Model United Nations

On 25th October, 26 pupils from Wellington College International Tianjin joined up with another 300+ pupils from international schools across China to participate in TIANMUN’s three-day United Nations simulated conference at TIS.

The central theme of the conference was “The Paradox of Development” and our pupils represented a number of diverse countries such as Syria, Canada, Denmark, Iraq, Libya and Cuba across a wide range of committees including the Arab League, the Disarmament Committee and the Economic and Social Council.

As delegates of countries, 6 Wellington students were successful as the main submitters for passed resolutions and 3 students were co-submitters on themes such as:

  •  the elimination of anti-personnel landmines
  •  facilitating protection of open markets against deglobalisation
  •  over population in Egypt
  •  eliminating plastic wastes in the ocean

In the closing ceremony on Saturday, Nicole, Leo and Marcos were awarded best delegate for their respective committees. Jurek was the recipient of the best coalition award for the Disarmament Committee and Eric was recognized as the most improved delegate in the Arab League. Our congratulations go to all Wellington’s participants on their excellent contribution to TIANMUN VII.

模拟联合国活动:惠灵顿学子荣获天津国际学校模拟联合国大会五项大奖

10月25日,来自天津惠灵顿学校的26名学生来到天津思锐外籍人员子女学校,参与为期3天的模拟联合国大会,一同参与活动的还有来自全国各地国际学校的300余名学生。

本次大会的主题是“发展的悖论” ,我校的学生们作为叙利亚、加拿大、丹麦、伊拉克、利比亚和古巴等国代表,组成了 “阿拉伯国家联盟” 、 “裁军委员会” 、 “经济和社会委员会” 等组织,与参会的其他学子们展开了激烈的讨论。

6名惠灵顿学子作为提案发起人,在另外3名学生的协助下,各自作为不同国家的代表,成功就如下议题发起了提案:

  •  清除杀伤人员地雷
  • 针对去全球化,促进对开放市场的保护
  • 埃及人口爆炸
  • 清理海洋塑料垃圾

周六,在活动的结束仪式上,我校的学生Nicole、Leo和Marcos荣获最佳代表奖项。“裁军委员会”的Jurek获得最佳联盟奖,“阿拉伯国家联盟”的Eric则获得最有进步代表奖。参与此次活动的惠灵顿学子们在背后付出了很多的辛苦和努力,才能取得如此优异的成绩,为学校争光添彩!再次祝贺大家!