The Week Ahead 30 August 2019

From the Master 

Dear parents

I was so delighted to see such a strong turn out from so many of you for the first in our series of academic briefings for parents. These, as you know, take place every other Wednesday from 0900hrs and this week’s focus was on the assessment forms we use across the school. Sessions such as these provide an invaluable way for us to connect directly with our parents, but also afford you the chance to ask questions directly to those in school with specific responsibility for the topics under discussion.

Wholly understandably, and certainly more than for any other subject, the acquisition of English among our pupils is the single most commonly asked question I get from new parents. Developing fluency and genuine literacy in children is a key feature in our academic programmes across the school, from Eaglets to Year 13. We have long had a successful support programme in place for those who need extra help in the process of language learning; it is an inevitable part of being an international school with over 30 different nationalities among our pupil body. We do not rest on our laurels though – schools which seek to improve do so through a process of continual self-review and a restless energy to learn from the best – and therefore I am very pleased to be able to bring news of a host of measures we have put in place from the start of the new year to help all our learners, however confident they are in the use of English, in order to accelerate their learning.

There are exciting initiatives in the Nest and Junior Schools, with the further development of the Read, Write, Inc programme for all pupils from Reception upwards; more emphasis on Talk4Writing (T4W) as a part of summative assessment tasks; closer and more rapid interventions for pupils deemed to be in need of short, focused bursts of specialist language support; and more regular and accurate baseline tests to help assess levels of literacy across the school year.

In the Senior School, as well as using rigorous baseline testing (the British Council’s APTIS test) for greater precision in diagnosing language levels, tracking of pupil progress will be pinned more fully against Age Related Expectations and re-assessed regularly over the year. Language support will be in evidence in mainstream classes, ensuring that pupils who need extra help to access the academic vocabulary and technical demands of the curriculum are better placed to reach the highest levels of attainment. Allied to all these initiatives is our on-going Year of Books, aimed at fostering a wider culture of reading and a more profound love of literacy.

The overall aim of all these developments is twofold: to boost language competence and confidence in all our pupils, but also to ensure that, where specialist support is required, such interventions are precise, rapid and goal-orientated, so that children work as much as possible within the mainstream curriculum.

These are exciting times for the growth of English language acquisition here at Wellington, and the details are far too involved for an article of this nature, so if you would like to know more, then you are warmly invited to our next parent briefing. This is at 0900hrs on Wednesday 11th September. Specialist school leaders on English and literacy will be on hand to guide parents through the programmes and answer any questions you may have on the subject. I very much hope to see you there!

Best wishes

Julian Jeffrey

MASTER

FROM THE HEAD OF SIXTH FORM

Senior School Parent Briefing: University applications to UK and US

Common Room

1730hrs, Thursday

5th September

There will be a parent briefing about university applications to the UK and USA on Thursday 5th September in the Common Room at 1730hrs. Parents of children in all year groups are welcome to attend. There will be plenty of opportunities for questions.

FROM THE SCHOOL GUIDANCE AND WELFARE LEAD

Anti-Bullying Week

2nd September – 6th September 

For our Anti-Bullying week this year we have an exciting programme of events planned by the student Positive Community group. The purpose of this week of events is to help children of all ages understand what bullying is, and to consider the impact that bullying behaviours can have on an individual. It is important for all of us understand that bullying is more than just unkindness; bullying is a deliberate act to instil fear, and a sense of worthlessness, as a consequence of sustained action or inaction, over a period of time, by an individual or group who perceive themselves to be superior.

Throughout the week, the student-led group will provide opportunities for all the pupils to participate in activities which educate on and promote the importance of a community where everyone feels a sense of self-worth. Many of the activities planned stress the importance of kindness, one of the Wellington values; a value which, when practised, brings happiness to the one who bestows it as well as the recipient.

We all have a responsibility to ensure that each member of our Wellington community feels safe and is valued for who they are. Particularly during this week, we encourage you to talk to your child about how they treat others, and how they would wish to be treated.

FROM MS WEI, THE INTERNATIONAL DUKE OF EDINBURGH (IDofE) AWARD SCHEME COORDINATOR

Dear parents,

I am pleased to introduce one of the world’s foremost youth awards – The International Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Scheme. We strongly encourage those pupils who are self-disciplined and aged 14-17 years old to participate in this award. Pupils in Year 9 who are soon to turn 14 years old can also participate in the some parts of the award. I hope the following brief Q&A can help you to understand more about this programme.

What is the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award?

