga or a regular practitioner; everyone is welcome.

With the imminent approach of Chinese New Year, the Junior School had no class assembly this week. However, we still managed to show off our wonderful stars in all the classes.

Jerry started our assembly with his amazing trumpeting and Thomas finished with his exceptional saxophone playing; I have often commented on the outstanding musical talents that our children have at Wellington.

Children in Ms O’Donoghue’s class are the healthiest bunch of children we have as they recorded 100% attendance – and won the award again.

Hopefully, many of you will have spoken to your child about the fresh way that we are teaching Literacy in the Junior School.  It is called Talk for Writing (T4W), and it is a very popular tool in the UK to improve the quality of writing. Several of our staff have had up-to-date training and have passed this to the rest of the staff during our weekly staff meetings. Since we have begun T4W, the progress has been clear to see and the enjoyment factor (especially for boys and children who struggle to write) has also increased.

Ms O’Donoghue and Ms Romer will be delivering a briefing to parents on T4W on Wednesday 21st March at 0900hrs. Please come along to see T4W in action; you will be asked to join in! More details will be sent out later.

Children’s Spring Festival Gala 2018

These past few weeks I have been practising Tai Chi for the Spring Festival Gala of Tianjin. The experience was really new to me and I was thrilled to be asked to be in it.

The school was very helpful and encouraged me to participate in this unique opportunity. For two weeks prior to the filming I took lessons every Saturday morning from a highly experienced Tai Chi master. These lessons were two hours long and organized by the filming company. In those lessons I had to practise a 3-and-a-half-minute routine over 10 times while the teacher corrected my position. I had to be at the studio by an inconvenient 1430hrs last Monday but the school let me leave early to get there on time.

I also got to practise at school because one school teacher, Mr. Batey, is also a Tai Chi Master. He has won awards in Sanya earlier this year and he supported me and practised with me every lunchtime for two weeks.

When I arrived at the TV studio on Monday I was really nervous and also rather hungry. I had to wait for at least 20 minutes to go on stage and when I did my mum was there smiling and drawing attention to herself. I did my Tai Chi routine but this time it was part of a Chinese Cultural display to music and very different from my practice sessions. We had to do it over and over again and it was really tiring. There was a standing ovation and a lot of cheering when we finished.

Those weeks are ones that I won’t forget; especially the shooting of the show. If you would like to watch it, it will be on local TV on New Year’s Eve, the 14th February. The programme is called Qian Nian You and it is Tong Wang Zhong Guo -2018 Children’s Spring Festival Gala for 5 provinces.

The Under-16 Senior School boys’ basketball team played a very interesting game against TIS. Things were certainly not going our way for the first three quarters, as we had far too many turnovers and missed shots that should have kept us equal in score. As a result of this, the team was down 18:8 with just a quarter to go. We had a short chat in the few minutes between the quarters where I insisted that there is still a chance if we fight for it, and the team decided that they will give it their best. I, on the other hand, promised to write this article in praise of them if they won. With a positive team spirit locked in, our defence became nearly impenetrable, and the visiting team was kept down to just 2 points in the entire quarter. The team’s scoring also improved immensely, with Barry, the game’s MVP, scoring three consecutive 3-point shots, for a final score of 23:20 for Wellington.

TIS was, as always, a respected opponent and a very friendly side to play. We look forward to our next match with our head-to-head score now tied at 1:1.

Monday 26 February 2018

0930hrs – 1130hrs

WCA: Positive Behaviour (Beginner Level) (MB 125)

Tuesday 27 February 2018

0830hrs – 0930hrs

WCA English Class: beginners (PF) (MB 235

1100hrs – 1200hrs

WCA: Pilates (Black Box / Dance Studio)

Wednesday 28 February 2018

0900hrs – 1000hrs

Parent Briefing: What is ‘Service Learning’? (JL) (Black Box)

0900hrs – 1000hrs

WCA: Yoga (Dance Studio)

1700hrs – 1900hrs

Parents’ Evening: Years 11,12 &13 (AL & IB streams) (DP)

Thursday 01 March 2018

All Day

World Book Day (JP)

All Day

GCSE Art trip to Shanghai (to 3rd) (MFC)

1100hrs – 1200hrs

WCA: English Class – Intermediate/Advanced (PF) (MB 231)

1400hrs – 1515hrs

Meet the Master: Years 2-6 Parents (ES) (Master’s Study)

Friday 02 March 2018

All Day

The Nest: Lantern Festival (DZ) (The Nest)

