The Week Ahead 5 January 2018

Dear Parents

Welcome back to a new term and a new year at Wellington. I hope that you all had a restful holiday; I am pleased to hear that the children have returned in purposeful mood. I am delighted to welcome some 20 new pupils to the school this week and parents of Year 1 pupils will already know that Mrs Karen Turdeich has joined the teaching staff. I know you will join me in welcoming all of them to our community.

I have set three key targets for us this term. The underlining theme that connects them all is an emphasis on raising pupil achievement across the school. The first is academic, of course. Our public examination candidates, from IGCSE to A Level and IB Diploma, face the most searching few months of their school lives as they prepare for the summer term’s examinations. They have mock exams this week and next that will provide an excellent measurement of progress as well as acting as an invaluable guide to areas of focus for the revision that stretches ahead of them. My colleagues in the classroom will be offering expertise and advice to all of them, but as I wrote in my end of term letter in December, the informed support of parents and families over these coming months is also so important in achieving ambitious grades for all our pupils. Working together in this way, we can make the most of the time that remains.

My second area of focus is our Annual Review from Wellington College. Achieving the commendation and advice from this group of critical friends helps both to confirm the best parts of our practice, but equally importantly, helps us to continue to improve as a school. Parents have a key role to play in informing the Review, both through the parent panel that is interviewed by a team of our reviewers during the visit, but before then, through the annual parent survey. This will be sent out to all our parents on Monday, and is available in our three main languages of English, Chinese and Korean. In the last two years, we have only averaged just over 35% of potential responses from our parent community. I am determined that we can get for a fuller picture by seeking completed forms from at least 70% of our parent body, so I would be very grateful for your help in getting close to this figure. It will take only 10-15 minutes to complete online.

Finally, we will use the term to work collectively in producing another memorable school musical. Les Misérables will be China’s first official school production of this hugely popular and exciting show. For the first time, pupils will be heavily involved at all stages of the production, from costume and set design to stage management and front of house duties. It promises to be another highlight of the school year and will act as a showcase for so much of the talent we have in our pupil body.

In these three ways, as in so many others, we are committed to working hard each day to making the school into the remarkable institution I know it can be: pupil achievement, in all its forms, lies at the heart of the school’s desire to be the best.

Best wishes
Julian Jeffrey
Master

MEET THE MASTER: CHILD PROTECTION BRIEFING
Common Room
1330hrs-1515hrs
Thursday 11th January

This week, the Meet the Master slot is aimed at giving a briefing about the child protection measures in place to protect your children at Wellington in Tianjin. If you would like to attend, please confirm via email with Ms. Emma Shi (emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn) by Wednesday 10th January.

Bursar’s Office
1400hrs-1500hrs
Wednesday 10th January

Meet the Bursar will be on Wednesday 10th January. We will have a review of the last meeting’s actions and a discussion on this month’s key topic: swimming pool maintenance and next steps in swimming activities. Please send Ms Lisa Liu (lisa.liu@wellingtoncollege.cn) a message if you are planning to attend and any specific topics you would like to raise. This will help us to ensure we have enough space and refreshments.

 

Chinese Cultural Trip to Xi’an

The Mandarin Department would like to arrange a Chinese culture trip for Senior School pupils to Xi’an from 30th March to 2nd April 2018. A parent letter is ready for pupils who are interested in this trip. For further details, please contact Ms. Zhou (yang.zhou@wellingtoncollege.cn).

2018 Spring Festival Charity Market

You are cordially invited to join our 2018 Spring Festival Charity Market whichwill be open on the 9th Feb 2018. If you would like to arrange a stall,introduce your friends to us or support the market in anyaspect, please contact the Marketing Department or email catherine.jia@wellingtoncollege.cnbefore 22nd January.

