The Week Ahead 14 September 2017


Dear Parents

I have been enjoying watching the first fixtures of the new academic year this week. Our new artificial sports’ pitch has already seen a number of exciting matches and the basketball and volleyball training sessions, played on the freshly relaid gym floor, have suggested that we are in for a very successful season. Alongside the state-of-the-art filtration system in the swimming pool, our pupils now have facilities to rival any in the city as we look to build on our already strong sporting reputation.

With pupil achievement placed firmly at the centre of our development plans for the year, sporting successes are a major source of inspiration to the community. Earlier this week, we presented Leo (Year 11) with his medal for winning a nationwide sailing competition over the summer. Leo’s achievement in the Topaz class was all the more noteworthy as he was competing against very experienced sailors from across China. Our footballers from Years 7-9, both boys and girls, have school matches this week, and the eagerly anticipated ISCOT Middle School football tournament at the weekend. The boys are in high spirits, as reigning champions, and the girls have been training hard to regain their effervescent performances from last season. Winning such events is always wonderful, of course, but the emphasis at school is on competing fiercely and fairly at all times; our athletes must know how to win graciously and lose without rancour. In this way, the achievements we celebrate as a school are not simply those that end in victory. Wellingtonians learn how to cope with elation and dejection in equal measure as they develop such key life skills as resilience and respect for others.

Vigorous competition, between equally matched teams or individuals, is the high point of any sporting contest. All performers – sporting or otherwise – relish such opportunities, and these occasions are only improved by the support of an audience of parents, friends and supporters. I would urge you all to come and lend your vocal support to our teams as they represent the school in competitions and matches: details of the fixture list are in the term diary.

I sense that the community around our school continues to grow in size and spirit. Collective participation is not just confined to pupil events, of course, and this week saw a further addition to the activities of the Wellington College Association (WCA) in the form of free English classes for parents (Thursdays). For the WCA to meet the needs of all our community more fully, I welcome ideas from parents who would like the school’s support in developing its programme of events. The on-going and active engagement of our parents remains at the heart of all that we do; if you are keen to explore what the WCA can offer, please contact Peter Randall (peter.randall@wellingtoncollege.cn) and we will do our best to make such plans come to fruition.

Best wishes

Julian Jeffrey
Master


MEET THE MASTER
Master’s Office
1400hrs – 1515hrs
Thursday 
21st September

This week, the Meet the Master slot is aimed at parents of pupils in Years 12-13. If you would like to attend, please confirm via email with Ms. Emma Shi (emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn) by Wednesday 20th September.



LEARNING TO LEARN
Black Box
0900hrs – 1000hrs
Wednesday 
20th September

Every Wednesday morning from 0900hrs, parents will have the chance to engage with the school in sessions that cover all aspects of your child’s education, from the Early Years to A Levels and university admissions. The venue will vary according to the anticipated audience, and for next week’s meeting, Mrs Samantha Wood, will give a lecture on Learning to Learn Programme.


SENIOR SCHOOL PARENTS’ EVENING
Year 11 A Level Induction group: Open House
Atrium
1700hrs – 1830hrs
Tuesday 
19th September

Parents’ Evening for parents of pupils in the Year 11 A Level Induction group will be held on Tuesday 19th September from 1700hrs to 1830hrs. The meeting point is the Atrium where the introduction will be led by Mr Lewis, Dr Yang and Mrs Popovic. After the introduction, you will have an opportunity to ask questions about the House system in the Senior School and have a tour around your child’s House.


Student Planner

Could all parents of pupils in the Senior School sign and check the Student Planner every week? Please sign at the top of the page to show us that you have checked it.



University Fair 2017
Sports Hall
1400hrs
Thursday 
21st September

This is a reminder that the 4th Annual University Fair will be taking place in the Sports’ Hall on Thursday 21st September. Parents of children in all year groups in the school are most welcome to attend from 1400hrs. Pupils in Years 12 and 13 will be attending from 1500hrs and pupils from Years 9 – 11 will be there from 1530hrs. The ASA will be cancelled on that day, but the school buses will be leaving at the usual time. However, the universities and colleges will be here until 1830hrs, so you will have plenty of time to communicate with the university and college representatives.

University visit
Yinghua International School
Tuesday 19th September

Year 12 and 13 pupils will be attending a university fair at Yinghua International School on Tuesday 19th September. We will leave school at 1030hrs and will be back by 1430hrs. We will travel there by bus and packed lunches will be provided. This is a great opportunity for our pupils to engage in meaningful dialogue with Admissions officers, to ask about the application process and any other questions they may have.


Influenza Vaccinations
School Nurse’s Office
0830hrs – 1500hrs
Thursday 
21st September

Tianjin United Family Hospital will be arranging influenza vaccinations for Junior and Senior School pupils over the age of 7 years old. It will be held on Thursday 21st September in the School Nurse’s office.

