The Week Ahead 26 October 2017

Dear Parents

As autumn slips away, leaving a distinctly wintry feel to the city this week, I thought it was worth taking stock of the key academic developments of the term. We have enjoyed some wonderful triumphs in music, art, drama and sport this term, but underpinning everything of course, is our relentless pursuit of academic excellence.

You will soon be getting reports or interims on your child’s attainment, progress and effort this term. These represent a key benchmark for all of us – pupils, parents and staff – to think carefully about the next steps for each Wellingtonian. Even the youngest children among our community have targets to work towards, although of course these are expressed in very different ways among the Early Years to those of the public examination candidates. Pupils and parents need to be aware of these targets, and understand ways of working to achieve them. This latter element is crucial in supporting all our learners, as without an appreciation of how to improve, few children will be capable of making (or indeed, exceeding) their goals for the year.

We have taken significant measures to help parents and pupils access such information more easily. Reports on Tapestry in the Early Years and for pupils in our A Level induction year are now produced in both English and Chinese; parents’ evenings are held at least twice each year for every group, with translation support available for those who request it; individual meetings with teachers, tutors and Housemasters can be arranged with reasonable notice; and, of course, children have their baseline assessments to use as a reference point for their development. The Parent Portal hosts relevant curriculum advice as well as all reports and interim grades, and parents of all year groups have been offered a briefing on how assessment works at their child’s relevant age group.

Dialogue and communication remain at the heart of this process of school and home acting in harmony to help our pupils make progress. Our school is an open one, accessible to all members of the parent community to engage with the academic staff; please take advantage of the opportunities to come in and speak to us. In this way, by working together, we can help ensure that all our children achieve great things in their learning this year.

Best wishes
Julian Jeffrey
Master


MEET THE MASTER
Master’s Office
1400hrs-1515hrs
Thursday 2nd November

This week, the Meet the Master slot is aimed at parents of pupils in Years 12 and 13. If you would like to attend, please confirm via email with Ms. Emma Shi (emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn) by Wednesday 1st November.


 


STRETCHING THE MOST ABLE
Black Box
0900hrs-1000hrs 
Wednesday 1st  November

Every Wednesday morning from 0900hrs, parents will have the chance to engage with the school in sessions that cover all aspects of your child’s education, from the Early Years to A Levels and university admissions. The venue will vary according to the anticipated audience, and for next week’s meeting, Mr Robert Bradley and Mr David MacKinnon will talk about how we stretch our most able students at the College.


Senior School Parents’ Evening
Dining Hall
1700hrs-1830hrs

Years 7&11:
Tuesday, 31st October 

Years 12-13:
Thursday, 2nd November

There will be two Senior School Parents’ Evenings organised next week. Parents of the pupils in Years 7 and 11 (both streams) are invited to attend the evening on Tuesday 31st October; and parents of the pupils in Years 12 and 13 (both streams) are invited the evening on Thursday, 2nd November.

Parents will have an opportunity to talk about their child’s progress and areas for improvement with the subject teachers. Members of the Senior Management Team will also be present on both evenings to address any enquiries parents might have.

 


Mandarin Magazine: Anti-wasting food
Monday 30th October

Next week, we will organise a school activity called “Anti-wasting food”, which includes an online survey, news report, charity green market with pupils from Mandarin Magazine in the Senior School. It aims to raise the awareness of saving food and find out the ways to avoid any food waste during lunchtime. All donations from this activity will go to the charity programme ‘Free Time’, which offers free lunches to the children in poverty.


 


Lunchtime Concert
1255hrs 
Monday 30th October

This coming Monday, the 30th October, we will have the second in our new series of lunchtime concerts, where we warmly welcome you to see our junior and senior choir perform a choral masterpiece by the wonderful choral specialist and composer, Paul Ayres. You will also see three other performances on the saxophone, violin and piano. The concert should last around 25 mins, and will begin at 1255hrs in the Black Box. Please do come and support our hard-working and talented musicians.