 

Positive Parenting Class (basic)
Chinese Language Only
MB125
9:30-11:30,
every Monday
Date:  22nd and 29th January, 5th and 26th February, 5th, 12th , 19th and 26th March
Cost: 30RMB/time or 200RMB/8 times

Positive Discipline is a programme designed to teach young people to become responsible, respectful and resourceful members of their communities. Based on the bestselling positive discipline book by Dr. Jane Nelsen, this course teaches important social and life skills in a manner that is deeply respectful and encouraging for both children and adults.

WHAT CAN WE LEARN FROM THE PARENTS’ CLASS?

Parents will learn to avoid power struggles while helping their children to develop self-control and self-discipline. Classes are in a small group setting, allowing deeper discussions and a very personalized experience.

The Positive Discipline Way (developed by Lynn Lott and Jane Nelsen) provides a step-by-step approach to starting and leading experientially based parenting groups. This programme stands alone or offers significant enhancement to any programme; it emphasizes experiential activities that reach the heart to inspire deeper understanding and change. Parents love the Parents Helping Parents Problem-Solving Steps because this process provides a fun and effective way for them to get specific help with real problems.

Learning Objectives Include:

  1. Learn research based effective tools and techniques for teaching parents how to use discipline that is kind and firm at the same time (non-punitive, non-permissive).
  2. Learn how to facilitate a parent class from the position of a non-expert.
  3. Gain practice with experiential exercises that help parents go beyond intellectual understanding to be able to respond in empowering ways that teach children.
  4. Learn how to use materials and activities in group settings, parenting classes and individual work with families.
  5. Provide parents with valuable information and practical strategies to build mutually respectful relationships.
  6. Explore the challenges of daily routines, incorporating downtime and family time, using effective strategies for discipline, and much more.
  7. Learn how to re-frame challenges into “opportunities to learn”, address feelings compassionately, set limits and understand misbehavior in order to respond more effectively to the needs of your child. You will also be empowered to focus on long-term solutions: help your child develop cooperation, responsibility, and problem-solving skills while creating a more peaceful family environment.

www.positivediscipline.com

Art Class
Junior Art Room
0830hrs-1100hrs, every Friday

Lower Level EAL Class
MB 235
0830hrs-0930hrs
every Tuesday 

This class is for beginner level learners who would like to improve their grammar, vocabulary and all-round language skills.

 

Higher Level EAL Class
MB 231
1100hrs-1200hrs
every Thursday 

This class is for more confident learners who would like to extend their grammar and vocabulary and will have a focus on improving spoken fluency.

Pilates
Black Box
1100hrs-1200hrs
every Tuesday

Dance Studio
0930hrs-1030hrs
every Friday

Pilates is physical exercise system developed by Joseph Pilates. It is complete coordination of body, mind and spirit. Pilates focuses on core strength and balanced muscle development as well as flexibility and increased range of motion for the joints. So, don’t hesitate, join our classes and feel better. You are warmly welcomed.

Monday 08 January 2018

All Day

Annual Review surveys (to 16th)

 

Tuesday 09 January 2018

0830hrs – 0930hrs

WCA English Class: beginners (PF) (MB 235)

 

1100hrs – 1200hrs

WCA: Pilates (Black Box / Dance Studio)

 

Wednesday 10 January 2018

1400hrs – 1500hrs

Meet the Bursar (LL) (Bursar’s Office)

 

Thursday 11 January 2018

0800hrs – 1500hrs

MS Basketball vs TIS (a) (SC)

1100hrs – 1200hrs

WCA: English Class – Intermediate/Advanced (PF) (MB 231)

1330hrs – 1515hrs

Meet the Master: Child Protection Briefing (ES) (Common Room)

 

Friday 12 January 2018

All Day

The Nest: Tapestry Reports published (DZ)

0830hrs – 1100hrs

WCA: Art Class (KM) (Junior Art Room)

0930hrs – 1030hrs

WCA: Pilates (Black Box / Dance Studio)

 

Saturday 13 January 2018

0800hrs – 1530hrs

ISCOT MS Basketball (Boys @ TEDA IS; Girls @ IST) (SC)

每周快讯 2018年1月5日

亲爱的各位家长:

