The Week Ahead 1 March 2019

Dear parents

The coming week sees the launch of ticket sales for the forthcoming school musical, West Side Story. The experience of previous years suggests that tickets will sell out quickly, so please make sure that you have acquired the tickets you need as soon as possible as they are on a strict first come, first served basis. Performances are at 1800hrs from Wednesday 20th to Saturday 23rd March.

West Side Story echoes Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet in retelling the story of a doomed love affair between Tony and Maria, two young people from across the divide of a long-term gang feud in New York. The story of a relationship that transcends the bitter rivalry of the Polish Jets and the Puerto Rican Sharks resonates across the decades and can help to throw light on the tragic events that can happen when disharmony and anger replace mutual respect and dialogue. The parallels for our times are obvious. Animating this timeless story of love and hate are the music of Leonard Bernstein and the lyrics of Stephen Sondheim, two of the giants of American music. The complexity of the score and the demands on the performers and musicians represent a challenge for even the most accomplished professionals, and it is by some margin the most ambitious project we have attempted here at Wellington.

This sort of event, pushing the boundaries for what is seen as practicable within the confines of a school setting, is only possible because of the confluence of two important factors. The first is the confidence our young people have in their ability to perform the extraordinary, to push themselves to heights which many never thought they were capable of. The impact of Les Misérables, our 2018 production, on this mindset should not be underestimated. Young people thrive when challenged in a nurturing environment, revelling in an atmosphere in which taking risks with drama and music projects has become the norm. Wellington fosters this sense of stretching oneself, whatever the context, and encouraging a willingness to try something new.

The second factor lies in the skill, determination and ambition of our staff. Led by our Director of Music, Ms Gossedge, and supported by a team of academic and non-academic staff, our aim is to produce a show that refuses to compromise on quality by limiting the imagination of the musical. By setting expectations high, and modelling the standards of the performers, musicians and support crews, the professionalism of colleagues helps pupils to reach new heights.

Excitement is building across the community. It will be a stunning theatre experience and I am very much looking forward to welcoming parents, visitors and friends of Wellington to share the performances.

Best wishes

Julian Jeffrey

PARENTS BRIEFING: DIFFERENTIATION

Common Room

0900hrs – 1015hrs,

Wednesday 6th March

Every Wednesday morning from 0900hrs -1015hrs, parents will have the chance to engage with the school in sessions that cover all aspects of your child’s education, from the Early Years to A Levels and university admissions. The venue will vary according to the anticipated audience, and for this week’s meeting, Mr Raja Ali, the Head of Junior School, will deliver a workshop outlining what differentiation is within an educational context, and what it should look like in the Junior School. This workshop will be followed by time in classrooms.

FROM THE COLLEGE LIBRARIAN

World Book Day – the Celebration of Reading for Pleasure

On 7th March we will celebrate World Book Day. This date is designated by UNESCO as a worldwide celebration of books and reading and marked in over 100 countries all over the world.

During this day our Junior School students can dress up as their favourite book character. All students will be able to enjoy various activities in classrooms and in the library.

World Book Day in Wellington College will be also a great opportunity to share the joy of reading by supporting one of the local schools in Tianjin and helping to develop their library. Our students and parents can participate by donating 10 RMB (or more) or by donating books (English or Chinese).

World Book Day is one of many events which have been planned by our English Department, Junior School Literacy Coordinator and the Library to make the Year of Books in Wellington College Tianjin exciting for the students, parents and all members of staff.

Why are we reading?

Knowledge and academic attainment

That reading has a powerful effect on our capacity to learn, develop and grow isn’t a new idea. Scientists and experts emphasize: the power of reading books is undeniable. It is the main key to social, emotional and academic success.

The Department for Education in the UK used current researches in its review of reading for pleasure among primary and secondary aged children. They conclude that there are seven main benefits of reading for pleasure: writing ability; text comprehension and grammar; breadth of vocabulary; greater self-confidence as a reader; general knowledge; a better understanding of other cultures; increased community participation and a greater insight into human nature and decision-making. The study emphasizes the strong positive links between reading for pleasure and educational attainment. Reading books is also vital for learning new languages, as non-native speakers gain exposure to words used in context, which will ameliorate their own speaking and writing fluency.

