The Week Ahead 26 January 2018

Dear Parents

Thank you all very much for taking the time to complete the recent Annual Review survey. There was a record level of response, with 209 completed forms. It is a very gratifying result and it means that we have a huge data sample to draw on for the next stage of school development.

I will be sending out the full results and analysis in a few weeks, but one thing I wanted to stress was how keen we are as a school to get parents involved more in our day-to-day events. The survey showed parental enthusiasm for such activities was high, and I hope that the term diary, the online calendar on the website and the regular Week Ahead all help to provide information for you. The WCA now has a range of social events each week to which all parents are warmly welcome; membership of the WCA is automatically extended to all family and friends of the College, so if you are keen to find out more, please refer to the section at the foot of this edition of the Week Ahead to see what is available for parents each week.

If you are already involved, and would like to offer parents other opportunities to meet and engage, then please do not hesitate to contact Mr Peter Randall, our Admissions’ Director, for information. He is available by email. peter.randall@wellingtoncollege.cn

Chinese New Year is almost upon us, affording parents another great way to get involved with the school through the activities of the WCA. Please do consider joining us for our celebrations to mark the arrival of the Year of the Dog, and perhaps consider signing up for any one of the nine other programmes currently available through the WCA.

Best wishes

Julian Jeffrey
Master

MEET THE MASTER
Common Room
1400hrs – 1515hrs
Thursday 1st February

This week, the Meet the Master slot is aimed at parents of pupils in Years 12 and 13. If you would like to attend, please confirm via email with Ms. Emma Shi (emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn) by Wednesday 31st January.

DEALING WITH MENTAL HEALTH ISSUES
Black Box
0900hrs – 1000hrs
Wednesday 31st January

Every Wednesday morning from 0900hrs, parents will have the chance to engage with the school in sessions that cover all aspects of your child’s education, from the Early Years to A Levels and university admissions. The venue will vary according to the anticipated audience, next week’s meeting, Mrs Samantha Wood, from Student Guidance and Welfare, will introduce how to deal with mental health issues with you and your children.

 

 

Parent Lecture: How does Wellington support your children to go to their dream university
Common Room
1830hrs – 1930hrs
Monday 29th January

There will be a Parent Lecture on Monday 29th January in the Common Room from 1830hrs to 1930hrs. The theme of the lecture will be how Wellington College supports your child to get them to their dream university. The lecture will contain an element of wellbeing as well as focusing on the university application process.

Chinese New Year Week

5th – 9th February

Parents are warmly invited to our Chinese New Year Assemblies in the Theatre. We have prepared a series of games and performances to celebrate one of the most important and exciting events in the College calendar.

Nest Assembly

1000hrs – 1100hrs

Thursday 8th February

Senior School Assembly with House Singing Competition

1540hrs – 1645hrs

Thursday 8th February

Junior School Assembly

1310hrs – 1430hrs

Friday 9th February

After watching the many pupil performances, we will close the week with the, Charity Spring Festival Market in the school Dining Hall. All are welcome to attend. The winning Chinese New Year work can be viewed at the Black Box foyer from 1430hrs.

 

 

Positive Parenting Class (basic)
MB125
9:30-11:30
every Monday
Date:  22nd and 29th Jan, 5th and 26th Feb, 5th , 12th , 19th and 26th Mar
Charges: 30RMB/time or 200RMB/8 times
Chinese Language Only

Positive Discipline is a programme designed to teach young people to become responsible, respectful and resourceful members of their communities. Based on the best-selling positive discipline book by Dr. Jane Nelsen, it teaches important social and life skills in a manner that is deeply respectful and encouraging for both children and adults.

Parents will learn to avoid power struggles while helping their children to learn self-control and self-discipline. Classes are in a small group setting, allowing deeper discussions and very personalized experience.

www.positivediscipline.com

 

Art Class
Junior Art Room
0830hrs-1100hrs
every Friday 

After a long week of taking care of your beloved children it’s time to think of yourself as well. A little oasis from everyday noise, ART classes can give you much needed relaxation. An excellent way to cope with your everyday stress routine, and to prepare yourself for the upcoming busy weekend.

Painting, sculpture, drawing, acrylics, aquarelle, crayons won’t be a mystery to you anymore. All the things you always wanted to try but didn’t have time for, now in the most convenient time and place for you – when your kids are at school.

Each month we will be focusing on something new that you might like to try.

Expressing yourself in an artistic way combined with relaxing, inspiring music and a glass of tea or coffee can help you find your new daily joy. Come and join ART classes every Friday as soon as you leave your little one(s) in school.

The Junior Art Room will be open for you from 0830hrs to 1100hrs to learn some new skills, chat with friends, and share your love of art.

