The Week Ahead 18 October 2019

From the Master
来自校长
마스터

Dear parents

I was bowled over by the news this morning that the school had raised over 14,000RMB for our recent Pink Day. This is an event dedicated to providing support for local cancer charities and involved very significant support from all parts of our school community. One group which made a particularly impressive contribution was the Friends of Wellington (FOW). Volunteers from across the parent body who rallied to the cause by running stalls, baking delicious cakes, selling homemade arts, crafts and jewellery. Their selfless work, time and energy proved a major factor in helping the school to make the overall donation to the Pink Day organisers.

I have written before about the excellent work our FOW does to support the Wellington community. Even a brief glance at the school calendar, or any Week Ahead, reveals the extent of the engagement of our parents and other supporters of the school. There are now 11 regular FOW courses available each week, open to all parents from across our school. Enrolling children in the school automatically means that parents are members of the FOW, and they all have equal access to any (or indeed, all!) of these courses. It is a unique structure, led by volunteers and focused on making the community of parents stronger and more unified, and has played a vital part in fostering stronger links between our families. It is wonderful to see so many parents and friends of the school enjoying both the activities and one another’s company in such a purposeful programme of activities.

The proliferation of FOW activities reflects the health of the wider school. It has been so heartening to see how strong the commitment of our families has been in the development of cross-community understanding and collaboration. If your child has recently joined the school, or you are keen to find out more about programmes like keeping fit through yoga or Pilates; learning fresh skills in art or traditional Chinese medicine; or keen to become more fluent in English, mandarin or even French, then please contact Lily Lian, our FOW coordinator (lily.lian@wellingtoncollege.cn). We also regularly open new courses, and this week we have a programme starting which will be invaluable in supporting families new to Tianjin or China: on Tuesdays from 1300-1400hrs, you can discover the apps which make life easier in this great city. I urge you to come along and try any of the courses on offer: there is genuinely something for everyone.

My very great thanks to all those parents and families who are active in the FOW. You continue to make a huge contribution to the success of our community and I am delighted to see how far the FOW has become a part of the fabric of the school.

Best wishes

Julian Jeffrey

MASTER

PARENT BRIEFING: SCIENCE AT WELLINGTON

Common Room

0900hrs – 1015hrs, Wednesday

23rd October

 

Every other Wednesday morning from 0900hrs-1015hrs, parents will have the chance to engage with the school in sessions that cover all aspects of your child’s education, from the Early Years to A Levels and university admissions. For this week’s meeting, Mr Cliff Iddison, the Head of Science Department, will give details of the scientific programmes in the Senior School. It starts at 0900hrs in the Common Room.

FROM MRS CHERUKARA, SCIENCE DEPARTMENT

TIANMUN Conference

24th October – 26th October

 

33 delegates from our school are busy for preparing the 7th annual TIANMUN conference 2019. The TIANMUN conference will begin on Thursday afternoon, 24th October and will end Saturday afternoon, 26th October. In this conference, pupils of schools from all over China will work together to develop and debate innovative solutions to current world issues. The goal of TIANMUN is to increase students’ knowledge regarding international issues, policy making, and the activities of the United Nations. Essential life skills in public speaking, research and writing, negotiation, and powers of persuasion, leadership, organization, and interpersonal communication will also be acquired.

UPCOMING EVENTS

 

Monday 21 October 2019

All Day

Junior School: Parent meeting week (to 25th) (MM)

 

All Day

Week 9 (A)

 

8:45AM – 10:00AM

FOW: French (LL) (MB 125)

 

11:00AM – 12:00PM

Senior School assembly (JMS) (Theatre)

 

Tuesday 22 October 2019

8:45AM – 10:00AM

FOW: Pilates (LL) (Black Box)

 

8:30AM – 9:30AM

FOW: EAL – Beginner Level (LL) (MB 234)

 

10:15AM – 11:15AM

FOW: Mandarin class (LL)

 

1:00PM – 2:00PM

FOW: How to use Chinese daily life Apps (LL) (MB 113)

