The Week Ahead 1 November 2019

From the Master
来自校长
마스터

Dear parents

It has been really wonderful to hear so many of our pupils becoming more informed about the world beyond school through their engagement with current affairs. For some, this involves discussion and debate through such prestigious organisations as the Model United Nations (MUN), hosted once again last weekend by the Tianjin International School. We also run the Master’s Society, meeting once a month as a discussion body to learn from one another and find out more about philosophy, science, history or sociology. For younger pupils, in the Junior School for example, the International Primary Curriculum (IPC) offers a host of chances to develop a genuinely international outlook through the work done in the milepost units. In the Nest, learners embrace other cultures and languages through the bilingual programme, music and their work in ‘understanding the world’. Our trips’ programme, offering each year group at least two educational visits each year, explicitly seeks to boost our pupils’ understanding of the world beyond their familiar comfort zones.

In conversation with colleagues over the past week, it seems that there is a huge increase in the number of young people in the UK and US applying for university courses in politics and international relations. In the UK, universities report a 27% increase in the applications for politics-related degrees. There may not be a single cause for this surge in numbers, but the evidence suggests that such extraordinary events as Brexit; the influence of unashamedly populist leaders in the US and Europe; climate change and #MeToo protest movements; regional geopolitical tensions; and seemingly endless trade disputes have all combined to make politics more engaging for those preparing for university. I think this is generally a positive thing. Children and young people should know more about the world around them, developing an active interest in topics such as the environment and civil society, and schools have a key role to play in this process.

Wellington, of course, offers an education that is underpinned by internationalism and interculturalism, in line with our commitment to CIS accreditation and our philosophy. All of the events, trips and programmes I mentioned in the first paragraph reinforce that message, but we continue to seek out new ways to give our pupils access to information about the world. In this context, international competitions such as USAD and USAP are crucial, as are the rich resources of the library and a powerful sense of connectedness, via the internet, provided by our IT infrastructure. In August 2020, we will be offering a CIE IGCSE in Global Perspectives. This is a challenging programme of study, offered by a number of the world’s leading international schools and, “encourages awareness of global problems and offers a range of opportunities to explore solutions through cooperation and collaboration. The course is not about getting everybody to think identically; rather it is a matter of opening minds to the complexity of the world and of human thought, and encouraging empathy for the diversity of human experience and feeling.”

(source: https://www.cambridgeinternational.org/Images/502817-2021-syllabus.pdf).

Young people are often left bewildered by the information overload and rapid pace of change in today’s world. This can mean that they lack a sense of who they are as individuals, or how they can make their way in a world too puzzling to comprehend. Adults who are disengaged with events or feel detached from decision-making are more prone to fall victim to the influences of excessive nationalism or prejudice as a means of gaining simple answers to complex issues. That is what a Wellington education seeks to avoid by creating generations of informed, curious and creative thinkers, well-prepared for the complexities and challenges of life beyond school.

If you would like further details of the CIE Global Perspectives course for IGCSE, or indeed any of the events and activities I have mentioned, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best wishes

Julian Jeffrey

MASTER

PARENT BRIEFING: MANDARIN FOR NATIVE SPEAKERS

Common Room

0900hrs – 1015hrs, Wednesday

6th November

 

Every other Wednesday morning from 0900hrs-1015hrs, parents will have the chance to engage with the school in sessions that cover all aspects of your child’s education, from the Early Years to A Levels and university admissions. For this week’s meeting, Mrs Yang Zhou, the Head of Mandarin Department, will give details of the Mandarin curricula for native speakers across the Junior and Senior Schools. It starts at 0900hrs in the Common Room.

FROM THE HEAD OF ART 

House Art Competition – ‘Autumn Trees’

 

This week, the entries for this year’s House Art competition will be going on display outside the Black Box. The theme is ‘Autumn Trees’ and each House has been asked to create their House family tree. Engendering a sense of belonging and identity, the project allows each House an opportunity to think about the role every person plays and present it creatively. Houses are allowed to use any medium and the end result should be a brilliant example of collaborative effort against the clock! We look forward to the final pieces and everyone is welcome to come and have a look!