Looking forward to seeing you in the Junior Art Room.

Lower Level EAL Class
MB 235
0830hrs-0930hrs
every Tuesday

This class is for beginner level learners who would like to improve their grammar, vocabulary and all-round language skills.

Higher Level EAL Class
MB 231
1100hrs-1200hrs
every Thursday 

This class is for more confident learners who would like to extend their grammar and vocabulary and will have a focus on improving spoken fluency.

Pilates
Black Box
1100hrs-1200hrs
every Tuesday 

Dance Studio
0930hrs-1030hrs
every Friday

Pilates is physical exercise system developed by Joseph Pilates. It is complete coordination of body, mind and spirit. Pilates focuses on core strength and balanced muscle development as well as flexibility and increased range of motion for the joints. So, don’t hesitate, join our classes and feel better. You are warmly welcomed.

 

What a wonderful start to the second term with the Year 1 and 2 Assembly, which linked into their IPC project – All Dressed Up. We began the assembly by listening to Rita playing a superb piece on the piano. Then the Mile Post 1 pupils showed off their traditional costumes from 16 different countries. The pupils explained about their chosen country and why they liked their costumes so much. I thought that Queen Elizabeth and the Beefeater costumes looked marvelous – with a very British feel.

Over the last few weeks, I have reviewed all the wonderful ‘goings on’ in our Junior School, and I would like to share them with you.

  • Mrs Escobar’s Year 3 class won the attendance award – Well done Year 3.
  • Orange House was the House winner this week by 6 points.

Could I please politely remind parents that children in the Junior School require approximately 10 -11 hours’ sleep per night. Research has also shown that it is not advisable to allow children to play on electronic equipment just before bedtime, as it takes longer for the child to settle into sleep.

May I, therefore, request to please ensure that your child is in bed at a good hour, perhaps after a bedtime story, so that he/she can come into school in the morning refreshed, happy, and ready for the day ahead.

ISCOT Chess

On Saturday 20th, eight pupils from Years 4 to 6 represented Wellington College in the annual ISCOT chess competition, hosted at TIS. A lovely change of pace from the usual hustle and bustle of other ISCOT competitions; this event was a feast for the more intellectual pupils amongst us.

I am delighted to announce that Wellington emerged victorious thanks to JiHo in Year 6 who secured gold by way of a flurry of flawless performances. My congratulations to him and all who attended.

 

Wellington Community League – Football

On Friday 19th of this month saw the launch of the Wellington Community League (WCL) in the Junior School. This time around the focus was on football, and I am pleased to announce that six fun-packed matches were played between Wellington College and a local Chinese school. Mr Popovic and I were impressed with the level of effort and intensity our pupils displayed, whilst retaining a sense of sportsmanship and a concept at the heart of the WCL ethos.

My congratulations to all that participated, and thanks to Mr Popovic for his help on the day, and to the PE team for their help in organising such a successful event.

All Day 

Mental Health Week (to 2nd) (SW)

All Day

Senior School Open Door Week (to 2nd) (DP)

0930hrs – 1130hrs

WCA: Positive Behaviour (Beginner Level) (MB 125)

1830hrs – 1930hrs

Parent Lecture: How does Wellington support your children to go to their dream university? (JMS) (Common Room)

Tuesday 30 January 2018

0830hrs – 0930hrs

WCA English Class: beginners (PF) (MB 235)

1130hrs – 1200hrs

WCA: Pilates (Black Box / Dance Studio)

Wednesday 31 January 2018

0900hrs – 1000hrs

Parent Briefing: Dealing with Mental Health Issues (SW) (Black Box)

Thursday 01 February 2018

1100hrs – 1200hrs

WCA: English Class – Intermediate/Advanced (PF) (MB 231)

1400hrs – 1515hrs

Meet the Master: Years 12-13 Parents (ES) (Master’s Study)

Friday 02 February 2018

0830hrs – 1100hrs

WCA: Art Class (KM) (Junior Art Room)

0930hrs – 1030hrs

WCA: Pilates (Black Box / Dance Studio)

每周快讯 2018年1月26日

亲爱的各位家长:

非常感谢您花时间填写学校的年度家长调查问卷。今年,我们收到了209位家长的反馈,收回的问卷数量创下了历史新高。反馈结果也是满意的、令人欣喜的。大量的反馈数据,将为学校下一阶段的发展提供重要参考。

