The Week Ahead 11 October 2019

From the Master
来自校长
마스터

Dear parents

One of the most pressing challenges faced by any parents today is that of helping their child gain admission to higher education. University access has seen two clear trends over the past decade. The first is that there is a far greater expectation that more and more of us will go to university. In 2011, in the UK alone, some 350,000 undergraduate degrees were awarded, more than 100,000 more than in 2000 and overall; around 1 in 3 18-year-old in the UK goes into higher education. In Korea, this figure is closer to 70% of school leavers. These figures continue to rise and are mirrored in trends in the US, Australia and Canada. As The Economist reported in March 2015, “the global tertiary-enrolment ratio—the share of the student-age population at university—went up from 14% to 32% in the two decades to 2012; in that time, the number of countries with a ratio of more than half rose from five to 54. University enrolment is growing faster even than demand for that ultimate consumer good, the car.” In 2017, China alone sent over 600,000 young people overseas to study at university.

The second trend is unsurprising, given the growth in demand for places: whilst access to higher education is on the rise, it is also getting harder and harder to gain entry to the world’s most desirable university destinations. Pressure for admission to Ivy League and Oxbridge is intense. Only 7% of applicants to read Economics and Management at Oxford get an offer of a place. Potential architects face a 1 in 10 chance of being successful if they apply to Cambridge, and the figures for Ivy League destinations are similarly daunting.

So, in the face of such relentless pressure for places, how can school and parents help their young people to succeed? There is no one single answer, sadly, but there is a variety of means which are relatively simple to get right. Getting the basics right and avoiding many expensive (and often fruitless) shortcuts to university, are essential parts of any informed parents’ armoury.

 

Here are my top tips, divided into Do’s and Don’ts:

  • Do come and engage with universities when they visit schools. Our 6th Annual International University festival runs from 17th-21st October, for example, during which time you can have free access to over 50 of the world’s leading universities. Use the chance to come and meet admissions’ directors and explore the various complex pathways to university.
  • Do start early. Here at Wellington, we encourage pupils from Year 7 to start thinking about potential careers and routes to higher education. Pupils from Year 9, along with their parents, have full access to our international universities’ database, Bridge-U. This offers a hugely powerful tool for tracking applications to universities and colleagues across the world.
  • Do make an appointment to meet with our 5-strong team of university counsellors and advisors. Mrs Sabio and her team have a long experience of getting young people into the finest institutions across the world, and they are here to help and support our pupils throughout their time at school.
  • Do think about enrolling your child in one of the summer schools offered by all leading universities; these provide enormously exciting opportunities to explore university life whilst still at school. Evidence of meaningful and sustained work experience is another key influence on a successful university application; for many degree courses, being able to describe the learning that went on during a work experience period can make or break an individual application.
  • Finally, do listen to your child and work with them and the school to help them get to the best university course for them. After all, parents make huge sacrifices to get their child into a university – you want to make sure that they end up thriving there, and not heading home after a few short weeks, disillusioned with the course and the university.

There are equally some things to avoid – the Don’ts from my list:

  • Don’t fixate on a single university or course too early. Even the most able youngsters are not always ready to commit to a single subject or destination too early and it pays to keep the options open.
  • Don’t just consider potential degree courses that seem particularly ‘vocational’ in nature. Business and Economics degrees, for example, are no guarantee of a successful business career!
  • Don’t neglect the people skills; the ability to present oneself fluently and confidently is an important one later in life and supporting your child in presentation or debating skills can have very real benefits in the longer term.

 

For details, please see the posters across the school or Mrs Sabio’s report in the notices below. She is also on email:

jayne.sabio@wellingtoncollege.cn

I look forward to seeing you all there!

 

Best wishes

 

Julian Jeffrey

MASTER

MEET THE MASTER AND BURSAR

Duke of York Room

1400hrs-1500hrs, Thursday

17th October

 

This week’s Meet the Master and Bursar slot is open to parents of pupils in all year groups. If you would like to attend, please confirm via email with Ms. Emma Shi by Wednesday 16th October.

(emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn)

FROM THE HEAD OF ART DEPARTMENT

Year 12 Art Trip to Beijing

Tuesday, 15th October

 

This Tuesday the Year 12 Art sets will be going to Beijing for their first Art trip of the A Level course. Gallery visits are an important part of studying Art as they give students an idea of what is possible. Professional artworks give students something to aspire to and the opportunity to contemplate the unlimited possibilities of creative endeavour. The trip will begin at the National Museum of China at Tiananmen Square where students will look at the vast collections of Art from China’s rich history. They will then spend the afternoon at the 798 Art district looking at contemporary Art from international artists. We will be travelling to and from Beijing by train accompanied by three teachers – full details are in the letter given to students.

FROM THE DIRECTOR OF MUSIC

Autumn Concert: Carmina Burana

Tianjin Concert Hall

1900hrs, Thursday

17th October

 

Carmina Burana is a scenic cantata composed in 1935 and 1936 by Carl Orff, based on 24 poems from the medieval collection Carmina Burana.

The text of Carmina Burana is a selection from a large collection of secular poems of the twelfth and thirteenth centuries, preserved in a manuscript at the Bavarian monastery of Benediktbeuren. The poems are mostly in Latin, the international language of the day, though some are in Old French or Middle High German and come from a wide variety of sources. It is somewhat surprising to learn that, apart from some poems that are of a morally uplifting nature, most are bawdy student songs celebrating such un-monklike earthly delights such as drinking, gambling, and dancing.

Orff’s aim was to strip away at what he saw as the over-sophistication and excesses of much 19th century Romantic and post-Romantic music. He hoped to introduce music that revealed more of its basic, primordial elements. As a result, there’s an emphasis on rhythm which rides over lyricism and harmony in fierce, hypnotic, pounding structures. Grove’s Dictionary characterizes Carmina Burana as “music of powerful pagan sensuality and direct physical excitement.”

The strong theme of fate runs throughout the cantata. The famous ‘O Fortuna’ which opens and closes this vocal masterpiece not only unifies the whole work, but also acts as a pertinent reminder that our lives are ever subject to “the slings and arrows of outrageous Fortune.”

FROM THE UNIVERISTY GUIDANCE TEAM

Sixth Annual International University Fair

Sports Hall

1400hrs – 1700hrs, Friday

18th October

 

The Sixth Annual Wellington International University Fair will take place on Friday 18th October and over 50 university representatives will be attending. These include The University of Warwick, The University of Michigan, Queen Mary University of London, The University of Queensland, The University of Glasgow and The University of Manchester. The fair will be held in the Sports Hall and will run from 1400hrs-1700hrs. Parents and guardians of children in all year groups are welcome to attend.

To enable the widest number of participants we are, for the first year, expanding the ‘fair’ into a ‘festival’ which will run across 4 separate days. We will be visited by Savannah College of Art and Design for a one-hour drop in session on portfolio preparation (1400hrs-1500hrs) followed by a presentation on the growing value placed in art as part of a STEM curriculum (1500hrs-1545hrs) on Wednesday 16th October. Day 2 (Thursday 17th) sees our first visit from Kings College London (KCL) who will be giving a bilingual presentation on KCL and the general admissions process for the UK. This will take place in the Seldon Theatre from 1600hrs-1700hrs. Day 3 (Friday 18th) will be the main university fair which will see the majority of our visitors and a wide range of presentations from UK, US, Australian and Canadian universities. Monday 21st will close the Higher Education Festival with a mini university fair currently featuring around 10 universities from Hong Kong, Europe and the US, including Arizona State University and Hong Kong Polytechnic University. This will take place in the Black Box foyer from 1600hrs-1700hrs.

The continued support of our annual International University Fair represents both the growing reputation of Wellington College in Tianjin and the quality of students we have been sending to universities over the past 5 years. It is just one of many elements which contribute to our highly regarded and successful university admissions’ programme.

Though many parents and pupils will be able to have a conversation with one of their top choice universities, the number of admissions officers and representatives also means that there is access to advice from a huge range of experts on more general application processes.

As per last year, a selection of admissions officers from around the world will give presentations, tips and Q&A sessions to discuss the similarities and differences between the application processes for different countries.

