The Week Ahead 8 June 2017

Dear Parents,

An important indication of both a vibrant school and a rich curriculum is the quality and variety of its educational visits programme. These happen on more or less a weekly basis at Wellington Tianjin. This week for example KS3 pupils had a theatre trip to Beijing, next week Years 5 and 6 will make a cultural visit to the Tianjin Drum Tower area, and Years 7 and 8 will have a Science trip. Last week I joined the excellent Beideihe Sailing trip in the middle of their five-day experience. Extended residentials such as this provide special opportunities for the enhanced development and challenge of our students, and the pastoral benefits can hardly be overstated.  Students learn rewarding and valuable new life skills, experience and persevere through personal challenge, and greatly appreciate the value and importance of team work. Their worthwhile achievement increases self-respect, as well as knowledge of the value of personal effort.

Residentials such as the Sailing trip are recommended as a rich extension of our students’ education. This academic year, as in previous years, pupils in both Junior and Senior schools have benefitted from a considerable number of such residential activities and cultural visits, both overseas and in China. And in Monday’s Senior School Assembly, we heard details of several residential trips already planned for the next term, two to the United States, and yet another two to Europe, with more opportunities to come later in the year. Every Wellington boy and girl from Year 5 upwards has the opportunity of such residential trips in each year of their Wellington career. Whilst no one would suggest trying to join them all, we do recommend a planned approach to at least one per year for all our students.

May I extend mine and my colleagues’ particular thanks to all those parents able to join us in College for one or more a number of events and meetings since the holiday break, from last Friday’s Milepost 3 Exit Point presentation, through to yesterday’s terrific Junior School Talent Show and today’s Junior School ‘Meet the Master and Senior Leaders’ session. There are still more opportunities coming up, so please do see the full forward calendar for next week, further below – we hope you have next Friday’s Summer Concert and Saturday’s Summer Fair already in your diaries.

With best wishes to all our Wellington families.

Michael Higgins
Master


Inquiring minds

It is inevitable that, towards the end of any term, the focus falls on the marvellous IPC Exit Post presentations for the three Mileposts in the Junior School. I have been inspired – a very Wellington trait – this week by a series of wonderful pieces of work by pupils from Milepost 3 entitled ‘Building a Village’. The IPC is a terrifically imaginative and challenging programme for young learners, and the school’s move to encourage further independent study this year by broadening the homework projects has allowed children free rein in terms of their imagination and insight. Developing the confidence to research and produce extended pieces of work such as these gives children a huge boost for their time in School. It helps to establish an essential underpinning of the critical thinking and time management that are so important to success at IGCSE, A Level or IBDP, but it also lets children learn by moving between individual work and collaborative projects. In this way, a child working in the Mileposts of the IPC is already developing skills and self-confidence that will stay with them for life. Wellingtonians are encouraged to develop independence of thought and action in many ways – that is, after all, the point of a holistic education – and through such stimuli as the IPC in the Junior School, the Model United Nations, World Scholar’s Cup and Global Social Leader programmes further up the school, pupils are nurtured and supported through the process of becoming genuinely reflective and resilient learners. The displays of work in the Exit Points are available to parents for the next few days and I would urge any of you who have yet to see the power of a child’s imagination and work ethic in action, to come to school and spend some time admiring their work.


This is another in our regular series of insights from teachers across the school into raising resilient and successful young Wellingtonians. This week, Mr Robert Bradley writes about Multiculturalism, comparing it to the ‘Internationalism’ he has discussed in The Week Ahead before.

Two months ago, I wrote for The Week Ahead about internationalism. Here, I follow up with its sister concept, multiculturalism. To stretch this analogy further, I will examine how closely the two ideals are related. Are they twin (but not identical) sisters or is one the older and more experienced sibling?

While internationalism is a cooperative whereby differences are overcome or put to one side in the interests of peaceful co-existence, multiculturalism is almost the opposite in that differences are welcomed rather than overcome and as a result, celebrated as a representation of diversity. A belief in multiculturalism, therefore, is a recognition that the differences in culture and tradition are necessary for the development of a society in order to prevent stagnation.

In many international schools, multiculturalism is often celebrated under the guise of internationalism. This can lead to a dominance of one culture over another. It is therefore important to ensure that we at Wellington celebrate both our similarities (shared values) in the spirit of internationalism whilst simultaneously taking pride in our differences and welcoming diversity.