几周后,我将把调查结果和大家分享。在这里,我想再次号召各位家长,学校非常热切期待家长能够更多地参与到学校日常的各类活动中。问卷调查显示了,家长群体对参与学校活动是富有热情的。希望我们通过《学期活动日历》(一本小册子)、在线电子版校历(学校官网)以及每周《Week Ahead》,能够让您提前获得各类活动的信息。惠灵顿社群联盟(WCA,惠灵顿家长组织,家长代表定期组织主题活动丰富社群生活)每周都有各类课程和活动,向全体家长开放,同时我们也欢迎校外友人的参与。每期《Week Ahead》都有详细的活动信息,方便家长们报名。如果您想成为活动或者课程的组织者,请与Peter Randall先生(市场与招生总监)联系

peter.randall@wellingtoncollege.cn

中国新年临近了,一系列丰富多彩的活动正在校园开展,您可以通过WCA参与进来。请一定和我们一道庆贺中国新年戌狗年的到来!当然也非常欢迎您报名参加WCA目前开展的9门家长课程。

向全体惠灵顿大家庭致以诚挚问候

校长 Julian Jeffrey

和校长见面
员工休息室
2月1日周四
14:00-15:15

本周与校长见面主要面向12年级和13年级的各位学生家长。如果您想参加,请您在1月31日周三前发送邮件到(emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn)与Emma Shi石老师进行预约确认。

处理心理健康问题
黑箱剧场
1月31日周三
9:00-10:00

每周三上午9:00,家长们将有机会参与到学校的各项有关您孩子教育的工作中,从早期教育到A Level以及大学录取工作全都会有所涉及。地点会根据参加的观众有所不同, 下周的分享会将由负责学生指导/福利的Mrs Samantha Wood向您介绍如何处理您和孩子的心理健康问题。

 

在惠灵顿我们如何帮助您的孩子升入理想的大学
员工休息室
1月29日周一
18:30-19:30

我们将在1月29日周一的18:30-19:30进行家长讲座,地点设在员工休息室。本期的主题将介绍在惠灵顿我们如何帮助您的孩子升入理想的大学。讲座将在注重大学申请流程的同时提供相关咨询辅导。

中国新年周

2月5日-9日

我们热忱欢迎家长们来塞尔登剧场参加我们的中国新年集会。作为校历中最重要又激动人心的活动之一,我们准备了一系列游戏和演出来进行庆祝。

幼儿园集会

2月8日周四

10:00-11:00

高中部集会暨学院歌曲竞赛

2月8日周四

15:40-16:45

小学部集会

2月9日周五

13:10-14:30

观看学生表演后,中国新年周将闭幕于校餐厅进行的慈善春节市场。欢迎大家参加。获奖的中国新年作品将于14:30在黑箱剧场门前开放参观。

 

正面管教家长班(基础班,中文授课)
主楼125室
每周一
9:30-11:30
日期:  1月22日和29日;2月5日和26日;3月5日,12日,19日和26日
费用: 每次课30人民币或8次课200元人民币

联系方式:杨晨  13132235299

 

正面管教家长课堂到底长啥样?看完《正面管教》书觉得很好,但是体会不深刻,也不知如何用?想要进一步了解风靡美国40年的家庭教育方式?就让WCA正面管教家长课来帮助你吧!

无论你有多爱你的孩子,在养育的过程中总会让你遇到烦恼、难过、纠结、沮丧、不知所措的时候。每当孩子在商场哭闹着要买玩具,在饭桌前挑三拣四不想吃饭,在学校学习懈怠,晚上不想睡觉、早上拒绝起床,你是如何解决这些问题的呢?每一位父母都希望自己的孩子学习认真,生活自律、有爱有责任感、愿意合作、自信、有解决问题的能力……那如何才能培养孩子的这些品质和技能呢?

WCA正面管教家长课将会让你了解孩子的成长信息,帮助你找到育儿的有效方法和技能。当你掌握了正面管教的育儿方式后,就会有自信、有技巧、有尊严的运用自己的心灵和智慧找到自己解决问题的答案。

正面管教家长课让你打开读懂孩子的大门。每周两个小时的学习,持续学习,就能获得亲子教育的新知。与新知家长们一起,懂孩子,受益的将不仅是你的孩子还有你的亲密关系和你自己。

我能收获到什么:

  1. 学习正面管教的基础理论知识
  2. 解密亲子关系
  3. 学会有效的亲子沟通
  4. 找到孩子错误行为背后目的
  5. 良好的情绪管理
  6. 找到适合孩子的教育方式
  7. 自我成长

www.positivediscipline.com

 

艺术课程
小学艺术教室
每周五08:30-11:00

在为照顾心爱的孩子而忙碌一周后,是时候想一想自己了。这里是一个远离日常杂乱的小绿洲,艺术课程能恰如所需地为您舒缓压力。这是帮助您应对日常生活压力的绝佳方式,并为即将来到的繁忙周末做好准备。