If you are from a local school and looking to study abroad or are from an international school, you are more than welcome to come along and take part.

FROM MRS DONGHONG KIM

FOW Class:  How to use Chinese daily life Apps

FOW ROOM (RM#113)

1300hrs-1400hrs, Every Tuesday

Start from 15th October

 

How many Apps do you use for daily life in China? If you would like to find how many Apps there and how to use Apps for your daily life, please join FOW lesson on every Tuesday at 1300hrs. The lesson will be started with Taobao. There will be English and Chinese translation for all parents to join. Please bring your mobile phone with you!

If you have any questions, please contact to me by email:

donghong0904@naver.com

French

Every Monday

8:45-10:00

MB125

Mrs Audrey Barthelemy

audrey.barthelemy18@gmail.com

 

Art

Every Friday

8:30-11:00

MB125

Mrs Markovic

ksenija.jakic@wellingtoncollege.cn

 

Mandarin

Every Tuesday

10:15-11:15

MB125

Mrs Yuan and Mrs Zhang

yizhang001@foxmail.com

 

EAL (Beginner level)

Every Tuesday of Week A

8:30-9:30

MB125

Mr Furse

David.Furse@wellingtoncollege.cn

 

EAL (Advanced level)

Every Thursday of Week B

8:30-9:30

MB125

Mr Furse

David.Furse@wellingtoncollege.cn

 

Pilates

Every Tuesday

8:45-10:00

Black Box

Mrs Stofkova

dstofkova@yahoo.com

 

How to use Chinese daily life Apps

Every Tuesday

13:00-14:00

MB113

Mrs Kim

donghong0904@naver.com

 

Pilates

Every Friday

8:45-10:00

Black Box

Mrs Stofkova

dstofkova@yahoo.com

 

Yoga

Every Wednesday

8:45-10:00

Black Box

Mrs Havlíková

havlikann@gmail.com

 

Yoga

Every Thursday

10:45-12:00

Black Box

Mrs Havlíková

havlikann@gmail.com

 

Traditional Chinese Medicine

Every Thursday

9:00-10:30

MB113

Mrs Markovic

ksenija.jakic@gmail.com

 

Notice: Any changes of time/date/venue please follow the notice according to the course organiser.

UPCOMING EVENTS

 

Monday 14 October 2019

All Day

Week 8 (B)

 

8:45AM – 10:00AM

FOW: French (LL) (MB 125)

 

11:00AM – 12:00PM

Senior School assembly (JMS) (Theatre)

 

3:30PM

ISCOT Cross country invitational (@ IST) (RG)

 

4:00PM

ISCOT League HS Boys and Girls Volleyball vs IST (a) (RG)

 

Tuesday 15 October 2019

All Day

UCAS deadline for university applications: Oxbridge, medicine and veterinary science (JMS)

 

7:30AM – 6:00PM

Year 12 Art Trip to Beijing (MFC)

 

8:30AM – 9:30AM

FOW: English class (beginner level) (MB 234)

 

8:45AM – 10:00AM

FOW: Pilates (LL) (Black Box)

 

10:15AM – 11:15AM

FOW: Mandarin class (LL)

 

1:00PM – 2:00PM

FOW: How to use Chinese daily life Apps (LL) (MB 113)

 

4:00PM

ISCOT League MS Football vs TIS: Boys @ TIS, Girls (h) (Sports Centre)

 

Wednesday 16 October 2019

All Day

Junior School sports’ day (RG)

 

8:45AM – 10:00AM

FOW: Yoga class (LL) (Black Box)

 

Thursday 17 October 2019

All Day

Year 7: Bring your father to school day (DP)

 

8:30AM – 9:30 AM

FOW: EAL class (DF)

 

9:00AM – 10:30AM

FOW: TCM class (LL)

 

10:45AM – 12:00PM

FOW: Yoga class (LL) (Black Box)

 

2:00PM – 3:00PM

Meet the Master and Bursar: all year groups (ES) (DoY)

 

7:00PM

Autumn Concert: Carmina Burana (FG) (Tianjin Concert hall)

 

