The Week Ahead 28 September 2017


Dear Parents

This year marks my fourth Mid-Autumn Festival in Tianjin, and it remains one of the highlights of the calendar. It seems to me that the varied, traditional forms of celebration of this ancient observance powerfully represent the theme of family. This year it also falls within the range of the National Day holiday, and as such there is plenty of time for families to come together to mark the passing of the mid-year. On such occasions, the cyclical nature of the year is brought to the fore, marked not just by the centrality of the moon in this festival, but also in the symbolic use of rounded objects, symbolising perfection and completeness. The ubiquitous mooncake may be the most visible expression of this, but the sense of Tuan Yuan, or reunion, speaks to me very powerfully at this time of family gathering.

Whilst the obvious emphasis is on the family, here at Wellington we too place community and a sense of belonging at the heart of our education. The celebrations and activities that are taking place in the school during this period seek to build on our aim of drawing in all parts of the Wellington family, irrespective of background, as we continue to build an inclusive and welcoming institution. We do this through our engagement with parents, both formally as a part of a child’s educational journey, but also socially through the activities of the Wellington College Association (WCA); the six Houses foster a sense of inclusion for our young people through their shared events, assemblies and sporting activities; our service projects, including some recent work with our friends at the Tianjin Ru Hui Autism centre, again help to underline the ways in which Wellington draws people in to a shared sense of purpose and ambition.

Wherever you are celebrating Mid-Autumn and the National Day holiday, I wish all our Wellington families a peaceful and happy reunion.

Best wishes

Julian
Master

MEET THE MASTER
Master’s Office
1400hrs-1515hrs
Thursday 
12th October

This week, the Meet the Master slot is aimed at parents of pupils in Years 2-6. If you would like to attend, please confirm via email with Ms. Emma Shi (emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn) by Wednesday 11th October.

 


THE NEST
Black Box
0900hrs-1000hrs
Wednesday 
11th October

Every Wednesday morning from 0900hrs, parents will have the chance to engage with the school in sessions that cover all aspects of your child’s education, from the Early Years to A Levels and university admissions. The venue will vary according to the anticipated audience, and for next week’s meeting, Mrs Dionne Zantua, the Head of Early Years, will give a presentation on developments in the Nest.


Bursar’s Office
1400hrs-1500hrs
Monday 9th
 October

Meet the Bursar will be on Monday 9th October. Please send Ms Lisa Liu a message if you are planning to attend and if you have any specific topics you would like to raise (lisa.liu@wellingtoncollege.cn).  This will help us to ensure we have enough space and refreshments.

The School has been further developing the swimming pool with new floor mats to increase the surface friction, lifeguard towers, the foot baths and other changes to pursue enhanced certification for the facility. One negative effect has been the higher chlorine smell due to the foot baths, which according to the regulation, must be kept at a much higher chlorine concentration than the pool. We also purchased advanced pool chemistry testing devices to monitor the pool and foot baths and compare the results with our automated chemical dosing system. These changes, along with the replacement of the filtration systems, piping and pumps, constitutes significant improvements of a unique offering for international schools in Tianjin.

At the last Meet the Bursar we introduced Laura Lang, the Manager for our Facility Management Company, Jones Lang LaSalle. She and her team are responsible for keeping our campus clean, safe and working properly. For the next Meet the Bursar, on October 9th, we will be introducing managers from YiLong, our bus transportation provider. We will also present staff from Compass, our catering provider at our next meeting. We are doing this to elevate the importance of communications between all the service providers and parents, and ensure that the services provided are aligned with what we need and in accordance with expectations.

 


 

Pink Day
13th October
Friday

Wellington pupils across the school will show their support for the Tianjin Cancer Hospital Prevention Centre again. All pupils are encouraged to wear a pink item of clothing on Friday, October 13th and donate 10 RMB per item of the pinkness. We are proud to announce that this year some parents will donate their time and skills to help us raise more money. All funds raised across the ISCOT schools will be donated to the TICC’s charity campaign. If parents are interested in getting involved, please contact maja.rogic@wellingtoncollege.cn by 11th October.

