Insight丨Developing Independence During Distance Learning

In this Educational Insights Series, experts from across the Wellington College group give advice, practical help and tips for parents who are keen to give further support for their children’s learning. In this article from the series, Megan Huckfield from Wellington College Tianjin discusses the developing independence during distance learning.

From the Head of Humanities

Megan Huckfield

Since February, schools around the world have been plunged into the deep and unknown waters of online teaching and learning. Much like the European explorers of the early modern period our Year 8 History classes had just finished studying, teachers and pupils began to navigate the new and uncharted territory of e-learning.

From the start of the academic year, the Humanities department has been undertaking action research into the impact of metacognition in empowering our pupils to develop the skills of independence. Developing independence is no easy feat; the range of skills required to become a truly independent learner are those which are continually being refined as pupils progress through their educational journey at Wellington. With a sudden move to e-learning, supporting our pupils on their journey to independence has never been more important.

 

What is metacognition and self-regulation?

Metacognition and self-regulation approaches take research from educational psychology to help pupils think more explicitly about their own learning and thinking. A key aspect of this is teaching pupils specific strategies they can use for planning, monitoring and evaluating their own learning.

 

There are 3 fundamental components of self-regulated learning:

  • Cognition– the mental process involved in knowing, understanding and learning
  • Metacognition– often defined as learning how to learn
  • Motivation– willingness to engage the skills of metacognition and cognition

The best guidance available to teachers on metacognition is the work of U.K. based educational charity, the Education Endowment Foundation (EEF). Their research into the effectiveness of teaching and learning methods rates metacognition and self-regulation in the classroom as very high impact based on extensive evidence. In their 2018 report the EEF explains that:

On a very basic level, it’s about pupils’ ability to monitor, direct, and review their learning. Effective metacognitive strategies get learners to think about their own learning more explicitly, usually by teaching them to set goals, and monitor and evaluate their own academic progress.[i]

At the end of April 2020 in response to a worldwide shift to online learning, the EEF produced a report outlining the best evidence on supporting students to learn remotely.[ii] The report recognises that the skills of independence are even more vital during remote learning in order to support pupil outcomes, in particular the report highlights the value of adopting metacognitive strategies to support independence such as ‘prompting pupils to reflect on their work or to consider the strategies they will use if they get stuck.’[iii]

 

[i] Quigley, A., Muijis, D. and Stringer, E. (2018). Sutton Trust – Education Endowment Foundation, Metacognition and Self-Regulated Learning Guidance Report, retrieved from: https://educationendowmentfoundation.org.uk/evidence-summaries/teaching-learning-toolkit/meta-cognition-and-self-regulation/

[ii] Sutton Trust-Education Endowment Fund (2020), Best evidence on supporting students to learn remotely. Retrieved from:  https://educationendowmentfoundation.org.uk/covid-19-resources/best-evidence-on-supporting-students-to-learn-remotely/

[iii] Sutton Trust-Education Endowment Fund (2020). Rapid evidence assessment: distance learning, key findings summary. Retrieved from: https://educationendowmentfoundation.org.uk/public/files/Publications/Covid-19_Resources/Remote_learning_evidence_review/Rapid_Evidence_Assessment_summary.pdf

 

How did the Humanities department use lessons from research into metacognition and self-regulation to support your child?

Our IGCSE and A level examination year groups have been using Personal Learning Checklists (PLCs) to monitor and assess their understanding of key topics. Pupils use these self-assessment checklists to monitor how confident they are in their understanding of a topic. They use their self-assessment to plan targeted revision strategies, with guidance from their teachers, that will help them to close any gaps in their knowledge and understanding. Year 11, 12 and 13 History groups have been completing their PLCs online using Microsoft Forms this term. This allows me, as their teacher, to see not only individual gaps in knowledge but also patterns across classes in areas of weakness. In turn, this ensures teachers can target, with greater precision, any areas of need in follow-up video conference lessons with pupils.

One key aspect of developing the skills of metacognition and self-regulation is explicitly modelling to pupils the thinking behind key processes. Do you remember what it was like to be a novice, learning something new for the first time? As subject experts, we often forget the deep layers of knowledge we have acquired over the years, meaning that when we approach our subject, the hours of hard work and time developing and refining our understanding as an expert historian or geographer are not always apparent to an onlooker. It is important that, as teachers, we think carefully about the processes and skills that now come ‘naturally’ to us, so that we can model those steps for our pupils to show them how to think and act like a historian or a geographer too. To move from novice to expert, our pupils need to know how experts think and act. As such we need to make these largely implicit processes we follow instinctively as experts explicit to our novice learners.

Therefore, the third recommendation for teachers in the EEF report suggests that teachers clearly model their own thinking to help pupils develop metacognitive and cognitive skills. In order to do this, teachers in the Humanities department have been using the screen share function during our video conference meetings on Teams to live model ‘perfect’ paragraphs and to show pupils what exactly they should be looking for when approaching a source or evidence.