FROM THE ACADEMY PROGRAMME

AHA Heartsaver ® First Aid CPR AED Training Course

 

Wellington’s Academy Programme offers the American Heart Association (AHA) Heartsaver ® First Aid CPR AED Training Course for parents in November. During the two half-days of training on Saturdays, participants will learn more about the usage of CPR and AED for adults and children/infants. The training will also include basic first aid, how to act when one is choking and to deal with any opioid-associated life-threatening emergencies.

The training will be given by Wellington College Tianjin’s Head nurse Candy Chang, who is a certified AHA instructor. Drinks and snacks/fruit will be provided during the training. After the successful conclusion of the training, the participant will receive a Heartsaver ® First Aid CPR AED course certificate, which is valid worldwide for two years.

The training is open to any adult in the wider Wellington community. Heartsaver courses are intended for anyone with little or no medical training and background who needs a course completion card for job, regulatory (e.g., OSHA), or other requirements. These courses can also be taken by anyone who wants to be prepared for an emergency in any setting.

For sign-up and/or more information, please contact Academy department’s manager Eelco van Kuilenburg;

activityprogram.tianjin@wellingtoncollege.cn or 186 2291 2362.

FROM MR WILLIAMS

‘MOVEMBER’ 2019

 

The 1st November once again sees the return of Movember to the College. For those unaware of what Movember is, it’s a worldwide charity tackling men’s health issues. These include prostate cancer, testicular cancer and mental health issues. To help support this very worthwhile cause, we are welcoming any donations and holding a Movember Moustache competitioN. Parents, Teachers, Support staff even the SLT are all welcome to join in.

The rules are simple but before that, the entry fee is 100rmb with all of that going directly to the charity and you then become a Mo Bro.

RULE ONE: Once registered (email Eamonn.williams@wellingtoncollege.cn) each person must begin the 1st Movember with a clean-shaven face (no stubble!).

RULE TWO: For the entire month of Movember each person must grow and groom a moustache.

RULE THREE: Don’t fake it. No beards, no goatees (it must not join at the bottom) and no fake moustaches.

RULE FOUR: Use the power of the moustache to create conversation and raise funds for men’s health.

RULE FIVE: Each Mo Bro must conduct himself like a true gentleman.

The final will be held at the end of the month, you must name your creation and submit a photo by the 27th. Students will then get a chance to donate and vote on the 29th November. The winner will have their name placed on the trophy and take the title of Movember Champion 2019.

We are aiming to raise 5000rmb this year so even if you don’t wish to compete, please donate and grow or don’t grow a moustache, but please start conversations about men’s health.

Any questions or donations please send them to me or email

Eamonn.williams@wellingtoncolege.cn and more information about the charity can be found atwww.movember.com

UPCOMING EVENTS

Monday 04 November 2019

All Day

Nest friendship week (to 8th) (DZ)

 

All Day

Week 11 (A)

 

All Day

House art competition ‘Autumn Trees’

 

All Day

Junior School Drama week (to 8th) (RA) (Theatre)

 

8:45AM – 10:00AM

FOW: French class (LL) (MB 125)

 

11:00AM – 12:00PM

Senior School assembly (JMS) (Theatre)

 

Tuesday 05 November 2019

8:45AM – 10:00AM

FOW: Pilates (LL) (Black Box)

 

8:30AM – 9:30AM

FOW: EAL – Beginner Level (LL) (MB 234)

 

10:15AM – 11:15AM

FOW: Mandarin class (LL) (MB 113)

 

1:00PM – 2:00PM

FOW: How to use Chinese daily life apps (LL) (MB 113)

 

2:00PM – 5:00PM

Senior School inter-house football (RG) (Sports Centre)

 