The International Duke of Edinburgh’s Award (commonly abbreviated to IDofE), is a world-leading achievement award for young people founded in the United Kingdom in 1956 by Prince Philip, the Duke of Edinburgh. It has since expanded to over 140 nations. Our pupils are expected to develop skills such as decision making, teamwork and resilience via the programme.

Some benefits of IDoE include:

  • Giving the students an opportunity to do something completely new and improve on things they are already doing.
  • Taking students out of their comfort zones into a place where they push themselves and have amazing new experiences.
  • Helping young people to build, among other things, confidence, resilience, skills for work and friendship groups.
  • The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award is highly regarded by universities. It is regarded as an integral part of College and the preparation for university.
  • It is highly regarded by international employers.

How to apply if you are interested

  • Voluntary participation and teacher recommendation.
  • Housemaster, tutors and IDofE coordinator to select and approve.
  • Selected candidates participate in IDofE programme in the ASA slot every Thursday.
  • Candidates set up targets and fulfil them; taking part in the activities and trips organized by school.
  • Activities are approved and reviewed regularly by the IDofE coordinator.

For more information, please send an email to tina.wei@wellingtoncollge.cn. Any questions are welcome.

FROM MRS KIM, ORANGE HOUSEMISTRESS

Orange House Trip to Simatai Great Wall and Gubei Water Town 

Friday, 6th September

On Friday, 6th September, Orange House pupils from the Senior School will visit two scenic districts, the Gubei Water Town and Simatai Great Wall to learn from the nature and enjoy the adventurous activities.

Simatai Great Wall, as part of the Great Wall World Heritage Site, is often described as the best section of the Great Wall, with its unspoilt beauty and ease of access. Gubei Water Town is full of old-fashioned houses, old streets, river channels and extensive hutongs. During this House trip, participants will support one another, build a strong team ethos and a more profound sense of belonging. I hope they will also feel more mature and be more self-responsible for their learning after this exciting experience.

FROM THE HEAD OF MATHS DEPARTMENT

Australian Mathematics Competition

Closing date:  9th September 2019

 

This year, I am delighted to report that we are hosting the Australian Mathematics Competition (AMC) here at Wellington College. It is on the 21st September in collaboration with ASDAN China.

The Australian Mathematics Competition (AMC) was introduced in Australia in 1978 as the first Australia-wide mathematics competition for students. It has become the largest single event on the Australian education calendar, allowing students to attempt the same tasks on the same day in over 30 countries around the globe.

The competition is open to all pupils in the Senior School and registration for this event can be found at

http://www.seedasdan.org/en/amc-en/,

or by scanning the QR Code

Further Information

Language

English and Chinese

Difficulty

There are five papers:

Date

21st September 2019

A – B: 14:00—15:00 (60min)

C – E: 14:00—15:15 (75min)

Registration

Fee

200 RMB (includes exam, grading and certificate fees, proctor fee, past papers and academic fees).

Deadline

9th September 2019

How to register

Log onto (www.seedasdan.org/en/amc/) for registration

Scan the cover QR code to register

Any further questions please contact me

(eamonn.williams@wellingtoncollege.cn)  or see the ASDAN website.

Art

Every Friday

8:30-11:00

MB125

Mrs Markovic

ksenija.jakic@wellingtoncollege.cn

Mandarin

Every Tuesday

10:15-11:15

MB125

Mrs Yuan and Mrs Zhang

yizhang001@foxmail.com

EAL (Beginner level)

Every Tuesday of Week A

8:30-9:30

MB234

Mr Furse

David.Furse@wellingtoncollege.cn

EAL (Advanced level)

Every Thursday of Week B

8:30-9:30

MB234

Mr Furse

David.Furse@wellingtoncollege.cn

Pilates

Every Tuesday

8:45-10:00

Black Box

Mrs Stofkova

dstofkova@yahoo.com

Pilates

Every Friday

8:45-10:00

Black Box

Mrs Stofkova

dstofkova@yahoo.com

Yoga

Every Wednesday

8:45-10:00

Black Box

Mrs Havlíková

havlikann@gmail.com

Yoga

Every Thursday

10:45-12:00

Black Box

Mrs Havlíková

havlikann@gmail.com

Traditional Chinese Medicine

Every Thursday

9:00-10:30

MB113

Mrs Markovic

ksenija.jakic@gmail.com

Notice: Any changes of time/date/venue please follow the notice according to the course organiser.

