The Week Ahead 12 October 2017

Dear Parents

One of the most interesting features of a career in education is the level of engagement in issues around thinking about schools and learning by what may be termed the non-specialist, those not employed in the business of teaching. Schools are unique places. Unlike doctors’ surgeries, aircraft cockpits or offices, all members of a school community have spent significant parts of their lives in schools. This brings with it the great advantage of prior knowledge and experience on the part of parents and grandparents when choosing schools, advising children or talking to members of the school staff. Adults, even those not employed in education, tend to be on familiar ground once they step back into a school. However, working with young people and helping them to learn as preparation for the world around them, is not a static process; educational practices and ideas move fast, and for those who do not make their careers in this field, much of the development in pedagogical practice and theory can remain a mystery.

If you have read any of my recent Week Ahead pieces, or been to a Meet the Master session, you will already know that part of my role here is to draw our wider community, of parents, grandparents and friends of Wellington, further into the life of the school. The WCA, with its focus as a social hub for our families, is one such initiative, but it is not designed to engage with the practice of teaching and learning. Much of my time is spent in talking to parents about education and the application of innovation across the school, so I know there is a strong appetite among our community for further engagement with the theory and practice of education. As a result, I am delighted to announce our first major collaboration as part of the expanded Wellington College China group, in the form of a Festival of Education (‘EdFest’), to be held here at the school on Monday 23rd October. In partnership with our sister schools in Shanghai and Hangzhou, we will be offering a day-long programme of lectures, workshops and short talks, all focused on teaching and learning. We are lucky to be joined by experts from across China and the globe for this exciting event, and I am sure it will be of significant interest to many across our community. Details of the speakers and topics appear below in the Week Ahead, but it is safe to say that there will be discussion on everything from Early Years’ education to university admissions’ advice. The cost to those from outside the Wellington community is 100RMB, but entry for parents and friends of the school is free (please register your intention to attend to ensure this concession). I would encourage as many of you as possible to come along and engage with the speakers and their ideas.

The Ed Fest promises to be one of the pivotal moments in the school year, opening up fresh insights for parents, educators and the wider Wellington community, as well as removing some of the mystique that surrounds modern educational practice. Please do join us for what promises to be the first of an annual celebration of the world of learning.

To register, for the Ed Fest, please email events.tianjin@wellingtoncollege.cn or book your tickets at the college reception.

Best wishes
Julian Jeffrey
Master


MEET THE MASTER

Master’s Office

1400hrs-1515hrs

Thursday 19th October

This week, the Meet the Master slot is aimed at parents of pupils in Years 7-11. If you would like to attend, please confirm via email with Ms. Emma Shi (emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn) by Wednesday 18th October. Mrs Popovic, Mrs Sabio and Dr Yang will be available to answer your questions.


 


REPORTING IN THE SENIOR SCHOOL
Common Room
0900hrs-1000hrs,
Wednesday 18th October

Every Wednesday morning from 0900hrs, parents will have the chance to engage with the school in sessions that cover all aspects of your child’s education, from the Early Years to A Levels and university admissions. The venue will vary according to the anticipated audience, and for next week’s meeting, Mrs Dragana Popovic, the Acting Head of Senior School, will give a presentation on the reporting of the Senior School.

The first set of reports this academic year will be published in two weeks. If you would like to know more about this topic, please join us. Parents’ understanding of the data and reports we produce for each child is very important because it will provide information on where your child is and where we anticipate your child will be at the end of the Key Stage. Also, it will provide the pupil’s current progress and areas for development and improvement identified by their teachers, which is crucial for a child’s academic performance and success. The Briefing will be in the Common Room. Chinese and Korean translations during the event will be provided.


Year 8 Mandarin Trip to Drum Tower
0830hrs-1200hrs,
Thursday 19th October

Year 8 Mandarin learners will have a trip to the Drum Tower and Ancient Culture Street on Thursday 19th October. They will leave at 0830hrs and be back by 1200hrs for the LTA. Pupils will board the bus at the school gate. A parent letter has been sent out with more details and information, if you have any question, please contact with me at bianca.xie@wellingtoncollege.cn.