For example, in a Year 9 History lesson Mr Hazell recently looked at sources on plantation life in North America and the Caribbean as a part of our topic on the transatlantic slave trade. He modelled through the tricky processes of analysing both the content and the provenance (the information we are given about the source’s author and date of production) to work out how reliable and useful a range of sources are to help us learn about this time period. By modelling these processes and thinking aloud, pupils can see the way in which they should approach the sources critically, enhancing their own attempts at analysis during independent practise.

In addition, we have been making use of screencasts, these are short videos that talk through an aspect of the learning. Our Year 11 IGCSE History pupils received a series of videos featuring a question-by-question walkthrough following their mock examinations in January. These screencast videos showed them how each question on the examination should be approached by dissecting and analysing top grade exemplar answers. Pupils can use these walkthrough videos to inform their reflections on their own mock examination answers and to help them set clear targets to improve. They can also use the walkthrough videos to help them when approaching the same type of question in the future. During these modelled activities, teachers have been consciously thinking aloud and explaining why certain words, phrases and extracts from sources, for example, have been applied to exemplar answers.

 

How can you use lessons from research into metacognition and self-regulation to support your child at home?

Recommendation 6 from the EEF’s guidance report is to explicitly teach pupils how to organise, and effectively manage, their learning independently. Effective learners will use several strategies to help them learn well independently.

 

Consider the following scenario:

James knew that to work properly he would need to manage his distractions, especially his mobile phone and his video games console. With a little help from his mother, James made his bedroom more like a study space than a video games room during the times he would be working. James also handed over his mobile phone to his mother during the time he was working as he knew that messages from his friends would distract him from the online classes.

After classes, James started on his homework. Using his planner to check what work had been set during the day he’d check what lessons he had coming up tomorrow and get out any equipment or resources he needed before steeling himself to do some hard work. He writes a short list of each task he must do, so he can tick them once he has completed them. James expects his usual lull in concentration after forty-five minutes, so he grabs a drink and a snack before getting back to his homework. At the end of his study time, James goes to his list and ticks the tasks he has completed.[iv]

[iv] This imaginary scenario is adapted from a similar example presented in the Education Endowment Foundation report with some details changed to match issues we know pupils and parents have faced during e-learning time. Op. cit, Quigley, A., Muijis, D. and Stringer, E. (2018).

 

Zimmerman’s (2002) research into the attributes of self-regulated learners can be observed in the scenario above[v]:

Restructuring one’s physical and social context to make it compatible with one’s goals. James recognises that there are distractions and obstacles to his learning (his mobile phone, the video game environment of his bedroom) and he takes steps, with the support of a parent, to change his environment in order to make working independently easier. James has the maturity to recognise this. Many of our younger pupils will not yet have developed this level of self-awareness. Therefore, it is useful for parents to set limits on the use of mobile phones and other distractions during learning time, and certainly during live lesson time.

Managing time-use efficiently. James also recognises he will have a lull in concentration. This is very normal and so ensures he provides himself with a planned and structured break that will give him some space to reorganise his thoughts and return to his work more productively. Both adults and children are very good at procrastinating but allowing short breaks can help to keep focus.

Setting specific short-term goals. James uses his planner to check work he has been set and sets himself goals using a list. He also returns to the list checking off what he has completed.

You can also ask your child some simple questions at the end of their day to generate a discussion about their learning and encourage them to reflect on the strategies they used to learn effectively during remote learning.

[v] Zimmerman, Barry J. (2002). ‘Becoming a Self-Regulated Learner: An Overview.’ Theory Into Practice 41 (2)

Metacognitive questions parents could ask their child about their learning strategies:

▷▷▷

  • What went well today?
  • What success did you have today?
  • What helped you to be successful today?
  • What specific strategy have you used in your learning today that helped you to succeed?
  • What did you find difficult in a lesson today?
  • When something was difficult in your lesson, what exactly did you do to help move forward?
  • Which learning strategy helped you overcome a difficulty today?
  • What did you do when you were stuck?

A shift to learning remotely has been a transformative time for all our pupils, parents and teachers. Our community has risen to the challenge of this new style of teaching and learning and in the Humanities department, it has been fantastic to see our pupils continue to take vast strides in developing independence in their learning, a skill that will truly enable them to succeed as life-long learners.

教育焦点丨线上学习变革时刻:独立学习能力该如何培养?

在“教育焦点”系列专题中,我们为那些热切希望给予孩子们更多学习和教育上支持的家长们,汇集了来自惠灵顿公学大家庭教育专家们的专业建议,实践经验以及一些小贴士。在今天的这篇文章里,来自天津惠灵顿学校的Megan老师和我们探讨的话题是“独立学习能力该如何培养?”

