The Week Ahead 31 August 2017


Dear Parents

I wrote last week of the school’s delight at the record results for our public examination candidates over the summer. Our final set of results arrived last week, and I am now able to give you all more details of the successes of our young people.

I am so pleased that all pupils from our graduating class have been successful in gaining admission to universities of their choice. These results, including recent A Level results that are the best in the school’s history by a record margin, mean our young people have opportunities that will change their lives forever. Our graduates now go on to some of the world’s leading universities – LSE, Warwick, Parsons, Bond, Edinburgh, King’s College London, Central St Martins and others in the UK, US, Korea and Australia. To place their achievements in context, our graduates scored 37% at the top grades (A*-A), against a UK average of 26%, an overall A*-C average of 86% – far exceeding their targets – and 100% pass rate. In terms of IGCSE successes, once again our pupils excelled themselves, with an A*-A rate, the benchmark grading for such examinations, at 40% (20% in the UK) and an overall A*-C average of 86%. These results will mean that, by the time these children apply for universities, they will have an enviable level of proven, internationally accredited public examination results to support their applications.

These results place Wellington among the top performing schools in the UK, China and internationally. Pupils now entering Year 12 and the A Level programme can harbour genuine expectations of the highest grades and the finest universities by the time they graduate in 2019. Those in Years 10 and 11 are equally aiming for the sort of ambitious results we demand from our young people. Throughout the school, children and their teachers are working towards targets that will stretch our most able as well as allow all our learners to take ownership of their own educational goals.

My core message for the community is that the school is centred on pupil achievement, and with the dedication of our skilled staff, the support of parents and the application of our pupils, we will continue to celebrate record-breaking results for our public examination candidates.

Best wishes
Julian Jeffrey
Master


MEET THE MASTER
Master’s Office
1400hrs
Thursday 7th
 September

This week, the Meet the Master slot is aimed at parents of pupils in Years 2- 6. If you would like to attend, please confirm via email with Ms. Emma Shi 

(emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn) 

by Wednesday 6th September.



MEET THE BURSAR
Bursar’s Office
1400hrs-1500hrs
Monday 
4th September

The first Meet the Bursar will be on Monday 4th September. Please send Ms Lisa Liu a message if you are planning to attend and if you have any specific topics you would like to raise (lisa.liu@wellingtoncollege.cn). This will help us to ensure we have enough space and refreshments.

For this meeting, I will plan to review the facility changes and other works that we completed during the summer break. To assist with this, I will have our Operations Manager and Facility Manager join us; it will be a good opportunity for you to meet them and to get to know the key people in the non-academic team.

Please remember to get your new parent badges, if you have not done so yet, and to register your car licence plates if you plan to use the car park.  I would also like to ask you to help us by encouraging all parents to wear their ID badges while on campus, and always use those badges to register entry and exit from the school.

School early closures
A reminder that due to road closures related to Tianjin’s hosting of the 13th National Games’ events, we will dismiss pupils from 1415hrs on the following dates: Wednesday 6th September and Friday 8th September.



TUTORING AND THE HOUSE SYSTEM
Common Room
0900hrs-1000hrs
Wednesday 6th
 September

Every Wednesday morning from 0900hrs, parents will have the chance to engage with the school in sessions that cover all aspects of your child’s education, from the Early Years to A Levels and university admissions. The venue will vary according to the anticipated audience, and for next week’s meeting, Mr Johnathan Lewis, the Deputy Head (Pastoral) will introduce the Tutoring and House System at Wellington.


WCIT PASTORAL 
W stands for Wellbeing. This first in this occasional series of pastoral notes for the Week Ahead focuses on wellbeing.

A comprehensive current study by the Australian government recently stated that, “differences in children’s development emerge early and are evident by the time they reach school. Children who enter school when they are not ready for this type of educational setting have low levels of wellbeing support, have lower levels of academic achievement and are at an increased risk of teenage parenthood, mental health problems, getting into trouble with the law and poorer job outcomes.”