Europe Trip Parent Briefing
Common Room
1700hrs,
Monday 16th October

I am pleased to invite both the parents and the pupils who are joining us on this amazing trip to a briefing at 1700hrs on Monday 16th October. The meeting will be an opportunity to share key information with you all, and ensure that everyone has begun the process of securing a visa, if required. To ensure that we are aware of numbers, please can you confirm if you will or will not be joining us by email to one of the following:

emma.paine@wellingtoncollege.cn

hannah.kim@wellingtoncollege.cn (Korean speakers)

stacey.liu@wellingtoncollege.cn (Chinese speakers)

We look forward to seeing you all there!

 

Year 7: Take Your Father to School Day

Friday 20th October

The Senior School is delighted to once again invite the fathers of our Year 7 pupils to join us for the day on Friday 20th October. Please remember to check your timetables the night before, dads! Pack your calculator, art supplies and your PE kits (if necessary) as we expect all fathers to join in the lessons as well as the House time.

After the success of last year, fathers will be invited to join me, as the KS3 Coordinator, and some senior colleagues in the Common Room during Period 5 for a coffee and a chance to ask any questions they may have about our curriculum. We sincerely hope to see as many of our Year 7 fathers as possible, please ensure you have returned your reply slip to Ms Emma Paine by Monday 16th October.


 

The Caucasian Chalk Circle
Black Box
Wednesday 18th – Fri 20th October
1900hrs

Over the past half term, a number of pupils have been working on our very own version of Bertolt Brecht’s The Caucasian Chalk Circle,itself a play based on an initial premise from a Chinese playwright Li Xingdao. Brecht’s play explores the problem of a child left behind by his mother during a military coup and saved by a maid who devoted herself to the child.

The pupils involved have been reading the play, exploring how to perform it and have written the music that will accompany the performance. This week for three nights only, it shall be performed and we invite you to join them in the Black Box Theatre. Tickets are available from reception at a cost of 50RMB for Wednesday, Thursday and Friday night. Doors will open at 7pm each evening. Building on the success of last year’s performance of Two, this will be a wonderful experience – a not-to-be-missed highlight of the Michaelmas Term calendar. We look forward to seeing you there.

 


Art Exhibition
21st – 27th October
Nasca Linien

Wellington Art teachers are excited to be holding the first exhibition of their artwork at Nasca Linien in Wudadao from Saturday 21st to Friday 27th October. The exhibition ‘山水心Mindscape’ will have a special opening for the Wellington community on the evening of Friday 20th October and a bus will be available between school and Wudadao. Following the exhibition there will be dinner for all guests at former Wellington parent Fiona Yu’s hot pot restaurant. Tickets will cost 50RMB and further details will be sent out on wechat soon.


Universities Visits
Theatre


The University of Rochester,
0830hrs-0900hrs
Tuesday, 17th October

Albion College
1000hrs-1100hrs
Thursday, 19th October

There will be two American universities visiting Wellington next week. The University of Rochester will be with us on the 17th October from 0830hrs until 0900hrs. Rochester describes itself as one of the smallest and most collegiate schools among the nation’s top research universities. The University of Rochester’s graduate programs include the highly ranked William E. Simon Graduate School of Business Administration, Hajim School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Medical Centre, Department of Political Science and Department of Economics. The well-regarded Eastman School of Music is home to more than 20 ensembles, including the first wind ensemble in the country. The Institute of Optics is the nation’s oldest educational program devoted to optics. The school’s unique “Take Five Scholars” programme provides students an additional tuition-free semester or year studying topics of interest outside of their major. Notable alumni include former U.S. Secretary of Energy Steven Chu and visual effects artist Michael Kanfer, who won an Academy Award for his work on the film ‘Titanic’.

Albion College will be here on the 19th October from 1000hrs until 1100hrs. Albion is a private liberal arts college, located in Albion, Michigan. The most popular majors at Albion College include: Biology/Biological Sciences, Psychology, Business Administration and Management, Economics and Kinesiology and Exercise Science. The average freshman retention rate, an indicator of student satisfaction, is 82 percent.

