The Week Ahead 02 November 2017

Dear Parents

I am very pleased to announce the completion of the first stage of our review of the school’s five core values of respect, courage, kindness, responsibility and integrity. You will recall from earlier communications with parents that one of my key aims for the year was to bring clarity and consistency to our understanding of these values, and more importantly, how they would look in practice across our community.

Every successful institution places values at the heart of its being. Core values bring a shared sense of identity and purpose to the organisation, and as such provide an invaluable unifying force for all the component parts. For many businesses, the values they espouse are limited to their employees, but for us the aim was far more ambitious: to build a recognition of our values, and from them, establish an agreed set of behaviours for all our community – pupils, staff and parents. In itself, this was a challenge, but with the additional linguistic and cultural differences to overcome, it has become a more complex and interesting project.

The working group on the values has now produced its recommendations. These seek to give clarity to the types of behaviours we expect to see associated with the individual values. The draft proposals are accessible on the school’s website, *( see below) and I would urge parents and friends of the school to spend a few minutes in reading them. At present, they are only in English, but once the framework has been adopted and any amendments made, they will be published in English, Chinese and Korean. The aim is to reinforce the behaviours we would love to see (those exceptional ones that go above and beyond the everyday conduct we hold ourselves to); those we expect to see (in other words, the basic levels of conduct we want to see from all our community); and a third group of behaviours, deemed incompatible with Wellington’s values and expectations.

Parental engagement with this project has already been strong, but for this process to really gain traction and become embedded within the shared society we seek to build here, I would love to have further feedback. The launch of our new ‘living values’ project is January 2018, and there will be opportunities for parents to come in to school and engage with our staff and pupils in making this initiative a reality for all of us. Each and every member of the Wellington community here in Tianjin is warmly invited to participate and let their voices be heard.

Best wishes

Julian Jeffrey

Master

*https://www.wellingtoncollege.cn/docs/wccti/STATEMENT_OF_LIVING_VALUES.pdf

MEET THE MASTER

Master’s Office

1400hrs-1515hrs

Thursday 9th November

This week, the Meet the Master slot is aimed at parents of pupils in Years 7-11. If you would like to attend, please confirm via email with Ms. Emma Shi (emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn) by Wednesday 8th November.

Black Box
1400hrs-1500hrs
Monday 6th November

Meet the Bursar will be on Monday 6th November, we will have the new Bursar Mrs Julia Ji and new Facility Manager Mr Charles Han to give a previous actions review of the college. Please send Ms Lisa Liu (lisa.liu@wellingtoncollege.cn) a message if you are planning to attend and any specific topics you would like to raise. This will help us to ensure we have enough space and refreshments.

REPORTING IN THE JUNIOR SCHOOL
Black Box
0900hrs-1000hrs
Wednesday 8th November

Every Wednesday morning from 0900hrs, parents will have the chance to engage with the school in sessions that cover all aspects of your child’s education, from the Early Years to A Levels and university admissions. The venue will vary according to the anticipated audience, and for next week’s meeting, Mrs Yynda Thomas, the Head of Junior School, will give a presentation on the reporting in the Junior School.

 

Years 8 & 10 Parents’ Evening
Dining Hall
1700hrs-1830hrs
Tuesday 7th November

Parents’ Evening for the parents of the pupils in Years 8 and 10 will be organized on Tuesday, 7th November from 1700-1830hrs in the Dining Hall. Pupils should make appointments with their teachers in advance to ease the queues that can form at such events.

Parents will have an opportunity to talk about their child’s progress and areas for improvement with the subject teachers. Members of the Senior Management Team will also be present on both evenings to address any enquiries parents might have.

Anti-Bullying Week

‘Bullying is a behaviour against a person that is hurtful, repetitive, intentional and intends to control another person.’