Revelling in diversity can bring its own problems. As the world has become metaphorically smaller through the effects of globalisation, claims of ‘cultural appropriation’ have risen to become a major social issue. The use of national symbols, dress and other customs for financial gain by international conglomerates has led to tensions within multicultural communities.

It is in this way that we see the real differences between older, wiser sister, internationalism and tempestuous and volatile little sibling, multiculturalism. It is far easier to set aside differences and work together than it is to throw them into the melting pot and avoid cultural misunderstandings and unintentional insults. Nevertheless, it is this very difficulty which makes achieving true multiculturalism such a desirable and worthwhile aim for a community.

Further reading:
History of multiculturalism – http://www.iep.utm.edu/multicul/


This week, the Meet the Master slot is aimed at parents of pupils in Years 7-11. If you would like to attend, please confirm via email with Ms Emma Shi (emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn) by Wednesday 14th June.


Common Room
0900hrs, Wednesday
14th June

Every Wednesday morning from 0900-1030hrs, parents will have the chance to engage with the school in sessions that cover all aspects of your child’s education, from the Early Years to A Levels and university admissions. The venue will vary according to the anticipated audience, and for next week’s meeting, parents will be in the Common Room for an important briefing on Pupil Leadership from Mr Jonathan Lewis, Deputy Head (Pastoral).

It could be a terrifying thought that our children are going to grow up, leave school and one day be in positions of responsibility, leadership and be “in charge”, particularly after viewing the state of their bedrooms and school files!

In this Parent Briefing on pupil leadership you will discover how we are developing leadership behaviours in College through a wide range of opportunities available to all children. You will find out why all children need to develop personal leadership and the impact that this can have on their social, emotional and academic progress.

Discover your own leadership traits as we explore the ways in which every family can support the leadership development of their children. We are also delighted that several of our College pupil leaders will be talking to us about their roles and perspectives.


Open Morning
0830hrs-1100hrs, Thursday
15th June

We will be holding our second Junior School Open Morning on Thursday 15th June from 0830hrs to 1100hrs; everybody is welcome. The Open Morning is for existing parents to tour the Junior School: parents will be taken into every class across the school. We will be sticking to the timetable for each class, therefore you will have the opportunity to see all the subjects that the pupils do.

Please contact polly.zhang@wellingtoncollege.cn to register for your place by 1600hrs Wednesday 14th June. We need to ensure that we have enough staff to show you around, so it would be greatly appreciated if you let Polly know if you want to attend.


Years 10-12: University Preparation Trip to California
30th September – 6th October 2017

There is a proposed trip to California from Saturday September 30th until Friday October 6th 2017. The tour includes visits to UCLA, California Institute of Technology, Harvey Mudd, Claremont University, Pomona College, Berkeley and Stanford Universities. The trip offers opportunities for our pupils to meet with college admissions’ officers, current professors and students. They will also have workshops on college essay writing, SAT preparation and building a college portfolio. During their down time they will have the chance to attend cultural and sporting events and do some sightseeing in California, including Los Angeles and San Francisco.

The pupils have been given letters to take home. If you would like to reserve a place on the trip, please make sure that all the details are completed and return the deposit is returned by Friday 16th June. Places will be limited.


IB Group 4 Project
12th – 13th June

This is a mandatory Internal Assessment (IA) project. It is a collaborative activity where pupils from different G4 subjects (Physics, Chemistry, Biology, ICT & Design and Technology) work together on a scientific topic, allowing for concepts and perceptions from across the disciplines to be shared. The 10-hour activity is divided into three stages: Planning (2 hrs), Action (6 hrs) and Evaluation & Reflection (2 hrs) and will be carried out in two days.

The emphasis is more on the process rather than the product! The aims of the project are:

  • To develop and apply your information and communication technology skills (ICT) in the study of science, (Aim 7)
  • To raise your awareness of the moral, ethical, social, economic and environmental implications of using science and technology, (Aim 8)
  • To encourage an understanding of the relationships between scientific disciplines and the overarching nature of the scientific method. (Aim 10)

This year pupils will do a project on “The Un-habitable Earth” where they will explore ways to extend our stay on earth beyond the 100-year prediction, find solutions to our existing challenges or where else we can camp as humans.


Mandarin Information Parents’ Meeting  
Common Room
1545hrs, Monday
12th June

There will be a Mandarin information meeting for Years 1-9 native learners’ parents on Monday 12th June (1545-1645hrs). This is to introduce the revised grade description and curriculum. If you would like to know about the latest information and the upcoming development of Wellington Mandarin Native curriculum, please join us for the meeting. The meeting location will be the Common Room.