In New Zealand, many students do not complete their courses and qualifications successfully – around 25 percent of New Zealand University students do not complete their qualifications (Scott, 2009). This is directly linked to poor wellbeing.

Previous research has shown that wellbeing is linked to better academic outcomes (El Ansari & Stock, 2010). For example, students who use their strengths more, report more engagement with their learning and intrinsic motivation to learn (Louis, 2009), and growth mindsets improve both well being and learning outcomes (Dweck, 2006).

Research has also demonstrated that wellbeing is largely related to engagement: higher well-being leads to higher engagement, and this in turn leads to better academic outcomes.

Provide your child with responsive care. It can be hard. It takes time to slow down, carefully look at, or observe, what your child is doing, and to learn what their behaviours might really mean.

Be affectionate and nurturing. Loving behaviour and encouraging words send messages to your child, reassuring them that they are somebody special. And when they feel they are loved for who they are, they learn how to love others that way, too.

Help your child learn to resolve conflicts in a healthy, appropriate way

Let them explore what they are capable of and also let them know you are there to support their efforts.



Catch-up Session
Sixth Form Study Room
1545hrs-1900hrs
every Friday

There will be a new work catch-up session running on Fridays from 1545hrs – 1900hrs for Sixth Form pupils who have not managed to complete their work during the week. This is not a punishment, but is designed to give our pupils the opportunity to keep up with their studies. If your child is required to attend, you will be notified by the end of the day on Thursday by email. Your cooperation in this matter is much appreciated.

Getting ready for university and beyond
We are encouraging all Year 13 pupils to get their applications completed by the beginning of the Christmas holidays. A timeline of key dates for UK and US university applications has been given out:

All pupils will have to operate in a very competitive environment once they leave Wellington, so we advise that pupils from Year 11 onwards, or indeed, even earlier, should include an element of work experience or activity during most school vacations to assist in the development of some of the following important skills:

  • Self-reliance – this can be developed by playing competitive sports or being part of a band or dramatic group.
  • People skills – such as team-working, communication and leadership. These can be nurtured by having a weekend job, doing voluntary work or being a member of an orchestra or team. We are also running our Global Social Leaders (GSL) programme again this year, offering excellent opportunities for pupil leadership [see key dates above].
  • General employment skills – at university, our pupils will inevitably be making decisions and choices alone, without their parents or teachers to advise them on the correct course of action. Their intelligence will need to have been awakened to the real and long-term issues involved when they are pressed to say “yes” or “no” to a particular course of action. Any kind of work experience will help them to be able to cope with in these situations.
  • Service learning – our pupils should aim to do charity work, help others in the College and the wider community and undertake some forms of voluntary work.
  • A knowledge of current affairs – pupils are encouraged to read a quality newspaper regularly.
  • Reading skills – encourage your child to read. Studying at university will require them to have a more proactive and independent approach. They should do additional reading around their A-level or IB subjects and the subjects they plan to study at university
  • Help your child to learn to keep to a budget. Learning to budget is a vital skill and will be essential when they get to university.
  • Encourage them to get out of their comfort zone. They will be meeting a lot of new people and they will have to be able to communicate with them in an open and confident manner.
  • Other specific skills that might be relevant to a pupil’s future career include learning to drive, first aid skills, cookery and web design – the list is almost endless!
  • If you have any questions regarding life in the Sixth Form or university applications, please contact the Sixth Form Team on:jayne.sabio@wellingtoncollege.cn Head of Sixth Form
    edward.batey@wellingtoncollege.cn Deputy Head of Sixth Form
    stacey.liu@wellingtoncollege.cn University Liaison Officer, Chinese speaker
    hannah.kim@wellingtoncollege.cn Korean Liaison 


Senior School ASA
ASA in the Senior School will start this term from Monday 4th September.  Pupils will have chosen their ASA this week in the school and the parents are encouraged to speak to them about the ones they have chosen. There is a diverse range of ASA on offer for this term, as our teachers in the Senior School are highlighting their talents and expertise.  Please do email me (david.mackinnon@wellingtoncollege.cn) if you have any questions related to the ASA programme.


