Delivering university guidance during an ever – changing climate

It is business as usual for the university team here in Tianjin. Keeping pupils and parents informed about the rapidly changing circumstances that confront us has been key in the ongoing delivery and information flow between all parties. We recognise that support during these times is even more vital than usual; pupils in all year groups can continue to get the help they need to prepare for their future university applications, regardless of the current circumstances. Parents across the globe will understandably be anxious about the impact on university admissions of the coronavirus pandemic and the consequences for public examinations. Below we answer several questions to help pupils and parents.

 

1

Q: I am not clear about how the university admissions process will work now that the A Level examinations have been cancelled.

Having been in contact with various universities, we are reassured that they will take these exceptional circumstances into consideration when assessing applications. Universities have been overwhelmingly supportive in dealing with our enquiries on behalf of our pupils. They have shown themselves to be open to learning more about the situation in our school and the impact that this is having on pupil progress towards their A Level examination. Most universities have clear procedures in place to make sure that extenuating circumstances, such as those our graduates face this year, are taken into consideration.

Graduating pupils continue to receive offers from many universities – even over the last few days, our pupils have received offers from, among others, Imperial College, King’s College London and Glasgow university. The university team here at school remains onsite can support them by contacting their first-choice universities in person to explain the current situation here in China. All universities have updated their websites and of course our university guidance team is available to help with any questions you may have.

2019 University Fair

 

2

Q: My child is in Year 12. How will universities deal with his / her application next year if there are no AS examinations?

We hold regular briefings for all pupils in Year 12, during which both pupils and their parents are guided through the application timelines and have had the opportunity to ask questions of the specialist team here at Wellington. In addition, there is a Year 12 Team on our Microsoft platform which is there to help our pupils navigate their way through the processes for different countries across the world. The university guidance team keeps them updated by posting articles on a daily basis. All Year 12 pupils have been in contact with their tutors who are on hand to give them the advice that they need. Finally, all pupils are currently in the process of uploading their first draft of the personal statement/college essay onto BridgeU, allowing them time to get ahead of the application process and ensuring a stress-free period of preparation for the final submission.

 

At Wellington, we use BridgeU as our central online platform for researching courses and universities.  Pupils use BridgeU from year 9 upwards to help them to build up a profile over the years before they apply to university. BridgeU is designed to be simple to use and it offers an end-to-end platform covering a full range of needs, from personalised course recommendations to enabling teacher collaboration and submitting global applications. BridgeU can be accessed by all involved in the process – including parents.

 

3

Q: My child is in Year 11. Will the situation with IGCSE examination cancellations damage his / her chances of applying to his / her dream school?

We have recently held an online parent briefing for all parents and pupils in Year 11, offering reassurance that we will do everything possible to make sure that their children will not be disadvantaged because of the current situation. The measures outlined by the UK examination boards in March 2020 indicate that no examination candidate will be disadvantaged during this unprecedented period. In addition to the teaching staff, who can offer specialist advice on specific subjects, the university team is available for help at any time and we can give individual guidance whenever needed.

 

4

Q: How can I find out more about universities now that no university representatives can visit?

The university guidance team posts regularly on Microsoft teams whenever we get updates from universities. Universities are increasingly making webinars available for pupils to attend so that they are kept up-to-date with everything they are doing.

University Guidance Team

5

Q: How can we keep informed of any changes?

It is vital that communication channels are as open as possible over this period and it has been great to see pupils and parents engaging so positively in the application process. We offer regular weekly meetings, delivered through our online learning platform for pupils in Years 11-13 and their parents. Through these meeting slots, pupils and parents have the opportunity to ask questions and to have concerns addressed. We are, of course, happy to answer questions at any other time too. During one of our recent meetings, for example, we discussed the university applications processes for individual countries; how to best prepare for applications to the UK, Canada, USA; and provided guidance on how to put together a portfolio for application to art school. These are popular information sessions and allows the university team to update our community on the latest changes and updates for the universities around the world.

 

6

Q: How can the school further support my child who is keen to apply to Oxbridge next year?

The accelerated programme for our scholars has continued to stretch and challenge our pupils in Year 12 and continued to operate throughout the online learning period, with pupils receiving weekly support from teachers and mentors. We have had some very positive feedback from these sessions due to the dedicated team of teachers who are involved in this programme. Practice interviews for our graduating pupils have also continued uninterrupted online. Pupils have a weekly scheduled session with a designated teacher during which they explore areas outside of the A Level curriculum. Pupils are provided with a wealth of reading material and resources to help them to explore their chosen area of study in more depth.

