The Week Ahead 09 November 2017

Dear Parents

Are we doing enough as a community to ‘futureproof’ our young people at Wellington? By this, I do not mean to question the academic expectations we have – far from it, I want and expect these to keep improving, so that our graduates continue to gain admission to the best universities across the world. The Festival of Education last month offered a host of ideas about the way education was developing, and many of the speakers recognised that the schools of the future will not be successful if they sought to be little more than a facsimile of those schools of today. The world moves too fast for such stagnation of ideas, particularly in the sensitive area of learning – young people only get one chance at childhood.

I have heard and read enough about the ways schools are going to know that it is unwise to make predictions about the future with any greater certainty. We recognise this ourselves: the College’s own mission statement talks of developing youngsters who can, “thrive within an ever-changing global society.” If we cannot with confidence predict what the world of tomorrow holds for our pupils, there are ways we can prepare them to face the challenges more fully. Aside from giving our children a thorough grounding in academic rigour and embedding a set of personal values that underpin their conduct, Wellington seeks to support pupils in their resilience. Resilience is a much underrated characteristic. It is often the preserve of the quieter, more determined individuals, and only reveals itself in times of hardship or challenge. The great benefit of genuine resilience is that it helps people adapt to fast-changing or uncertain situations; to be resolute, but never dogmatic, in their decision-making. Resilient people have the ability to respond to the unexpected more quickly than others and they do not let incidences of failure or disappointments hamper their lives.

As such, it is to me a wonderful characteristic to encourage in young people. It can help them to contextualize setbacks in their academic progress, or respond with greater emotional intelligence to events that have the capacity for harm. Wellington’s programmes of wellbeing; of team and individual sports; the International Duke of Edinburgh Award scheme; and of developing confidence and skill in the performing arts, are all key elements to building this characteristic in young people.  An emphasis on independence of thought, of learning from mistakes without a fear of failure or ridicule, and an expectation of stretch and challenge from teachers, all framed within a safe and forgiving environment, are the keys to helping young Wellingtonians face the world, better armed for the uncertainties of tomorrow.

Best wishes for the forthcoming break
Julian Jeffrey
Master

Master’s Office
1400hrs-1515hrs
Thursday 16th November

This week, the Meet the Master slot is aimed at parents of pupils in Years 1 to 6. If you would like to attend, please confirm via email with Ms. Emma Shi (emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn) by Wednesday 15th November.

 

Senior School Assessment Week

Assessment Week for the pupils in the Senior School in Years 7, 8, 9, 10 and Year 11 A Level Induction group will start on Monday, 20th November. The revision guide and the timetable have been sent by email to all the pupils. Pupils should use the time during the November break to revise content covered so far in each of the subjects.The ASA will be cancelled for the whole week.

Christmas is just around the corner and it is time for our annual Charity Christmas Bazaar which will be held on Friday December 1st, 2017, 1400hrs-1700hrs. We will continue our theme from last year–The Gift of Giving – with proceeds from the Bazaar going to the Tianjin RuHui Rehabilitation Centre. If any parents or friends from the Wellington Community are interested in organising a stall or offering any other support for the event, please contact Ms. Fiona Yang: fiona.yang@wellingtoncollege.cn

 

University Visit: Royal Holloway University London
Seldon Theatre
1545hrs-1645hrs
Thursday 16th November

Royal Holloway University London, will be visiting the College next week. They will be with us on the Thursday 16th November from 1545hrs until 1645hrs in the Theatre. All pupils in Years 11, 12 and 13 will be attending this presentation instead of their ASAs.

Royal Holloway was ranked 197th in the world and the 31st overall in the UK in the Times Higher Education World University Rankings 2017/18. Recognized as world-class experts in the arts, humanities and sciences, many Royal Holloway academics act as advisors to policy-makers and the Government.

There will be a presentation followed by a Q&A session. Parents with children in all year groups in the College are welcome to attend. There will be opportunities for questions regarding applications to universities in the UK.

Each week we will have workshops and lectures on various and colourful topics held by our school parents and friends. This is to enhance our bounds as a Wellington Community and we would love to welcome all of you to join us!

Art Class
Junior Art Room
0830hrs-1100hrs
every Friday 

It is such a privilege to work with talented and eager people – an amazing and energy boosting experience. Art classes are meant to be relaxing, fun and widen our art horizons beside gaining different skills and traveling through art history, but I’ll tell you a secret: my students are the ones who always want even more and that’s how we ended up drawing a live model! If you had asked me three days ago, I would have said: no, it’s still not the right time, even though I see the great potential of my lovely students. But they are so passionate about their intimate love of art which makes each class quite unpredictable.