Health and well-being

Education experts are unanimous that reading for pleasure is a more powerful factor in life achievement than socio-economic background. It can promote better health and wellbeing, aids in building social connections and relationships with others and is associated with a range of factors that help increase the chances of social mobility.

Regular readers for pleasure less often experience feelings of stress and depression than non-readers, and stronger feelings of relaxation from reading than from watching television or engaging with technology intensive activities. Studies have shown that those who read for pleasure have higher levels of self-esteem and a greater ability to cope with difficult situations. Reading for pleasure is also associated with better sleeping patterns.

Successful people are readers

The world’s most successful CEOs say reading is the key to their success. If that’s true, can you really afford not to read more?

In his book, Change Your Habits, Change Your Life, Tom Corley writes about the 5-year study in which he interviewed a host of self-made millionaires about their daily habits. He concluded that reading was a key factor in their success. Why? Because reading helped them to develop skills needed to achieve great things. They have increased focus; they set goals for themselves, they spend time wisely, they have also perspective to see all angles an issue learnt from reading a variety of literature. In addition to gaining perspective, readers are reflective about what they have read. Successful people have usually incredible writing and speaking skills. They are skills also gained from reading.

Readers understand just how powerful the brain really is. It can hold almost an unlimited capacity of information. The more we read and learn, the easier it becomes to retain information.

We are building a reading community

The study highlights three factors that are crucial for the promotion of reading for pleasure amongst children and young people: ensuring that there is adequate access to books; parents taking a proactive role in encouraging reading and teachers providing guidance.

Our libraries for the Nest, Juniors and Seniors are growing. Currently students have access to almost 11 000 books in English, Chinese and Korean. We have a selection of non-fiction books as well as novels, stories, poetry, plays, picture books, educational resources, professional development materials; and books about parenting.

Let’s READ!

FROM THE UNIVERSITY ADMISSIONS’ TEAM

Q&A Session (only for parents in Years 7, 8 and 9)

Common Room

1800hrs,

Tuesday 5th March

On Tuesday 5th March, there will be a presentation and Q and A session for all parents of children in Years 7, 8 and 9 regarding the university applications process. This will take place in the Common Room (214) at 1800hrs. All parents are welcome, and refreshments will be provided. We are aiming for this to become a regular event with the aim of better informing and supporting parents of our younger pupils.

FROM THE DIRECTIOR OF EDUCATIONAL TECHNOLOGY 

Safer Internet Week 2019

As announced in my previous Week Ahead text, the week starting at Tuesday 5th March was Safer Internet Week 2019 at Wellington College International Tianjin. The key word this year was ‘consent’, referring to the permissions we give various apps and services (such as accessing our private data or location), as well as the permissions we should request from our friends before involving them in anything we do online.  Safer Internet Week 2019 was marked by a number of activities, including Assemblies in Junior and Senior school, e-safety and netiquette story time in the Nest, as well as various in-class discussions and activities. To finish off the week, our Senior School pupils collectively took the Safer Internet Week on-line quiz and scored an overall 80%.

As all of us – parents, pupils, and teachers alike – are an integral part of the Internet, I believe that as long as we remain aware of this, adapt our mindset accordingly, and make appropriate choices, we are capable of inciting a positive change. Naturally, we should still prepare young people in our charge for any unpredictable obstacles in the digital realm by fostering their digital resilience, which ultimately was the goal of all Safer Internet Week activities.

Stay safe online, and always Think Before You Click!

FROM MR FELIX OGANDO, MATHEMATICS TEACHER

Maths Teachers Exchange Programme

For close to a month, Mr. Edward Jones (from Wellington College in the UK) and I were involved in a new and exciting opportunity in terms of teacher training. I visited Wellington College over the Chinese New Year holiday, teaching in collaboration with Mr. Jones. Then, from 11th February, I travelled back with Mr. Jones who then joined me to continue with the collaboration in planning and delivering lessons. Key objectives for this programme include;

  1. Improving the quality of instructions provided by sharing good practice and resources.
  2. Sharing experience to develop effective teaching methods as per the interests of the pupils.
  3. Making the best usage of abilities, interests, resources and expertise in the teacher’s community.

During this exchange programme we both played on our strengths and weaknesses, and together as a team we made a successful way to teach and learn, while being sensitive to the difference in culture and learning styles between UK and Tianjin students.

