The Week Ahead 23March 2018

 

MEET THE MASTER
Master’s Study
1400hrs-1515hrs
Thursday 29th March

This week, the Meet the Master slot is aimed at parents of pupils in Years 2 to 6. If you would like to attend, please confirm via email with Ms. Emma Shi (emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn) by Wednesday 28th March.

IELTS & APPLICATIONS FOR THE UNIVERSITIES IN UK AND OTHER COUNTRIES
Common Room
1830hrs-1730hrs
Monday 26th March

There will be a presentation on the language requirement for IELTS and university applications to the UK. All parents are welcome, and the talk is open to friends of Wellington and members of the public.

Nest Open Morning
0830hrs – 1130hrs,
Wednesday 28th March

Parents are invited to the Nest Open Morning on Wednesday, 28th March from 0830hrs – 1130hrs. This is an opportunity for parents to visit classes and experience the learning that is taking place. If you are interested in attending, please kindly contact Ms Agnes Cui at Agnes.cui@wellingtoncollege.cn. We look forward to seeing you!
Nest Easter Egg Hunt
30th March
Friday

To welcome the season spring, the Nest will be hosting its annual Easter Egg Hunt on Friday, 30th March. Children will participate in spring-themed activities and of course, will be hunting for Easter eggs. The day will end with a special visit from the Easter bunny. A fun-filled day indeed!

Korean University Visit: JoonAng University
Common Room
1000hrs -1100hrs
Monday 26th March

There will be a visit from JoonAng University (Korea) from 1000hrs – 1100hrs (for parents only) on Monday 26th March in the Common Room. Parents of pupils from all year groups and nationalities are welcome.

ASA

ASA selections for the Summer Term will be made next week in both the Senior and Junior School. ASA in the Senior and Junior School will begin from 10th April.

In the Junior School an ASA selection letter will go out to parents on Tuesday March 27th. Senior School pupils will pick their options during the registration and tutorial time on that day. The deadline for making ASA selections will be Thursday March 29th for both the Senior and Junior School pupils.

IB Art Exhibition
Black Box

The final IB Visual Arts exhibition is now open in the Black Box and the whole Wellington community is invited to come. Please feel free to browse through the artwork and enjoy the work made over the last two years. We are delighted with the progress of our senior Art students and very proud to share their achievements with you!

Academy Programme on Summer Term

I hope you all enjoyed the courses we offered during the Lent term. During this term we introduced courses like Science and Mathematics with a lot Wellington elements and/or original content. For the upcoming 2018 Summer term we will further build on the success of those courses and freshly start new initiatives for the Wellington and Tianjin community, like Rugby, Journalism, Drum Percussion, Debating and many more.

The Programme provides a range of language, cultural, sporting and artistic activities for all our students, their parents, family and friends across our Wellington community. The almost 80 activities are taught by international and national champions, industry professionals and Wellington staff. Designed with the individual and family in mind, we offer a genuine community experience, and participants will have the chance to try everything from English/Spanish language training to Journalism and Rugby. You can become an expert in Calligraphy, or learn to hit a tennis ball like Roger Federer, dance around with ballet or modern dance classes, drum during a percussion session and sing in a choir.

Our Summer Term will start on Saturday 14th April and runs for 7-9 sessions (depending on the day of the week). Several courses still have space, so please don’t hesitate to sign up for one/several of the colorful classes we offer. We use an online platform for registration, please scan the QR-code to login.

Feel free to contact me (186 2291 2362 also my WeChat account) if you have any questions about our Academy Programme and/or if you need any support with signing up.

ISCOT Badminton Competition

On Saturday 17th March, the Junior School PE department took a group of students from Years 4, 5 and 6 to compete in the annual ISCOT badminton competition, which was held this year at TIS. I am delighted to announce that Wellington took home a silver medal in the boys’ A team division, and a bronze in the girls’ B team division. My thanks go to the staff who facilitated this competition, the parents for supporting, and of course a huge ‘well done’ to the students who competed.

Positive Parenting Class (basic)
MB125
0930hrs-1130hrs
every Monday
Charges: 30RMB/time or 200RMB/8 times

Positive Discipline is a programme designed to teach young people to become responsible, respectful and resourceful members of their communities. Based on the best-selling positive discipline book by Dr Jane Nelsen, it teaches important social and life skills in a manner that is deeply respectful and encouraging for both children and adults.

Parents will learn to avoid power struggles while helping their children to learn self-control and self-discipline. Classes are in a small group setting, allowing deeper discussions and very personalized experience.

www.positivediscipline.com

Art Class
Junior Art Room
0830hrs-1100hrs,
every Friday

Dear Art Appreciators

March 23rd – Chinese painting boundless style.
March 30th – Decoration of Easter Eggs in different traditional and contemporary styles.