UPCOMING EVENTS

 

Monday 02 September 2019

All Day

Anti-bullying week (to 6th) (RA)

 

All Day

Years 4-6: CAT4 testing (RA) (Main Building)

 

All Day

Week 3 (A)

 

11:00AM – 12:00PM

Senior School assembly (JMS) (Theatre)

 

4:45PM

Junior School Parents’ Evenings: Years 2-6 – welcome to our class (to 6th September) (RA) (Main Building)

 

Tuesday 03 September 2019

8:45AM – 10:00AM

FOW: Pilates (LL) (Black Box)

 

10:15AM – 11:15AM

FOW: Mandarin class (LL)

 

4:00PM

KS3 assembly (DP) (Black Box)

 

Wednesday 04 September 2019

8:45AM – 10:00AM

FOW: Yoga class (LL) (Black Box)

 

3:05PM – 3:45PM

Junior School assembly (RA) (Theatre)

 

Thursday 05 September 2019

9:00AM – 10:30AM

FOW: TCM class (LL)

 

10:45AM – 12:00PM

FOW: Yoga class (LL) (Black Box)

 

2:00PM – 3:00PM

Meet the Master: Years 2-6 (ES) (Main Building)

 

5:30PM

Senior School Parent Briefing: University applications to UK and US (JMS) (Main Building)

 

Friday 06 September 2019

All Day

Senior School: Orange House Trip (SK)

 

All Day

Nest: baseline testing ends (DZ)

 

8:30AM – 11:00AM

FOW: Art class (LL)

 

8:45AM – 10:00AM

FOW: Pilates (LL) (Black Box)

 

Saturday 07 September 2019

9:00AM

Saturday Activity Programme (SAP) (EvK)

每周快讯 2019年8月30日

来自校长 Julian Jeffrey

亲爱的各位家长:

我特别高兴地看到新学年第一次家长分享会迎来了很多家长。家长分享会(Parent Briefing),每两周的周三上午9:00开讲,您将听到具体而详细的有关教学和课程相关的内容。第一次分享会,我们和家长一起聚焦惠灵顿的学生考试和测评体系。学校非常重视这样的交流,它不仅能使学校和家长建立直接的连接,家长还可以就感兴趣的教育话题直接与相关领域的专家或负责人进行探讨。

在家长提出的问题中,被问及频率最高的就是英语的学习。从幼儿园到高中,全校开设的各类课程的一个重要主题就是培养学生运用语言的能力即流利的表达能力和真正的写作能力。一直以来,我们成功地为那些在语言学习中需要额外帮助的学生提供支持,作为一所拥有来自30多个国家的学生的国际学校,这是不可避免的。我们对取得佳绩的追求不会停止——学校不断寻求进步、不断自我反思、不断向最佳实践学习——以此为纲,我很高兴在这里和您分享,学校在新学年将采取的一系列举措,促进学生的英语习得,帮助学生获得英语自信,加速英语学习的进步。

幼儿园和小学都有令人期待的举措:从幼儿园中班直到小学部六年级,“读写项目”(“RWI”项目)将得到进一步加强;加强“T4W”项目,将其纳入学生考试和评估体系并进行阶段性总结;对那些需要浸入式语言学习即短期内提高、有针对性补习的学生进行更加密切而迅速的干预;摸底考试的周期更加规律、更加准确,使得贯穿全年的学习成果得到跟踪和测评。

在中学部,除了使用严格的基准线测试(英国APTIS测评)来提高摸底的准确性外,跟踪学生的学习进展将更全面地与ARE挂钩(Age Related Expectations),并在一年内进行定期的重新评估。语言支持将在主流课程中得到充分体现,确保需要额外语言帮助的学生能够更好地掌握学科词汇并进行学科知识性层面的学习,让学习内容更加充分和深入,以期获得最好的学术成绩。此外,学校正在开展“读书年”项目,旨在向惠灵顿社群推广阅读文化、培养对文学的热爱。

我们的目标有两层含义:第一,提高学生的语言能力和运用语言的信心;第二,确保在需要得到支持的时候,老师或者专家的干预措施是精确、迅速和目标明确的,让学生尽可能多地在主流课程中学习。

这是天津惠灵顿学校英语学习振奋人心的时候,我们已经发布了很多相关的文章进行介绍,如果您想了解更多,欢迎参加9月11日周三上午9点的家长分享会,届时语言学习相关的学科主管将到现场,为您答疑。希望您能来参加!