To the students in Tianjin, this was a great opportunity to learn from Mr. Jones’s experience and wealth of knowledge in Mathematics and other areas of interest, including developing strong links to support in the university application process. In all the lessons that we collaboratively taught in the UK and Tianjin, there were dynamic and fruitful discussion sessions which increased student’s involvement, bringing out the best in them.

Mr. Jones and I also got a chance to brush up our skills, work up to our fullest potential and along with that, our creativity, motivation and team management skills got a solid boost too.

Overall, this exchange programme is one of the best professional development opportunities in my teaching career and our links with Wellington in England have been made stronger and more vibrant.

每周快讯 2019年3月1日

亲爱的各位家长:

下周,即将上映的校园年度音乐剧《西区故事》(West Side Story)将开始售票。以往的经验,门票很快会销售一空,所以请您提前购票,我们遵循先到先得原则。演出时间为3月20日星期三至3月23日星期六,下午六点。

《西区故事》与莎士比亚的《罗密欧与朱丽叶》(Romeo and Juliet)如出一辙,讲述了托尼和玛利亚之间宿命般的爱情故事。该片呈现的故事冲突集中反映了那个年代人们希望用尊重和沟通取代冲突和愤怒,这个主题也超越了爱情故事本身,成为了时代的声音,广为流传。这种呼吁,不也正是我们这个时代需要的么。音乐主创伦纳德·伯恩斯坦(Leonard Bernstein)和斯蒂芬·桑德海姆(Stephen Sondheim)是美国两位家喻户晓的音乐人,他们的才华为这个爱与恨的故事注入了生命力。音乐本身的复杂性,对表演者和音乐家的要求,即使对于最有成就的专业人士来说也是一种挑战,从某种程度上说,这是迄今为止,我们在惠灵顿尝试过的最雄心勃勃的音乐剧。

这样的音乐剧,搬上校园舞台,其实是对学校育人的实践进行试验性的拓展再拓展。这种拓展,只有在如下两个因素相互作用下,才能实现。首先,学生对自己的能力充满信心,超越自我,走向很多人未曾预料到的高度。我们2018年出品的《悲惨世界》(Les Miserables)对培养学生的这种心态所产生的影响不应被低估。当成长环境充满源源不断的优良养分,孩子们在面对挑战时,就会茁壮成长,他们沉醉于一种氛围中,在这种氛围中,接受挑战,投入戏剧和音乐之中就成为了常态。惠灵顿的教育培养了一种拓展自我的知觉,无论身处何种背景下,我们鼓励孩子们尝试新事物。

第二个因素是老师的水平、投入和抱负。我们的音乐剧由学校音乐部主管Gossedge女士导演,同时有来自教学和非教学专业而强大的团队支持,我们的目标呈现出一部质量上乘的音乐剧,在品质上坚决不打折扣。设定高标准,并为表演者、音乐家和支持人员提供高标准的样板,加上专业人员精湛的技能,最终支持学生完成自我的新高度。

我相信整个惠灵顿社群都在热切期待着这部音乐剧。这将是一次精彩的体验,我非常期待惠灵顿的家长和友人来到现场亲身感受,欢迎大家!

向全体惠灵顿大家庭致以诚挚问候

校长 Julian Jeffrey

来自副校长

杨洋

尊敬的各位家长,

刚刚过去的一周对我们高三年级的学生来说是收获的一周,部分同学已经收到了多封来自海外知名大学的预录取通知书。兴奋之余,学生们也意识到,还有更艰巨的ALevel考试在等着他们。只有在考试中拿到理想成绩,他们才能够真正被大学录取。因此,接下来的几个月是最关键的冲刺阶段,希望同学们能够保持积极和认真的学习态度,为自己的梦想奋力一搏。

本周三,高三年级的Harry、Dawn、Jasmine、Alex、Yoland、Sunny、Amy等同学还面向高一高二年级的同学召开了大学申请经验分享会。会上,他们分享了自己在选择大学专业方向、撰写自我陈述以及备战托福雅思等考试的心得和体会。他们的分享不仅对自己是一个很好的反思,同时,也让两高一高二年级的同学受益颇丰。未来,他们还会继续支持在校生的大学申请工作,把自己的经验无私地分享给学弟学妹。我们也希望高一高二年级的同学和家长可以随时联系这些同学,特别是申请专业相近或者学校方向相近的同学可以更多地从他们身上获取宝贵的经验。