From hot wax painting, through marking with natural leaves, to acrylics and shrink sleeve labels.

A lecture about the general meaning of Easter Egg decoration; worldwide examples from different cultures; how it was in the past and how it is now; Serbian medieval monastic decorations and much more. All to be followed by an egg decorating workshop and of course – a tournament!

Please come and join us in the peaceful joy of Easter Holidays! We enjoy mixing different cultural experiences!

Lower Level EAL Class
MB 235
0830hrs-0930hrs
every Tuesday 

This class is for beginner level learners who would like to improve their grammar, vocabulary and all-round language skills.

Higher Level EAL Class
MB 231
1100hrs-1200hrs
every Thursday

This class is for more confident learners who would like to extend their grammar and vocabulary and will have a focus on improving spoken fluency.

Pilates
Dance Studio
0900hrs-1000hrs
every Tuesday 

Dance Studio
0930hrs-1030hrs
every Friday

Pilates is a physical exercise system developed by Joseph Pilates. It is complete coordination of body, mind and spirit. Pilates focuses on core strength and balanced muscle development as well as flexibility and increased range of motion for the joints. So, don’t hesitate, join our classes and feel better. You are warmly welcomed.

WCA Yoga
Dance Studio
0900hrs-1000hrs
every Wednesday 

Welcome to our newly introduced yoga classes at Wellington College. Yoga philosophy and practice has its origin in India. The word ‘Yoga’ comes from the word “yuj”, which means “to yoke”, to unite your body and mind. Regular yoga practice helps your body to become strong, flexible, balanced and healthy. The same will happen with your mind. Yoga has become very popular all around the world for its healing benefits. It does not matter if you are new to yoga or a regular practitioner; everyone is welcome.

每周快讯 2018年3月23日

 

校长办公室
3月29日 周四
14:00-15:15

本周与校长见面主要面向2至6年级学生家长。如果您想要参加,请在3月28日周三之前发送邮件给Emma 石老师进行预约(emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn)

员工休息室
3月26日 周一
18:30-17:30

我校将举办雅思语言要求及英国大学申请介绍会。欢迎各位家长参加,同时本讲座面向各位惠灵顿社群及公众开放。

幼儿园早间开放日
3月28日 周三
08:30– 11:30

欢迎各位家长参加3月28日周三 8:30-11:30 举办的幼儿园开放日活动。届时各位家长将有机会参观各个班级并亲身体会孩子们的学习过程。如果您想要参加,请您发送邮件给Ms Agnes Cui Agnes.cui@wellingtoncollege.cn崔老师进行预约确认。期待您的到来!

 

幼儿园复活节彩蛋活动
3月30日 周五

为了欢迎春季的来临,幼儿园将在3月30日周五举办一年一度的复活节彩蛋搜寻活动。当然,孩子们将参加春季主题活动,会一起寻找彩蛋。当日活动将以看望复活节兔子作为尾声。这将是充满乐趣的一天!

韩国大学来访: JoonAng 中央大学
员工休息室
3月26日 周一
10:00 -11:00

3月26日周一上午10:00-11:00 在员工休息室将有中央大学(韩国)来访。各国及各年级的全体家长都欢迎前来参加。

课后活动课

夏季学期的课后活动课(ASA)将在下周开始供中学部和小学部的学生进行选择。 中学部和小学部的ASA课后活动将在4月10日开始上课。

有关小学部的ASA课程选择的家长通知信将在3月27日周二发送给各位家长。中学部学生将在当天的注册时间和辅导时间内自行领取该表格。中学部和小学部学生选择课后活动课的截止日期为3月29日周四。

IB 艺术展览
黑箱剧场

IB视觉艺术展现面向全体惠灵顿社群开放,地点设在黑箱剧场。欢迎您来欣赏学生们在过去2年中所完成的艺术作品。我们对于高年级艺术课程的学生们所取得的进步感到非常骄傲,并乐于与各位分享!

夏季学期课外活动课程

在过去的Lent学期,我们更多地引入了惠灵顿课程元素/原创内容,比如科学和数学的课程。希望大家喜欢我们在Lent学期所提供的课程。在即将到来的2018年Summer学期,我们将进一步巩固这些课程上所取得的成功,并将为天津惠灵顿学校及天津本地社区开设全新的课程,如橄榄球,新闻记者,打击乐器,辩论赛等等。

课外活动项目为所有的学生,他们的父母及家人朋友们提供了一系列涵盖语言,文化,体育和艺术活动的课程。在课程设置上,我们提供了由国际和国内冠军,业内专业人士和惠灵顿教职员工任教的近80项活动课程。我们的设计理念以个体及家庭为中心,提供真实的社区体验,参与者将有机会尝试从英语/西班牙语培训,到新闻和橄榄球等各种活动。您可以成为书法方面的专家,或者学习像Roger Federer那样去打网球,或者在芭蕾舞或者现代舞蹈课上跳舞,在打击乐课上打鼓,在合唱团唱歌。