 

4:00PM

ISCOT League MS Football vs TIS; Boys (h), Girls @ TIS (RG) (Sports Centre)

 

Wednesday 23 October 2019

8:45AM – 10:00AM

FOW: Yoga class (LL) (Black Box)

 

9:00AM – 10:15AM

Parent briefing: Science at Wellington (DP) (Main Building)

 

3:05PM – 3:45PM

Junior School assembly: Class 6B (RA) (Theatre)

 

Thursday 24 October 2019

All Day

TIANMUN Conference (to 26th) (FC)

 

8:30AM – 12:30PM

Year 8 Mandarin trip (YZ)

 

9:00AM – 10:30AM

FOW: TCM class (LL)

 

10:45AM – 12:00PM

FOW: Yoga class (LL) (Black Box)

 

2:00PM – 3:00PM

Meet the Master: Years 7-11 (ES) (DoY)

 

Friday 25 October 2019

8:15AM

Year 7 English curriculum trip (LC)

 

8:30AM – 11:00AM

FOW: Art class (LL)

 

8:45AM – 10:00AM

FOW: Pilates (LL) (Black Box)

 

1:10PM – 2:00PM

Master’s Society (ES) (Duke of York room)

 

5:00PM

Senior School reports: published (DP)

 

Saturday 26 October 2019

9:00AM

Saturday Activity Programme (SAP) (EvK)

每周快讯 2019年10月18日

来自校长
Julian Jeffrey

亲爱的各位家长:

今天早上我特别高兴地得知了一个消息,前不久学校粉色日慈善活动——惠灵顿社群发起旨在支持本地癌症慈善事业——一共募集善款14,000人民币。活动中,我们的惠灵顿之友家长会(FOW)的贡献令人难忘。来自不同年级的家长们自发的开设摊位、烘焙美食、售卖自己亲手制作的工艺品,大家忘我的工作,无私的奉献着业余时间,成为了帮助学校筹款的主力军。

我曾经写到过FOW在支持惠灵顿社群建设中做出的重要贡献。如果大家快速浏览一下学校活动日志或者《每周快讯》中的活动预告,不难发现在FOW平台上开展了多少活动。目前,FOW开设了11门家长课程(每周),全校每一位家长都可以参加。成为FOW成员,方法就是,只要您的孩子进入惠灵顿,作为家长就自动入会,完全享有会员的各种福惠!FOW有着独特的组织架构,由家长志愿者主导,内容围绕组织各类活动加强惠灵顿家长社群的凝聚力,同时帮助惠灵顿的家庭建立起联结并加强这种联结。特别高兴地看到,在这样一个有意义的活动中,这么多的家长和朋友合作无间,彼此陪伴,享受过程。

FOW活动的增加反映了学校教育的影响力正以一种健康向上的方式不断地扩大。我们非常高兴地看到,家庭在促进社群互动和合作方面表现出了多么大的意愿。如果您的孩子新近入学,您想了解家长课程:瑜伽或普拉提等健康课程,艺术类或中医课程,英语、汉语、法语等语言类课程,请联系学校FOW协调员Lily Lian 老师(lily.lian@wellingtoncollege.cn)。FOW还定期开设新课程,本周就启动了一个新项目,它将帮助刚刚搬到天津或中国的外籍家庭更快的熟悉本地生活。活动时间周二1300-1400,发现和学习一些非常有用的APP,让生活变得轻松。我强烈建议您来到FOW,体验这里的课程,我相信,每个人都能找到适合自己的。

非常感谢组织和参与FOW活动的所有家长和您的家庭,您的努力为我们社群的成功做出了巨大的贡献。特别高兴看到FOW已经成为学校的一部分。

向惠灵顿大家庭致以诚挚问候

校长 Julian Jeffrey

来自副校长
杨洋

尊敬的各位家长,

由我校合唱团倾力演出的《布兰诗歌》昨天在天津音乐厅完美落幕,相信您和我一样被他们精彩而专业的演出而震撼!所有参加合唱的学生和老师没有经过任何甄选,而是秉着对音乐的热情,对自己和他人的责任心,在音乐总监的专业领导下,利用一切课下的碎片时间将这部旷世名作的完整版呈现在观众面前。这也是惠灵顿合唱团第一次走出校园,带给更多天津本地的观众卓越的音乐体验。