本周我们还对高一学生做的关于学校总体情况的调查问卷做了分析,学生的反馈非常积极。学生们都认为学校能提供安全而快乐的环境,学校课程设计合理,课余活动丰富,老师们能给予学生们全方面的帮助等等。当然我们也发现,很多学生觉得在英语写作和语法上还需要更多的支持,在一些学校课外活动的组织和安排上还应更加完善等。我们会虚心听取学生的意见和建议,也会不断的反思和改进,以帮助学生更好地成长成才。

本周二,我们召开了高一年级家长会,我们和家长汇报了调查问卷的结果,沟通了学校一些新的举措。更重要的是,教家长如何使用学校的一些电子沟通平台,例如:BridgeU, Parents portal, Star reading 等。尽管很多沟通平台都是英文的,但是家长们非常认真地学习。我们也借此机会让家长感受一下,在国际学校的全英文的环境中学习是多么一件不容易的事情,由此加强家长和孩子之间的相互理解和沟通。和学校保持密切联系,和孩子保持亲密关系,对于孩子的健康成长至关重要。

下周末,部分高一年级同学将去参加国际商业竞赛,预祝他们取得优异的成绩。

 

祝大家身体健康,工作顺利。

杨洋

家长分享会: 差异化教学
员工休息室
2019年3月6日周三
9:00-10:15

每周三上午的09:00-10:15,家长们都将有机会到学校参会,会议内容涉及孩子教育的各个方面,包括早期教育、Alevel课程、大学申请等。会议地点根据参会人员的不同而改变。本次的家长分享会将结合研讨会的形式举办,小学部校长Raja Ali先生将概述什么是教育情境中的差异化教学,以及差异化教学在小学部是如何运用的。分享会结束后,研讨会将在小学部各班进行。

来自校图书馆管理员
世界读书日 – 一起“悦读”吧!

3月7日周四我们将迎来世界读书日,这一天被联合国教科文组织指定为世界范围内的读书节,在全世界100多个国家都有庆祝活动。我校也不例外:

读书节当天,小学部的学生们可以把自己装扮成他们最喜爱的书中的人物。我们在教室和图书馆里还为全校学生准备了各类丰富有趣的活动。

同时,本次读书节,我们的学生们也可以通过助力天津本土的一所学校筹建图书馆来传递和分享“悦读”体验。家长和学生们既可以通过捐赠人民币10元(或以上)的方式来参与这项活动,也可以通过捐赠中文或英文书籍的方式参与其中。

本次世界读书日庆祝活动是我校中学英语部、小学部识字联络员及校图书馆共同精心策划的众多活动之一,旨在让惠灵顿全体师生及家长以更多的热情投入到我校“读书年”活动中来。

我们为什么要阅读?
为获取知识和能力

关于“阅读能对我们的学习、发展及成长产生巨大的影响”这种看法由来已久,科学家和专家强调:阅读书籍的力量是无可否认的。它是社交,情感和学业成功的关键。

英国教育部在评审中小学学龄儿童的阅读情况时进行了相应的研究,他们的研究结论是,阅读有七个主要的益处,分别为:获取写作能力; 强化阅读理解和语法; 延展词汇量; 更加自信得阅读; 获取基本常识; 更好地了解他国文化; 提升社群活动参与度,更深入地了解人性。该研究强调阅读阅读与教育成就之间的强烈积极联系。阅读书籍对于学习新语言也是至关重要的,因为非母语人士会通过阅读接触生词在语境中的具体应用,这将改善他们自己的口语和写作的流畅性。

为心理健康和幸福
教育专家一致认为,相较于社会经济背景而言,阅读是获取人生成就更为有力的因素。 它可以更好得促进心理健康和幸福,有助于建立起与社会及他人的联系,并与一系列有助于增加社会流动机会的因素相关联。

经常阅读的人相较于不读书的人来说,会更少的感受到压力或沮丧。而阅读带来的放松感比看电视或从事科技密集型活动更强烈。研究表明,热爱阅读的人通常会有更强的自尊心和应对困难的能力。阅读还可以改善睡眠

成功人士爱阅读
世界上最成功的CEO们都说阅读是他们成功的关键,如果这是真的,那你还有什么理由不多读书呢?