我们的Summer学期将于4月14日星期六开始,并进行7-9个课时(取决于您参加一周中哪一天的课程)。 目前有几门课程仍然有名额,所以请不要犹豫,来报名我们提供的一个/多个丰富多彩的课程吧。 我们使用在线报名平台,请扫描下方二维码报名。

如果您有任何关于我们课后活动课程的问题和/或您需要任何报名上的支持,请随时与我联系(186 2291 2362微信同号)。

来自小学体育主管
ISCOT 羽毛球赛

在上周六也就是3月17日,小学体育组带领了一支由4至6年级学生组成的球队参加了年度ISCOT羽毛球比赛,今年的赛事在TIS进行。我很高兴地宣布,天津惠灵顿学校在男子A组中夺得一枚银牌,并在女子B组中获得铜牌。 我要感谢为这次比赛提供组织安排的工作人员和提供热心支持家长们,当然还要对参加比赛的学生说“干得漂亮”。

主楼125教室
每周一9:30-11:30
费用: 人民币30元/课时,或人民币200/8课时
联系方式:杨晨 13132235299

正面管教家长课堂到底长啥样?看完《正面管教》书觉得很好,但是体会不深刻,也不知如何用?想要进一步了解风靡美国40年的家庭教育方式?就让WCA正面管教家长课来帮助你吧!

无论你有多爱你的孩子,在养育的过程中总会让你遇到烦恼、难过、纠结、沮丧、不知所措的时候。每当孩子在商场哭闹着要买玩具,在饭桌前挑三拣四不想吃饭,在学校学习懈怠,晚上不想睡觉、早上拒绝起床,你是如何解决这些问题的呢?每一位父母都希望自己的孩子学习认真,生活自律、有爱有责任感、愿意合作、自信、有解决问题的能力……那如何才能培养孩子的这些品质和技能呢?

WCA正面管教家长课将会让你了解孩子的成长信息,帮助你找到育儿的有效方法和技能。当你掌握了正面管教的育儿方式后,就会有自信、有技巧、有尊严的运用自己的心灵和智慧找到自己解决问题的答案。
正面管教家长课让你打开读懂孩子的大门。每周两个小时的学习,持续学习,就能获得亲子教育的新知。与新知家长们一起,懂孩子,受益的将不仅是你的孩子还有你的亲密关系和你自己。

我能收获到什么:

  1. 学习正面管教的基础理论知识
  2. 解密亲子关系
  3. 学会有效的亲子沟通
  4. 找到孩子错误行为背后目的
  5. 良好的情绪管理
  6. 找到适合孩子的教育方式
  7. 自我成长

艺术课程
小学艺术教室
0830hrs-1100hrs
每周五

亲爱的艺术爱好者们

3月23日-中国画无限风格。

3月30日-不同传统和时代风格彩蛋装饰。

使用丙烯颜料在树叶上进行热蜡油画及套筒标签创作。

关于彩蛋装饰的意义讲座;来自不同文化的世界范例展示;过去和现在的对比;塞尔维亚地中海修道士装饰方式等等。之后将有实际的彩蛋装饰工作坊!

请来加入我们共同享受复活节假期带来的快乐!让我们享受各种文化交融带来的奇妙经历!

初阶英语课程
MB 235教室
每周二 8:30-9:30

本课程适合初学者水平,帮助他们提高语法水平,词汇和全面语言能力。

高阶英语课程
MB 231教室
每周四 11:00-12:00

本课程适合对自己目前语言水平更有信息的学习者,帮助他们进一步拓展语法和词汇,并且专注在提高口语流利程度上。

普拉提
0900hrs-1000hrs, 每周二
0930hrs-1030hrs, 每周五

普拉提是一项由Joseph Pilates开发的身体运动系统。它全面协调了身体,意志和精神。普拉提专注核心肌肉群和平衡肌肉群的发展,增强柔韧性和关节机能。那么不要犹豫,来参加我们,来感受改变。期待你的加入。

WCA 瑜伽
舞蹈教室 每周三上午9:00-10:00

欢迎参加在天津惠灵顿学校新开设的瑜伽课程。瑜伽哲学和功法起源于印度。“瑜伽”这个词来源于“yuj”这个词,意是“去除束缚”,将身心统一起来。定期的瑜伽练习可以帮助你的身体变得强壮、灵活、平衡和健康。对您的精神面貌也是如此。瑜伽在世界各地都很受欢迎,因为它的治愈效果很好。无论您是初学者还是资深瑜伽爱好者,这都没关系,我们欢迎每个人来参加。