Y12 Art Trip to Cuandixia Village
0650hrs-2000hrs
Saturday 2nd
 September

On Saturday 2nd September, the Year 12 Art pupils will be taking a trip to Cuandixia, a Ming dynasty village to the west of Beijing. The trip will be an immersive introduction to the A Level Art course where pupils will be given the opportunity to take photos of the beautiful surroundings and draw from first hand observation. The visual information recorded will be used to inspire their work this term.

It’s going to be an early start and Year 12 students will need to be at the gates at the front of school for 0650hrs ready to board the school bus. We intend to be back by 2000hrs and pupils have been given a list of things to bring but if there are any further queries please email me directly at

madeline.churchill@wellingtoncolllege.cn.


Charity Sleepover
Black Box
1400hrs
Friday 8th
 September

We are very excited to announce an opportunity to support Jian Hua Orphanage with our annual sleepover on Friday 8th September. It will start at 1400hrs and it will be centred in the Black Box.

Admission is 50 RMB and pupils should collect a sponsorship form in advance from Ms. Rogic in order to raise as much money as possible for this wonderful cause. All the money will be donated to Jian Hua Ltd.


JUNIOR SCHOOL PARENTS’ EVENING
Class Teachers’ rooms
1545hrs-1730hrs
Thursday 7th
 September

All parents (except those of Year 6) will have a Parents’ Evening on the 7th September from 1545hrs. The teachers will give an overview of the timetable, what children will be learning over the year, upcoming trips, homework project expectations and many other useful ideas to support your child at home. Please come along. During the meetings, your child will be in another classroom watching a video and supervised by a Teaching Assistant.


Welcome back everybody, from your glorious summer holidays.  After speaking with many parents, our children have had the most exciting opportunities of travelling around the world: Australia, America, UK, Thailand, Hong Kong, Poland and the Czech Republic are just a few of the places that our families have visited. I’m sure you will all agree that our children have the most wonderful opportunities both at home with their parents and at our school.

The Junior School team has arranged many exciting opportunities over the year which link into the children’s IPC projects. We have the Year 6 trip to UK in April (a letter has already gone home), a Year 5 camping trip in March and a new trip for Year 4 pupils in November; parents of children in Year 4 will have a meeting very soon to explain it.

The Junior School has started as it means to go on, with Milepost 2’s entry point:
On Monday afternoon, the Milepost 2 pupils kicked off their topic “Around the World” with something to delight the taste buds – all the Year 3 and Year 4 children brought in samples of food from around the world. A huge thank you to all the parents who provided all the food! The children shared their delicious offerings during their whistle-stop tour around the cuisine of the globe, and thoroughly enjoyed themselves. The children will start in China this week and then plot their trip of discovery “around the world”.

Mr Edward Philpott
MP2 Lead

Year 6 children have also voted for their Head Boy and Girl. The chosen pair’s primary responsibility is to chair student council meetings, write articles for the Week Ahead and be ambassadors for the School when we have guests. Five boys and five girls put their names forward for the election. After giving speeches and answering questions from the audience about how they would go about the job if chosen, the rest of the year group completed a secret ballot to decide the representatives for the Junior School. In a strong showing by both, Mimi and Kai Yi were elected as Head Girl and Head Boy respectively. Congratulations to both, I’m sure they will do a great job! We will be celebrating these two children in our Celebration Assembly on Friday at 0830hrs.

Year 6 also have 4 prefects to support Head Boy and Girl who are:
Thomas, Julia, Seoyoon and Mia

All parents are welcome to join our Assembly on Friday mornings at 0830hrs.  If your child has been awarded a certificate for an event out of school, please ask your child to bring it in, with a short explanation of what the certificate is for, and we will celebrate their achievements.