5:00PM

Senior School parents’ evening: Years 7, 8 9 & 10 (DP) (Dinning Hall)

 

Wednesday 06 November 2019

8:45AM – 10:00AM

FOW: Yoga class (LL) (Black Box)

 

9:00AM – 10:15AM

Parent briefing: Mandarin courses for native speakers – Years 2-13 (ES) (Main Building)

 

3:05PM – 3:45PM

Junior School assembly: Class 5A (RA) (Theatre)

 

Thursday 07 November 2019

All Day

UKMT Senior Mathematics Challenge: Years 11-13 (EIW)

 

9:00AM – 10:30AM

FOW: TCM class (LL)

 

10:45AM – 12:00PM

FOW: Yoga class (LL) (Black Box)

 

2:00PM – 3:00PM

Meet the Master: Nest parents (ES) (DoY)

 

4:00PM

KS3 assembly (DP) (Black Box)

 

Friday 08 November 2019

8:30AM – 11:00AM

FOW: Art class (LL)

 

8:45AM – 10:00AM

FOW: Pilates (LL) (Black Box)

每周快讯 2019年11月1日

来自校长
Julian Jeffrey

亲爱的各位家长:

我们很多的学生通过参与时事,了解世界,真是太好了。有些学生参加了模拟联合国(MUN);有些参加了校长学术社团,定期开会进行讨论和学习,学习关于哲学、科学、历史和社会的知识;国际小学课程(IPC)为小学生提供了许多学习机会,通过单元学习、完成项目来发展真正的国际视野;在幼儿园,孩子们通过双语课程,在“理解世界”的各类学习内容中,拥抱多样的文化和语言;我们的游学计划,每年提供至少两次教育访问,带领学生走出熟悉的舒适区,加深对世界的理解。

过去一周我与同事交谈,获悉在英国和美国政治与国际关系专业的申请数量大幅增加。在英国,申请政治专业相关学位的人数增加了27%。造成这种变化的原因是多种多样的,但有证据表明,英国脱欧,欧美领导人的民粹主义,气候变化和“METOO”抗议运动,区域性地缘政治的紧张局势以及贸易争端让年轻人对政治更加感兴趣。我认为这是一件好事,青少年应该更多地了解他们周围的世界,培养公民意识,而学校可以从中发挥关键作用。

惠灵顿提供了一种国际主义和多文化主义的教育,这符合世界国际学校联盟(CIS)的承诺和以及我们的价值观。我们组织的所有项目和校游都体现了这一特点,同时寻找新的途径,让学生了解世界,例如,USAD和USAP等国际学术竞赛,图书馆丰富的资源,IT设施与互联网的强大连通性。2020年8月起,我们将增加CIE考试局的 IGCSE中有关全球视野的课程。这是一个具有挑战性的学习项目,许多世界领先的国际学校会提供,“鼓励学生关注世界,并为学生提供通过合作探索解决方案的机会。” 这类课程不是让每个人都以同样的方式思考;而是要对世界和人类思想的复杂性抱以开放的胸怀,鼓励年轻人对人类感知的多样性产生同理心。”

(资料来源: https://www.cambridgeinternational.org/Images/502817-2021-syllabus.pdf).

年轻人常常被当今世界的过量信息和快速变化弄得不知所措。这意味着青少年自我认知的缺乏,不知如何在这个令人费解的世界中生存。那些不经常参与项目,脱离决策制定过程的人们在成年后更容易接受过度民族主义或偏见的影响,即面对复杂问题给出单一片面的答案。惠灵顿的教育试图培养见多识广、充满好奇心和创造力的思想家,为社会生活的复杂性和挑战做好充分准备。

如果您想了解更多有关CIE IGCSE全球视野课程或者相关活动,请不要犹豫,与我们取得联系。

向全体惠灵顿大家庭致以诚挚问候

校长 Julian Jeffrey

来自副校长
杨洋

尊敬的各位家长,

良好的家校沟通有利于家长和学校形成教育合力,共同帮助孩子成长,因此,我们本周我们在周二召开了高一年级家长会,周四召开了高二、高三年级家长会,为家长提供和孩子任课老师一对一交流的机会。