来自人文学科主管

Megan Huckfield

从今年2月起全世界的老师和学生都不得不开始摸索起在线的教与学,如同8年级学生刚刚在历史课上学到的近代早期的欧洲探险家们一般,老师和学生们在探索着在线学习这片崭新而无人踏足的新领域。

当我们在过去一段时间忽然转为在线学习为主,帮助学生培养独立性变得尤为重要。那么我们该如何帮助学生成为一名真正的独立学习者呢?

从本学年开始,人文学科的老师们,开始研究元认知对培养学生独立能力的影响。

什么是元认知?和学生的自我管理能力有何关系?

如何将元认知和自我管理学习理念融合课程?

家长该如何运用这套理念来帮我们的孩子?

下文,天津惠灵顿人文学科部的老师们,将一一为大家解答。

 

什么是元认知和自我管理?

元认知和自我管理的教学方式基于教育心理学研究,帮助学生对自己的学习和思维有更清晰的思考。其中一个关键方面是要教给学生计划、监控和评估自己学习的具体方法。

 

自我管理学习有三大基本组成:

  • 认知——了解、理解和学习的心理过程
  • 元认知——通常被定义为学习如何学习
  • 动机——提升元认知和认知技能的意愿

在元认知方面,老师们最权威的参考资料来自一家英国教育慈善机构,教育捐赠基金会(EEF)。EEF有关不同教学方式的研究表明,大量证据显示课堂里的元认知和自我管理对教学效率有着重要影响。他们在2018年发布的报告中表示:

从基本层面来说,元认知和自我管理与学生自我监测、引导和复习学习内容的能力有关。有效的元认知学习方式能够使学习者对自己的学习状态有更清晰的思考,这些方式往往包括制定目标、随时关注和评估自己的学习进度等。[i] 

为了应对全世界转向线上教学的趋势,2020年4月底,EEF发布了另一份报告,简述了什么对学生远程学习最有帮助[ii] 。报告认为,在远程学习中,独立学习能力变得尤为重要;还特别指出,诸如“鼓励学生对自己的学习内容进行反思,或思考遇到困难时该如何解决”[iii] 等元认知学习法对培养独立性格外有帮助。

 

[i] Quigley, A., Muijis, D. and Stringer, E. (2018). Sutton Trust – Education Endowment Foundation, Metacognition and Self-Regulated Learning Guidance Report, retrieved from: https://educationendowmentfoundation.org.uk/evidence-summaries/teaching-learning-toolkit/meta-cognition-and-self-regulation/

[ii] Sutton Trust-Education Endowment Fund (2020), Best evidence on supporting students to learn remotely. Retrieved from:  https://educationendowmentfoundation.org.uk/covid-19-resources/best-evidence-on-supporting-students-to-learn-remotely/

[iii] Sutton Trust-Education Endowment Fund (2020). Rapid evidence assessment: distance learning, key findings summary. Retrieved from: https://educationendowmentfoundation.org.uk/public/files/Publications/Covid-19_Resources/Remote_learning_evidence_review/Rapid_Evidence_Assessment_summary.pdf

 

天津惠灵顿学校人文学科的老师们又怎样将元认知和自我管理的学习理念融入课程,帮助学生更好地学习呢?

即将参加IGCSE和A Level考试的各年级学生一直在使用个人学习进度清单(PLCs)来追踪自己的学习进度,评估自己对重要知识点的理解情况。在老师们的支持下,学生们使用这些学习进度清单进行自我评估,制定有针对性的复习计划,大大有助于学生们及时发现并弥补自己的知识漏洞。在高中历史课上,学生们使用在线平台Teams来制定个人学习进度清单(PLCs)。作为老师,我不仅能看到某个学生在学习中的不足,也能对全班的学习状态有总体的判断。这样,老师能在之后的视频课程中更有针对性地讲解相关知识点。

发展元认知和自我管理学习能力的一个要点是,要为学生清晰展现关键过程背后的思维方式。你还记得作为一个初学者,刚刚开始学习一样新事物时的感受吗?作为学科教师,我们有时会忘记自己对一些知识的深刻理解是建立在多年的学习研究之上的;这意味着当我们教授自己学科的内容时,一些对我们这些专业的历史或地理学教师来说显而易见的内容对学生来说并非如此,我们今天的知识是在长时间的拓展与完善后得来的。因此作为教师,我们必须慎重思考一些“自然而然”获得的知识或技能,这样才能为学生们示范这背后的学习过程,像他们展示如何像一个专业的历史或地理学工作者那样思考并解决问题。要从初学者成长起来,学生们需要了解专业人士是如何思考并解决问题的。因此作为教师,我们要把这些看似自然完成的学习过程更清晰地展现给刚刚开始接触这些学科的学生们。