Friday 18 October 2019

8:30AM – 11:00AM

FOW: Art class (LL)

 

8:45AM – 10:00AM

FOW: Pilates (LL) (Black Box)

 

2:00PM – 6:00PM

6th Annual International University Fair (JMS) (Sports Hall)

 

Saturday 19 October 2019

9:00AM

Saturday Activity Programme (SAP) (EvK)

每周快讯 2019年10月11日

来自校长
Julian Jeffrey

亲爱的各位家长:

家长面临的紧迫挑战之一就是如何帮助孩子进入心仪的大学。过去十年,大学入学有两个明显的趋势。首先,越来越多的人希望上大学:2011年,仅在英国,就颁发了约35万个本科学位,比2000年多出10万个;在英国,18岁年轻人中的三分之一接受高等教育,而韩国,这一比例几近70%。这个数字还在继续上升。这一趋势也同样反映在美国、澳大利亚和加拿大的统计数据中。《经济学人》在2015年3月曾报道:“全球高等教育入学率——大学生占总人口的比例——在截至2012年的20年间从14%上升到32%;此间,占比超过50%的国家从5个增加到54个。大学入学增长率甚至超过了汽车消费的增长。”“2017年,仅中国就有60多万年轻人出国留学,进入大学深造。”

需求的增长,带来了这样一种趋势: 机会增加的同时,进入世界上最受欢迎的大学也变得越来越难。常春藤盟校和牛津剑桥大学的竞争异常白热化。牛津大学经济学和管理学专业的录取率只有7%。剑桥大学建筑专业的录取率只有10%。常春藤盟校的录取率也同样令人生畏。

面对竞争压力,学校和家长如何帮助孩子取得成功呢?可惜,没有一个简单的答案。不过,方法还是有的,而且很多样。掌握正确方法,能够避免走弯路,避免花费昂贵(有时昂贵并不意味着好结果),这些都是见多识广的父母们的法宝。

下面是我为大家整理的小贴士,“要”:

  • 当大学招生官访校时,请一定来和他们交流。我们的第六届国际大学展将于10月17日至21日举行,届时,来自世界各地的50余所优质大学将汇聚天津惠灵顿。家长和学生可以利用这个机会来和招生官见面,探索大学升学的路径。
  • 尽早准备。在惠灵顿,我们鼓励7年级的学生开始思考未来可能从事的职业,接触大学申请工作。九年级及以上的学生和家长可以访问我校的大学申请数据库系统——Bridge-U,这是一个辅助申请者完成大学申请的非常有用的工具。
  • 请您与学校大学升学指导团队的5位老师约见。Mrs Sabio老师和她的团队,有着多年丰富的经验,会帮助和支持每一位在校生完成大学申请。
  • 让孩子进入一流大学开办的夏校,这是非常好的探索和了解大学生活的机会。有意义的和持续的工作经验是成功申请大学的另一个关键因素;描述工作经历非常重要,它可以成就一份申请,也可能起到相反的作用。
  • 一定要倾听孩子的心声,与孩子和学校密切合作。父母为了让孩子上名校付出了巨大的努力,您一定希望他在大学里茁壮成长,而不是在短短几周后就因为对课程或大学感到失望而退学。

“不要”:

  • 不要过早地专注于一所大学或一个专业。即使是最有能力的年轻人,也无法在早期就保证一定选择一所大学或者一个专业。保留余地是有好处的。
  • 不要只考虑那些看上去很职业化的专业,比如商科或经济学,学习它并不意味着从商一定会成功。
  • 不要忽视人际交往能力。流利和自信地表达自我在以后的生活中是很重要的,演讲和辩论的技巧长远来看会有很大的益处。

详情请见校内海报或者联系Mrs Sabio

jayne.sabio@wellingtoncollege.cn 期待与您在大学展上见面!