Anti-Bullying Week starts on 6th November across the whole school. During the week, we aim to raise awareness and educate the children about an issue that we take very seriously here in Wellington. The children will have opportunities to do some writing about bullying, listen to break-time workshops, enter competitions and experience many other activities in class and tutorial time. The student council leaders and the House Captains in the Junior School have combined with Year 9 pupils, Senior prefects and the school safeguarding team to plan some engaging and exciting learning opportunities. Celia (Head of College) will also be launching the pupil made “Honour Code” in the Senior School. All these activities are following on from two recent successful and informative anti-bullying events, the Parent workshop on anti-bullying and the school survey for pupils in Years 4 to 13. We have work to do in addressing concerns that have been raised and this will be done, but what we do know is that bullying can only be addressed, reduced and ultimately eliminated if the whole community makes the commitment to change. Our week is titled “STOP IT and LIVE IT!” Stop the behaviours of bullying and live the Wellington values every day.

If you would like further information please contact Mr Lewis at jonathan.lewis@wellingtoncollege.cn. If you are concerned about bullying involving your child please talk to your child’s Tutor or Teacher.

 

Shakespeare ASA Performance – “Twelfth Night”
Seldon Theatre
1400hrs-1515hrs
Thursday 9th November

On the 9th November pupils from the Junior Shakespeare Drama Club will perform “Twelfth Night”, one of the most famous of Shakespeare’s comedies. We will be taken to the coast of Illyria, to watch a tale of unrequited love and mistaken identity, a story that is full of humour and unexpected twists.

This production is an example of a great cooperation between the Junior and Senior School. Young performers have been led and supported by Year 13 pupils.

Senior School Europe Trip
10th-19th November

Friday 10th November will see a very early and chilly start for 20 of our pupils and 4 staff who will be setting off for what we hope will be a truly enlightening trip to Europe.

A jam-packed schedule will include a wide variety of activities, tours and visits across three beautiful cities in Europe, Berlin, Prague and Krakow. Pupils will visit many places of historical interest: Wannsee House – the place in which the fate of the Jewish community in Europe was sealed, the Jewish cemetery in Prague and the infamous Auschwitz concentration camp in Krakow. Interspersed between these experiences will be a variety of cultural and social attractions. Finally, it wouldn’t be Christmas in Europe without a visit to at least one Christmas Market for a mulled wine and some stollen cake.

We look forward to sharing our adventures with the school after our return on Sunday 19th November.

Global Social Leaders Programme

Following an initial pilot programme last December and a whole school assembly by the CEO of Global Social Leaders (GSL) last week, we would like to gather any expressions of interest in participation from our pupils and parents. This will help to decide how we proceed, and whether we host a 5-day Global Social Leaders Catalyst course at our school this summer in Tianjin, or send a group to the UK or Shanghai for programmes at our Wellington family schools.

I am keen to know likely numbers, so I can decide if we run a trip and how we can best support those pupils keen to attend a course as places are limited. Please visit https://podio.com/webforms/19737729/1336353 to complete an expression of interest. The deadline for submitting this expression of interest form is 13th November.

If you have any questions regarding the programme please email the Future Foundations team: social.leaders@future-foundations.co.uk or visit the GSL website to find out more about the programmes: https://www.globalsocialleaders.com/.

If you have any questions about our school’s role, please email Mrs Sabio: jayne.sabio@wellingtoncollege.cn.

Art Trip to Huangshan

The Art trip to Huangshan has been postponed, but there will be another opportunity to go later in the year so please watch this space.

Another exciting end to another packed week for the children in the Junior School.  The children and staff all dressed up on Friday in their scary Halloween costumes. They paraded around the Junior School corridors to show off their most scary stares! We were then welcomed to the Celebration Assembly by Year 5 non-native Mandarin team singing a Chinese Halloween song.

I was extremely privileged to be part of many English and Maths lessons last week. It is so pleasing to see the amount of collaboration in English in all classrooms. As we all know, the more the children talk in a second language, the quicker they will improve their skill and confidence in that language, which in turn accelerates the academic achievements in English and reading.