因此,EEF的报告中推荐老师们清晰地展现自己的思维过程,帮助学生们发展他们的元认知与认知技能。为此,人文学科的老师们在线上课程中使用Teams的桌面分享功能,与学生们实时分享自己如何分析文字内容,展现如何从新的资源或支持性资料中提取有效信息。

例如,在9年级的历史课上,我们正在讨论大西洋两岸的奴隶交易话题。关于这个话题,Mr Hazell用一些有关北美洲及加勒比海地区种植园的资料,示范了分析资料内容及来源(资料作者及出版时间等内容)的复杂过程,展现了这些资料对我们学习这一历史时期是否可靠且有效。在老师示范这些分析和思考过程时,学生可以看到在接触支持性资料时应带有思辨能力,有助于他们在独自学习时更好地进行分析。

此外,我们还会使用录屏功能或短视频记录学习中的一个个方面。11年级即将参加IGCSE历史考试的学生们在模拟考试之后收到了一系列视频,老师在视频中通过分析高分答案,一一解释了考试中的每个问题应该如何入手解答。学生们可以通过对比视频中的内容重新评估自己的答案,有助于他们制定更清晰的目标,完善自己的学习所得。在未来遇到同类问题时,他们也可以使用这些视频内容作为参考。在这些教学活动中,老师们有意识地展示自己的思维方式,解释一些术语或内容为何重要。

 

家长如何运用元认知和自我管理的研究成果来帮助孩子学习?

EEF的报告中推荐我们明确地教导学生如何有效率地自我管理,独立进行学习。有效率的学习者会使用以下这些方式来更好地进行独立学习:

 

设想以下情境:

James明白如果要好好学习,他需要管理好一些让自己分心的事物,尤其是他的手机和游戏。在妈妈的帮助下,James在此期间把自己的卧室布置得更适合学习;他还在学习时把手机上交给妈妈,因为他知道自己不能在上课时被朋友发来的消息分散了注意力。

下课后,James开始写作业。他用自己的学生计划手册查看这一天要完成的功课,以及明天要上的课程,如果有一些较难的内容,还要准备好学习所需的设备和相关资料。他把自己必须完成的任务列了一张清单,每完成一项就打个勾。他知道自己的专注程度在大概45分钟后会逐渐降低,于是在这时稍作休整,之后才重新投入作业中。James最后还会检查一遍这个清单,确保完成了上面全部的内容才会结束这一天的学习。[iv]

 

[iv] This imaginary scenario is adapted from a similar example presented in the Education Endowment Foundation report with some details changed to match issues we know pupils and parents have faced during e-learning time. Op. cit, Quigley, A., Muijis, D. and Stringer, E. (2018).

 

我们对照Zimmerman有关学习中的自我管理的研究(2002)来看上述情境:[v]:

为了达到目标,对自我周围以及社会环境做出调整。James意识到他的学习中存在干扰和障碍(卧室里的手机和游戏机)于是做出行动,在家长的帮助下,他为了能够独立专心学习对卧室环境做出了改变。James能做到这一点非常成熟。而许多没那么成熟的学生们也许暂时还无法对自己有这样清晰的认知和规划。因此,家长在孩子独自学习时或在线上课时,适当限制他们接触手机,或其他干扰注意力的事物是非常有效的。

做好时间管理——有效利用时间。James还意识到自己的注意力会有松懈的时候。这是非常正常的现象,因此他为自己规划了休息时间,这给了他整理思绪的空间,让他能够更有效率地回到学习中去。无论是成人还是孩子都有可能拖延,允许自己偶尔松懈,才能更好地专注在学习与工作上。

您也可以在每天睡前问孩子一些简单的问题,就他们的学习情况展开讨论,鼓励他们反思自己的学习方式,帮助他们在线上课程中更有效率地学习。

[v] Zimmerman, Barry J. (2002). ‘Becoming a Self-Regulated Learner: An Overview.’ Theory Into Practice 41 (2)

家长们可以就孩子们的学习方法提以下问题:

▷▷▷

  • 今天哪些学习进行得很顺利?
  • 今天成功完成了什么?
  • 是什么帮助你完成的?
  • 是什么具体的学习方法帮助你完成的?
  • 今天的课上有什么难点吗?
  • 当你在课上遇到困难,你会怎样解决它?
  • 今天有什么学习方法帮助你解决了困难?
  • 当你觉得自己无法取得进展,你会怎么做?

从线下到线上学习的转变对我们的学生、家长和老师来说都是一个变革的时刻。我们的社群直面这一新的教学方式的挑战,而对人文学科教师们来说,我们很欣慰地看到学生们在发展独立学习能力的道路上大步前行,这样的能力将大大有助于他们成长为成功的终生学习者。