新学期和新的一年开始了,欢迎大家回到惠灵顿大家庭。希望您和家人度过了一个愉快假期,身心得到了休息,特别是孩子们带着想法和目标回到校园。我很高兴本学期我们迎来了20位新学生和他们的家庭以及一位新老师的加入,1年级的班级老师Mrs Karen Turdeich。请和我一道欢迎他们的到来。

我为本学期设定了三个主要目标,相互配合为实现学生取得佳绩助力。首先,就是学业成绩。参加公共考试的学生(GCSE, A Level , IB)正在经历学生生涯中最为关键的备考冲刺。本周进行模拟考,成绩将作为学业进步的最佳衡量指标,同时模考成绩将为制定下一阶段学习任务提供极具价值的参考,校正重点学习领域和努力方向。工作在一线的老师们将为每一位备考学生提供专业化指导。同时,正如我在上学期期末写给您的学期回顾信中提到的,来自家庭的正确的辅导和支持也是决定孩子是否能在大考中实现具有挑战性的目标成绩非常重要的因素。在余下的时间里,学校和家庭共同配合,我们就能最大程度地实现目标。

本学期第二个要点,就是惠灵顿年度评审工作。英国惠灵顿是我们严苛的朋友,每年都提供改进建议,这将帮助我们肯定目前的教育实践是最好的,与之同等重要的是,作为一所学校我们将在这一过程中不断改进。家长在年度评审中也发挥着重要作用并拥有话语权,评审团到访时,将和家长代表进行座谈,同时在此之前,每位家长都被邀请完成年度家长满意度调查。本年家长满意度调查问卷将于周一发送各位家长,提供英文、中文、韩文三语版本。去年和前年的问卷调查我们只收到了平均35%家长的反馈。我非常想扩大这个比例,期待今年我们能够收到至少70%家长的回应。在此,我想诚挚邀请您帮助学校完成这一重要的问卷调查,全程您只需要花费10-15分钟的时间在线完成。

最后,第三个要点就是本学期将上演惠灵顿年度音乐剧《悲惨世界》,这部作品将成为目前第一部登上中国学校戏剧舞台的剧目。这是一部深受喜爱的经典剧目,令人期待。今年的排演将最大程度的提高学生的参与度,孩子们将有机会参与音乐剧各个阶段的准备工作,比如服装设计、舞台设计等等。这必将成为我校年度的一大亮点,也是展现孩子们天赋和才华的平台。

以上三点加上诸多领域的工作,全体惠灵顿大家庭的成员正通过每天的努力让学校成为最好的育人场所。学生取得佳绩,将以各种切实的形式植根于学校的核心工作中,我们要把惠灵顿办成最好的学校。

 

向全体惠灵顿大家庭致以诚挚祝愿

校长Julian Jeffrey

与校长见面: 儿童保护分享会
员工休息室
1月11日周四
下午13:30-15:15

本周的校长见面会将围绕关于儿童保护的话题与大家分享。若您有意参加,请在1月10日前通过邮件与Ms. Emma Shi (emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn)预约。

财务运营总监办公室
1月10日周三
14:00-15:00 

财务运营总监将在1月10日周三与大家进行见面会。届时将回顾上次会议的进展并讨论本周的重点主题:泳池维护和下一阶段的游泳活动。若您有意参加,请联系Ms Lisa Liu (lisa.liu@wellingtoncollege.cn)进行预约或提供您希望讨论的议题。预约后我们会为您预留席位和茶点。

 

西安中国文化之旅

中文部门将组织一次去往西安的中国文化之旅,行程定在3月30日至4月2日。 我们为有兴趣参加的学生准备了家长信。若您有意了解更多信息,请您联系Ms. Zhou (yang.zhou@wellingtoncollege.cn).