Both presentations will take place in the Theatre. All pupils in Years 11-13 will be attending. Parents with children in all year groups are welcome to attend. There will be opportunities for questions regarding applications to Universities in America.

 


Welcome back after a lovely mid-Autumn break! The Junior School has started off a new half term with the monthly Open Morning. Even though there was lots of rain, we still had over 50 parents attended. Parents were shown around by staff members as well as by some of our children: Mimi, Kai Yi, Leena, Masa, Riordan, Julia, Jason, Alice, Sunny and Linda were our wonderful tour guides. A big thank you to all the staff and children to make the morning so successful.

During our Open Mornings, we would like to take parents around every classroom to see the excellent quality of teaching and learning. The school has invested heavily to upgrade our interactive Whiteboards, so that they are more user-friendly for both the pupils and teachers: we now have Apple boards in six classrooms. The group that I led saw an excellent example in Year 2, where the children planned their trip of their favorites places around the school using Poplett. They videoed themselves walking around the school, explaining where they were and why they had chosen this place. In addition, children have a mini Maths quiz each week, which help the teacher have a better understanding that what the children know and need to know for the following weeks’ activities. The teachers do these by Plickers, Kahoot and Socrates, all interactive and fun, but very clear in identifying children’s individual needs.

The homework projects are starting to come in; currently we have the Year 5 and 6 projects about Rivers, out on display by the Room 131. There is lots of super work on display, and I can see that most of the children have researched the topic well.

Our next Open Morning is Wednesday 29th November, please email Ms Polly Zhang, polly.zhang@wellingtoncollege.cn to book an appointment.

 

A reminder that there are no ASA on the week of 23rd October due to the Parents’ Evening. Slips will be sent out by the end of this week. During the Parents’ Evening, all books will be available for parents to view; Reading, Writing and Math targets will be given, and we will have the Chinese translation of the Age-related Expectations.

 

Golden Learning Moment

Jason is able to locate the next place the Mile Post 2 will be visiting – South America. Well done Jason.

 


Monday 16 October 2017

1700hrs

Europe Trip Parent Briefing (EP) (CR)

Tuesday 17 October 2017

All Day

International Day for the Eradication of Poverty (TCR)

0830hrs – 0930hrs

WCA English Class: Lower Level EAL Class (PF) (MB 235)

0900hrs – 1030hrs

WCA: Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) (WCA Room)

1100hrs – 1200hrs

WCA: Pilates (Dance Studio)

1600hrs – 1730hrs

MS Football vs TIS: Boys (h); Girls (a) (RG)

Wednesday 18 October 2017

0900hrs – 1000hrs

Parent Briefing: Reporting in the Senior School (DP) (Common Room)

1900hrs

Senior School Play (to 20th) (MB) (Black Box)

Thursday 19 October 2017

All Day

Inter-House Maths Competition (EIW)

0830hrs – 1200hrs

Year 8 Mandarin Trip to Gulou (YZ)

1100hrs – 1200hrs

WCA: Higher Level EAL Class (PF) (MB 231)

1400hrs – 1515hrs

Meet the Master: Years 7-11 Parents (ES) (Master’s Study)

Friday 20 October 2017

All Day

Year 7: Take Your Father to School Day (EP)

0830hrs – 1100hrs

WCA: Art Class (KM) (Junior Art Room)

1100hrs – 1200hrs

WCA: Pilates (Dance Studio)

Saturday 21 October 2017

0900hrs – 1230hrs

Saturday Activity Programme (SAP) (EvK)

0900hrs – 1500hrs

ISCOT Football (Years 3-5) (h) (Sports Centre)

每周快讯 2017年10月12日

亲爱的各位家长:

教育生涯中一个非常有意思的话题就是非教育从业者以其视角思考学校和学习,及其投入程度。学校,是一个独特的地方。与医生的诊所不同,与飞机座舱不同,与办公室也不相同,在一所学校,每个人投入了大量时间。当父母或者祖父母为孩子选择学校、为孩子提供建议或者与孩子的老师交谈时,对教育的思考和投入就凸显出了一种优势:获得先验知识和经验。甚至那些没有在教育领域从业的成年人,一旦回到学校,都会倾向于熟悉的环境。然而,一旦教育涉及到年轻学子,教育将帮助他们准备好来面对未来的世界,事情就变得不那么简单,而是一个动态的旅程;教育实践和教育思想变化很快,如果不在教育领域从业,教学理论和教法的发展变化将始终是个解不开的谜题。

如果您一直阅读近期我在每周快讯上的文章,或者参加过“家长与校长见面会”,您就会了解到,我的角色之一就是将父母、祖父母甚至惠灵顿的友人带入学校,这个育人之地。惠灵顿社群联盟(WCA)成立的初衷就在于此,将“学校”的外延扩展到惠灵顿社群,WCA正在成为惠灵顿家庭社交互动的集散地,但并不着力于教学领域。我用大量的时间和父母们交谈有关教育和教育新思想在学校的推广应用,我知道大家对教育理论和实践的参与很有热情。由此,我很高兴地宣布,作为惠灵顿中国首次联合旗下各个惠灵顿学校组织的“惠灵顿教育节”将于10月23日周一在天津惠灵顿国际学校的校园举行。与姐妹院校上海和杭州惠灵顿学校合作,天津的教育节活动为期一天,形式多样,包括:演讲、研讨会和对谈,主题全部围绕教与学。我们很幸运地邀请到了来自中国以及世界的教育专家,我相信很多家长一定会很有兴趣聆听。讲演嘉宾简历和演讲主题已发布在本期每周快讯。内容将涵盖从早期教育到大学申请各个阶段。校外人员,将收取100元进场费,惠灵顿社群的家长和友人可以免费参加,但请提前报名。我想鼓励大家,安排时间前来,参与到演讲嘉宾涉猎的主题中去。

教育节是学校一年中非常重要的活动,带领着家长、教育从业者以及惠灵顿社群成员聚焦当下教育焦点,围绕着当代教育实践答疑解惑。这是一次世界性的学习之旅,请不要犹豫加入我们吧。

向全体惠灵顿大家庭致以诚挚问候

校长Julian Jeffrey


和校长见面

校长办公室

10月19日 周四

下午2:00-3:15

本周与校长见面主要面向7-11年级的学生家长。如果您想要参加,请您在10月18日周三之前通过邮件与Ms. Emma Shi (emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn)石老师预约。届时Mrs Popovic, Mrs Sabio 和Dr Yang杨洋博士将回答各位家长的有关疑问。


 


中学部的成绩报告

员工休息室

10月18日 周三

上午9:00-10:00

每周三上午9:00,家长们将有机会参与到学校的各项有关您孩子教育的工作中,从早期教育到A Level以及大学录取工作全都会有所涉及。地点会根据参加的观众有所不同,下周的分享会将由中学部代理校长Mrs Dragana Popovic 向您介绍有关中学部成绩报告的相关信息。

本学年的第一次成绩报告将在两周内公布。如果您想要更多的了解相关信息,欢迎您届时来校参加分享会。每位家长对于数据和报告内容的充分理解非常重要,因为报告将让您了解您孩子现在的学习情况以及我们期待在该关键阶段结束时她/他所达到的目标。同时,报告也将告知您老师发现的孩子现阶段进步情况以及需要提高的方面,这对于孩子的学业进步和成功至关重要。本次分享会地点在员工休息室Common Room。 分享会将提供中文和韩语翻译。


8年级中文学科鼓楼之旅

10月19日 周四

上午8:30-12:00

8年级中文学科的学生们将在10月19日 周四前往鼓楼和古文化街。学生们将于8:30 出发并在12:00 之前回来以便参加午间活动。学生们将在校门口乘坐校车。我们已经向各位家长发送了有关细节安排的家长信,如果您有任何疑问,请您和我联系。bianca.xie@wellingtoncollege.cn