 



Each week we will have workshops and lectures on various and colourful topics held by our school parents and friends. This is to enhance our bounds as a Wellington Community and we would love to welcome all of you to join us! 


Lower Level EAL Class
MB 235
0830hrs-0930hrs
Every Tuesday from 19th September

This class is for beginner level learners who would like to improve their grammar, vocabulary and all round language skills.

Higher Level EAL Class
MB 231
1100hrs-1200hrs
Every Thursday from 21st September

This class is for more confident learners who would like to extend their grammar and vocabulary and will have a focus on improving spoken fluency.

 


 

Art Class
Junior Art Room
0830hrs-1100hrs
every Friday 

As we approach the Mid-Autumn Festival, we will be enjoying the traditional Chinese artistic patterns and painting on fans. Besides that, we will sneak a peek into the hidden world of Chinese symbols and try to find the deeper meanings of depicted patterns. Apart from the joyful feeling of taking home something that you created, the piece of art that you can use in everyday life, will forever remind you of your life and friends in China.

Come and join us in celebrating Art life and coming holiday on Friday September 29th from 0830hrs-1100hrs in the Junior Art Room.

 


 


Our Celebration Assembly opened with a beautiful piano piece by Year 3 pupil, Jiajin and then we had Mimi and Kai Yi, the Head boy and the Head girl, introduced the recently formed Student Council of the Junior School. Mrs Bradley tested and explained the peace symbols on the International Day of Peace, September 21st. This was followed by our celebratory stars of the week from class teachers and specialists.

Jasmine from Year 6 entertained everyone with her beautiful flute playing and it was hard to believe that she had only been playing for one year.

Kai Yi and Mimi announced our winning class for the Attendance award, which was the deserving Year 5, Mrs O’Donoghue’s class. This was followed by House captains announcing the number of House Points during the week and the winner was – the Anglesey!

Ms Angela was invited on stage to inform us about the Chinese culture week. We heard about all the activities taking place across the school and we can wear our traditional Chinese costumes on Friday.

We then had one of the highlights of the assembly with Sunny from Year 6, who serenaded us with a song in Mandarin. She had composed and translated with the help of some classmates. It was truly a magnificent ending.

 


 

The importance of encouraging responsibility and independence

Aside from the obvious benefits of the above (effective time management, organization, problem solving and increased initiative) there are three main reasons why Junior School pupils in particular, need to learn these skills.

Firstly, by developing a sense of responsibility and independence, children acquire a life-long habit of being able to ‘fend for themselves’ when it comes to education. They are able to evaluate and address their learning needs without the instruction from adults.

Secondly, children who guide their own learning are usually more engaged with it. They are enthusiastic as they are learning in the manner which suits them. As a result, they are more likely to retain knowledge and develop skills. That is why we place such values on the International Primary Curriculum (IPC) which is an inquiry based approach.

Finally, children who can recognise their own mistakes, and address their misconceptions privately, are better equipped to handle setbacks. Understanding that mistakes are not just part of learning but are essential for it, encourage them to try – try on their own, try new things and try to solve problems.

Independence and responsibly are intrinsically linked. It is difficult to achieve one without the other. Responsibility is a core value for that reason. These are also skills which need to be taught and encouraged both at school and home. We must allow children the freedom to flourish whilst providing the support needed to achieve their potential.


Middle School Football Success

The hastily rearranged Middle School ISCOT football competition took place at IST last Saturday Despite the absence of the TIS squads, we knew that it was still going to be a very tough challenge to replicate the success of both the boys and girls’ teams last year.

The boys, the reigning ISCOT champions, defeated TEDA in a one-sided victory, and then went on to play a very tough final game against IST. Both teams played with energy and flair, and only some terrific goalkeeping by the IST ‘keeper kept the scores level. A late goal, scored against the run of play by IST, seemed to have snatched victory, but the boys’ team is made of stern stuff, and no sooner had IST celebrated what looked like the winning goal when Wellington equalised with the last kick of the match. Their earlier defeat of TEDA meant that Wellington won the competition on goal difference.