During my visits to the classrooms I saw lots of exciting learning activities– those lessons never happened when I was young! Year 1 pupils recounted the Gruffalo story. The children all had parts to play and to think about how the characters would act and feel when they saw the Gruffalo. Year 2 were practising their rhyming words and putting them into couplets, to help them understand even though the word has the same sound (phoneme) it can have a different spelling (grapheme). Year 3 pupils were writing questions to interview Pirate Bear about his amazing adventures. After they had thought of their questions, they role-played their interview techniques. All the children were involved in this learning activity. In Year 4, children were writing instructions on how to brush their teeth; this was quite amusing as during the plenary one little girl used her instructions on Mr Cameron. Needless to say the children fully understood that they cannot miss out important instructions otherwise they will have half a tube of toothpaste on their toothbrush! Year 5 have been using Pie Corbett ‘Talk 4 Writing’ to write stories using drama and pictorial representations for words, then the children can write their amazing and exciting story. Year 6 pupils used a range of adverbial phrases for sentence starters – a high level of academic challenge was needed to complete the task. Three different activities were given to the children to support all learning needs. These grammar activities support the children’s writing expectations. Also in Year 6 Maths, the children were looking at equivalent fractions. There were four differentiated activities from identifying what an equivalent fraction is, to completing a puzzle with all four operations, finding equivalent fractions in shapes and finally drawing equivalent fractions.

Our Attendance Award goes to Mr Cameron’s class! The children in Mr. Cameron’s class must be extremely healthy young children and thoroughly enjoy coming to school.

Blucher House won the most house points. There will be a pizza party for the House that has the most house points at the end of Michaelmas term. The children can be awarded house points for excellent work, trying hard and showing the Wellington Values – it’s easy.

Golden Learning Moment

Year 6 “Go with the flow” experiment. Children dug a river bed in our long jump pit and poured water in it to see how the water would flow. Quote from a child: “I really enjoyed making the three parts of the river and pouring the water down the ‘mountain’

 

Chinese Literacy Exhibition

Year 6 native Mandarin “Chinese literacy” exit point was held successfully last Thursday. All the pupils gave an excellent performance and improved lots of skills in learning Chinese literacy, which includes famous writer interviews, main characters analysis, original compositions reading, handmade bookmark sale and learning experience sharing (by watching video). Thank you to all the parents who joined us and a big thank you to all the children for their continued hard work!

 

Monday 06 November 2017

All Day

Anti-Bullying Week (to 10th) (JL)

1400hrs – 1500hrs

Meet the Bursar (LL) (Black Box)

Tuesday 07 November 2017

0830hrs – 0930hrs

WCA English Class: beginners (PF) (MB 235)

0900hrs – 1030hrs

WCA: Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) (WCA Room)

1100hrs – 1200hrs

WCA: Pilates (Black Box )

1700hrs – 1830hrs

Parents’ Evening: Years 8 & 10 (DP)

Wednesday 08 November 2017

0830hrs – 1200hrs

Nursery: Educational visit (ZA)

0900hrs – 1000hrs

Parent Briefing: Reporting in the Junior School (YT) (Black Box)

1400hrs – 1830hrs

HS Basketball vs TEDA IS (a) (SC)

Thursday 09 November 2017

All Day

World Scholar’s Cup (to 17th) (EP) (Yale University)

All Day

Model United Nations (TIANMUN) (to 11th) (DJ)

0830hrs – 1200hrs

Eaglets: Educational visit (SL)

1100hrs – 1200hrs

WCA: English Class – Intermediate/Advanced (PF) (MB 231)

1400hrs – 1515hrs

Meet the Master: Years 7-11 Parents (ES) (Master’s Study)

1400hrs – 1515hrs

Shakespeare ASA Performance (YT) (Theatre)

Friday 10 November 2017

0830hrs – 1100hrs

WCA: Art Class (KM) (Junior Art Room)

0830hrs – 1200hrs

Eaglets: Educational visit (SL)

0930hrs – 1030hrs

WCA: Pilates (Dance Studio)

All Day

Senior School Europe Trip (to 19th)

每周快讯 2017年11月02日

亲爱的各位家长:

我非常高兴地宣布惠灵顿价值观(尊重、勇气、善良、责任和正直)回顾和讨论完成了第一阶段工作。您应该记得,早先我就此话题与各位家长们进行过交流,此项工作的一个重要目标就是为惠灵顿社群成员带来清晰的说明,让大家就五大价值观有一致的理解,以及非常重要的是如何付诸实践。

每一个成功的组织都将价值观置于其存在的核心位置。这些核心价值观为组织成员带来一种与组织外部相区分的身份识别,以及一系列共享的组织目标,这会将组织的各部分紧密地联结在一起,带来巨大价值。对于很多商业组织来讲,价值通过员工来实现,对于天津惠灵顿国际学校,价值将通过更广泛的群体去实现:在学生群体、员工群体和家长群体中,建立起对于价值观的认可和共识,通过价值观,建立一整套行为规范。这不是一件易事,但随着语言以及文化差异被不断克服,这项工作正在变得越来越有趣和复杂。

价值观讨论小组已经给出了关于五大价值观的进一步说明。以期给出不同种类的行为之规范,告知社群,我校期待的行为是怎样的并如何与个人价值观融合。您可访问学校网站了解

(https://www.wellingtoncollege.cn/docs/wccti/STATEMENT_OF_LIVING_VALUES.pdf)。我非常希望我们的家长和朋友们花几分钟时间阅读。目前的版本(草稿),只有英文,一旦定版,我们将提供中文、韩文版本。目标就是,强化那些惠灵顿人应该具备的行为,以及我们希望社群成员能够具有的行为,还有那些不应该的行为。

截止目前,家长们的参与度正在提高,下一阶段的任务是将价值观根植于日常的社群生活,我们希望能够听到更多家长的声音。我们的价值观项目启动时间是在2018年1月,到时,各位家长将有机会同员工和学生一道,将其付诸实践。我们欢迎每一位社群成员的积极参与,并倾听大家的声音。

向全体惠灵顿大家庭致以诚挚问候

校长 Julian Jeffrey

和校长见面
校长办公室
11月9日周四
下午2:00-3:15

本周与校长见面时间主要面向7-11年级学生家长。如果您想要参加,请您在11月8日周三前通过邮件和Ms. Emma Shi 石老师进行预约(emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn)。

黑箱剧场
11月6日 周一
下午2:00-3:00

与总监见面将在11月6日周一进行。新任总监Mrs Julia Ji与设施设备经理 Mr Charles Han将就我校近期情况做介绍。如果您计划参加或者有任何想要讨论的问题,请您发送邮件给Ms Lisa Liu (lisa.liu@wellingtoncollege.cn)进行预约。这将使我们能够安排充足的座位和茶点。

小学部成绩报告
黑箱剧场
11月8日 周三
上午9:00-10:00

每周三上午9:00,家长们将有机会参与到学校的各项有关您孩子教育的工作中,从早期教育到A Level以及大学录取工作全都会有所涉及。地点会根据参加的观众有所不同,下周各位家长们将在黑箱剧场参加由小学部校长Mrs Yynda Thomas主持的小学部成绩报告主题分享会。

 

8年级和10年级家长会
餐厅
11月7日 周二
下午5:00-6:30

8年级和10年级的学生家长会将于11月7日周二17:00-18:30 在餐厅举行。学生们应该提前和老师们进行预约以减少排队等候时间。

家长们将有机会向各科老师们了解孩子的进步情况以及需要提高的方面。教学高管团队将参加家长会以便回答各位家长的疑问。

反霸凌周

“霸凌是针对他人的,具有伤害性、重复性、故意性以及意图控制他人的行为”

自11月6日起全校开展反霸凌周活动。在活动期间,我们致力于提升人们对此的认知,并针对这一校方十分重视的问题对孩子们进行教育。孩子们将有机会围绕霸凌写一篇文章,在课间参加相关的研讨会,参加竞赛,并在课堂上和辅导时间内体验许多其他活动。小学部的学生会主席以及学院领队将与9年级的学生们,高中级长以及学校的安保团队一起企划出许多激动人心的研习活动。Celia(学生会主席)将在高中部宣读学生们准备的“荣誉代码”。所有这些活动都是对近期的两次成功且颇具教育意义的反霸凌活动的延续,它们分别是反霸凌家长研讨会,以及针对4-13年级的校内反霸凌调查。我们为解决那些已经发现的问题做了大量的工作,但我们所知道的是,只有在全体社群成员都承诺作出改变时,那些霸凌行为才能被处理,减少,直至消除。我们的本周主题是“制止它,担当起来!”制止那些霸凌行为并每天践行惠灵顿价值观。