向全体惠灵顿大家庭致以诚挚问候

校长 Julian Jeffrey 来自副校长 杨洋

尊敬的各位家长,

经过一个多星期的学习生活,孩子们已经逐步适应了新学年的学习。下周学校的课外活动(ASA)将全面展开,请同学们根据课表准时参加。也许最终的课外活动不能满足所有学生的第一选择,但是我们鼓励每个学生每周至少参加一次体育锻炼,而且每个学期也会有重新选择课外课的机会,学生们可以更多地体验不同的领域。当然,对于特别喜欢或擅长的领域,希望学生们能够坚持更长时间以充分证明他们的热情和能力。课外活动有助于孩子们的全面发展,也是申请海外大学重要的考察指标,因此我们希望家长和孩子可以高度重视,积极参与。

下周二下午5:00–6:00,学校大学申请指导老师将针对十年级和十一年级中国家长,举办大学申请指导讲座,解答家长的疑问。内容包括北美与英国大学申请的准备内容和热门课程所需的高中课程及课外活动,请各位家长准时参加,也欢迎学生一起参加。

很多家长非常关心学生在校的学习情况,请家长每周检查学生的Student Planner, 学生应该记录了每天的各科作业,请家长查阅并签字。同时,如果您有任何问题,也可以写在上面,让孩子带给辅导员。当然,我们也鼓励家长通过“老师说”、 邮件、电话、来校等方式和我们密切沟通。

为了增强学院内部的凝聚力,下周部分学院将组织学院出行活动,请家长关注各学院的通知,配合出行活动。

祝您身体健康、事事顺意。

杨洋 来自高中部主管

中学部家长分享会:英国和美国大学申请

员工休息室 2019年9月5日 周四 17:30

2019年9月5日周四17:30在员工休息室,将举办一场以“英国和美国大学申请”为主题的家长分享会,我们设有答疑环节,欢迎全学段家长参加并提出您的疑问。 来自校学生关怀与心理辅导专员

反校园欺凌周

2019年9月2日-9月6日

本学年的反校园欺凌周的主旨在于帮助全体学生认识并理解什么是“欺凌”,并知道欺凌行为会对个体带来什么影响。我们都需要认识到欺凌行为比“不友善”要糟糕得多,它是一种故意施加恐惧的恶劣行为,是自我感觉优越的个人或群体在一段时间内持续采取行动或不采取行动后使个体否定自身价值。

同时,本周我们的积极学生团体将策划并领导一些振奋人心的活动,所有学生都可以参加,并借此推广社群的重要性,让每个人在此都能感受到自身的价值。大多数活动制定宗旨都在于强调惠灵顿价值观,即“友善”的重要性。通过践行“友善”价值观,给予者和接受者都能感受到快乐。

我们有责任和义务让我们惠灵顿社群的每位成员都感受到安全,并感受到自己被珍视。尤其是通过本次反校园欺凌周,我们鼓励您和您的孩子谈谈他们如何对待他人,以及他们期望如何被他人对待。 来自魏老师(爱丁堡公爵奖计划联络员)

尊敬的家长们,

很高兴向您介绍世界知名青年奖项之一,暨“国际爱丁堡公爵奖计划”,并大力鼓励年龄在14-17岁间且严于律己的学生们参与到这个奖项计划中。即将年满14岁的9年级学生也可参与该奖项的部分项目。下附常见问题清单供您进一步了解该奖项。

什么是爱丁堡公爵奖?

国际爱丁堡公爵奖(通常简写为IDofE)是菲利普亲王于1956年在英国创立的一项世界领先的青年成就奖。该奖项已扩展至世界140多个国家。通过参与该奖项,有望锻炼我们学生的决策能力、团队精神及应变能力。

IDofE的优势:

  • 开拓学生视野,提升学生现有技能
  • 带领学生跳脱舒适圈,激励他们探索新鲜事物。
  • 帮助学生建立自信,应变能力、团队精神并收获友谊。
  • 广受各大高校认可,被视为大学院校申请工作的重要辅助手段。
  • 广受公司雇主的认可

申请步骤:

  • 报名:自愿报名及教师推荐均可
  • 学院主管、导员、及IDofE联络员甄选并批准参赛候选人
  • 参赛候选人每周四参加IDofE的ASA活动。
  • 参赛候选人设置目标并完成,参与学校组织的活动或校游。
  • 活动由IDofE 联络员定期审批和审查。