This is designed to minimize the potential for the spread of flu within the school. It is recommended for all young pupils, as well as those with chronic chest conditions such as Asthma. The vaccination is optional, but open to all Wellington pupils. A medical form with more information has been sent out to parents; please complete the form and return it to the School Nurse before 19th September.


Service Trip
Ru Hui Autism Centre
0800hrs – 1600hrs
Sunday 
24th September

There will be 11 pupils and 3 teachers going to Tianjin Songjiang Horse Riding Club for a service trip on Sunday 24th September. It is aimed to give 7 autistic children from Ru Hui Autism Centre a taste of sensory integration training through horse riding. All volunteers will also visit a Mini Zoo and tropical plant garden with the families from Tianjin Ru Hui Autism Centre.



Congratulations to all the Stars of the Week last Friday. As we are proud of our Wellington ethos, now we also have a Star of the Week for Music, PE and EAL. Children have plenty of ways to earn a Star of the Week by embedding the Core Values, completing exceptional work, showing excellent behaviour in the school and having fantastic learning attitude.

Year 2C won the Attendance Award last week with 99.7% attendance and all the children arrived school on time. A big courageous thank you to Andy in Year 5, who played a piece by Mozart– Well done! Also, children who have produced excellent work are sent to my office to pick something exciting out of my treasure box. This is another incentive for children to always try their best in all lessons.

Charity Sleepover

Once again, our pupil community showed their Wellington values of kindness and responsibility. 35 pupils spent their Friday night without their comfortable beds in order to raise money for Tianjin Jian Hua Orphanage. I’m proud to announce that we will donate 5012 RMB to this great cause, thanks to the amazing support of the pupils, their teachers, as well as all the parents who donated their money and time.

Activities were organized for the pupils including a Scavenger Hunt, Chubby Bunnies, Dodge Ball and it was safe to say that both the staff and pupils were in need of a rest! We all had lots of fun and we hope even more pupils will join us next year.


Golden Learning moment

Year 3 have been so excited to use satellite imagery to zoom out from Wellington to view the city of Tianjin and then the whole of China.

They have had their passports stamped ready to set off to Australia on their journey “Around the World”!



WCA Workshops 

Each week we will have workshops and lectures on various and colourful topics held by our school parents and friends. This is to enhance our bounds as a Wellington Community and we would love to welcome all of you to join us!


ANTI-GRAVITY YOGA
Karma Yoga Studio
0900hrs
Wednesday 
20th September

Karma yoga is a professional yoga studio, with 2 studios in Tianjin. Anti-gravity yoga is a very gentle and elegant exercise using a suspended hammock, it is easy and relaxing for beginners and yoga experts. The school bus will depart at 0900hrs and the session lasts from 1000hrs to 1100hrs. The Lunch afterward is located in a Japanese restaurant. If you would like to reserve a space please contact Ms. Klara Margetinova on klara.margetinova@yahoo.com.

Group lessons are charged 40RMB for 10 people, 50RMB for 8 people and 60RMB for 6 people.



The TCM class on Tuesday 19th September is postponed


Tuesday 19 September 2017
1100hrs – 1200hrs
WCA: Pilates (Dance Studio)

1700hrs – 1830hrs
Parents’ Evening: Year 11 (A Level Induction Year) (DP)

Wednesday 20 September 2017
0900hrs – 1000hrs
Parent Briefing: Learning to Learn (SW) (Black Box)

1430hrs – 1830hrs
HS Volleyball vs TEDA IS (a) (RG)

Thursday 21 September 2017
1400hrs – 1515hrs
Meet the Master: Years 12-13 Parents (ES) (Master’s Study)

1400hrs – 1800hrs
4th Annual International University Fair (JMS) (Sports Centre)

Friday 22 September 2017
0830hrs – 1100hrs
WCA: Art Class (KM) (Junior Art Room)

0930hrs – 1200hrs
Nest Open Day (PR) (The Nest)

1100hrs – 1200hrs
WCA: Pilates (Dance Studio)

1400hrs – 1600hrs
ISCOT Football (Years 3-5) (h) (RG) (Sports Centre)

Saturday 23 September 2017
All Day
Model United Nations (Years 7-9) (MUNIST) (DJ)

0900hrs – 1130hrs
Sixth Form Open Day (PR) (Atrium)

0900hrs – 1230hrs
Saturday Activity Programme (SAP) (EvK)

Sunday 24 September 2017
0800hrs – 1600hrs
Service Trip with Ru Hui Autism Centre (SL)

每周快讯 2017年9月14日


亲爱的各位家长:

新学年开始,我观看了学校几场开年的体育比赛,我非常享受整个赛程。学校重新铺设的人造草坪正在见证着精彩的比赛,室内运动场的地板修缮一新,篮球训练和排球训练在那里进行,这些都预示着惠灵顿赛季已成功开启。与之比肩,学校游泳池配备了最先进的过滤系统,惠灵顿的孩子们享有了这座城市最优良的泳池设施,体育运动是学校的强项并具有良好声誉,我们会继续不断的在这个领域持续发展。

随着“学生取得佳绩”坚定地贯彻于本年的各项发展计划之中,体育运动获得好成绩将给予惠灵顿社群很大鼓舞。本周初,我们分享了一个喜讯:在刚刚过去的暑假11年级的Leo同学赢得了国家级帆船比赛的奖杯。Leo取得的成绩非常引人注目,因为对手都是经验丰富的来自中国各地的帆船好手。7年级到9年级的学生球员们,包括男队和女队,本周进行了比赛,他们期待在周末与来自天津国际学校联盟的足球队角逐;我校男生球队作为卫冕冠军,雄心勃勃;女生球队也正在加紧训练,续写他们上一赛季的精彩表现。赢得比赛无疑是非常棒的,但是我们更看重竞技体育的精彩和公平,我们的运动员必须知道如何有风度地获得胜利,如何无怨的面对失败。这样,当我们欢迎胜利时,就不会简单地只看结果。惠灵顿人学习着如何在公平竞争原则下应对兴高采烈或者灰心丧气,这将发展成为一系列的生活技能:比如韧性以及尊重他人。

在旗鼓相当的两队之间或者个体之间进行的激烈角逐,是很多体育比赛的高潮。赛场上选手们的表现很多时候与观众的支持密不可分,比如来自家长还有朋友们的欢呼和鼓励。各位亲爱的家长们,我想鼓励大家,来到惠灵顿的赛场上吧,为孩子们鼓劲加油吧,他们正在竞技比赛中代表集体为学校争得荣誉。

我感到惠灵顿社群的规模正在扩大,大家的凝聚力在不断增长。您的参与不会只限制于学生活动,本周免费的家长英语课堂(每周四),我们看到了更多家长们的参与,家长英语课堂是惠灵顿社群联盟(WCA)组织的系列活动之一。为了让WCA更充分发挥凝聚社群的作用,我在此诚挚欢迎各位家长出谋划策,您希望学校如何为WCA活动提供支援。家长们的支持和全情投入在我们从事的各项活动中占有非常重要的位置。如果您想为学校出力,那么请联系WCA的校方联络人Peter Randall先生 peter.randall@wellingtoncollege.cn   学校将和您一道,实现您的想法。

向全体惠灵顿大家庭致以诚挚问候
校长 Julian Jeffrey


和校长见面
校长办公室
9月21日 周四 下午2:00-3:15 

本周与校长见面时间主要面向12-13年级学生家长。如果您想要参加,请您在9月20日周三前通过邮件和Ms. Emma Shi 石老师进行预约(emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn)。



学会学习
黑箱剧场
920 周三
上午9:00-10:00

每周三上午9:00,家长们将有机会参与到学校的各项有关您孩子教育的工作中,从早期教育到A Level以及大学录取工作全都会有所涉及。地点会根据参加的观众有所不同,下周各位家长们将在黑箱剧场参加由Samantha Wood老师主持的题为学会学习的分享会。


中学部家长会
11年级A Level 起始年级介绍:学院开放日
919 周二
下午5:00-6:30

9月19日周二 17:00-18:30 将举办11年级 A Level起始年级组家长会。地点在学校前厅,开始时间是17:00, 届时将有Mr Lewis,杨洋博士和Mrs Popovic主持会议。在简短介绍之后,您将有机会针对中学部学院管理系统提问并参观您孩子所在的学院教室。


学生手册

中学部全体学生的家长,请每周检查并签署学生的学生手册。

请在页面的顶部签名,这样老师检查时就会了解您已经阅读。



2017大学展
体育馆
921日周四,下午2:00

再次提醒大家前来参加即将在9月21日于学校体育馆举办的第四届大学展。开始时间为下午2:00,欢迎全校各个年级学生的家长前来参加。12和13年级的学生将在下午3:00出席,9-11年级的学生将在下午3:30出席。当天的课后活动课取消,但校车发车时间不变。此外,大学代表们将持续展出至下午6:30,这样您将有充裕的时间与大学和学院代表沟通。

大学访问
英华国际学校
919日周二

12和13年级的学生将在9月19日周二在英华国际学校组织的大学展。我们将在上午10:30出发并于下午2:30返回学校。我们将提供打包午餐和往返大巴服务。此行是学生们与招生人员进行有效沟通的良好机遇,他们可以就自己的申请进程和其他疑问进行提问。