由于高一年级家长是第一次见到学期报告,因此我们在一对一交流之前,还召开了集体家长会,对学期报告进行解读,帮助家长更好地理解分析孩子的学习现状,也有助于家长有针对性地和任课老师进行交流。与此同时,我们还向家长介绍了英文阅读的重要性,以及学校是如何帮助学生建立良好的阅读习惯以及如何检测他们的进步,也希望家长能够在家鼓励孩子们坚持每天至少半小时的英文阅读。高二、高三年级的家长们除了关心孩子的学科学习,还很关心孩子的大学申请问题,因此升学指导老师也和家长们进行了交流,同时还和家长们预约了一对一的时间,进行更深入的沟通。

希望通过面对面的交流,家长能够更多地了解孩子的在校表现,也能更好地配合老师的教学工作。当然,最重要的是,和孩子一起静下心来认真分析总结,为下一阶段的学生打好基础。对于青春期的孩子来说,最有价值的就是良好的亲子关系,因此,抓住每一个机会,和孩子们进行有效沟通,和他们一同成长,将使他们受益终身。

本周学校已经将期末考试的复习提纲发到学生的邮箱了。请家长督促孩子开始有计划地复习,争取在考试中取得优异的成绩。

祝大家身体健康 工作顺利

杨洋

家长分享会:惠灵顿中文(母语)课程介绍

员工休息室

11月6日周三 9:00-10:15

 

每隔一周的周三上午09:00-10:15,家长们都将有机会到学校参加家长分享会,会议内容涉及孩子教育的各个方面,包括早期教育、A-level课程、大学申请等。在本次的家长分享会上,我校中文学科主管Mrs Yang Zhou将向您详细介绍我校小学部及中学部中文课程教学体系。分享会于9:00在员工休息室正式开始。

来自艺术部主管

学院杯艺术竞赛-“秋天的树”

 

本学年的学院杯艺术竞赛将于下周拉开帷幕,各学院参赛的展品将陈列在黑箱剧场外厅。本次大赛的主题是“秋天的树”,我们已要求各学院创作属于他们自己的“院谱”,以赋予学生们归属感及身份认同感。借由本次大赛,各学院都可以思考院内每个成员的使命和职责是什么,并通过作品有创意的表达出来。作品形式不限,我们期望各学院在时间紧迫的情况下,可以通过团队协作的力量创造出精彩纷呈的作品。欢迎大家届时莅临观赏。

来自惠灵顿课外课程部

AHA心肺复苏及AED急救培训取证课程

 

惠灵顿课外课程部将于11月为家长们提供美国心脏协会心肺复苏及AED急救课程培训,培训将安排在周六,通过两个周六半天的培训,受训学员将学习并掌握有关成人和儿童/婴儿心肺复苏的操作技能以及如何使用自动体外除颤器AED进行急救的练习。培训还将包括急救基础及各种应急突发的紧急处理。

天津惠灵顿校医主管Candy Chang将是该培训课程的主讲人,Candy是美国心脏协会(AHA)的认证讲师。本培训课程提供茶歇,受训学员在成功完成培训课程后,将获取美国心脏协会颁发的官方认证证书,该证书有效期两年并全世界通用。

本培训课程面向全体惠灵顿社群开放,没有任何医疗知识背景或对急救课程感兴趣,或有工作需要的人士都可以参加该课程,其中重点包括职业健康与安全标准OSHA, 课课程亦适用于任何想要在紧急情况下能做出适当行动的人群。

意欲报名或进一步了解详情,请联系课外课程活动部经理 Eelco Van Kuilenburg,

activityprogram.tianjin@wellingtoncollege.cn or 186 2291 2362.