0830hrs – 1100hrs

WCA: Art Class (KM) (Junior Art Room)

0930hrs – 1000hrs

WCA: Pilates (Black Box / Dance Studio)

1200hrs – 1230hrs

Assembly: Respect – Stanley House (JMS) (Theatre)

Saturday 03 March 2018

0900hrs – 1130hrs

Sixth Form Open Day (PR) (Atrium)

0900hrs – 1400hrs

Academy Programme (AP) (EvK)

0900hrs – 1500hrs

ISCOT Badminton: MS (h); HS (@IST) (SC) (Sports Centre)

每周快讯 2018年2月8日

亲爱的各位家长:

这期《Week Ahead》是期中假期和中国新年假期前的最后一期。首先,我想祝愿全体惠灵顿家庭度过欢乐的假日,狗年大吉!

本学年开学至今,学校陆续开展了一系列工作,旨在加强惠灵顿社群建设,使之充满活力和生机。惠灵顿五大价值观在天津惠灵顿被发展和细化,我们通过“让价值观活起来”这个项目,为每一个价值观撰写了易于理解的说明;社群成员代表(学生,家长,老师)奉献了各自的想法,由此,价值观成为了惠灵顿大家庭的共识。家校沟通工作不断改进和加强,成为了联结惠灵顿社群的驱动力。学期日志(一本小册子),定期举办的开放日,校园通讯,“与校长见面”,“与运营财务总监见面”等沟通形式让家长和友人密切了解惠灵顿教育的大事小情,发挥着联通家庭教育和学校教育的作用。惠灵顿年度评审工作(Annual Review),评审团访问时间定于3月13日、14日,我很期待看到,评估能够显示一个个目标下面,我们取得的进步和发展。之后,我会将评审结果,以及一份家长问卷调查报告分享给家长们。学校还将在家长分享会上进行年度评审的专题介绍下一阶段发展计划,分享会时间:5月2日周三早间9点。

如果您是Week Ahead的忠实读者,您会发现,Week Ahead将从中国新年假期过后改版,活动预告更为精简和易于理解,关注点是下一周的重点活动。除了活动预告,我们将推出一系列教育类文章,聚焦惠灵顿为年轻人提供的教育以及孩子们能够获得哪些广泛的机会。希望您在读到这些文章时,有所收获,比如早期基础教育阶段的教学解析、惠灵顿校园关怀工作介绍、面对日益复杂的大学录取程序我校的大学升学指导项目等等,我们力求文章详实、充满趣味性和启发性,为我校家长和惠灵顿友人了解惠灵顿天津的教育和孩子们在这里的学习之旅,开辟一种新的交流方式。改版后的Week Ahead,我们也非常期待收到您的意见和反馈。

向全体惠灵顿大家庭致以诚挚问候
校长Julian Jeffrey


与校长见面
员工休息室
3月1日 周四
14:00-15:15

本周与校长见面主要面向2-6年级学生家长。如果您想要参加,请在2月28日周三之前发送邮件给Emma 石老师进行预约(emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn)

什么是“服务型学习”?
黑箱剧场
2月28日 周三
9:00-10:00

每周三上午9:00,家长们将有机会参与到学校的各项有关您孩子教育的工作中,从早期教育到A Level以及大学录取工作全都会有所涉及。地点会根据参加的观众有所不同,下周的分享会将由Ms Divya Jesudoss 向您介绍“服务型学习”,此外 Mr Amos Owiti还将介绍爱丁堡公爵项目的相关情况。

家长会:11年级,12年级和13年级(AL和IB课程)
学校餐厅
2月28日 周三
17:00-18:30

面向全体考试年级(11年级,12年级和13年级,包括IB和A Level课程项目)全体学生家长会将于2月28日周三17:00-19:00在学校食堂举行。学生们应该提前和他们的老师进行预约以便减少现场排队等候的时间。

家长们将有机会和孩子的老师们一起讨论孩子在模拟考试中的表现,同时了解在2018年5月/6月公开考试季之前需要提升的方面。届时教学高管团队的成员将在现场解答各位家长的有关疑问。

 

正面管教家长班(基础班,中文授课)
主楼125室
周一 9:30-11:30
日期:  1月22日和29日;2月5日和26日;3月5日,12日,19日和26日
费用: 每次课30人民币或8次课200人民币
联系方式:杨晨  13132235299

正面管教家长课堂到底长啥样?看完《正面管教》书觉得很好,但是体会不深刻,也不知如何用?想要进一步了解风靡美国40年的家庭教育方式?就让WCA正面管教家长课来帮助你吧!