意欲了解详情,请发送邮件联系 tina.wei@wellingtoncollge.cn. 来自MRS KIM, ORANGE学院主管

Orange学院校游-古北水镇及司马台长城一日游

2019年9月6日周五

2019年9月6日周五,Orange学院中学部的学生们将前往古北水镇风景区领略自然风光, 并勇攀司马台长城。

司马台长城作为世界遗产名录-长城的一部分,以其保存完整及便于攀登著称,常被称作是长城的最佳地段。古北水镇景区内风景优美别致,在此你可以领略到小桥流水人家的意境之美,随处走入一个蜿蜒绵长的古街胡同,即可探寻静候于此的座座古风建筑。通过参与本次学院旅行,学生们将互相帮助扶持,以增强团队精神和加深归属感。我也希望孩子们在经历本次修学旅行之后,能够更加成熟稳重,并更投入到他们的学习中去。 来自数学学科主管

澳大利亚数学竞赛

报名截止日期:2019年9月9日

我们很高兴通知您,我校今年将与ASDAN中国合作,作为考点并组织学生参加今年9月21日举办的澳大利亚数学竞赛。

澳大利亚数学竞赛(AMC)作为全澳范围学生数学学科的竞赛活动,于1978年设立。其目前已成为澳洲教育界最大单项活动,它为全球来自30个国家的学生提供了同时参赛的平台。

本次比赛面向全体中学部学生开放报名,如需更多资讯请点击: http://www.seedasdan.org/en/amc-en/;

或请扫描下方二维码进一步了解:

更多信息

比赛语言

英语和中文

赛事难度

提供5份试卷

比赛日期:

2019年9月21日

A-B组:14:00—15:00 (60分钟)

C – E组: 14:00—15:15 (75分钟)

报名费用: 人民币200元,包括考试费,评定费,证书费,监考费,教辅费用

报名截止日期: 2019年9月9日

如何报名 登录网站(www.seedasdan.org/en/amc/)进行报名

或扫描二维码进行报名 如有任何疑问,请访问ASDAN网站查询,或写信到 eamonn.williams@wellingtoncollege.cn进行咨询。 艺术

每周五

8:30-11:00 主

楼125

Mrs Markovic

ksenija.jakic@wellingtoncollege.cn

家长中文课堂

每周二

10:15-11:15

主楼125

Mrs Yuan and Mrs Zhang

yizhang001@foxmail.com

家长英语课堂 (基础班)

Week A 每周二

8:30-9:30

主楼234

Mr Furse

David.Furse@wellingtoncollege.cn

家长英语课堂 (高级班)

Week B 每周四

8:30-9:30

主楼234

Mr Furse

David.Furse@wellingtoncollege.cn

普拉提

每周二

8:45-10:00

黑箱剧场

Mrs Stofkova

dstofkova@yahoo.com

普拉提

每周五

8:45-10:00

黑箱剧场

Mrs Stofkova

dstofkova@yahoo.com

瑜伽

每周三

8:45-10:00

黑箱剧场

Mrs Havlíková

havlikann@gmail.com

瑜伽

每周四

10:45-12:00

黑箱剧场

Mrs Havlíková

havlikann@gmail.com

中医

每周四

9:00-10:30

主楼

113

Mrs Markovic

ksenija.jakic@gmail.com

通知: 任何有关时间/日期/地点的调整请以课程组织者的通知为准。 下周活动预告

2019年9月2日周一

全天

反校园欺凌周(持续到6号)(RA)

全天

4-6年级:CAT4测试(RA)(主楼)

全天 第三周 (Week A课表)

11:00-12:00

中学部集会 (JMS) (剧场)

16:45

小学部2-6年级家长会-欢迎来到我们班 (持续到9月6号)(RA)(主楼)

2019年9月3日周二

8:45-10:00 FOW普拉提 (LL) (黑箱剧场)

10:15-11:15

FOW家长中文课堂  (LL)

16:00 KS3集会 (DP)(黑箱剧场)

2019年9月4日周三

8:45 – 10:00

FOW瑜伽 (LL) (黑箱剧场)

15:05 -15:45

小学部集会 (RA) (剧场)

2019年9月5日周四

9:00-10:30

FOW传统中医课 (LL)

10:45-12:00

FOW瑜伽课 (LL) (黑箱剧场)

14:00-15:00

校长见面会- 2-6年级学生家长专场 (ES) (主楼)

17:30

中学部家长分享会:美国和英国大学申请 (JMS) (主楼)

2019年9月6日周五

全天

Orange学院中学部校游 (SK)

全天

幼儿园摸底测验结束 (DZ)

8:30-11:00

FOW艺术课 (LL)

8:45-10:00

FOW普拉提 (LL) (黑箱剧场)

2019年9月7日周六

9:00

周六课外活动 (SAP) (EvK)