The girls’ team also showed real flair and determination in their competition. They lost a close game with IST 2-1, perhaps a little unluckily after a controversial refereeing decision, but they beat a stubborn TEDA team to claim second place in the competition. They scored two good goals and played throughout with growing confidence and skill.

Congratulations to both the squads and a huge “thank you” to the parents who came to support.


Monday 09 October 2017
0830hrs – 1100hrs
Junior School Open Day (appointment only) (YT)

1400hrs – 1500hrs
Meet the Bursar (LL) (Bursar’s Office)

Tuesday 10 October 2017
0830hrs – 0930hrs
WCA: Lower Level EAL Class (RD) (MB 235)

1100hrs – 1200hrs
WCA: Pilates (Black Box)

Wednesday 11 October 2017
0900hrs – 1000hrs
Parent Briefing: The Nest (DZ) (Black Box)

1400hrs – 1600hrs
ISCOT Mixed Football (Years 1-2) (h) (JM) (Sports Centre)

1500hrs – 1830hrs
HS Volleyball vs TIS (a) (RG)

Thursday 12 October 2017
1100hrs – 1200hrs
WCA: Higher Level EAL Class (PF) (MB 231)

1400hrs – 1515hrs
Meet the Master: Years 2-6 Parents (ES) (Master’s Study)

1500hrs – 1830hrs
MS Football vs IST (@IST) (RG)

Friday 13 October 2017
All Day
Pink Day (in aid of Breast Cancer Research) (MR)

0830hrs – 1100hrs
WCA: Art Class (KM) (Junior Art Room)

0930hrs – 1030hrs
WCA: Pilates (Dance Studio)

每周快讯 2017年9月28日


亲爱的各位家长:

今年是我在天津度过的第四个中秋了。中秋佳节是华人最重要的节日之一。对我来讲,这个古老的节日所承载的内涵和丰富的习俗,都在强烈地表达一个主题: 家。今年,国庆节和中秋节两个假期合并,大家可以有充裕的时间与家人共度,用节日标记已经过半的2017年。就是这样一年又一年,周而复始,佳节圆月以及它所象征的团圆和完满,令人喜悦,继续向前,走完一年余下的时光。月饼,中秋的传统食物,可以说就是对团圆和完满最好的视觉化表达。团圆,在此时,让我感受到了非常强烈的家庭团聚的意味。

在惠灵顿,我们同样把社群精神和归属感置于教育的核心位置。最近,学校举办的一系列庆祝和活动都旨在惠灵顿大家庭建设共同目标,惠灵顿将延续文化包容和热忱,欢迎来自世界各地不同背景的人们。我们通过与家长密切合作来完成这一愿景,家校合作完成学生在校的学业生涯,以及惠灵顿社群联盟(WCA)一系列社交性质的活动;六大学院及其组织方式和充分互享的大量活动涵养着年轻人的参与感;我们的社会公益项目,比如,最近与天津如辉自闭症治疗中心共同完成项目,再一次夯实了惠灵顿人实现共同目标的进取心。

无论您在何地庆祝中秋国庆双节,我祝愿每一个惠灵顿家庭都享有宁静祥和的团聚时光。

向惠灵顿大家庭致以诚挚问候

校长
Julian Jeffrey

和校长见面
校长办公室
1012日周四
下午2:00-3:15

本周与校长见面时间主要面向2-6年级学生家长。如果您想要参加,请您在1011日周三前通过邮件和Ms. Emma Shi 石老师进行预约(emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn)


家长分享会:幼儿园
黑箱剧场
1011 周三
上午9:00-10:00

每周三上午9:00,家长们将有机会参与到学校的各项有关您孩子教育的工作中,从早期教育到A Level以及大学录取工作全都会有所涉及。地点会根据参加的观众有所不同,下周各位家长们将在黑箱剧场参加由幼儿园园长Mrs Dionne Zantua主持的幼儿园发展介绍主题分享会。