The Junior School will also host another of our Open Mornings on Monday 9th October. It was an extremely popular event last year, therefore please register early as we ae limited to 50 parent places on the event.  Please email polly.zhang@wellingtoncollege.cn to register your place.

Each week we will have workshops and lectures on various and colourful topics held by our school parents and friends. This is to enhance our bounds as a Wellington Community and we would love to welcome all of you to join us! Starting with new academic year, school parents Mrs. Daniela Stofkova opens the ‘Pilates’ session and Mrs. Ksenija Markovic holds “Art Class” for your mental relaxation and inspiration. In addition, we also have Professor Wei Wang from Tianjin University of Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) to explain how TCM can help with your family’s daily diet.

Pilates
Dance Studio
1100hrs-1200hrs
Every Tuesday and Friday from 29th September

Pilates is physical exercise system developed by Joseph Pilates. It is complete coordination of body, mind and spirit. Pilates focuses on core strength and balanced muscle development as well as flexibility and increased range of motion for the joints. As Joseph Pilates said:

In 10 sessions, you’ll feel the difference

in 20 sessions, you’ll see the difference,

and in 30 sessions, you’ll have a new body.

So, don’t hesitate, join our classes and feel better. You are warmly welcomed.

Art Class
Junior Art Room
0830hrs-1100hrs
Every Friday from 1st September

After a long week of taking care of your beloved children it’s time to think of yourself as well. A little oasis from everyday noise, ART classes can give you much needed relaxation.

An excellent way to cope with your everyday stress routine, and to prepare yourself for the upcoming busy weekend.

Painting, sculpture, drawing, acrylics, aquarelle, crayons won’t be a mystery to you anymore. All the things you always wanted to try but didn’t have time for, now in the most convenient time and place for you – when your kids are at school.

Each month we will be focusing on something new that you might like to try.

Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM): Food Therapy
WCA Room
0900hrs-1030hrs
Every Tuesday from 29th September

Professor Wang is the Director of Clinical Teaching and Training Department in Tianjin University of Traditional Chinese Medicine. Every Tuesday morning 9:00am to 10:30am, I will demonstrate how to find out you and your family’s health issues and how traditional Chinese medicine help with your family diet, the balance of vegetables and fruits etc. I will also show you how to diagnose your body by looking at the colour of the tongue and your face. The last 15 minutes after the lesson, there will be a massage session which will be greatly helpful to maintain your health. The whole lesson is completely practical and instructed by cases, look forward to seeing you!


Monday 04 September 2017
1400hrs – 1500hrs
Meet the Bursar (LL) (Bursar’s Office)

Tuesday 05 September 2017
0900hrs – 1030hrs
WCA: Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) (WCA Room)

1100hrs – 1200hrs
WCA: Pilates (Dance Studio)

Wednesday 06 September 2017
0900hrs – 1000hrs
Parent Briefing: Tutoring & the House System (JL) (Black Box)

Thursday 07 September 2017
1400hrs – 1515hrs
Meet the Master: Years 2-6 Parents (ES) (Master’s Office)

1545hrs – 1730hrs
Junior School Parents’ Evening: Welcome to our Class (YT)

Friday 08 September 2017
0830hrs – 1100hrs
WCA: Art Class (KM) (Junior Art Room)

1100hrs – 1200hrs
WCA: Pilates (Dance Studio)

1400hrs
Charity Sleepover in Aid of Jian Hua Orphanage (to 9th) (MR)

Saturday 09 September 2017
0900hrs – 1230hrs
Saturday Activity Programme (SAP) (EvK)

每周快讯 2017年8月31日


亲爱的各位家长:

上期Week Ahead和您分享了一个喜讯:惠灵顿学子在公共考试中取得佳绩,就在上周,全部成绩发布,现在我能够与您分享详细信息。

我非常喜悦地告知大家,惠灵顿天津2016-17全体毕业生都成功拿到了申报志愿大学的录取通知。最近公布的A Level考试成绩创下了历史最好记录。这样的好成绩意味着,孩子们已经获得了可能影响他们一生的教育机会。他们中的一些将前往世界一流学府: 伦敦政治经济学院(LSE), 华威大学(Warwick), 帕森斯大学(Parsons), 邦德大学(Bond), 爱丁堡大学(Edinburgh), 伦敦大学国王学院(King’s College London), 中央圣马丁学院(Central St Martins) 以及其它坐落于英国、美国、韩国、澳大利亚的高等学府。以比较的视角分析成绩,毕业生中37%的学生拿到了最高分 (A*-A),英国本土的平均比例是26%;我校学生获得A*-C比例达到86%,远远高于设定目标;毕业生100%通过了A Level考试。学校还同时取得了成功的IGCSE成绩,我校学生超越自我,取得A*-A成绩的比例达到40%(英国本土平均成绩是20%),达到A*-C的比例为86%;这样的佳绩意味着,孩子们将以出众的、具备国际化认可度的公共考试成绩,申请心仪的大学。

这样的结果奠定了惠灵顿于英国、中国以及国际舞台的领先地位。现在就读于12年级的学生,和正在学习A Level课程的学生将继承这种优良传统,到2019年毕业时取得好成绩、进入最棒的大学。10年级和11年级同样将被给予高期待和高要求,延续佳绩。通观全校各年级,孩子们和老师们都正在努力着,向一个目标前进,那就是:不遗余力地不间断地拓展学生的各项学习潜能,同时让孩子们成为教育活动中对自我目标的主宰者。

我想对惠灵顿社群传递一个重要讯息,学校是令学生取得佳绩的育人之地,有优秀教职员工的全情投入,有家长的支持,有学生的努力,我们的毕业生将会再次取得傲人成绩,令惠灵顿社群为之庆贺和荣耀。

向全体惠灵顿大家庭致以诚挚问候
校长Julian Jeffrey


和校长见面
校长办公室
97日周四 下午 2:00

本周与校长见面时间主要面向2-6年级学生家长。如果您想要参加,请您在96日周三前通过邮件和Ms. Emma Shi 石老师进行预约(emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn)



与总监见面
总监办公室
94日周一 下午2:00-3:00

第一次与总监见面日期是94日周一。如果您计划参加见面会或者如果您有任何想要讨论的话题,请您发送邮件到(lisa.liu@wellingtoncollege.cn这将帮助我们确保我们有足够的座位和饮品供应。

针对本次见面会,我计划向各位介绍在暑假期间我们完成的设施和其他变化。为了更清楚地展示我们所完成的工作,本次会议将由运营部经理和设备设施部经理加入;这将是您和他们会面的好机会,同时您也可以了解非教学团队的重要负责人员。

如果您还没有领取新的家长胸卡,请您记得及时领取,同时如果您需要使用地下停车库,请您记得注册您的牌照信息。同时我也想借此机会请您在校园区域内佩戴家长身份胸卡并互相提醒,并且在进入和离开校园的时候始终出示您的胸卡。

学校提早放学通知:温馨提示,由于天津举办第十三届全运会相关交通管制和道路限行,学校将在以下日期实行14:15 放学时间: 9月6日周三和9月8日周五。



员工休息室
96日周三09:00-10:00

为了加强家长与学校的沟通,在每周三的早上9点,我们都会组织家长分享会,内容涵盖孩子在校生活的各个方面,从早期教育到A-level以及大学招生。地点将根据预计参与人数而定。在下周的会议中,副校长(学生关怀工作)Jonathan Lewis先生将介绍我校辅导员制度和学院制度。