流感疫苗接种
校医办公室
921日周四
上午8:30-下午3:00

9月21日周四,天津和睦家医院将为年龄超过7岁的小学生和中学生进行流感疫苗接种,地点设在校医办公室。

这是为了最小化校内流感传播的风险。建议所有年轻的学生和有哮喘类胸部健康问题的人接种。本次接种是面向全体天津惠灵顿国际学校的学生,自愿参加。包含详细信息的医疗表格已经向家长发放,请于9月19日前填好并交至校医处。


服务之旅
如辉儿童自闭症关爱中心
924日周日 上午8:00-下午4:00

9月24日周日,将有11名学生和3位老师前往松江马术俱乐部进行服务之旅。此行的目的是通过骑马训练为7名自闭症儿童提供感官训练。全体志愿者还将同来自天津如辉儿童自闭症关爱中心的家庭一起游览迷你动物园和热带植物园。



热烈祝贺上周五荣获每周之星的学生们。我们为惠灵顿的教学理念感到自豪,同时我们也设置了音乐,体育和EAL学科的每周之星。孩子们有充分的机会通过践行我们的核心价值观,完成额外的工作,在学校里有突出的表现和展示端正积极的学习态度,从而得到每周之星的荣誉。

2C班级以99.7%的出勤率得到了上周的出色出勤奖,并且所有的孩子都按时到校。5年级 Andy 获得大大的鼓励,他出色地表演了莫扎特的曲目! 此外,作业表现出色的孩子们也被老师们带到我的办公室,从百宝箱里选择了自己心仪的奖品。这也是激励孩子们在课上不断进步的新方法。

在学校过夜慈善募捐活动

我们的学生社群再次展示了惠灵顿善良和责任两大价值观。周五35名学生放弃了家里舒适的床,以在学校过夜的方式为天津建华孤儿院募集善款。我很自豪地宣布我们成功筹集了人民币5012元将捐献给孤儿院,感谢学生们,老师们和各位家长的支持,捐款以及宝贵时间。

在活动期间我们组织了包括Scavenger Hunt, Chubby Bunnies, Dodge Ball等一系列活动,相信老师和学生们都需要休息一下啦!我们都度过了愉快的时光并且期待明年有更多学生参与活动。


黄金学习时间

3年级的学生们很兴奋能使用卫星图像放大惠灵顿周围的区域,看到整个天津以及整个中国。

我们也让孩子们通过这种方式“周游世界” 并在他们的护照上盖章批准他们前往澳大利亚之旅。



每周我们都将有学生家长和其他友人举办丰富多彩的主题活动。这些活动旨在增强惠灵顿社群的紧密联系,我们将诚挚欢迎各位的到来!


卡玛生活瑜伽
920 周三
上午9:00

卡玛瑜伽是一家专业的瑜伽工作室,在天津设有两个健身工作室。反重力瑜伽是一种使用吊床设施进行的非常舒缓且优雅的锻炼方式,对于瑜伽初学者和专业瑜伽训练者都是很轻松的锻炼方式。学校校车将在早上9:00发车,该课程时间为上午10:00到11:00。之后的午餐将安排在一家日式餐厅。如果您想要预约参加,请您联系Ms. Klara Margetinova 邮箱地址为 klara.margetinova@yahoo.com

团队课程费用为40RMB/10人, 50RMB/8人以及60RMB/6人。



原定于9月19日周二的传统中医药课程将暂停一次。


2017919 周二
11:00AM – 12:00PM
WCA: 普拉提 (舞蹈教室)

5:00PM – 6:30PM
家长会: 11年级 (A Level 起始年级组) (DP)

2017920 周三
9:00AM – 10:00AM
家长分享会: 学会学习 (SW) (黑箱剧场)

2:30PM – 6:30PM
高中排球赛vs TEDA IS (a) (RG)

2017921 周四
2:00PM – 3:15PM
和校长见面: 12-13 年级家长(ES) (校长办公室)

2:00PM – 6:00PM
第四届年度国际大学展 (JMS) (体育馆)

2017 922 周五
8:30AM – 11:00AM
WCA: 艺术课 (KM) (小学艺术教室)

9:30AM – 12:00PM
幼儿园开放日 (PR) (幼儿园)

11:00AM – 12:00PM
WCA: 普拉提 (舞蹈教室)

2:00PM – 4:00PM
ISCOT 足球赛 (3-5年级) (h) (RG) (体育馆)

2017923 周六
全天
模拟联合国 (7-9年级) (MUNIST) (DJ)

9:00AM – 11:30AM
高中开放日 (PR) (前厅)

9:00AM – 12:30PM
周六课外活动 (SAP) (EvK)

2017
924 周日
8:00AM – 4:00PM
如辉自闭症儿童康复中心义工活动 (SL)