Summer Art Exhibition
Black Box, Thursday
15th – 21st June

Next week will see the opening of the Art Department’s Summer Exhibition in the Black Box foyer. Celebrating a range of creative talents from across the senior school there will be a wide selection of drawings, paintings and prints on display by all students in Years 7, 8 and 9 plus larger works by our more senior Art students in Years 10, 11 and 12. The exhibition will be opening on Thursday 15th June and refreshments will be served on Friday 16th June before the Summer Concert at 1800hrs. We look forward to seeing you then!


Years 7-8: Science Trip to Tianjin Haichang Polar Ocean World
0900hrs-1530hrs, Thursday
15th June

The trip will depart at 0900hrs and return by 1500hrs. The trip is designed to study various conditions and species found under the water, as well as educate and inspire pupils about the connection between the land and the ocean. This will be a great learning experience for our pupils. Subsequent discussions and presentations on various topics will be done in Science classes as a follow up of this trip.  On that day, children will also enjoy a special exhibition of ocean resources along with a performance by those wonderful marine animal stars.


Summer Concert
Seldon Theatre
1900hrs-2030hrs, Friday
16th June

The annual summer concert will take place on June 16th at 1900hrs in The Seldon Theatre. Included in the programme, it will be a vast array of both vocal and instrumental performers featuring the Senior, Junior and Chamber Choirs along with the Wellington Chamber Orchestra. Together, they will perform music by composers such as Vivaldi, Elgar, Saint Saens, John Rutter and many more. We will also be premiering a new work by our own Mr. Toby Roundell.

As well as the established college instrumental and vocal groups, there will as usual be a sprinkling of some of our best young soloists showing their musical skills both vocally and on their instruments. The solos will range from pieces by Handel and Mozart to Lady Gaga.

So please join us for what will be a musically entertaining climax to the academic year and a prelude to the Summer Fair the following day, at which there will also be a full programme of musical and choreographic activity.

Admission to the concert will be free and will last approximately one hour.

The last day of the half term brought about a superb performance by the whole of Year 5. They delivered an outstanding Wellington Newsround performance with a variety of sketches to represent the ‘goings on’ around Tianjin and Wellington.

  • Major sandstorm hits northern China
  • Tiger terrifies tourists at the Tianjin Eye!
  • Loose laces cause broken bones!!
  • Bumpy ride for a local teacher
  • Top Trumps Tony wins maths trophy
  • Dragon Boat Disaster
  • Pandemonium
  • Missing children discovered in dome house

The children made up the news stories themselves. They used facial expressions to show emotions and delivered drama activities in a clear and fluent way. Signage and miming was used to support the younger children in the audience if they didn’t understand what the Newsreaders were saying. All in all, it was another outstanding performance from Year 5.

Year 2B won the 100% Attendance Award – well done 2B! It was a very close call, as 3 classes got 100% which meant that the one with the lowest number of ‘lates’ becomes the winning class.

Our new term’s celebration Assembly started off with Ms Carr’s ASA ‘Singing for fun’. The singers are all from Years 1 and 2 who have attended their weekly singing club with Ms Ailsa. Whenever I passed by her classroom listening to the children singing, they all sounded so beautiful.
All singers sang clearly, loudly and all in tune with each other. They performed lots of fun and enjoyable songs, like Ram-Sam-Sam, Earth is our Home, Zip-a-Dee-Doo-Dah and Music Man. They were absolutely an adorable choir.

We also had some amazing pianists with a variety of pieces:

Stanley played ‘Prelude’ by Henry Purcell.
Katerina played ‘La donna e’ Mobile’ by Verdi
Thomas played ‘Cool’ by Stephen Wood.

All pianists were, as usual, completely awesome. It is also a great inspiration for all our pupils to aspire to.

Milepost 3, Years 5 and 6 brought in their fantastic, enormous, immense and huge homework projects, ‘Construction of a model or a village, town or city’ this week – they are as big as a real city!

The Exit point on Friday morning ‘Building a Village’ was well attended by parents; the children were all dressed up to represent the culture of their made-up city. Some also undertook the persona of somebody that came from their city – a thoroughly fantastic Mile Post Exit point.