2018年春节慈善集市

我们诚挚欢迎您参加我们即将在2月9日举办的2018年春节慈善集市。若您希望安排一个摊位,向我们介绍您的朋友或从其他角度支持我们的集市,请联系市场部,也可以在1月22日前发邮件到catherine.jia@wellingtoncollege.cn进行联系。

 

正面管教家长班(基础班,中文授课)
主楼125室
每周一
9:30-11:30
日期:  1月22日和29日;2月5日和26日;3月5日,12日,19日和26日
费用: 每次课30人民币或8次课200人民币

联系方式:杨晨  13132235299

正面管教家长课堂到底长啥样?看完《正面管教》书觉得很好,但是体会不深刻,也不知如何用?想要进一步了解风靡美国40年的家庭教育方式?就让WCA正面管教家长课来帮助你吧!

无论你有多爱你的孩子,在养育的过程中总会让你遇到烦恼、难过、纠结、沮丧、不知所措的时候。每当孩子在商场哭闹着要买玩具,在饭桌前挑三拣四不想吃饭,在学校学习懈怠,晚上不想睡觉、早上拒绝起床,你是如何解决这些问题的呢?每一位父母都希望自己的孩子学习认真,生活自律、有爱有责任感、愿意合作、自信、有解决问题的能力……那如何才能培养孩子的这些品质和技能呢?

WCA正面管教家长课将会让你了解孩子的成长信息,帮助你找到育儿的有效方法和技能。当你掌握了正面管教的育儿方式后,就会有自信、有技巧、有尊严的运用自己的心灵和智慧找到自己解决问题的答案。

正面管教家长课让你打开读懂孩子的大门。每周两个小时的学习,持续学习,就能获得亲子教育的新知。与新知家长们一起,懂孩子,受益的将不仅是你的孩子还有你的亲密关系和你自己。

我能收获到什么:

  1. 学习正面管教的基础理论知识
  2. 解密亲子关系
  3. 学会有效的亲子沟通
  4. 找到孩子错误行为背后目的
  5. 良好的情绪管理
  6. 找到适合孩子的教育方式
  7. 自我成长

www.positivediscipline.com

艺术课程
小学艺术教室
每周五08:30-11:00 

初阶英语课程
MB 235教室
每周二 8:30-9:30

本课程适合初学者水平,帮助他们提高语法水平,词汇和全面语言能力。

 

高阶英语课程
MB 231教室
每周四 11:00-12:00

本课程适合对自己目前语言水平更有信息的学习者,帮助他们进一步拓展语法和词汇,并且专注在提高口语流利程度上。

普拉提
黑箱剧场
每周二 11:00-12:00

舞蹈教室
每周五 09:30-10:30

普拉提是一项由Joseph Pilates开发的身体运动系统。它全面协调了身体,意志和精神。普拉提专注核心肌肉群和平衡肌肉群的发展,增强柔韧性和关节机能。那么不要犹豫,来参加我们,来感受改变。期待你的加入。

2018年1月8日 周一
全天
第 18周

全天
年审问卷调查 (持续到16日)

2018年1月9日 周二
8:30AM – 9:30AM
WCA 英语课程: 初阶 (PF) (MB 235)
11:00AM – 12:00PM
WCA: 普拉提 (黑箱剧场 / 舞蹈教室)

2018年1月10日 周三
2:00PM – 3:00PM
和总监见面 (LL) (总监办公室)

2018年1月11日 周四
8:00AM – 3:00PM
初中篮球赛vs TIS (a) (SC)

11:00AM – 12:00PM
WCA: 英语课 – 中阶/高阶 (PF) (MB 231)

 

1:30PM – 3:15PM
和校长见面: 儿童保护工作介绍 (ES) (员工休息室)

2018年1月12日 周五
全天
幼儿园: Tapestry 报告公布 (DZ)

8:30AM – 11:00AM
WCA: 艺术课程 (KM) (小学艺术教室)

9:30AM – 10:30AM
WCA: 普拉提 (黑箱剧场 / 舞蹈教室)

2018年1月13日 周六

8:00AM – 3:30PM
ISCOT 初中篮球赛 (Boys @ TEDA IS; Girls @ IST) (SC)