欧洲之旅家长会

员工休息室

10月16日 周一

下午5:00

我很荣幸地邀请各位即将参加本次精彩旅程的学生和家长,在10月16日 周一下午5:00到校参加专场家长会。在本次家长会上将告知您重要信息,并确保每个需要签证的人都已经开始进行相关准备。为了方便安排家长会,我们需要知道参加的人数,烦请您通过以下邮件告知您是否参加家长会:

emma.paine@wellingtoncollege.cn

hannah.kim@wellingtoncollege.cn (韩语)

stacey.liu@wellingtoncollege.cn (中文)

我们期待您的到来!

 

7年级: 带父亲来上学

10月20日 周五

中学部很高兴能够再次邀请各位7年级学生的父亲们在10月20日到学校参加本次活动。请爸爸们记得在前一晚查看自己的课表!请带好您的计算器,艺术课用品以及您的体育课运动服(如果需要),我们希望所有的父亲们都能参与到课程教学和学院时间中。

 

继去年的成功举办之后,父亲们将被邀请和我本人,关键阶段3 的负责人,以及一些中学部的同事一起在第五节课的时候到员工休息室享用咖啡,并有机会交流有关课程的问题。我们衷心地希望能够尽可能多的看到7年级的各位父亲们,请确保您在10月16日周一前将回执交给Ms Emma Paine。


 

《高加索灰阑记》

黑箱剧场

10月18日周三 — 10月20日 周五

晚上7:00

在过去的半学期里,有许多学生正在排练我们自己版本的贝尔托·布莱希尔的作品《高加索灰阑记》,这一剧目是根据中国剧作家李行道的作品改编的。布莱希尔的戏剧探讨了一个在军事政变中被母亲遗失的孩子,后来被一个少女救起并尽全力照顾长大的故事。

参演的学生们都在阅读该剧本,探讨如何表演并创作了为演出伴奏的音乐。本周我们仅进行三场演出,我们在此邀请您到黑箱剧场观看表演。您可以到前台购买周三,周四和周五场的门票,价格为50元。每晚我们将在7点开门迎接各位。在去年我们成功的戏剧表演《Two》的基础上,我们相信本次戏剧也将成为Michaelmas学期您不容错过的亮点。我们期待您的到来。

 


艺术展览

10月21日-27日

Nasca Linien (纳斯卡共享空间)

10月21日周六至27日周五,天津惠灵顿国际学校的艺术老师们将在五大道的Nasca Linien组织首届作品展。该展出名为‘山水心’(Mindscape),10月20日傍晚将为惠灵顿社群特别开放,将会有专车从学校出发前往五大道。观展结束后会安排全体人员前往火锅店就餐,这家餐厅由惠灵顿校友的家庭开办。票价人民币50元,稍后会通过微信公众号发布更多细节。


大学来访

剧场

罗切斯特大学

10月17日 周二

上午8:30-9:00

 

阿尔比恩学院

10月19日 周四

上午10:00-11:00

 

下周将有两所美国大学来访惠灵顿。罗切斯特将在10月17日早上8:30-9:00 来访。罗切斯特大学是国家顶级科研型学府中规模不大但却最具特色的学校之一。罗切斯特大学的研究生项目包括排名居前列的William E. Simon 工商管理研究生项目,哈基姆工程及应用科学学院,医学中心,政治学系和经济学系。备受尊重的伊斯曼音乐学院有超过20支合奏乐队,包括国家的第一支风琴乐队。该校的光学研究所是国家历史最久的专门从事光学研究的教育机构。学校特有的“Take Five Scholars”学者项目为学生们提供了额外的免费学期或者学年用来学习专业之外的的主题。著名的校友包括前美国能源部长Steven Chu以及视觉效果艺术家Michael Kanfer,他曾凭《泰坦尼克号》电影作品获得奥斯卡奖。

 

阿尔比恩学院将于10月19日上午10:00至11:00 来访我校。阿尔比恩是一所私立文理学院,坐落在密歇根的阿尔比恩。该学院最受欢迎的专业包括:生物/生物科学,心理学,工商管理,经济学和运动机能学以及运动科学。平均新生保留率,也是学生满意度的一个指标,是82%