All their works are on display down the Year 2 corridor and the Atrium, please do come and look at them, as the children have spent a lot of time making their cities, writing about them, using Maths to show pie charts of the city’s population, Geography to identify where in universe the city is, and many more educational subjects that you will see.

We have extremely talented pupils in our school, and it’s a privilege to show off their skills.

The Junior School hosted its first Open Morning for our existing parents on Monday 5th June.  We had both our Head Boy and Girl and some Year 6 pupils as our Ambassadors and thus helped to translate for parents during the morning. We presented all the excellent teaching and learning that is taking place across our school, and answered questions from the parents.

All the parents were extremely positive and thoroughly enjoyed seeing what the children were learning in their different classes. “Really impressed with the Music Department.” “Year 3’s IPC Inventions topic looks excellent!” “How lovely it was to see the older children in class!” “The Nest is very nice.”


Monday 12 June 2017
All Day
IB Group 4 Project (to 13th) (DA)

1545hrs – 1645hrs
Mandarin Information Parents’ Meeting (YZ)

Wednesday 14 June 2017
All Day
World Sports’ Day

0900hrs – 1030hrs
Parent Briefing: Pupil Leadership (JL) (Common Room)

1545hrs – 1845hrs
TESMC Course (CN) (MB 335)

Thursday 15 June 2017
0815hrs – 1515hrs
Years 7 and 8 Trip to Tianjin Polar Word (FC)

0900hrs – 1200PM
Junior House Rounders Y3-Y4

0930hrs – 1100hrs
Junior School Open Morning (YT) (Atrium)

1330hrs – 1530hrs
Junior House Rounders Y5-Y6

1400hrs – 1515hrs
Meet the Master (Yrs 7-11) (ES) (Master’s Office)

1730hrs
Summer Art Exhibition (to 21st) (MFC) (Black Box)

Friday 16 June 2017
All Day
Years 5 and 6 Trip to Cultural Centre (RWB)

0930hrs – 1230hrs
Open Day (PR) (Atrium)

1900hrs – 2030hrs
Summer Concert (SG) (Theatre)

0900hrs – 1200hrs
Senior House Rounders

Saturday 17 June 2017
1000hrs – 1500hrs
Summer Fair (JAFJ)

每周快讯 2017年6月8日

各位亲爱的家长,

充满活力的校园生活和丰富的课程设置是一个学校教学品质的展现。而这一展示在天津惠灵顿国际学校的每周日常教学活动中都得到很好的体现。本周Key Stage3 (7-9年级)的学生们前往了北京观看剧院的演出,下周5年级和6年级的学生们将到天津鼓楼地区进行文化之旅,7年级和8年级的学生们将有科学之旅。上周我参加了为期5天的北戴河帆船之旅。这样的外出活动为我们的学生们提供了接受挑战的机会,它所带来的身心发展的益处是非常显著的。学生们学会了生活中需要的宝贵技能,经验以及通过个人迎接挑战和团队协作,培养了合作精神。他们也从中提高了自尊心,学到了个人努力的重要价值。

诸如帆船之旅这样的外出露营活动对于丰富我们学生的教育有着非常积极的作用。本学年,与往年一样,小学和中学部的学生们都有很多机会进行这样的露营和文化活动,包括海外旅行和在中国国内的旅行。而在周一的高中集会上,我得知了很多下学期的露营活动计划,两个美国旅行项目,以及两个欧洲项目,今年将有更多类似游学机会。每一年每个惠灵顿5年级以上的孩子都有这样的机会参加此类露营的旅行项目。虽然没有人会建议参加所有这些活动,但是我们推荐全体学生每年至少参加一次这样的活动。

请允许我代表我的同事们向各位家长从放假以来积极参加学校各类会议和活动,包括上周五的单元结课展示,昨天精彩的小学部才艺秀直到今天的和校长及高管团队见面。后面您还有很多机会加入到我们的活动中,请参见以下的近期活动安排,我希望下周五的夏季音乐会和周六的夏日嘉年华已经在您的日程中。