从本周四到下周一,是我们一年一度的大学展。与往年一样,我们邀请了近50所来自世界各地大学的招生官为学生和家长进行一对一的咨询,还安排了一些专业性较强的大学宣讲。毕业年级的学生可以通过此次机会与心仪大学进行更进一步的沟通了解;非毕业年级的学生通过了解不同大学,让自己的学习更有目标感和使命感。本次活动也对外开放。

最后,本学期的学期报告将于下周五在家长信息资源平台发布,纸质版也会发给学生。与学科老师的一对一家长会将于10月29日举行,请您提前安排好时间,具体安排请参见下周的每周快讯。

祝您身体健康、家庭幸福!

杨洋

家长分享会:惠灵顿的科学课

员工休息室

10月23日 周三 9:00-10:15

 

每隔一周的周三上午09:00-10:15,家长们都将有机会到学校参加家长分享会,会议内容涉及孩子教育的各个方面,包括早期教育、A-level课程、大学申请等。在本次的家长分享会上,我校科学学科主管Mr Cliff Iddison将向您详细介绍中学部的科学课程教学体系。分享会于9:00在员工休息室正式开始。

来自科学部MRS CHERUKARA

TIANMUN 天津模拟联合国会议

10月24日-10月26日

 

我校33名代表选手正忙于筹备第7届天津模拟联合国会议(TIANMUN),本年度的会议将于10月24日周四下午开幕,并于10月26日周日下午闭幕。来自中国各地的学生们将齐聚天津,针对当前的世界问题展开辩论,共同努力找寻创新的解决方案。TIANMUN会议旨在增加学生对国际问题,政策制定和联合国活动的了解。通过参与该项活动,学生们还将习得公开演讲,研究和写作,谈判以及说服力,领导力,组织交际能力等基本生活技能。

下周活动预告

 

2019年10月21日周一

全天

小学部家长会活动周 (持续到25号)(MM)

 

全天

第9周 (Week A课表)

 

8:45-10:00

FOW家长法语课堂 (LL)(MB125)

 

11:00-12:00

中学部集会(JMS)(剧院)

 

2019年10月22日周二

8:30-9:30

FOW 家长英语课堂初级班(LL)(MB234)

 

8:45-10:00

FOW普拉提 (LL) (黑箱剧场)

 

10:15-11:15

FOW家长中文课堂 (LL)

 

13:00-14:00

FOW: 如何使用中国常用APP (LL)(MB113)

 

16:00

ISCOT中学足球联赛(体育馆)

 

2019年10月23日周三

8:45 – 10:00

FOW瑜伽 (LL) (黑箱剧场)

 

9:00-10:15

家长分享会:惠灵顿的科学课

 

15:05-15:45

小学部集会:Class 6B (RA)(剧场)

 

2019年10月24日周四

全天

天津模拟联合国会议 (TIANMUN)(持续到26号)(FC)

 

8:30-12:30

中文部8年级校游(YZ)

 

9:00-10:30

FOW传统中医课 (LL)

 

10:45-12:00

FOW瑜伽课 (LL) (黑箱剧场)

 

14:00-15:00

校长见面会:7-11年级 (ES) (DoY)

 

2019年10月25日周五

8:15

七年级英语学科校游 (LC)

 

8:30-11:00

FOW艺术课 (LL)

 

8:45-10:00

FOW普拉提 (LL) (黑箱剧场)

 

13:10-14:00

校长社团 (ES)(约克公爵会议室)

 

17:00

中学部学习报告发布 (DP)

 

2019年10月26日周六

9:00

周六课外活动 (SAP) (EvK)