如果您需要了解进一步的信息,请发邮件至jonathan.lewis@wellingtoncollege.cn联系Mr. Lewis。如果您担心孩子涉及了霸凌,请和您孩子的老师或辅导员联系。

 

莎士比亚课后活动演出- 《第十二夜》
塞尔登剧场
11月9日 周四
下午2:00-3:15

11月9日,小学部莎士比亚戏剧小组的学生们将表演莎士比亚最著名的喜剧之一《第十二夜》。 我们将前往Illyria港口,去观看一场身份错位得不到回应的爱情童话,故事里充满幽默和曲折的情节。

本次演出将展示小学部和中学部共同合作的成果。13年级的学生们对小表演者们进行了指导。

中学部欧洲之旅
11月10日-19日

11月10日周五,我校20名学生将在清晨出发,我们期待着这次欧洲之旅将使学生们收获良多。

我们的日程将被各种丰富多彩的活动填满,包括参观和郊游等,足迹将涉及欧洲的多个美丽的城市,柏林,布拉格和克拉科夫。学生们将参观很多历史名胜:Wannsee House——这是在欧洲的犹太人群体改变命运的地方,布拉格的犹太人公墓,以及克拉科夫臭名昭著的奥斯维辛集中营。在这些参观活动之间,将贯穿各种文化和人文景点。最后,一定不能错过欧洲圣诞季的圣诞集市,那里会有红酒和美味的蛋糕。

我们期待在11月19日周日返回学校之后和大家分享我们的精彩旅行。

全球社会领袖计划

承袭去年12月的试点计划,继上周由全球社会领袖(GSL)的CEO组织的全校集会,我们想向学生和家长征询意愿。这样能帮助我们决定如何推动这个项目。我们计划在夏天时组织一个为期5天的全球社会领袖促进课程,意愿调查的结果能帮助我们决定在天津本地举办,或是将参与者派往惠灵顿大家庭位于英国或上海的其他学校。

我非常希望了解大致的人数,据此决定是否需要外派旅行,且鉴于有限的名额,我们如何才能向这些学生提供最好的支持。请登录

https://podio.com/webforms/19737729/1336353来完成意愿调查问卷。提交意愿调查的截止日是11月13日。

 

若您对该项目有任何问题,请联系未来奠基人团队:social.leaders@future-foundations.co.uk,或访问GSL的网站了解更多信息

https://www.globalsocialleaders.com/。

 

若您对我校的角色作用有疑问,请联系Mrs. Sabio:

jayne.sabio@wellingtoncollege.cn。

黄山艺术之旅

黄山艺术之旅将延期进行,但今年晚些时候仍将有其他机会,因此敬请留意我们的通知。

小学部忙忙碌碌的一周以令人兴奋的周五完美收官。周五这天,孩子们和员工们都身着他们的惊悚万圣节服装在小学部走廊里游行,尽情展示他们最摄人心魄的装扮和眼神!随后,伴随着由5年级非中文母语的团队演唱的一首中文万圣节歌曲,我们开始了庆祝集会。

上周,我十分有幸观摩了很多英语和数学课堂。真高兴我们所有课堂上都有大量用英语交流的合作项目。正如我们所知,孩子们越多地用第二语言交流,他们就能越快掌握,并更加自信,从而推进英语和阅读的学业成就。

在我走访教室时,见到了许多令人振奋的教学活动——我小时候可没有这么有趣的课程!

