MUN: Pupils Design Resolutions to Alleviate Global Poverty

On 28th February, 14 pupils from Wellington College International Tianjin joined up with another 200 or so pupils from international schools across China and Korea to participate in MUNiSC’s three-day Model United Nations conference held in the opulent surroundings of Shangri-La, Qingdao. The central theme of the conference was, ironically, Making Inroads in Reducing Poverty.
Our pupils represented a number of diverse countries such as Afghanistan, China, Luxembourg, Nigeria, and South Sudan.
On this trip we were delighted to accommodate many pupils who were new to the Model United Nations format. It is a steep learning curve preparing, presenting and debating on global themes for the first time, especially when you are doing so with and against scholars from around the country, but the pay-off, when the challenges are faced, can be enormous.
Below, one of our pupils- Ezra from Year 12 tells us about his journey and initiation into the world of MUN.
Model United Nations, also known as MUN, is an academic activity that simulates conferences of the United Nations and teaches participants varied skills. Acknowledging the great opportunity recommended by Mr Roundell, I had the honour to attend such an activity – the three-day MUNiSC Conference in Qingdao – at the beginning of March.
Before this MUN trip, Ms Faba and some classmate told me some details. I am the delegate of Luxembourg and in the committee General Assembly 2, or G2. Therefore I had to choose one topic from G2 and write an opening speech and a resolution paper. Although I went to great pains to work on them, I was not confident because I had no idea of what the conference would be like, and trying to imagine it made me nervous.
However, my tension was gradually eased as I participated in the activity. On the first day, I did my opening speech along with other students in the same committee. While I made some mistakes during my speech, it is an essential experience for me because this was my first time to talk in front of so many people. Later, there was a period called lobbying & merging in which delegates should discuss their resolutions with each other. This was a great opportunity for me to get to know some excellent students from many different international schools in China. Through the discussion with them, I learned countless things and practised my teamwork skills.
In the other two days, delegates were debating on their resolutions in such a way that one delegate holds on the floor and others ask him or her questions. I was becoming more and more courageous amid this process as I was voicing my opinions more and more frequently. Through the repeated and intense negotiations on amendments, my speaking and critical thinking abilities were developed. In the last day I went on to the stage again and spoke against a resolution by another delegate; accordingly, his resolution did not pass owing to few people voting for it.
This experience proved to be extremely beneficial to me. I have learned multiple skills and got acquainted with some excellent peers at the conference. Due to such blessings, I have already planned to attend another MUN conference this year, and I also encourage other students to do so as well.

模拟联合国活动:惠灵顿学子为消除全球贫困出谋划策

2月28日,14名来自天津惠灵顿学校的学生,与来自中韩两国国际学校的200余名学生一起,参加了为期3天的国际学校模拟联合国大会(MUNiSC)。这次大会在青岛香格里拉大酒店举办,主题是“在消除贫困方面取得积极进展”。与会的学生们扮演阿富汗、中国、卢森堡、尼日利亚、南苏丹等不同国家的代表,参与了激烈的讨论。
这次模拟联合国大会之行让许多学生初次接触到了这一活动形式。他们在短短几天内紧张地进行了大量准备工作,第一次针对各种国际问题发表演讲、参与辩论,与来自全国的优秀学生们针锋相对、唇枪舌战。在迎接挑战的过程中,他们也获益良多。
以下是一位来自12年级的学生Ezra与我们分享他第一次参与模联大会的经历。
模拟联合国,简称模联,是一项模仿联合国会议形式的学术活动,参与的学生能够在此过程中磨炼多种技能。Mr Roundell给予了我们这次绝佳的机会,让我有幸参加了这次举办于青岛的国际学校模拟联合国大会。
在此之前,Ms Faba和同学们都告诉了我一些活动细节。在大会上,我扮演卢森堡的代表,属于模拟联合国大会第二委员会,需要在第二委员会所负责的议题中选出一个,准备开幕致辞,并就此议题起草决议。准备的过程十分艰难,并且由于对大会情况完全陌生,我十分不自信;不停想象大会情景的过程中,我变得越来越紧张。
不过,当我真正参与到大会中去之后,紧张的情绪就渐渐消失了。大会的第一天,我和同属第二委员会的学生们一起进行了开幕致辞。尽管偶有失误,但这是我第一次在公共场合进行演讲,所以我想这也是必不可少的经验。然后是被称为会前游说的时间,各国代表们需要讨论、交流彼此的决议,避免彼此的决议出现重复,也可以发现并完善自身决议的不足,为此后的辩论做好充分准备。对我来说,这也是结识其他与会杰出学子的好机会,他们来自中国多所国际学校。在与他们交流的过程中,我也学到许多新的东西,锻炼了自己团队合作的能力。
在随后的两天之中,代表们就彼此的决议进行辩论,一人答辩,其余人提问。在这个过程中,我的勇气不断积累,越来越敢于表达自己的见解。在反复紧张地谈判、修改自己的决议中,我的表达能力与思辨能力都得到了提高。最印象深刻的是在第三天,我再次走上台前,对一位代表的决议表示了反对,并因此成功阻止了大会投票通过这个的决议。
这次的经历确实令我收获颇多。我学到了许多新的技能,在会上结识了许多出色的同龄人。得益于这次经历,我计划在今年再次参加模拟联合国大会,我也强烈推荐其他学生们也能够参与进来。