对您而言,绘画,雕塑,素描,亚克力绘画,水彩画,蜡笔画将不再陌生。所有您一直想尝试但没有时间去做的东西,现在都会在您最方便的时间和地点实现- 当您的孩子在学校上课的时候。

每个月我们都将专注于一项您会感兴趣的新鲜方式。

伴随着轻松而鼓舞人心的音乐和一杯茶或咖啡,以艺术的方式表达自己,这可以帮助您发现日常中的欢乐。每个周五,一旦您将孩子送到学校后,就来艺术教室加入我们吧。

届时,自上午8:30-11:00,小学艺术教室将为您开放,您将能学习新的技能,与朋友聊天并分享对艺术的热爱。

期待在小学艺术教室见到您。

初阶EAL课程
MB 235
每周二08:30-09:30 

本课程针对希望提高语法,词汇及全方位语言能力的初学者。

 

高阶EAL课程
MB 231
每周四11:00-12:00 

本课程针对有一定水平的学院,可借此拓展语法和词汇水平,并有专注地提高口语技能。

普拉提课程
黑箱剧场
周二11:00-12:00
舞蹈教室
每周五09:30-10:30

普拉提是由Joseph Pilates开发的体育锻炼系统。它全面协调身体,思想和精神。普拉提侧重于核心力量和平衡的肌肉发展以及关节的灵活性和增加的运动范围。 所以,不要犹豫,加入我们的课程,来使自己感觉更好。 我们热情地欢迎您的到来。

 

第二学期初1年级和2年级的集会近乎完美,此次集会涉及IPC项目 – 打扮起来。我们聆听着Rita优美的钢琴演奏开始了集会。Mile Post1的学生们展示了他们来自16个不同国家的传统服饰。学生们解释了他们选择这个国家的原因以及为什么他们如此喜欢这些服饰。我觉得伊丽莎白女王和英国卫兵的服饰看起来棒极了 – 特别有英伦范。

在过去的几周,我回顾了所有小学部精彩的“进行”活动,在此分享给大家。

  • 3年级Mrs Escobar的班级赢得了出勤奖 – 干的漂亮3年级。
  • 本周Orange学院以6个学院分的成绩获胜。

请允许我在此提醒诸位家长,小学生每晚需要大约10-11小时的睡眠。研究表明让孩子在睡前玩电子设备是不可取的,因为这会使孩子花更长的时间进入睡眠状态。

为此我想在此请您确保孩子按时上床睡觉,也许在睡前故事之后,这样他/她能够在早上到校的时候精神饱满,开心并且为一天的学习做好准备。

ISCOT国际象棋

在20日周六,8名来自4-6年级的学生代表惠灵顿参加了在TIS举行的年度国际象棋比赛。与以往的ISCOT系列体育比赛喧闹的赛场不同;本次比赛的参赛选手都是学术型运动员。

我很荣幸地宣布,得益于6年级JiHo无懈可击的表现为学校锁定了金牌,惠灵顿取得了比赛的胜利。在此对他和所有参赛选手表示热烈的祝贺。

惠灵顿社区社团-足球

在本月19日周五,小学部的惠灵顿社群社团(WCL)正式开始活动。本次活动是足球比赛,我很高兴地告知各位,惠灵顿球队与本地学校举行了6场充满乐趣的比赛。Mr Popovic和我都为学生们表现出的拼搏精神感到欣慰,同时他们也表现出了支持协作这一WCL的核心理念。我谨在此对所有参赛者表示热烈的祝贺,并感谢Mr Popovic在比赛当天提供的帮助,也感谢体育组团队为我们组织了这样一场成功的活动。

全天

心理健康周 (持续到2日) (SW)

全天

中学教师教学观摩周 (持续到2日) (DP)

9:30AM – 11:30AM

WCA: 正面管教 (初级) (MB 125)

6:30PM – 7:30PM

家长讲座: 在惠灵顿我们如何帮助您的孩子升入理想的大学 (JMS) (员工休息室)

2018年1月30日 周二

8:30AM – 9:30AM

WCA 英语课程: 初学者(PF) (MB 235)

11:00AM – 12:00PM

WCA: 普拉提 (黑箱剧场 / 舞蹈教室)

2018年1月31日 周三

9:00AM – 10:00AM

家长分享会: 处理心理健康问题 (SW) (黑箱剧场)

2018年2月1日 周四

11:00AM – 12:00PM

WCA: 英语课程 – 中阶/高阶(PF) (MB 231)

2:00PM – 3:15PM

与校长见面: 12-13 年级家长 (ES) (校长办公室)

2018年2月2日 周五

8:30AM – 11:00AM

WCA: 艺术课程 (KM) (小学艺术教室)

9:30AM – 10:30AM

WCA: 普拉提 (黑箱剧场 / 舞蹈教室)