1年级的孩子们叙述了Gruffalo的故事。孩子们都有机会演绎并思考当角色们遇到Gruffalo时他们的反应和感受。

2年级学生们练习了他们的押韵词并将这些词融入两行诗中,以此来帮助他们理解有些词读音相同(音素),但拼写却不同(字素)。

3年级学生为海盗熊的精彩冒险故事撰写了采访问题。他们思考自己的问题后,以角色扮演的方式进行了他们的访谈。所有孩子都参与到了学习活动中。

在4年级,孩子们编写了刷牙的操作说明;有意思的是在全体活动时,一个小女孩在Mr Cameron身上实际操作了她自己的操作说明。毫无疑问,孩子们完全明白了不能漏掉关键说明,不然他们会在牙刷上挤出半管牙膏!

5年级正在使用Pie Corbett的“Talk 4 Writing”来学习运用那些表示戏剧化或描绘化的词语来写故事,从而孩子们可以自己书写他们精彩又令人惊叹的故事。

6年级使用了大量状语短语来做句子的开头——要完成这个任务可是个不小的学业挑战。我们为学生提供了三种不同的活动来帮助孩子们完成他们的写作目标。同样在6年级的数学课上,学生们学习了等值分数。我们组织了四种形式各异的教学活动,从定义什么是等值分数,到运用四则运算解题,在图形中找出等值分数并最终能画出等值分数。

本周的出勤奖授予Mr Cameron的班级!Mr Cameron的班里一定都是健康活力的孩子们,并且他们每天都在享受上学的乐趣。

Blucher学院赢得了最多的学院分数。在Michaelmas学期末,获得最多学院分数的学院将参加披萨派对。孩子们可以通过出色的学业,努力用功并体现惠灵顿价值观的方式获得学院分数——非常简单!

黄金学习时刻
6年级的“跟着水流走”实验。孩子们在我们的跳远坑中挖出了河床并倒入水,观察水会如何流动。引用一个孩子的话:“我真的很喜欢制作河流的三个部分以及从’山上’向下倒水的过程!”

 

中文读写作品展示

6年级中文母语班的“中国文学”单元结课活动在上周四圆满结束。全体学生们都进行了精彩的演出,并且提高了他们中国文学的学习能力,包括对于著名作家的回顾,重要人物分析,原作阅读,手工书签出售和学习经验分享(通过观看视频)。感谢各位家长的参加,更要特别感谢全体学生的不懈努力!

 

2017年11月6日 周一
全天
反欺凌周 (持续到10日) (JL)

2:00PM – 3:00PM
和总监见面 (LL) (黑箱剧场)

2017年11月7日 周二
8:30AM – 9:30AM
WCA 英语课: 初级班 (PF) (MB 235)

9:00AM – 10:30AM
WCA: 传统中医 (TCM) (WCA 会议室)

11:00AM – 12:00PM
WCA: 普拉提 (黑箱剧场)

5:00PM – 6:30PM
家长会: 8年级 和 10年级 (DP)

2017年11月8日 周三
8:30AM – 12:00PM
小班: 教育参观活动 (ZA)

9:00AM – 10:00AM
家长分享会: 小学部成绩报告 (YT) (黑箱剧场)

2:00PM – 6:30PM
高中篮球赛vs TEDA IS (a) (SC)

2017年11月9日 周四
全天
世界学者杯 (持续到 17日) (EP) (耶鲁大学)

全天
模拟联合国 (TIANMUN) (持续到11日) (DJ)

8:30AM – 12:00PM
雏鹰班: 教育参观活动 (SL)

11:00AM – 12:00PM
WCA: 英语课 – 中阶/高阶(PF) (MB 231)

2:00PM – 3:15PM
和校长见面: 7-11年级家长 (ES) (校长办公室)

2:00PM – 3:15PM
莎士比亚 ASA 表演 (YT) (剧场)

2017年11月10日 周五
8:30AM – 11:00AM
WCA: 艺术课 (KM) (小学艺术教室)

8:30AM – 12:00PM
雏鹰班: 教育参观活动 (SL)

9:30AM – 10:30AM
WCA: 普拉提 (舞蹈教室)

全天
中学部欧洲之旅 (持续到19日)