在Tom Corley所著的《改变习惯,改变生活》(Change Your Habits, Change Your Life)一书中,他讲述了一项历时5年的研究,通过采访一批白手起家的百万富翁以了解他们的日常习惯之后,Tom得出结论-“阅读是这些百万富翁获得成功的关键因素”。为什么?因为通过阅读他们获取了实现目标所需的技能:他们更加专注;他们为自己设定目标;他们合理地安排时间;他们还能从不同的角度看待问题。而这些都是他们通过阅读各种文献学到的技能。阅读除了帮助读者从书中获得观点,还会令他们反思读书所得。成功人士通常拥有令人难以置信的写作和口语能力,这也是他们从阅读中获得的技能。

爱读书的人明白大脑到底有多强大。它几乎可以容纳无限容量的信息。我们读得越多,学得越多,反倒就越容易记住信息。

我们致力于打造读书社群
研究表明促进儿童和青少年愉快阅读的三个关键因素:确保有足够的渠道获得书籍;家长积极鼓励阅读,教师提供指导。

我校图书馆的规模正在日益壮大中。当前学生可借阅近11000册中、英、韩三语的书籍。我们精选的藏书有非小说类图书以及小说、故事、诗歌、戏剧、绘本、教育资源、职业发展及育儿的书。

快让我们一起来“悦读”吧!

来自高中部大学申请团队
答疑会(仅面向7-9年级家长)
员工休息室
2019年3月5日周二
18:00

2019年3月5日周二,我校高中部大学申请团队将针对 “大学申请流程” 这一主题面向全体7-9年级学生家长,举办一场信息分享及答疑会。热烈欢迎家长们参与本次答疑会(提供茶点)。我们的意在使之成为一项定期活动,目的是更好地向低年级学生家长传递信息并提供支持。

来自于教育信息技术学科主管

2019年互联网安全周

我校于上周度过了2019年互联网安全周。本年度网络安全周的关键词是“同意”,意即“我们授予各种应用和服务的权限(比如访问我们的私人数据或位置),以及我们需要征得朋友们的同意之后,再让他们加入在线活动中来”,为迎合2019年互联网安全周的主题,我们设计了一系列的活动,如:中小学部的主题集会、幼儿园网络安全及礼仪主题的故事会,以及丰富的课堂讨论活动。本年度网络安全周以中学部学生集体参与“网络安全在线测评”并取得80分总分完美收官。

正如我们每个人都是互联网的一部分,我相信只要我们时刻保持清醒,调整心态做出正确的选择,互联网会因我们而发生积极的改变。当然,我们仍应通过培养年轻人在数码领域的适应及应变力,让他们为该领域任何不可预知的障碍做好准备,这将是所有互联网安全周活动的终极目标。

安全上网,请思考在先,点击在后!

来自数学老师Felix Ogando先生
数学教师交换项目

最近,我和来自惠灵顿英国的Edward Jones老师共同参与了一项为期近一个月的教师培训项目。在中国春节假期期间,我访问了惠灵顿英国的校园,并和Mr.Jones一起合作教学。随后,我和Mr.Jones于2月11日一同回到惠灵顿天津,在此继续我们在教学计划和上课方面的合作。本次培训项目的主要目标如下:

  1. 通过分享教学实践经验和资源来提升教学品质。
  2. 分享经验,以学生的兴趣为基准,开发有效的教学方法。
  3. 充分利用教师社群的能力、兴趣、资源和专长。

在此次培训项目期间,我和Jones老师取长补短,以团队的方式成功得完成了教学任务,同时对中英两国学生在文化背景和学习方式等发面的差异有了更深入的理解。

对于惠灵顿天津的学生来说,这是一个向Jones老师学习和讨教其丰富学识和宝贵经验的大好机会,包括在大学申请过程中获取强有力的支持联系。我们在惠灵顿英国和天津合作教授的所有课程中,都有活跃而富有成效的讨论环节,提高了学生的参与度,激发出了他们最好的一面。

琼斯老师和我也借此机会提高了我们的技能,充分发挥我们的潜力,与此同时,我们的创造力、积极性和团队管理能力也得到了巩固。

总的来说,这次交流项目是我教学生涯中最好的职业发展机会之一,我们与惠灵顿英国的联系也更加紧密和活跃了。