Programme
Combined Wellington Choirs – The Isle is Full of Noises, Paul Ayres
Violin Solo – Take Five, Paul Desmond
Saxophone Solo– Forever Small from One Just Second, Sakayui Misako
5 Short Piano Duets

This was another interesting and exciting week in Junior School. There was a superb class Assembly by Year 6 on Friday. Parents and pupils were entertained and educated by a play written by Year 6 Teacher Mr Bradley on the Trojan War. All pupils in the year group participated in this educational comedy. The costumes were excellent; the diction was clear and the story was delivered with precise timing, which left the audience not only in stitches laughing but all with a much clearer idea of what occurred during this period of history. There was another short play by Year 1 pupils on Diwali. With the direction from one of our lovely parent volunteers, the children told the story of Rama, Sita and the festival of lights.

Our very own Chinese magazine group run by Ms Jia launched their new food initiative during the Assembly. Pupils have been asked to consider food wastage and how we can cut down our wastage at school. There is a competition this week between classes to see who can produce the least food waste each day.

On Sunday, all the teachers had a very productive day on a course called ‘spread the happiness’ so let us see more happier teachers and pupils in the Junior School for the rest of the term!

It has been a few busy weeks in the Sixth Form and it’s good to take a moment to highlight all the things that have been going on. One exciting item of news is that we have completed two student applications for Cambridge University. This is one of those situations where even being able to apply is something of an achievement, and our very best wishes go to both candidates. The Oxbridge deadline means that we are getting into application season. Parents can help us by asking to read your child’s personal statement or college admission essay and by having some honest discussions about grades and performance.

Two weeks ago, Mr Batey and I attended an evening reception at the Yale Centre in Beijing where we heard a presentation from the Head of Admissions for China. Interesting points include that they are genuinely interested in the ‘whole student’ rather than just grades – he made it clear that they want a student body which does not just represent the highest academic performers. The second point is that he is getting very good at recognising admissions essays which are written by agents, and the third is that he is continually impressed by the quality and care shown by the school university counsellors.

Keeping up the momentum from the University Fair, we have had visits from the University of Rochester in the State of New York, Albion College in Michigan and LIM College in NYC. Wednesday 25th October also saw a visit from the University of Exeter in the UK. We shall continue to try to give a forum to the best universities from around the world.

Ms Liu is fast becoming our expert on US college applications and she has been working closely with several students over the past fortnight. If you would like to communicate in Chinese regarding a university application, please contact Ms Liu on her school email.

To continue the theme of the ‘whole student’, Dawn in Year 12 has just returned from Shanghai where she was an intern at ‘White Milano Shanghai’, one of the biggest trade shows in the country. It seems that people were impressed as she was offered a further internship in Milan – something that may have to wait for a year or two! This really shows how valuable ‘inter-culturalism’ is and as a bilingual, confident young person, being able to interact easily with people from around the world will be a huge asset.

Finally, it has been lovely to meet some parents over this first half of the term. We will always make time for a conversation about pupil’s progress, university applications or anything at all that may be worrying you. Contact Jayne Sabio, Ed Batey and Stacey Liu through their school emails or contact the school office to make an appointment.


Each week we will have workshops and lectures on various and colourful topics held by our school parents and friends. This is to enhance our bounds as a Wellington Community and we would love to welcome all of you to join us! 


 

Art Class
Junior Art Room
0830hrs-1100hrs, every Friday 
 
Art of celebrations! It is exciting to celebrate Diwali, Slava, Halloween at the same time!

Dear art lovers, we will be celebrating all the festivals on Friday 27th of October! Leading with the ‘Slava’ celebration which I celebrated as a Serbian girl. ‘Slava’ is in the UNESCO protected, authentic, intangible cultural heritage of humanity list. It is celebrated by Serbian Orthodox Christians, the day when a family celebrates their patron and protector saint. It outgrows religion and tradition and becomes a family and friends gathering in contemporary life with a view back to their roots. How is it connected with art?

In a lot of ways: ichnographically, in what we do and make to protect our family and childhood memories, what we receive as visual heritage from our homes, families and nations. Think about your heritage wherever you come from and share it with us on Friday. The overlapping of different cultures is what specially excites us in the Art room.

We will explore how to simplify objects to make it a universal symbol, yet recognizable. Celebration cake figures will help us explore that challenging topic.

https://ich.unesco.org/en/RL/slava-celebration-of-family-saint-patrons-day-01010

After the Art class, from 1100hrs to 1200hrs, we will be celebrating with fragments of old customs. Please come along to try food specialties as ‘Slavski kolac’, ‘Zito’ and typical cookies, beside ‘Ajvar’ … it’s free, everybody is welcome!