来自MR WILLIAMS

2019年 “胡子节” 慈善月

 

“胡子节”慈善月活动将于11月1日重返天津惠灵顿,该活动的影响力遍及世界各地,旨在关注男性健康,包括:前列腺癌、睾丸癌及心理健康问题。为了支持这项富有意义的活动,我们欢迎您的捐赠。同时我们将并举办“八字胡”慈善竞赛活动。 欢迎家长,老师,行政人员甚至高管团队都加入到我们这项慈善活动中来。

想加入“八字胡”慈善竞赛活动需先缴纳100元报名费,(该费用将直接全部捐赠给慈善组织)然后您就正式成为了我们11月“胡子兄弟”的一员,比赛规则非常简单:

规则1: 一旦成功报名,所有参赛人员均需在11月1日剃光脸上所有的胡须。(连胡茬都不能有哦!)(报名地址:Eamonn.williams@wellingtoncollege.cn)

规则 2:在整个11月活动期间,参赛人员都需蓄胡且整理成八字胡型。

规则 3: 不得造假,不得蓄络腮胡、鬓角胡(即不可以和八字胡相连),也不能佩戴假的八字胡。

规则 4:  以蓄八字胡为契机, 多和他人交谈并介绍该项慈善活动, 为关爱男性健康筹得更多的善款。

规则 5:  所有“胡子兄弟”的言行举止都必须像一位真正的绅士。

“八字胡”竞赛将于11月的最后一天闭幕,您必须在11月27日前拍摄并命名一张您蓄有八字胡的照片提交到学校。随后我们的学生将在11月29日进行投票和捐赠活动,票选出的八字胡竞赛冠军将获得 “2019年胡子节冠军” 的称号和署名奖品。

我们计划今年募捐善款5000元,所以即使您最终没办法蓄八字胡,也请您进行慈善捐款或留着胡子(不一定必须是八字胡),以及和他人谈论关于男性健康的话题,以唤起大家的关注意识。

如您有任何疑问或者捐赠意向,请直接联系我本人,或发邮件至

Eamonn.williams@wellingtoncolege.cn。获取更多该项慈善活动的信息,您可登录www.movember.com 进行访问。

下周活动预告

2019年11月4日周一

全天

幼儿园友谊周(持续到8号)(DZ)

 

全天

第11周 (Week A课表)

 

全天

学院杯艺术竞赛-“秋天的树”

 

全天

小学部戏剧周(持续到8号)(RA)(剧场)

 

8:45-10:00

FOW家长法语课堂 (LL)(MB125)

 

11:00-12:00

中学部集会(JMS)(剧院)

 

2019年11月5日周二

8:45-10:00

FOW普拉提 (LL) (黑箱剧场)

 

8:30-9:30

FOW家长英语课堂-初级班(LL)(MB234)

 

10:15-11:15

FOW家长中文课堂 (LL)

 

13:00-14:00

FOW: 如何使用中国常用APP (LL)(MB113)

 

14:00-17:00

中学部学院杯足球赛 (RG)(体育馆)

 

17:00

中学部家长会(7,8,10年级)(DP)(主楼)

 

2019年11月6日周三

8:45 – 10:00

FOW瑜伽 (LL) (黑箱剧场)

 

9:00-10:15

家长分享会-惠灵顿中文(母语)课程(2-13年级)(主楼)

 

15:05-15:45

小学部集会:5A (RA)(剧场)

 

2019年11月7日周四

全天

UKMT中学数学竞赛 (11-13年级)(EIW)

 

9:00-10:30

FOW传统中医课 (LL)

 

10:45-12:00

FOW瑜伽课 (LL) (黑箱剧场)

 

14:00-15:00

校长见面会-幼儿园家长专场(ES)(DoY)

 

16:00

KS3集会(DP)(黑箱剧场)

 

2019年11月8日周五

8:30-11:00

FOW艺术课 (LL)

 

8:45-10:00

FOW普拉提 (LL) (黑箱剧场)