向全体惠灵顿大家庭致以诚挚的问候。

Michael Higgins
校长


好奇的心

如往年的学期末一样,小学部3个Milepost年级的IPC单元结课展示,都将毋庸置疑地成为学校的亮点。本周我已经被Milepost 3 年级的孩子们以“建造一座村庄” 为主题的的作品展示所振奋—这也非常具有惠灵顿特色。IPC对于年轻的学习者们来说是一个充满想象力和挑战力的项目,而学校今年通过拓宽作业项目范围的做法,也进一步鼓励了孩子们独立学习的能力,使得他们能够有自由的空间发挥想象力和创造力。有信心做调研并制作这样内容丰富的大作业能够充分促进孩子们在学校的学习时间。它将帮助学生们建立重要的思辨能力的基础,以及时间管理能力,这对于在IGCSE, A Level 或者IBDP考试中取得成功至关重要,同时这也可以让孩子们学会在独立工作和团队协作之间的转换。通过这种方式,学习IPC教学大纲并完成相应年级课程项目的孩子便能够培养自己相关的技能和自信,这将让他们获益终生。我们通过各种方式鼓励惠灵顿学生进行独立思考和独立行动的能力—这也是教育的整体目标—通过例如小学部IPC课程,模拟联合国,世界学者杯和国际领导力项目等学校的一系列拓展活动,学生们能够在这一过程中真正的学会反思并成为有辨别力和适应力的学习者。在接下来的几天里,各位家长能够在学校里看到正在展出的单元结课的作品,我也邀请各位还没有参观过孩子们富于创造力的作品的家长们,能够来到学校欣赏一下孩子们经过努力完成的作品。


本期的教育热点我们请到Mr Robert Bradley介绍有关多元文化理念,这和他在早前提到的“国际化”有着紧密的联系。

两个月前,我在每周快讯里写到了有关国际化的内容。本周,我继续有关这一概念的另一个话题,多元文化理念。为了对这两个概念进行更好的类比,我将首先介绍一下这两个概念的关联性。它们是不是如同同胞姐妹一样密切相关(但不完全相同)的概念,或者一个比另一个有更长的历史,是同胞姊妹中的姐姐?

国际化强调联合性,并在过程中克服或者搁置不同从而达到和谐共存的目的,多元文化则在处理不同性时候恰恰相反,体现在多元文化不主张克服不同性,反之把这些不同作为多元化的表现。多元文化的理念认为文化和传统的不同是社会进步,防止社会停滞的必要因素。

在很多国际学校,经常在国际化的理念下提倡多元文化。这可能造成某一种文化占据主导统治地位。因此在惠灵顿我们既需要在国际化的视野下,鼓励提倡我们的共同点(共同价值观)同时也要为我们的不同点感到自豪并且欢迎这一多样性。

过分强调多样性会带来问题。在全球化的影响下,世界变得很小,有关“文化挪用”现象的申诉也逐渐成为一个主要的社会问题。跨国企业以商业目的使用国家的符号,服装和其他服饰造成了不同文化社群之间的紧张关系。

通过这种方式我们了解了更年长,更智慧的姐姐—国际化,和有些狂乱和不稳定的妹妹—多元文化。 求同存异远比将分歧放入大熔炉中更加容易,也能够避免文化误解和无意的冒犯。然而,正是这一难点才能让我们达到真正的多元文化,这也是一个社群值得为之努力的目标。

拓展阅读:
教室里的多元文化 – https://www.uvm.edu/~arted/AndreaMasullo/?page_id=738
多元文化的历史– http://www.iep.utm.edu/multicul/


14:00 周四
6月15日

本周与校长见面主要面向7-11年级学生家长。如果您想要出席本周的见面会,请您在6月14日周三前发送邮件给Ms Emma Shi 石老师(emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn)进行预约确认。


员工休息室,
09:00,周三
6月14日

每周三上午0900-1030,家长们将有机会参与到学校的各项有关您孩子教育的工作中,从早期教育到A Level以及大学录取工作全都会有所涉及。地点会根据参加的观众有所不同,下周各位家长们将在员工休息室Common Room参加由Mr. Jonathan Lewis , 我校学生工作副校长(心理关怀)主持的学生领导力主题的的分享会。

想到我们的孩子将长大,离开学校并且有一天会承担责任,成为领导并且“负责”,总会令我们感到不安,特别是在我们看过他们的卧室和学习成绩后,这一担忧更加严重!