Monday 30 October 2017
All Day
Mandarin Magazine: Anti-wasting food (SL)

1255hrs – 1320hrs
Lunchtime Concert (FG) (Black Box)

Tuesday 31 October 2017
0830hrs – 0930hrs
WCA English Class: beginners (PF) (MB 235)

0900hrs – 1030hrs
WCA: Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM)  (WCA Room )

1100hrs – 1200hrs
WCA: Pilates (Black Box)

1700hrs – 1830hrs
Parents’ Evening: Years 7 & 11 (DP)

Wednesday 01 November 2017
All Day
Senior School Book Scrutiny (to 3rd) (DP)

0900hrs – 1000hrs
Parent Briefing: Stretching the Most Able (RWB / DAM) (Black Box)

Thursday 02 November 2017
1100hrs – 1200hrs
WCA: English Class – Intermediate/Advanced (PF) (MB 231)

1400hrs – 1515hrs
Meet the Master: Years 12-13 Parents (ES) (Master’s Study)

1700hrs – 1830hrs
Parents’ Evening: Years 12 & 13 (AL and IB streams) (DP)

Friday 03 November 2017
0830hrs – 1100hrs
WCA: Art Class (KM) (Junior Art Room)

0930hrs – 1030hrs
WCA: Pilates (Dance Studio)

1330hrs – 1600hrs
Swimming vs TEDA IS (Years 3-5) (h) (Sports Centre)

1900hrs
Autumn Concert (FG) (Theatre)

Saturday 04 November 2017
0900hrs – 1230hrs
SAT Exam (DA) (Black Box)

每周快讯 2017年10月26日

亲爱的各位家长:

落叶知秋,从本周开始大家愈发感觉到浓浓的秋意。我想在这个时候回顾一下本学期教学工作进展。开学至今,我们在音乐、艺术和体育等方面都有过精彩表现,当然,教学成绩的亮点更是重中之重,也是学校不遗余力要力争佳绩的。

您不久后将收到学生本学期学业成绩和努力成绩。这两项成绩对于学生、家长和老师来说,是重要而关键的参照数据,基于此制定下一步学习计划。幼儿园的孩子们同样有详细的学习计划和学习目标,以一种更容易被理解和接受的不同于大孩子的方式呈现。学生和家长都应该知道学习目标是什么,并且理解实现目标的方法。后者尤其关键,每一个学习者都应该获得足够的支持,如果不知道怎样进步,学生将很难完成甚至超越他们的学年目标。

学校已经施行了各种举措帮助家长和学生更便利地获得相关信息。幼儿园的Tapestry信息平台,A Level第一年的学习报告被翻译成了中英双语,每个年级每学年可以召开至少两次家长会,并提供现场翻译;一对一家长与老师、辅导员或者学院负责人的约见,家长提出后将为您安排;孩子们用基准线考试成绩作为参考,辅助学习进步;Parent Portal家长信息平台提供了大量课程信息、报告等;学校还组织了面向各年级家长的主题分享会,有关学校各学段考试评估体系介绍。

对话和交流是家校沟通工作的核心,而融洽的家长沟通将帮助学生取得进步和成绩。我们的学校是开放的,每一位家长都可以联系教师,请大家利用这种方式多和学校交流,与学校一起工作,目的就是为了让孩子在一年中学有所成。

向全体惠灵顿大家庭致以诚挚问候

校长 Julian Jeffrey


和校长见面
校长办公室
11月2日 周四
下午2:00-3:15

本周与校长见面主要面向12和13年级的学生家长。如果您想要参加,请您在11月1日周三之前通过邮件与Ms. Emma Shi (emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn)石老师预约。


 


发掘学生潜能
黑箱剧场
11月1日 周三
上午9:00-10:00

每周三上午9:00,家长们将有机会参与到学校的各项有关您孩子教育的工作中,从早期教育到A Level以及大学录取工作全都会有所涉及。地点会根据参加的观众有所不同。在本周的家长分享会上,Mr Robert Bradley 和 Mr David MacKinnon将向您介绍在天津惠灵顿国际学校,我们如何发掘优秀学生的潜力。