Now, we will try to capture nature itself. Wish us luck! If you want to join us in this unique occasion to sneak a peek at how serious artists learn how to observe and draw, please let me know, so I can prepare enough space for all adventurers who are ready to try such an artistic roller coaster with us!

Looking forward to seeing you in the room of miracles!

Lower Level EAL Class
MB 235
0830hrs-0930hrs
every Tuesday
Restarts Tuesday 21st November

This class is for beginner level learners who would like to improve their grammar, vocabulary and all-round language skills.

Higher Level EAL Class
MB 231
1100hrs-1200hrs
every Thursday

This class is for more confident learners who would like to extend their grammar and vocabulary and will have a focus on improving spoken fluency.

Pilates
Dance Studio
0930hrs-1030hrs
Friday 17th November

Pilates is a physical exercise system developed by Joseph Pilates. It is complete coordination of body, mind and spirit. Pilates focuses on core strength and balanced muscle development as well as flexibility and increased range of motion for the joints. So, don’t hesitate, join our classes and feel better.

You are warmly welcomed.

Ten excited Year 4 pupils went off on their travels to Beijing on Wednesday. Mr Cameron will be sharing all the photographs and diaries to parents later through Wechat, so please spend time reading the exhilarating time the children had.

Year 5 recited a 500-word book on the Assembly using Pie Corbett strategies: putting actions to the words, pictorially presenting the actual story, role-playing their story and writing their story. These strategies enhance the writing skills across all year groups, and we are proud that Mrs O’Donoghue is currently delivering the training to all staff in the Junior School. I expect that you will see a great improvement of your child’s writing skills over the next few months.

Well done to all Year 5 for a super informative Assembly with wonderful singing and a rap about adjectives. Mr Bradley’s Year 6B won the attendance award, 100%, very closely followed by Year 5F. We also had two winning Houses which scored exactly the same house points this week.

A kindly reminder to please ensure your child to bring a coat to the school as they normally have outdoor activities every day. Though we have to stay in a lot of the time in winter, children do need to run around to burn off their energy, therefore we encourage every child to go outside whenever possible. If your child has to stay inside due to a cough or cold, please let the class teacher know; they will be monitored in the atrium by Ms Lily.

Golden Learning Moment 

To have more confidence in speaking, pupils in EAL immersion created a brainstorm map and shared different ideas with each other. Using these ideas and vocabularies they prepared a classroom speech which featured their newly acquired learning and new found confidence in public speaking.

Chinese Debate Competition

Three Senior School pupils (Year 12 Bridget, Year 10 Eva and Maggie) represented Wellington in a Chinese Debate Competition held at Dulwich College, Beijing on 4th November. There were 40 teams from international schools all over China and we finished in the quarter final stage. We received the prize for being an Excellent Team. It was a precious experience for our pupils to realize and understand a debate is not about arguing but listening carefully and thinking rigorously.

 

Follow-up to ‘Stretching the Most Able’ Parent Briefing 

As you will know, we have established a register of our pupils, categorising a number of them as being particularly ‘gifted and talented’. This is designed to help identify and stretch these pupils in lessons and activities, and is a confidential document within the school. As such, I am afraid that parents cannot apply for their children to be included. All our children are offered individual opportunities to challenge themselves at levels appropriate to their age and progress, and thus inclusion on this particular register is neither desirable nor necessary.

The aim of the register is not to generate more homework for these children; they are given access to higher order work, not simply more of it. Multiple studies across the world have shown that simply adding more work to academically gifted pupils fails to reward them for their work and thus can act as a limitation on their development. It is the quality of the work they are doing that is important in ensuring growth, not the quantity of it.

Thursday 16 November 2017
1100hrs – 1200hrs
WCA: English Class – Intermediate/Advanced (PF) (MB 231)

1400hrs – 1515hrs
Meet the Master: Years 1-6 Parents (ES) (Master’s Study)

Friday 17 November 2017
0830hrs – 1100hrs
WCA: Art Class (KM) (Junior Art Room)

0930hrs – 1030hrs
WCA: Pilates (Dance Studio)

Saturday 18 November 2017
0900hrs – 1230hrs
Saturday Activity Programme (SAP) (EvK)

每周快讯 2017年11月10日

亲爱的各位家长:

惠灵顿社群为我们的孩子获得“不会过时”教育做的事情足够的多吗?问这个问题,并不是质疑学校对学生学业成绩的预期,而是想表达教育是动态的,是不断完善和改进的,这样,毕业生才可能被世界优秀大学录取。上月学校举办的教育节,为大家提供了很多前沿的教育思想,很多演讲嘉宾都认为一所将模仿其它学校作为办学思路的学校将不会获得成功。对于停滞不前的想法来说,这个世界变化太快了,尤其是在学习领域,孩子一生只有一次成长机会。

我听到也看到不少,学校开始意识到对未来做出精确的预测是不明智的。我们是这样做的:学校使命中表述为“使学生能适应日新月异的全球大环境并茁壮成长”。换句话说,如果我们无法断定世界的未来是什么样的,我们可以培养学生适应变化。在天津惠灵顿国际学校,学生们除了能够获得一系列从实际出发的严谨的学习习得和贯穿其中的个性发展,学校也在不断求索发展学生的韧性和顺应力(Resilience)。韧性和顺应力是一项容易被忽略的品性,却是一种起决定性作用的性格特质,它使人在困境或挑战中保持平静并最终战胜困难。拥有这一品质,将帮助我们在面对变化或者无法把握的环境时很好地去调整和适应,坚决果断,而不是教条主义。具备这种品格的人,有能力对非预期事件进行快速反应,并不让失败或者失落影响生活。因此,我觉得,我们的年轻人应该拥有这项品格,当遇到学习困难时,能够把挫折置于所处的环境进行思考,以更富技巧性的方式来回应那些可能产生不良影响的事情。我校的幸福课程,团体或个人的体育比赛,爱丁堡公爵奖励项目,各类音乐艺术类的演出,等等,这些都是培养孩子形成这种品格的机会。看重独立思考,不怕犯错在错误中成长,老师的严格要求,安全的能够被原谅的环境,都是帮助年轻的惠灵顿学子面对世界、为未来做好准备非常重要的因素。

提前预祝大家度过一个愉快的期中假期。

向全体惠灵顿大家庭致以诚挚问候
校长 Julian Jeffrey

和校长见面
校长办公室
11月16日周四
下午2:00-3:15

本周与校长见面时间主要面向1年级至6年级学生家长。如果您想要参加,请您在11月15日周三前通过邮件和Ms. Emma Shi 石老师进行预约。

(emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn)

中学部考试周

中学部7、8、9、10年级和A Level 1年级的考试周将从11月20日周一开始。复习指导以及考试时间表已经通过邮件发送给全体学生。学生们应该利用11月的期中假期复习每个学科的相关内容。考试周的ASA课后活动取消。

圣诞将至,我们一年一度的慈善圣诞市集即将在2017年12月1日周五下午2:00-5:00拉开帷幕。我们会继续沿用上一年的主题“给予的礼物”,这就意味着校方在此活动中的全部所得都将捐赠给天津如辉特教康复中心。如果家长和惠灵顿社群的朋友们有兴趣来摆设摊位或对活动提供其他支持,请与Fiona Yang老师联系:

fiona.yang@wellingtoncollege.cn

大学访问:伦敦大学皇家霍洛威学院
塞尔登剧场
11月16日周四
下午3:45-4:45 

伦敦大学皇家霍洛威学院将在下周造访天津惠灵顿国际学校。他们将于11月16日周四的下午3:45-4:45在塞尔登剧场与我们见面。届时,11、12、13年级的所有学生都将取消当日的课后活动课来参加本活动。

在2017/18泰晤士高等教育世界大学排名中,伦敦大学皇家霍洛威学院世界排名第197位,英国排名第31位。该校在艺术,人文和科学学科具备世界一流的专家,在诸多问题上,皇家霍洛威学院的专家们都曾担任政策制定者与政府的顾问。

在大学介绍后将会有问答环节。欢迎校内各年级的家长和学生参加。届时将有机会就申请英国大学进行咨询。

每周我们都将有学生家长和其他友人举办丰富多彩的主题活动。这些活动旨在增强惠灵顿社群的紧密联系,我们将诚挚欢迎各位的到来!

艺术课程
小学部艺术教室
每周五上午 8:30-11:00

我很荣幸能够和这么多才华横溢且乐于分享的人一起进行艺术课程——这是一次充满惊喜和活力的经历。我并不想做太多的要求,因为我们的艺术课程目的是在学习不同的技能的同时,进行放松,享受生活并且拓宽视野,在艺术的历史长河中遨游,但是我想告诉各位一个秘密:我的学生们总是想要更多的延伸,这也是我们每次通过写生练习结束课程的原因!如果您在3天之前问我的话,我的答案应该是否定的,因为我觉得还不是正确的时机,虽然我看到我可爱的学生们巨大的潜力。但是他们还不大了解他们对于艺术的热情,每次的课程内容都有很多惊喜。

现在,我们将尝试捕捉描绘自然。祝我们好运!如果您想要加入我们一起了解专业的艺术家们如何进行观察和作画,请您告诉我,以便我提前准备充足的空间让您和我们一起进行艺术创作。

期待和您在充满奇迹的教室里见面!