和总监见面
总监办公室
109 周一
下午2:00-3:00

与总监见面活动将在109日进行。如果您想要参加或者有任何想要讨论的问题,请您发送邮件给Ms Lisa Liu (lisa.liu@wellingtoncollege.cn),以便我们准备茶点和饮料。

学校正在进一步提高游泳池设施设备,铺设了新的地毯以增加地面摩擦,救生员瞭望塔、过脚盆等以便增强整体设施的安全和专业性。这些提升措施的一个负面影响是过脚盆会有较重的消毒用氯的味道,因为根据有关规定,该过脚盆内氯的含量必须高于游泳池内的含量。我们还采购了先进的游泳池化学检测设备,以便监控游泳池内以及过脚盆内的水质,并将结果与自动的化学试剂系统进行比对。以上这些变化,与新更换的过滤系统,管道和水泵系统一起使我校成为天津地区国际学校中泳池设备最为先进的学校。

在上次的与总监见面会上,我们向您介绍了物业管理公司仲量联行的经理Laura Lang。她和她的团队负责维护我校保洁、安全和适宜工作的校园环境。在10月9日的总监见面会上,我们将向各位介绍校车服务提供商翊龙客运的几位主管经理。在之后的见面会中我们还将向各位介绍我校餐饮服务公司Compass的工作人员。这样做的目的旨在强调各位服务提供商与家长沟通的重要性,从而确保所提供的服务与我们的需求和期待相符合。


粉色着装日
1013 周五

天津惠灵顿国际学校的学生们将表示他们对天津肿瘤医院防治中心的支持。我们鼓励全体学生在10月13日周五穿着一件粉色的服饰或者配饰,并且为穿着每件粉色单品捐款10元人民币。我们很骄傲地告知大家,今年我们还将有一些家长愿意贡献自己的宝贵时间和技能帮助我们募集更多善款。天津国际学校联盟的各所学校募集的全部善款将集体捐献给天津肿瘤医院防治中心。如果各位家长有兴趣参加相关募捐活动,请您在10月11日前联系maja.rogic@wellingtoncollege.cn

 

 

 



每周我们都将有学生家长和其他友人举办丰富多彩的主题活动。这些活动旨在增强惠灵顿社群的紧密联系,我们将诚挚欢迎各位的到来!


初阶EAL课程
主楼 235
919日起每周二
上午8:30-9:30

此课程专为初学水平的学习者开设,帮助学员提高语法,词汇以及全方位语言技能。

高阶EAL课程
主楼231
921日起每周四
上午11:00-12:00

此课程针对有更自信的学习者,帮助他们拓展语法和词汇,并将专注提高口语的流利度。

 


艺术课程
小学艺术教室
每周五上午8:30-11:00

随着中秋佳节的到来,我们将感受传统中国艺术图案以及在扇子上作画的乐趣。除此之外,我们将一起探索隐藏在中国符号后面的世界并且尝试了解图案背后的隐喻。除了可以将您所创作的作品带回家,作为家庭日常艺术作品,同时也将会时刻让您记起在中国的生活和朋友们。

欢迎您在9月29日 周五 8:30-11:00 到小学部艺术教室和我们一起庆祝艺术生活和假期的到来。


 


来自3年级学生Jiajin的钢琴演奏为我们的庆祝集会拉开了序幕,随后由小学部男生主席和女生主席Mimi和Kaiyi介绍了最新成立的小学部学生会。9月21日是国际和平日,在这天Mrs Bradley针对和平的象征进行了小测验并做了解释。随后是由班级老师评选的每周之星的庆祝活动。

来自6年级的Jasmine为大家奉上了美妙的笛子演奏,很难相信她仅通过一年的学习就达到了如此的水平。

Kaiyi和Mimi为大家宣布了出勤奖的获胜班级,实至名归的是5年级Mrs O’Donoghue的班级。随后是由House Captains(学院领队)宣读本周学院分数,本周的获胜者是 – Anglesey学院!