WCIT 学生关怀W 意指幸福。如同其作为情感关怀的首字母一样,本周简讯将重点关注幸福。
最近,澳大利亚政府的一项综合性研究表明“孩子发展的差别早在他们入学时就已经显现。那些不能适应教育模式的孩子获得的幸福感以及在校成绩会较低,青春期育有子女,精神健康问题,低就业收入以及卷入法律纠纷的风险会增加”。

在新西兰很多学生都未能成功完成学业 – 大约25%的新西兰大学生没有取得应有的资格认证(Scott 2009)。这直接导致了幸福感的下降。

早先的研究表明幸福感与更高的学业成就相关(El Ansari & Stock, 2010)。例如,学生越是能够更多地发挥自己的长处,将越能促进他们内在的学习动机(Louis, 2009),并在心智和学业上取得双丰收(Dweck, 2006)

研究还揭示,幸福感更多地与参与度相关:较高地幸福感带来较高的参与度,进而带来更好的学业成果。

最高机密

父母如何能真正促进孩子的学业成果

  • 无微不至的关怀

这很难。需要花时间慢下来去仔细观察或洞察您的孩子在做什么,探究他们行为的真实含义。

  • 深情和培养

通过爱的行为和激励的言语向您的孩子传递信息,让他们坚信自己是独一无二的。当他们发现因为作了自己而被爱着,他们也会这样去爱别人。

  • 帮助孩子学会以健康,感恩的心去化解矛盾

让他们去探索自己的所长并让他们知道您是支持他们的。



练习课
高中部学习室
每周五下午3:45-7:00

对于没有完成当周作业的高中学生,将在周五下午3:45-7:00参加练习课。这并不是惩罚措施,其目的是给孩子提供一个追赶上其他同学的机会。如果您的孩子被要求参加,您将会通过邮件在周四的晚上收到通知。非常感谢您对此的配合。

为大学及未来做好准备
我们鼓励13年级的学生在圣诞假期开始时就完成他们的大学申请。我们准备了英国和美国的大学申请时间表发给大家。

一旦离开天津惠灵顿国际学校,所有学生将去往充满竞争的环境,为此我们建议自11年级起,甚至更早些的年级,都应参与到学校提供的大多数活动中来积累工作活动经验,从而帮助他们掌握并发展下列技能:

  • 自信 – 可以通过参与竞技性体育项目或参加戏剧社团来培养
  • 人际能力 – 比如团队合作,沟通和领导力。这些可以通过周末兼职,参加志愿者活动或加入管弦乐队来培养。今年我们将继续开办全球社会领袖 (GSL) 计划,提供绝佳的培养学生领导力的机会(请见上面所述的具体日期)。
  • 综合应用技能 – 在大学,离开家长和老师为他们指导正确的处事方法,我们的学生将不可避免地面对独立思考并自己做出决策的时刻。当他们面对特定处事方式说“是”或“不”的时候,他们的心智将被唤起并真正能够长久的发挥作用。任何形式的工作经历都能帮助他们应对这样的情况。
  • 学习去服务 – 学生应该去做慈善工作,帮助学校或更广范围的其他人并承担某些形式的志愿者工作。
  • 对实事的了解 – 鼓励学生有规律地阅读优质报纸。
  • 阅读技能 – 鼓励孩子阅读。在大学里,学生将更多地需要独立且前瞻性的学习。他们将围绕A-level或IB科目,以及他们计划在大学学习的科目来读更多的书籍。
  • 帮助孩子学会控制预算。当他们进入大学后,进行预算将成为一项重要的必备技能。
  • 鼓励他们走出自己的舒适区。他们将遇到很多人,将会不得不学习以开放且自信的方式与他们交流。
  • 其他有关学生未来职业发展的技能还包括:学会驾驶,急救技能,烹饪及网页设计 ,暂不一一赘述。
  • 如果您对于高中生活或大学申请有任何问题,请联系高中部:jayne.sabio@wellingtoncollege.cn (高中部主管)
    edward.batey@wellingtoncollege.cn (高中部副主管)
    stacey.liu@wellingtoncollege.cn (大学联络官,中文)
    hannah.kim@wellingtoncollege.cn (韩语)