初阶英语课程
主楼 235教室
每周二上午 8:30-9:30
11月21日 周二起重新开课

本课程适合初学者水平,帮助他们提高语法水平,词汇和全面语言能力。

高阶英语课程
主楼231教室
每周四上午11:00-12:00

本课程适合对自己目前语言水平更有信息的学习者,帮助他们进一步拓展语法和词汇,并且专注在提高口语流利程度上。

普拉提
舞蹈教室
11月17日 周五
上午9:30-10:30

普拉提是一项由Joseph Pilates开发的身体运动系统。它全面协调了身体,意志和精神。普拉提专注核心肌肉群和平衡肌肉群的发展,增强柔韧性和关节机能。那么不要犹豫,来参加我们,来感受改变。期待你的加入。

周三,10名4年级的孩子兴奋地去了北京。稍后Mr Cameron将在微信上推送此行的照片和日志,届时请留意查阅孩子们此行的愉快经历。

5年级的学生运用Pie Corbett的技巧背诵了500字的文章:用动作表述词汇,用绘画呈现故事进展,分角色扮演自己的故事并写作下来。全年级的孩子都运用这项技巧增强了写作技能,并且我们很骄傲地宣布,Mrs O’Donoghue目前正在向全部小学部员工培训这一技能。在未来的几个月,我期待您能在自己的孩子的写作能力上见到他们通过这项技能所取得的进步。

表扬5年级的学生们,他们在精彩的集会上呈现了出色的演唱以及关于形容词的饶舌歌。Mr Bradley的6B班以100%的出勤险胜5F班赢得了出勤奖。另有两个学院以相同的学院分数并列第一。

温馨提示,请为孩子带一件外套到学校,因为通常情况下,他们每天都会有户外活动。尽管冬天时他们大部分时间都会在室内,孩子们还是需要东奔西跑来释放他们的精力,因此只要情况允许,我们鼓励每个孩子到室外活动。若您的孩子因咳嗽或感冒而需要待在室内,请通知班级老师;届时我们将会安排Ms Lily在前厅看护他们。

黄金学习时刻
为了增强孩子们英语口语的自信,EAL浸入班的学生创建了头脑风暴图并相互分享了自己的见解。他们在其中运用了最近新学到的理念和词汇,并从中找到了在公众面前演讲的自信。

中文辩论赛

11月4日,3名中学部的学生(12年级的Bridget, 10年级的 Eva和Maggie)代表天津惠灵顿国际学校前往北京德威英国国际学校参加了中文辩论赛。共有来自中国各个国际学校的40个代表队参赛,我们首次参赛就进入了四分之一决赛。我们获得了杰出团队奖。此次参赛帮助孩子们积累了宝贵经验,帮助他们意识到辩论的重点并不是争论,而是小心聆听和缜密思考。

 

“发掘优秀学生潜能” 家长分享会后续进展

正如您将了解到的,我们已经登记了一些学生在“gifted and talented”优秀学生才能开发系统上。该记录用于帮助我们识别这些学生突出的才能以便在相关课程和活动中进一步发掘他们的潜力,该文件记录在校内是保密的。因此,各位家长不能够提出申请将孩子加入该名单中。所有的孩子都会得到适合他们年龄和进步需要的学习机会,因此申请加入这一名单并不会产生额外的帮助,也并不必要。

登记学生的目的不是给他们布置更多的作业;他们只是会获得更高的作业要求,并不是量的增加。全世界很多的研究都显示给有突出才能的孩子更多的作业量并不能帮助他们提高学业表现,反而会限制他们的发展。他们作业的质量对于确保进步更重要,而不是作业量。

2017年11月16日 周四
11:00AM – 12:00PM
WCA: 英语课- 中阶/高阶(PF) (MB 231)

2:00PM – 3:15PM
和校长见面: 1-6 年级家长 (ES) (校长办公室)

2017年11月17日 周五
8:30AM – 11:00AM
WCA: 艺术课 (KM) (小学艺术教室)

9:30AM – 10:30AM
WCA: 普拉提 (舞蹈教室)

2017年11月18日 周六
9:00AM – 12:30PM
周六课外活动 (SAP) (EvK)