 

向惠灵顿大家庭致以诚挚问候

校长Julian Jeffrey

来自副校长
杨洋

 

尊敬的各位家长,

本周是由国庆长假回来的第一周,相信同学们都度过了一个有意义的假期。大家精神饱满地回到学校非常充实的一周。

本周,我们举行了学校的运动会,组织了韩国文化之旅,部分同学还去观看了网球公开赛。今天,全校师生又积极参与了我们一年一度的慈善活动——粉色日(为乳腺癌慈善机构募捐)。大家都穿戴有粉色元素的服饰,同时在义卖现场踊跃地购买,积极地捐款,这其中最感谢的就是我们家长委员会的热心妈妈们。非常感谢他们精心的筹划和组织,我们也鼓励更多的家长积极投入到学校的活动中。

在此,我也特别想和家长们介绍一项对家长开放的学校志愿者服务项目——图书馆志愿者。我们希望有时间的家长可以到学校协助图书馆的管理工作,可以是在平日白天抽出时间来,也可以是放学之后5:00–6:00来协助管理图书馆的自习时间。我们希望能够更多地得到各位家长对学校工作的支持,也希望提供更多机会,让家长了解孩子的在校生活。

本学期的第一次学期报告将在下周发给学生做自我反馈,请学生认真反思并制定好下一阶段的改进计划。我们本学期的期末考试将于11月18号到25号进行,请同学们从现在开始就有步骤、有计划的进行学习和复习。

 

祝大家身体健康、生活顺意

杨洋

校长及财务运营总监联合见面会

约克公爵会议室

2019年10月17日周四 14:00-15:00

 

本周的校长及财务运营总监联合见面会将面向全体家长开放。有意参加的家长请于10月16日周三前,发送邮件与石老师取得联系并确认。

emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn

来自艺术部主管

12年级北京艺术之旅

2019年10月15日周二

 

10月15日的周二,12年级艺术课的学生们将前往北京开展他们本学年的第一次艺术之旅。对于在A Level阶段学习艺术课程的学生而言,前往画廊看展将是他们艺术学习的重要组成部分,因为这将开拓学生的艺术视野。专业的艺术作品可以激发学生对艺术的向往,促使他们去思考艺术无限创意的可能性。我们的艺术之旅第一站将参观位于天安门广场的中国国家博物馆,学生们从那里将观赏到代表着中国悠久文化历史的丰富藏品。接下来,学生们将前往798艺术区参观由当代国际艺术家们创作的作品。参与本次艺术之旅的学生们将在三位教职员工的陪同下乘坐城际列车往返天津北京,详细信息已附在家长信中发送给学生。

来自音乐部主管

秋季音乐会 《布兰诗歌》

天津音乐厅

2019年10月17日周四 19:00

 

本次音乐会呈现的《布兰诗歌》是卡尔奥夫根据中世纪诗集《布兰诗歌》当中的24首诗,于1935-1936年间创作的康塔塔颂赞曲。

布兰诗歌的全部唱词均节选自一部十二-十三世纪的大型诗歌集,该诗集的手抄本现存于巴伐利亚贝尼迪克特伯伊伦修道院中。这些诗歌大多数是用当时的国际通用语言拉丁文撰写的,还有一些使用的是古法语、中古德语,且出处广泛。令人惊讶的是,除了少数令人精神振奋的歌颂道德、人性的诗歌以外,大多数都是打破清修戒律的歌曲,如:喝酒、赌博、跳舞等。

奥尔夫的创作目的在于返璞归真,去除他所认为的多数19世纪浪漫主义和后浪漫主义音乐过于复杂和浮华的现象。他希望呈现更多包含基本原始元素的音乐。因此,布兰诗歌的重点放在节奏韵律上,节奏在激烈,催眠、重击的结构中超越了抒情和和谐。格罗夫字典将布兰诗歌定义为“强有力的异教音乐,冲击感官带来直接的震撼和愉悦。”

命运的强烈主题贯穿整个颂赞曲。以著名的“ O Fortuna”作为整部作品的开始和结束曲,不仅使其首尾呼应,同时也提醒着我们,我们的生活将永远受“命运之箭”所扰。

来自高中部主管

第六届惠灵顿年度国际大学展

体育馆

2019年10月18日周五 14:00-17:00

 