中学部家长会
餐厅
7年级和11年级: 10月31日 周二
12-13年级: 11月2日 周四
下午5:00-6:30

下周将组织两场中学部家长会。全体7年级和11年级(包括两种课程)学生家长请于10月31日周二到校参加家长会;12年级和13年级(包括两种课程)学生家长请于11月2日周四到校参加家长会。

家长们将有机会和各学科老师们交流孩子的进步情况,以及需要提升的方面。教学高管团队成员也将参加两场家长会,并在现场回答各位家长的疑问。

 


中文杂志:杜绝食品浪费
10月30日 周一

下周,我们将组织一次全校范围的“杜绝食品浪费”的活动,将包括在线问卷调查,新闻报道,以及中学部中文杂志学生们组织的慈善环保集市。本次活动的目的旨在提高大家节约粮食的意识,并且找到减少中午午餐浪费的方法。本次活动募集的全部善款将捐献给“Free Time” 项目,该项目为贫困儿童提供免费午餐。


 


午间音乐会

10月30日周一

中午12:55

10月30日周一,我们将举办第二场午间音乐会,诚挚邀请各位前来观看小学部和中学部合唱团表演著名音乐家和作曲家Paul Ayres的合唱作品。届时您还将看到三种乐器表演,萨克斯,小提琴和钢琴。音乐会时长25分钟,我们将于中午12:55 在黑箱剧场开始演出。请您前来支持我们出色的音乐家们。

演出曲目

惠灵顿联合合唱团- The Isle is Full of Noises, Paul Ayres 

小提琴独奏- Take Five, Paul Desmond

萨克斯独奏- Forever from One Just Second, Sakayui Misako

5首短篇钢琴二重奏

 


小学部又度过了有趣充实的一周。周五,6年级的学生举办了很精彩的集会。学生们和家长们观看了6年级老师Mr. Bradley创作的有关特洛伊战争的剧本表演,让大家在娱乐的同时得到了知识。全年级的学生们参加了这场有教育意义的戏剧表演。表演服装很精美;整个故事的表达清楚,时间把握准确,各位观众在欢笑的同时也清楚地了解了该历史时期发生的事情。1年级的学生们还表演了Diwali主题的节目。跟随我们热心的家长志愿者的指导,孩子们讲述了Rama, Sita和光明节的故事。

在集会上,由Ms. Jia组织的中文杂志组启动了新的食物行动。让学生们思考食物浪费的情况,以及我们如何减少学校的浪费现象。本周在班级间开展了评比活动,评比出每天浪费食物最少的班级。

周日,所有的老师参加了主题为“传播快乐”的课程,让我们期待在学期接下来的时间在小学部看到更多快乐的老师和学生们!

过去几周,高中部经历了繁忙的时光,在此很乐意和大家分享我们的一些亮点。其中之一就是我们已经完成了两名学生的剑桥大学申请。某种意义上说,有能力去进行申请已经是一个阶段性胜利了,在此祝福我们两位优秀的申请人。牛津和剑桥大学的申请截止日期到来意味着我们进入了大学申请季。家长可以通过以下方式为我们提供帮助:要求阅读孩子的个人陈述或大学申请论文,以及同孩子就成绩和学业表现进行真诚沟通。

两周前,Mr Batey和我参加了在耶鲁北京中心进行的晚会,会上有耶鲁中国区招生负责人进行的演讲陈述。亮点包括他们真切关注的是学生“全方位”的能力,而不仅是成绩——他清楚地表明了他们希望学生不仅是在学业成绩上表现出最高水平。另一亮点是他提到他非常善于甄别出那些由代理机构撰写的申请论文。第三个亮点是他提到他始终被学校大学申请辅导员的能力水平和细致工作所触动。

接续大学展所带来的势头,来自纽约州的罗切斯特大学,来自密西根州的阿尔比恩学院,以及来自纽约市LIM学院到我校进行了走访。另在10月25日周三,有来自英国Exeter大学的来访。我们将继续尝试邀请世界各国顶尖院校来校座谈。