无论你有多爱你的孩子,在养育的过程中总会让你遇到烦恼、难过、纠结、沮丧、不知所措的时候。每当孩子在商场哭闹着要买玩具,在饭桌前挑三拣四不想吃饭,在学校学习懈怠,晚上不想睡觉、早上拒绝起床,你是如何解决这些问题的呢?每一位父母都希望自己的孩子学习认真,生活自律、有爱有责任感、愿意合作、自信、有解决问题的能力……那如何才能培养孩子的这些品质和技能呢?

WCA正面管教家长课将会让你了解孩子的成长信息,帮助你找到育儿的有效方法和技能。当你掌握了正面管教的育儿方式后,就会有自信、有技巧、有尊严的运用自己的心灵和智慧找到自己解决问题的答案。

正面管教家长课让你打开读懂孩子的大门。每周两个小时的学习,持续学习,就能获得亲子教育的新知。

与新知家长们一起,懂孩子,受益的将不仅是你的孩子还有你的亲密关系和你自己。

我能收获到什么:

  1. 学习正面管教的基础理论知识
  2. 解密亲子关系
  3. 学会有效的亲子沟通
  4. 找到孩子错误行为背后目的
  5. 良好的情绪管理
  6. 找到适合孩子的教育方式
  7. 自我成长

艺术课程
小学艺术教室
0830-1100, 每周五 

在照顾了可爱的孩子们一周之后哦,是时候考虑一下自己啦。作为远离日常喧嚣生活的小小绿洲,艺术课程能够为你提供所需要的放松。这是一种应对日常生活压力的有效方式,并且帮助你为即将到来的忙碌的周末做好准备。

油画,雕塑,素描,颜料画,头欧明水彩画,彩色蜡笔等对你将不再陌生。之前你一直想尝试但是没有时间实现的东西,现在你都可以在自己最方便的时间尝试- 当孩子在学校的时候。

每个月我们将着重一种新的艺术技巧进行尝试。

通过一种艺术的方式并结合放松,启发性的音乐,享受一杯茶或咖啡,将帮助你找到生活中的乐趣。每周五在把孩子们送到学校之后就来加入我们的艺术课程吧。

小学部艺术教室将在8:30至11:00开放供大家学校新的技能,和朋友聊天以及分享你对艺术的热爱。

期待在小学部艺术教室见到您。

初阶英语课程
MB 235教室
每周二 8:30-9:30
本课程适合初学者水平,帮助他们提高语法水平,词汇和全面语言能力。

高阶英语课程
MB 231教室
每周四 11:00-12:00本
课程适合对自己目前语言水平更有信息的学习者,帮助他们进一步拓展语法和词汇,并且专注在提高口语流利程度上。

普拉提
黑箱剧场1100-1200, 每周二
舞蹈教室0930-1030, 每周五

普拉提是一项由Joseph Pilates开发的身体运动系统。它全面协调了身体,意志和精神。普拉提专注核心肌肉群和平衡肌肉群的发展,增强柔韧性和关节机能。那么不要犹豫,来参加我们,来感受改变。期待你的加入。

瑜伽课
舞蹈教室 每周三上午9:00-10:00 

欢迎参加在天津惠灵顿学校新开设的瑜伽课程。瑜伽哲学和功法起源于印度。“瑜伽”这个词来源于“yuj”这个词,意是“去除束缚”,将身心统一起来。定期的瑜伽练习可以帮助你的身体变得强壮、灵活、平衡和健康。对您的精神面貌也是如此。瑜伽在世界各地都很受欢迎,因为它的治愈效果很好。无论您是初学者还是资深瑜伽爱好者,这都没关系,我们欢迎每个人来参加。

随着中国新年的临近,小学部本周没有举办班级集会。然而我们仍然展示了所有班级中表现突出的每周之星们。

Jerry以精彩的朗诵开启了我们的机会,之后Thomas以出色的萨克斯演奏作为结束;我经常称赞我们惠灵顿孩子们卓越的音乐才华。

Ms O’Donoghue班级里的孩子们是最健康的,因为他们获得了本次的100%出勤奖-而且这是他们第二次获奖。

希望各位家长已经和孩子们谈论我们在小学部教授读写课程的新方式。新的方式叫做为写作而谈论Talk for Writing(T4W),这是在英国很流行的提高写作能力的工具。我们一些教职员工已经通过了最新的培训并且将相关内容分享给其他同事。自从我们开始进行T4W教学,孩子们的进步是明显的,(特别是对于在写作方面有困难的男孩子们)学习的乐趣也有所提高。