在本周关于学生领导力的家长分享会上,您将了解到在学校我们如何向学生们提供一系列的机会培养他们的领导力。您将明白为什么所有的孩子都需要培养个人领导力以及这一能力对他们社交,情感和学业进步的作用。

我们将探讨每个家庭如何支持孩子培养领导力,同时可以发觉您自己的领导力特点。我们也将很高兴地邀请到几位学生领导来谈谈他们的角色和理解。


早间开放日
0830hrs-1100hrs, 周四
6月15日

6月15日周四早上8:30-11:00 我们将再次举行早间开放日活动;欢迎大家前来参加。这一开放日活动面向全体在校生家长,届时可以参观整个小学部:家长们将被引导到学校的每个班级进行参观。我们将严格遵守每个班级的课表,因此您将有机会看到学生们学习的所有课程内容。

请在6月14日周三16:00前联系polly.zhang@wellingtoncollege.cn 预约注册参加。我们需要确保有足够的人员带领您进行参观,因此如果您想要参加,请您提前告知Polly。


10-12年级:大学申请准备之旅至美国加州
2017年9月30日-10月6日

我们计划在2017年9月30日周六至10月6日组织美国加州之旅。本次旅行包括UCLA, California Institute of Technology, Harvey Mudd, Claremont University, Pomona College, Berkeley 和 Stanford 等大学。这次旅行将为学生们提供和各大学招生部负责人见面的机会,同时还能够和在任的教授和在校生交流。他们还将举办有关大学申请材料写作,SAT备考和整理大学申请文件相关工作坊。在余下时间他们将能够参加加州当地文化和体育活动,同时进行观光,地点包括洛杉矶和旧金山。

学生们已经将相关活动介绍信带回家。如果您想要报名参加这一旅行,请确保您完成所有细节的填写并且在6月16日周五前与预付款一起交回报名表。名额有限,欲报从速。


IB 第4小组 项目
6月12日-13日

这是一个必修网络测试(IA)项目。这是一个团队写作活动,来自第4小组不同学科的学生们(物理,化学,生物,ICT&设计和技术)一起完成一个科学主题作业,进行跨学科知识和概念的分享。这一持续10小时的活动将分为3个阶段:计划(2小时),执行(6小时)以及评估和总结(2小时),将在两天内完成。

这一活动重在过程而不是最终作品!项目的目的在于:

  • 提高并将信息和沟通技巧(ICT)运用在科学课程学习实践中(目标7)
  • 通过运用科学和技术提高对于道德,操守,社交,经济和环境问题的意识,(目标8)
  • 鼓励学生理解科学学科与科学本身的规则。(目标10)

今年学生们将完成主题为“无法居住的地球”的项目,他们将设想100年以后的地球,找到解决我们所面临问题的解决途径或者为人类寻求新的居住地。


中文课程信息家长会
员工休息室
15:45, 周一
6月12日

6月12日周一(15:45-16:45)将有面向1-9年级母语班家长的中文学科信息家长会。该家长会将介绍修订过的评分标准和课程设置。如果您想要了解最新的有关惠灵顿中文母语课程信息,欢迎您前来参加。会议地点在员工休息室。


夏季艺术展
黑箱剧场,周四
6月15日-21日

下周我们将迎来在黑箱剧场前厅举行的艺术学科夏季展览。我们将展出中学部学生们富有创造力的作品,包括素描,油画和涂鸦作品等,作品来自7,8,9年级,也有来自更高年级包括10,11,12年级学生的大型艺术作品。展览将在6月15日周四开始,在6月15日18:00夏日音乐会开场前,将有饮品供应。我们期待您的光临!


7-8年级:天津海昌极地海洋世界科学之旅
0900hrs-1530hrs, 周四
6月15日

我们将在9:00出发,15:00返回。本次旅行旨在帮助学生们认识多种水下物种,教育并启发学生理解陆地与海洋的关系。这将是学生们很好的学习机会。在本次旅行之后,我们将在科学课上进行相关展示和讨论,作为旅行的后续学习。在旅行当天,学生们还将观看由海洋动物进行的精彩表演。


夏季音乐会
塞尔登剧场
19:00-20:30,周五
6月16日

一年一度的夏季音乐会将于6月16日19:00在塞尔登剧场举行,表演曲目中包括来自中学部,小学部和室内合唱团及惠灵顿管弦乐队在内的一系列作品。他们将表演由包括Vivaldi, Elgar, Saint Saens, John Rutter在内的作曲家的作品。我们还将呈现由我校Mr. Toby Roundell创作的新音乐作品。

除了学校的乐器及合唱表演之外,我们将呈现由我校最好的独奏者们表演的作品。独奏表演包括Handel ,Mozart 以及Lady Gaga的作品。

欢迎您前来参加这一学年的盛大音乐表演,这也将作为转天我们夏日嘉年华活动的前奏,在夏日嘉年华活动当天也将有一系列的音乐表演活动。
音乐会免费开放,预计将持续1小时。