Ms Liu快速成为了我校大学申请的专家,在过去的两个星期,她一直在和部分学生密切合作。如果您希望用中文交流大学申请的问题,请通过学校邮箱同Ms Liu联系。

为了继续“全方位发展”这个主题,12年级的Dawn结束了她在中国最大贸易展之一“White Milano Shanghai”的实习,从上海回到了学校。由于她出色的表现,她已经收到了前往米兰进行进一步实习的机会——大约会在一到两年后!这足以证明“跨文化理念”的价值所在,以及作为一名自信而熟练掌握两种语言的年轻人,能够同来自世界各国的人轻松交流将会是一笔巨大的财富。

最后,很高兴能在上半学期与众多家长会面。无论是学生学业进展,大学申请,还是其他任何您可能关心的事项,我们总能抽出时间与您会谈。请通过学校邮箱联系Jayne Sabio、Ed Batey 和 Stacey Liu或联系校办公室来进行预约。


每周我们都将有学生家长和其他友人举办丰富多彩的主题活动。这些活动旨在增强惠灵顿社群的紧密联系,我们将诚挚欢迎各位的到来!

 


艺术课程

小学艺术教室

每周五上午8:30-11:00 

为节日而作的艺术!能同时庆祝光明节、斯拉瓦节(Slava)和万圣节真是太激动人心了!

亲爱的艺术爱好者们,我们将在10月27日周五举办所有的庆祝活动!首先是由我作为一名塞尔维亚姑娘来庆祝“斯拉瓦节(Slava)”。“Slava”是受联合国教科文组织保护的真实非物质文化遗产。这是一项塞尔维亚东正教徒的庆祝活动,以家庭为单位庆祝他们的庇护人和守护天使。随后它快速超越了宗教和传统而成为了家庭及朋友们相聚一起,回顾历史的活动。而这又是如何同艺术联系起来的呢?

从很多方面:从民族角度上,体现在我们为保护家园所做的抗争以及童年的记忆里,体现在我们从家庭、家族及国家所承袭的看得见的传统里。无论你来自哪里,回想你所承袭的传统并在周五来和我们分享吧。不同文化的交融正是我们在艺术教室里获得快乐的所在。

我们将探索如何运用简化图形来使它成为可辨识的通用符号。庆典用的造型蛋糕将帮助我们理解这一挑战颇具意味的主题。

https://ich.unesco.org/en/RL/slava-celebration-of-family-saint-patrons-day-01010

在艺术课后,从上午11:00至12:00,我们会用一些简短的仪式来进行庆祝。请来品尝节日美食“Slavski kolac”,“Zito”、“ Ajvar”以及特有的饼干……全部免费,欢迎大家前来品尝。


 

 

2017年10月30日 周一
全天
中文杂志:杜绝食物浪费 (SL)

12:55PM – 1:20PM
午间音乐会 (FG) (黑箱剧场)

2017年10月31日 周二
8:30AM – 9:30AM
WCA 英语课: 初学者 (PF) (MB 235)

9:00AM – 10:30AM
WCA: 传统中医 (TCM)  ( WCA 会议室 )

11:00AM – 12:00PM
WCA: 普拉提 ( 黑箱剧场 )

5:00PM – 6:30PM
家长会: 7 年级和 11年级 (DP)

2017年11月1日 周三
全天
中学部课本检查(持续到3日) (DP)

9:00AM – 10:00AM
家长分享会: 发掘学生潜能 (RWB / DAM) (黑箱剧场)

2017年11月2日 周四
11:00AM – 12:00PM
WCA: 英语课 – 中阶/高阶 (PF) (MB 231)

2:00PM – 3:15PM
和校长见面: 12-13年级家长 (ES) (校长办公室)

5:00PM – 6:30PM
家长会: 12年级和13年级 (AL 和 IB 课程) (DP)

2017年11月3日 周五
8:30AM – 11:00AM
WCA: 艺术课(KM) (小学艺术教室)

9:30AM – 10:30AM
WCA: 普拉提 (舞蹈教室)

1:30PM – 4:00PM
游泳比赛 vs TEDA IS (3-5年级) (h) (体育馆)

7:00PM
秋季音乐会 (FG) (剧场)

2017年11月4日 周六
9:00AM – 12:30PM
SAT 考试 (DA) (黑箱剧场)