 

两场大学来访宣讲都将在塞尔登剧场进行。全体11-13年级的学生将参加。我们欢迎全体在校学生的家长,不限年级,前来参加。届时您将有机会咨询有关美国大学申请的问题。

 


欢迎中秋假期后回归!伴随着月度早间开放日,小学部开始了下半学期学习生活。尽管一直下雨,仍有50位家长参加了早间开放日活动并参观了校园,带领他们的有我们的教职员工以及部分孩子:Mimi, Kai Yi, Leena, Masa, Riordan, Julia, Jason, Alice, Sunny 以及Linda,这些孩子都是出色的小领队。

在早间开放日中,我们很高兴地带领家长们参观了每间教室,向他们展示了我们高质量的教学活动。学校投入资金配备了互动白板,使老师和学生都更加方便地使用:目前在高中部自习室配有苹果平板电脑。 我所带领的参观团队在2年级的班级看到了非常棒的课堂演示:孩子们用Poplett板块为自己喜欢的学校场所规划游览路线。他们以视频方式记录了自己在校内漫步的场景,并解说自己所处地点和为什么喜欢这里。此外,老师们会通过每周的迷你数学测验来更好地了解孩子们的知识掌握情况以及下周的小学活动中需要掌握的知识。该迷你数学测验由老师通过Plickers, Kahoot 和Socrates几个板块来完成,这些都非常有趣且互动性强,同时能清楚地反映出针对每个学生的教学需求。

作业项目即将开始;现阶段我们完成了5年级和6年级关于河流的项目,正在131室展示。有很多出色的作品正在展示中,我可以从中看出大部分孩子都切合这个主题做了调研。

下一次早间开放日将设在11月29日星期三,请提前给Ms Polly Zhang发邮件预约,邮箱地址:polly.zhang@wellingtoncollege.cn.

小提醒:由于家长会,10月23日开始的那一周的课后活动(ASA)将被取消。本周后期将发放具体通知单。在家长会中,所有作业本都将供家长浏览;将提供阅读,写作和数学目标,按年龄层划分成绩标准,提供中文翻译。

黄金学习时刻

Jason能够指出我们要在Mile Post 2中造访的下个地点 – 南美。干得漂亮Jason。

 


2017年10月16日 周一

5:00PM

欧洲之旅家长会(EP) (CR)

2017年10月17日 周二

全天

国际消灭贫困日 (TCR)

 

8:30AM – 9:30AM

WCA 英语课:低阶英语强化班(PF) (MB 235)

 

9:00AM – 10:30AM

WCA: 传统中医 (TCM) (WCA 会议室)

 

11:00AM – 12:00PM

WCA: 普拉提 (舞蹈教室)

 

4:00PM – 5:30PM

足球赛 vs TIS: 男生 (h); 女生 (a) (RG)

2017年10月18日 周三

9:00AM – 10:00AM

家长分享会: 中学部报告 (DP) (员工休息室)

 

7:00PM

中学部戏剧 (持续到20日) (MB) (黑箱剧场)

2017年10月19日 周四

全天

学院间数学竞赛 (EIW)

 

8:30AM – 12:00PM

8年级中文学科鼓楼之旅(YZ)

 

11:00AM – 12:00PM

WCA: 高阶英语课 (PF) (MB 231)

 

2:00PM – 3:15PM

和校长见面: 7-11年级家长 (ES) (校长办公室)

2017年10月20日 周五

全天

7年级: 带父亲来上学日 (EP)

 

8:30AM – 11:00AM

WCA: 艺术课 (KM) (小学艺术教室)

 

11:00AM – 12:00PM

WCA: 普拉提(舞蹈教室)

2017年10月21日 周六

9:00AM – 12:30PM

周六课外活动 (SAP) (EvK)

 

9:00AM – 3:00PM

ISCOT 足球 (3-5年级) (h) (体育馆)