期中前的最后一天在5年级的精彩表演中结束。他们表演了出色的惠灵顿身边的新闻演出,展示了天津和惠灵顿“正在发生的故事”

  • 中国北方地区被沙尘暴袭击
  • 天津之眼发生老虎惊吓游客事件!
  • 松散的鞋带将引发骨骼受损!!
  • 当地一名老师的颠簸旅程
  • Trumps Tony赢得数学奖杯
  • 龙舟灾难
  • 大混乱
  • 圆顶屋内发现失踪儿童

孩子们自己编写了新闻报道。他们使用面部表情表达情绪,清楚地表演戏剧。一些标记和提示用于帮助作为观众的孩子们理解新闻播报。总体而言这是5年级又一次出色的演出。

2B班级赢得了100%出勤奖—太棒啦!这次评奖3个班级都很接近,都达到了100%出勤率,因此最终迟到数量最少的班级得到了这一奖励。

我们新学期的庆祝机会以Ms Carr的课后活动ASA “为快乐歌唱”开始。演唱者们来自1年级和2年级每周参加Ms Carr课后活动的孩子们。无论何时我路过她的班级,孩子们的歌声都是如此美妙。

全体歌唱者们都演唱清晰且洪亮。他们表演了很多有趣的歌曲,例如Ram-Sam-Sam, Earth is our Home, Zip-a-Dee-Doo-Dah和 Music Man。他们是一直很优秀的合唱团。

我们也有很多出色的钢琴家表演了一系列作品:
Stanley表演了 由Henry Purcell创作的‘Prelude’。
Katerina 表演了Verdi 的’La donna e’ Mobile’
Thomas 表演了 Stephen Wood的 ‘Cool’ 。
所有的钢琴家门都非常出色。他们的表演激发了全体学生。
Milepost 3,5年级和6年级提交了他们非常优秀的大作业项目作品。本周他们建设了一个村庄,小镇或城市的模型-他们真的像一座真正的城市一样大!

周五早上单元结课活动中有很多家长参加;孩子们穿着代表他们建造城市的服装。有些人还扮演了来自城市的人-本次单元结课活动非常出色。
孩子们的全部作品都在2年级教室外走廊和前厅展出,欢迎您前来欣赏,孩子们花费了很多时间制作这些城市模型,写有关城市的故事,用数学知识绘制表格并计算城市人口情况,利用地理知识标注城市中大学的位置以及其他您看到的教育机构。

我们学校有很多非常优秀的学生,我们很荣幸能够展示他们的才华。

小学部在6月5日周一举办了第一次的早间开放日活动。我们的两位男生和女生学生会主席以及一些6年级的学生们作为大使,为家长们进行翻译和引导。我们展示了学校里的教学和学习情况并回答了家长们的问题。

前来参加的各位家长都很高兴地看到了不同班级孩子们的学习情况。“音乐教学令我印象深刻”, “3年级的IPC 发明课程看起来棒极了!”,“很高兴看到高年级的孩子在班级里!”“幼儿园很好”。


2017年6月12日 周一
全天
IB 小组 4 项目 (持续到 13日) (DA)

3:45PM – 4:45PM
中文学科信息家长会 (YZ)

2017年6月14日 周三
全天
世界运动日

9:00AM – 10:30AM
家长分享会: 学生领导力 (JL) (员工休息室)

3:45PM – 6:45PM
TESMC 课程 (CN) (MB 335)

2017 年6月15日 周四
8:15AM – 3:15PM
7年级和8年级 天津极地世界之旅 (FC)

9:00AM – 12:00PM
小学学院迅游 3年级-4年级

9:30AM – 11:00AM
小学部早间开放日 (YT) (前厅)

1:30PM – 3:30PM
小学学院迅游5年级-6年级

2:00PM – 3:15PM
与校长见面 (7-11年级) (ES) (校长办公室)

5:30PM
夏季艺术展览 (持续到 21日) (MFC) (黑箱剧场)

2017年6月16日 周五
全天
5年级和6年级文化之旅 (RWB)

9:30AM – 12:30PM
开放日 (PR) (前厅)

7:00PM – 8:30PM
夏季音乐会 (SG) (剧场)

9:00AM – 12:00PM
高中部学院迅游

2017年6月17日 周六
10:00AM – 3:00PM
夏日嘉年华 (JAFJ)