第六届惠灵顿年度国际大学展将于10月18日周五正式开幕,届时将有包括华威大学,密歇根大学,伦敦玛丽皇后大学,昆士兰大学,格拉斯哥大学和曼彻斯特大学等在内的50多所大学参展。18日当天的活动将于14:00-18:00间在校体育馆举行,欢迎全校各年级的学生家长及监护人到校参加。

为了使尽可能多的大学加入到本次活动中,我们首次将“大学展”升级为为期四天的“大学节”。10月16日,萨凡纳艺术与设计学院将提前到访我校,首先在14:00-15:00为家长们提供咨询答疑服务,随后15:00-15:45他们还将向家长们介绍作为STEM课程体系之一的艺术课,正变得日趋重要和富有价值。大学节的第二天10月17日,伦敦国王学院(KCL)将首次到访我校,并将于16:00-17:00间在塞尔登剧院为家长们提供双语宣讲,以介绍KCL及英国大学的基本招生流程。第三天10月18日将迎来我们本年度最大规模的大学到访,届时还会有多场来自英国、美国、澳大利亚及加拿大的大学宣讲。10月21日周一将是我们本次大学展的收官之日,当天16:00-17:00我们将在黑箱剧场外厅举办一场小型大学展,当前确认参展的大学有包括美国亚利桑那州立大学及香港理工大学在内的来自香港、欧洲及美国的近10所大学。

惠灵顿年度国际大学展的规模日益壮大,越来越多的大学前来参展,这不仅标志着天津惠灵顿日益提升的声誉,也标志着我们在过去5年来输送至世界各地大学的学子都是多么的优秀。同时,国际大学展也是我们的大学招生及申请项目得以成功和备受推崇的重要元素之一。

尽管大多数家长和学生都会首选和他们心仪的大学进行沟通和咨询,但是大量其他学校的招生官或代表作为该领域的专家,仍然可以针对大学申请的一般流程给予专业意见和建议。

和去年一样,一些来自世界各地大学的招生官将为大家进行宣讲、提供咨询和答疑服务,并探讨申请不同国家的大学之间的相似和不同之处。

我们同时也欢迎在天津本地学校学习并致力于将来出国读书深造,或来自其他国际学校的家长和学生们到我校参与本次大学展活动。

下周活动预告

 

2019年10月14日周一

全天

第8周 (Week B课表)

 

11:00-12:00

中学部集会(JMS)(剧院)

 

8:45 – 10:00

FOW家长法语课堂 (LL) (MB 125)

 

15:30

ISCOT越野邀请赛 (@IST)(RG)

 

16:00

ISCOT 高中排球联赛ll vs IST (a) (RG)

 

2019年10月15日周二

全天

UCAS大学申请截止日期(牛津大学,剑桥大学,及医学兽医学专业)(JMS)

 

7:30-18:00

12年级北京艺术之旅 (MFC)

 

8:30-9:30

FOW 家长英语课堂初级班(LL)(MB234)

 

8:45-10:00

FOW普拉提 (LL) (黑箱剧场)

 

10:15-11:15

FOW家长中文课堂 (LL)

 

13:00PM – 14:00PM

FOW如何使用中国常用APP (LL) (MB 113)

 

16:00

ISCOT中学排球联赛(体育馆)

 

2019年10月16日周三

全天

小学部运动会(RG)

 

8:45 – 10:00

FOW瑜伽 (LL) (黑箱剧场)

 

2019年10月17日周四

全天

七年级:带着爸爸来上学(DP)

 

8:30-9:30

FOW: 家长英语课堂高级班(DF)

 

9:00-10:30

FOW传统中医课 (LL)

 

10:45-12:00

FOW瑜伽课 (LL) (黑箱剧场)

 

14:00-15:00

校长及财务运用总监联合见面会:全体家长 (ES) (DoY)

 

19:00

秋季音乐会:布兰诗歌 (FG)(天津音乐厅)

 

2019年10月18日周五

8:30-11:00

FOW艺术课 (LL)

 

8:45-10:00

FOW普拉提 (LL) (黑箱剧场)

 

14:00-18:00

第六届惠灵顿年度国际大学展 (JMS)(体育馆)

 

2019年10月19日周六

9:00

周六课外活动 (SAP) (EvK)