中学部课后活动
本学期的中学部课后活动将从9月4日周一开始。 学生们本周已经在学校选好了自己的ASA课后活动,也请各位家长询问下孩子所选的活动。 本学期学校提供了多种多样的ASA活动项目,中学部的老师们也在充分发挥自己的才能和专长。如果您对于ASA 项目有任何疑问,请发邮件给我(david.mackinnon@wellingtoncollege.cn)。


12年级爨底下村艺术之旅
92日周六早上6:50到晚上8:00

9月2日周六,12年级的艺术学生们将前往北京爨底下村,这是位于北京西部的一个明代乡村。这次旅行将是对于A Level艺术课程的生动介绍,届时学生们将有机会拍摄周围的美景并现场进行艺术写生。旅行中记录的视觉资料将成为他们本学期作品的素材。

因为早上出发时间较早,12年级的学生们需要在6:50到学校正门集合并准备乘坐校车。我们计划在晚上8点返回,学生们已经拿到一个需要准备用品的清单,如果您有任何其他疑问请直接发送邮件给我madeline.churchill@wellingtoncolllege.cn.


在校过夜慈善募捐活动
黑箱剧场
98日周五下午2:00

我们很高兴地宣布今年9月8日周五举办的一年一度的在校过夜慈善活动将为Jian Hua 孤儿院进行募捐。本次活动将主要在黑箱剧场进行,开始时间为下午2点。
参加活动费用为人民币50元,学生们需要提前从Ms. Rogic处领取资助表格以便为本次活动募捐更多善款。全部善款将捐赠给Jian Hua。


班级老师教室
97日周四 下午3:45-5:30

全体小学部家长(6年级的家长除外)将在9月7日15:45 参加家长会。老师们将介绍课表,孩子们全年所要学习的课程,即将举办的郊游活动,作业和要求以及一些其他帮助您在家辅导孩子的方法。请您准时来参加。在家长会上,您的孩子将在另一间教室里在助教的看护下观看影片。


欢迎大家在愉快的暑假过后重返校园。在和许多家长交谈之后,我了解到孩子们在假期里有机会到世界各地旅行:澳大利亚,美国,英国,泰国,香港,波兰和捷克只是孩子们家庭旅行的几个目的地。我相信您也认同我们的孩子们无论在学校还是在家庭里都享有最佳的学习和成长环境。

小学部团队也在整个学年里组织了许多与孩子们IPC课程相关的活动。 4月份我们将有6年级的英国之旅(已经将有关家长信发给学生带回家),3月份将有5年级的野营活动,同时在11月份将有4年级的学生们参加的新的郊游;很快我们将召开4年级的学生家长会详细介绍这件事情。

小学部已经开始了Milepost 2 阶段的单元开课活动:

在周一下午,Milepost 2的学生们开始了他们主题为 “周游世界” 的活动,这是一个愉悦味蕾的活动全体3年级和4年级的孩子们都带来了来自世界各地的食物。非常感谢家长们提供的食物!孩子们在哨声所代表的世界各地驿站分享了美味的食物,并且非常开心。本周孩子们将开始中国之旅,之后开始他们的环球发现之旅。

Mr Edward Philpott
MP2 负责人

6年级的孩子们也投票选举了男生和女生学生领袖。选出的两名学生主要职责是主持学生会议,为每周简讯撰写文章并且在有访客的时候作为学校的小使者。共有5名男孩和5名女孩报名参加了选举。他们都进行了演讲并完成有关他们当选后如何履行职责的观众提问环节以后,全年级的学生完成了一个匿名选举以决定小学部的代表。选举结果清晰,Mimi 和Kai Yi 当选为女生和男生代表。祝贺他们,我们相信他们一定会出色的完成任务!我们将在周五8:30的庆祝集会上祝贺两位学生领袖当选。