Ms O’Donoghue和Ms Romer将在3月21日周三9:00向各位家长介绍T4W的相关内容。欢迎您前来了解T4W的实际运用;您将被邀请参与其中!稍后将有更详细信息。

孩子的2018年春节庆祝

在过去的几周里我一直为天津的春节庆祝活动积极练习太极拳。这对我来说完全是新的事物,我非常兴奋能够参与其中。

学校很支持我并鼓励我抓住这样一个难得的机会。在录影前的2周里,我每个周六早上都跟随一位经验丰富的太极大师练习。该课程时长2小时,是录影公司安排的。在课上我需要把3分半时长的全套动作练习10遍以上,同时老师会纠正我的动作。上周一我需要在14:30达到录制工作室,这个时间很不方便,但是学校允许我早离开学校以便准时到达。

此外我还在学校练习,因为学校的Mr. Batey老师也是一位太极大师。

今年早些时候他在三亚获奖,他在2周的时间里每天午餐时间和我一起练习。

 

周一当我到达电视台录制现场的时候,我真的很紧张也非常饿。我需要再等待至少20分钟时间才能上台,而当我登上舞台的时候,我妈妈冲我微笑,吸引我的注意力。我完成了太极拳的全套动作,但是这一次是作为中国文化展示的一部分伴随音乐完成,和我平时的练习课很不一样。我们需要反复多次的完成全套动作,而且很疲劳。当我们完成表演,观众们起立欢呼鼓掌。

这几周的时间将是我一生难忘的经历;特别是拍摄录制表演的经历。如果你想看这场表演,您可以在2月14日除夕当天的本地电视台看到。节目的名字是Qian Nian You,通往中国–2018 五省儿童春节联欢庆祝活动。

16岁以下的中学男生篮球队与TIS进行了一场非常有趣的比赛。在前四分之三的时间里,我们占据劣势,因为我们虽然有很多机会却错失很多良机追平比分。因此,在比赛还剩四分之一的时间时,比分是18:8. 在最后四分之一比赛之前我和队员们进行了简短的交谈,我坚持说只要拼尽全力,我们还是有机会取胜的,队员们决定要发挥最好水平。而我,也承诺他们,如果他们赢了我会写这篇文章表扬他们。得益于积极进取的团队精神,我们的防守变得无坚不摧,球队的进攻也变得很猛烈,球队最有价值球员Barry,连续夺得3分,最终惠灵顿以23:20 赢得了比赛。

TIS 一直是我们的强劲对手,也是很友好的对手。我们两队目前总比分是1:1, 我们很期待下次的交锋。

2018年2月26日 周一

9:30AM – 11:30AM

WCA: 正面管教 (初级) (MB 125)

2018年2月27日 周二

8:30AM – 9:30AM

WCA 英语课: 初级 (PF) (MB 235)

11:00AM – 12:00PM

WCA: 普拉提 (黑箱剧场 / 舞蹈教室)

2018年2月28日 周三

9:00AM – 10:00AM

家长分享会: 什么是 ‘服务型学习? (DJ) (黑箱剧场)

9:00AM – 10:00AM

WCA: 瑜伽 (舞蹈教室)

5:00PM – 6:30PM

家长会: 11年级, 12 年级和 13年级 (AL & IB 课程) (DP)

2018年3月1日 周四

全天

世界读书日 (JP)

全天

GCSE 上海艺术之旅 (持续到3日) (MFC)

11:00AM – 12:00PM

WCA: 英语课 – 中阶/高阶 (PF) (MB 231)

2:00PM – 3:15PM

和校长见面: 2-6 年级家长(ES) (校长办公室)

2018年3月2日 周五

全天

幼儿园: 元宵节 (DZ) (幼儿园)

8:30AM – 11:00AM

WCA: 艺术课 (KM) (小学艺术教室)

9:30AM – 10:00AM

WCA: 普拉提 (黑箱剧场 / 舞蹈教室)

12:00PM – 12:30PM

集会: 尊重 – Stanley 学院 (JMS) (剧场)

2018年3月3日 周六

9:00AM – 11:30AM

高中部开放日 (PR) (前厅)

9:00AM – 2:00PM

课外课程 (AP) (EvK)

9:00AM – 3:00PM

ISCOT 羽毛球比赛: MS (h); HS (@IST) (SC) (体育馆)