我们邀请Ms Angela上台为大家讲述关于中国文化周的内容。我们了解了即将在校内开展的所有活动,周五我们将穿着中国传统服饰。

随后迎来了集会的亮点之一,6年级的Sunny用中文演唱了一首小夜曲。这是她在同学的帮助下进行了谱曲并翻译完成的。曲子的结尾着实感人。

 


激发独立性和责任感的重要性

尤其对于小学生来说,除了下述显著的优势 – 有效的时间管理,组织,解决问题能力以及增长主动性,还有三个需要学习这些技能的主要原因。

首先,从教育的角度来说,通过激发独立性和责任感,孩子们获得了受益终生的良好素质“为自己负责”。他们有能力评定并处理自己的学习需求而不需要成人的督促。

其次,孩子们更倾向于投身于由自己主导的学习中去。对于适合他们的学习方式,他们会积极参与。其结果将是他们更有可能从中获得知识和发展技能。这也是为什么我们将这种素质加入到IPC中,而这也是通过调查而得出的结论。

最后,那些能够意识到自己错误,并能处理自己错误想法的孩子,应对挫折的能力更强。要知道错误并不是学习的一部分,而是学习的本源,激发他们去尝试 – 独立尝试,尝试新事物并试着解决问题。

在本质上,独立性和责任感是相关联的。很难摒弃其中一项而单独实现另一项。核心原因是责任感。孩子需要同时在家和学校接受针对这些素质的传授和激励。我们要对孩子的蓬勃发展给与充分自由, 同时,提供所需的支持来激发他们的潜能。

 


中学足球比赛圆满成功

上周六在天津国际学校联盟中学足球比赛开赛。尽管TIS缺席本次比赛,我们知道想要再次取得如去年一样的成绩,仍然会遭遇很大的挑战。

我校男生球队作为本届ISCOT的冠军球队,以大比分战胜了TEDA,之后与IST球队进行了激烈的决赛。两支球队在比赛中都展示了体能和拼搏精神,IST的守门员发挥出色一直维持住比分。晚些时候IST的一记进球,好像让我们失去了胜利的机会,但是我们的男生球队是一支顽强的球队,正在IST球队已经开始沉浸在胜利的喜悦中时,惠灵顿球队射入了本场的最后一记进球。由于惠灵顿球队的进球数多于TEDA,最终夺得冠军。

女子球队也在比赛中展示了她们的拼搏精神。她们以1-2 很接近的比分输给了IST,但是她们通过战胜TEDA夺得了第二名。她们有两次出色的进球并且在整场比赛中展示了信心和技巧。

热烈祝贺男生和女生球队,并且非常感谢各位前来支持的家长。

 


2017109 周一
8:30AM – 11:00AM
小学部开放日(预约接待) (YT)

2:00PM – 3:00PM
与总监见面 (LL) (总监办公室)

20171010 周二
8:30AM – 9:30AM
WCA: 英语强化班初阶班 (RD) (主楼 235)

11:00AM – 12:00PM
WCA: 普拉提 (黑箱剧场)

20171011 周三
9:00AM – 10:00AM
家长分享会: 幼儿园 (DZ) (黑箱剧场)

2:00PM – 4:00PM
ISCOT 混合足球赛 (1-2年级) (h) (JM) (体育馆)

3:00PM – 6:30PM
高中部排球赛vs TIS (a) (RG)

20171012 周四
11:00AM – 12:00PM
WCA: 英语强化班高阶班(PF) (主楼 231)

2:00PM – 3:15PM
和校长见面: 2-6 年级家长 (ES) (校长办公室)

3:00PM – 6:30PM
中学部足球赛vs IST (@IST) (RG)

20171013 周五
全天
粉色着装日 (支持乳腺癌研究) (MR)

8:30AM – 11:00AM
WCA: 艺术课程 (KM) (小学艺术教室)

9:30AM – 10:30AM
WCA: 普拉提 (舞蹈教室)