6年级也有4名级长来协助男生和女生学生会主席的工作:Thomas, Julia, Seoyoon和 Mia。

欢迎全体家长参加周五8:30的集会。如果您的孩子在校外活动中得到了证书,请让您的孩子带到学校,并简短介绍下证书的奖项,我们将庆祝他们的成绩。

小学部将在10月9日周一举办早间开放日。去年的开放日非常受欢迎,因此请您尽早预约,名额有限只能接待50位家长到校参加活动。请您发邮件给polly.zhang@wellingtoncollege.cn 预约参加。

惠灵顿社群联盟每周都会组织不同主题且丰富多彩的研讨会和讲座。这加强了惠灵顿社群的联系,我们欢迎大家踊跃参加!自新学年起,学生家长Mrs. Daniela Stofkova开设了普拉提课程,Mrs. Ksenija Markovic组织了“艺术班”来放松身心。此外,还将有来自天津中医药大学的Wei Wang教授为大家讲解传统中医在日常饮食中的应用。

普拉提
舞蹈工作室
829日起每周二和周五 上午11:00-12:00

普拉提是一项由Joseph Pilates开发的身体运动系统。它全面协调了身体,意志和精神。普拉提专注核心肌肉群和平衡肌肉群的发展,增强柔韧性和关节机能。正如Joseph Pilates所说:

10次课程,你会感受到变化

20次课程,你会见证变化

30次课程,你将拥有全新的身体

那么不要犹豫,来参加我们,来感受改变。期待你的加入。

艺术课程
小学部艺术教室
91日起每周五 上午8:30-11:00

照顾亲爱的孩子整整一周后,是时间为自己考虑下了。艺术课程是一片远离喧嚣的绿洲, 为您带来身心放松。

这是您应对日常压力,为即将到来的周末做好准备的绝佳方式。

油画,雕塑,素描,丙烯绘画,水彩画,蜡笔画都将不再陌生。所有您想做但无暇尝试的项目,现在都可在最方便的时间和地点来实现 —— 在孩子们上课的时候。

每月我们都会专注于一项你感兴趣去尝试的项目。

用艺术的方式来表达自己,同时享受舒缓的音乐以及茶品和咖啡,你会从中发现新的日常乐趣。

传统中药 TCM):膳食配方
WCA 会议室
929日起每周二 上午9:00-10:30

Wei Wang教授是天津中医药大学的临床医学培训主管 。 他会在每周二上午9:00-10:30。讲解如何用中医理论来发现自己及家人的健康问题,并用中医理论指导自己在日常生活中的饮食,如家庭饮食,蔬果搭配等。并教授大家通过看舌和面色自己简单诊断。每节课后15分钟,教大家用常用的经络和腧穴按摩,治疗和保健自己的身体。每次课1.5小时。在课程中以对每个人的诊断及健康指导为例子,强化应用。


201794 周一
2:00PM – 3:00PM
与总监见面 (LL) (总监办公室)

201795 周二
9:00AM – 10:30AM
WCA: 传统中药 (TCM) (WCA 会议室)

11:00AM – 12:00PM
WCA: 普拉提 (舞蹈教室)

201796 周三
9:00AM – 10:00AM
家长分享会: 辅导员和学院系统 (JL) (黑箱剧场)

201797 周四
2:00PM – 3:15PM
与校长见面: 2-6 年级家长 (ES) (校长办公室)

3:45PM – 5:30PM
小学部家长会: 欢迎来到我的教室 (YT)

201798 周五
8:30AM – 11:00AM
WCA: 艺术课程 (KM) (小学艺术教室)

11:00AM – 12:00PM
WCA: 普拉提 (舞蹈教室)

14:00PM
Jian Hua孤儿院慈善募捐主题在校过夜活动 (持续到9日) (MR)

201799 周六
9:00AM – 12:30PM
周六课外活动 (SAP) (EvK)