 

7

Q: My child is in Year 9, but I am still interested in learning more about the university application process. Can you advise me?

Our younger pupils are never left out, as we start the university process early with support from our select tutors through our weekly tutorial programme.  All pupils in Years 9-13 have access to BridgeU our online platform which assists pupils to make smarter, more informed decisions about their university applications. Pupils schedule timeslots with their tutors to discuss their options for the future and this extra time really makes a difference when building and preparing for their submissions. Parents can also get involved – please contact the university guidance team via email to book an appointment (jayne.sabio@wellingtoncollege.cn)

 

8

Q: How do I get the best out of the Application process?

Building a robust academic portfolio of excellence is an important factor in creating an overall university portfolio. The university guidance team are working tirelessly to make sure that we continue to provide opportunities for pupils aiming for the world’s top universities. In the past year alone, Wellingtonians have added value to their portfolios by taking part in some of the most prestigious events across the globe – and this year is no exception, with participation already high for the  2020 ASDAN Physics Olympiad and the USAP and USAD (United States Academy Decathlon) competitions. Unfortunately, the face-to-face competitions of late have not been able to run, but pupils have had online lessons and the competitions have been taking place online over the past couple of weeks.

 

Finally, preparing for University can often seem to be a daunting task especially in these uncertain times but with good solid preparation, ongoing guidance from a team of highly knowledgeable teachers, pupils will achieve their ultimate goal through admission to their university of choice.

 

If you are a thinking of studying in a University abroad but don’t know the best route or university to choose, Wellington College in Tianjin can offer a range of meetings online to answer those questions. Please contact us on the information below.

Email: admissions.tianjin@wellingtoncollege.cn

ADMISSIONS HOTLINE

(+86) 187-2248-7836 (English)

(+86) 136-4200-4609 (中文)

(+86) 187-2253-0823 (한국부)

机会永远眷顾有准备的人——大学申请Q&A

大学申请对天津惠灵顿的升学指导团队来说,这其实正是他们每日的工作。大学申请的相关政策及环境是在时刻改变的,升学指导工作的关键之一就是要保证与学生、家长间的及时沟通,确保大学申请过程的所有参与者随时获得最新的信息。我们深知,学生的大学申请格外需要老师的支持与帮助,而无论何时,学校所有年级的学生都能够获得针对自身的相关帮助,为他们未来的大学申请打好基础。在当前的形势下,我们理解全世界的家长恐怕都在担忧新冠病毒疫情对孩子大学申请、公告考试的影响。在此,我们将解答一些广受关注的问题,希望能对学生和家长有所帮助。

 

1

Q: A Level考试目前都被取消了,大学招生在这种情况下将如何运作?

我们已经和多所大学取得了联系,获悉他们在处理学生申请时,会将今年的特殊情况考虑在内。这些大学展现出极大的诚意,愿意为我们的学生提供最大限度的理解与支持,他们也十分愿意了解学生们所处的困境,以及他们包括A Level考试在内的考试计划受到了怎样的影响。针对学生们今年遭遇的这类特殊情况,多数大学已有明确的处理流程,确保将此类情况在处理申请时加以考虑。

目前学校的毕业生们已在不断收到大学的录取结果,包括来自伦敦帝国理工学院、伦敦国王学院和英国格拉斯哥大学等校的录取,您可在喜报 | 惠灵顿应届毕业生世界顶尖大学录取榜新鲜出炉读到更为详细的信息。学校升学指导团队处于饱满的工作状态,随时可以帮助学生们联系他们的心仪院校,向招生官进一步解释学生们目前面临的困难。大学的官方网站上也已更新了相关信息,我们的升学指导团队也时刻准备着为学生们解答问题。此外,英国大学目前正在假期中,因此与他们的联系可能会略为滞后,但很快招生工作将重新开展,我们也将接到更多信息。

2019天津惠灵顿学校大学展

 

2

Q: 我的孩子在12年级(高二),如果AS考试都取消了,明年大学要怎么处理他/她的申请?

我们为12年级(高二)的学生及家长定期开设说明会,在整个申请流程中,都会通过这些说明会为学生与家长提供指导,并为他们解答问题。此外,我们的专业团队目前也可以在线上平台为12年级(高二)学生提供指导,针对不同国家高校的不同申请流程,每天会为学生发布新的消息。学校辅导老师也与所负责的每位12年级(高二)学生取得了联系,在他们需要时提供建议与帮助。目前学生们都应该在BridgeU平台上提交了个人陈述或申请论文的初稿,这将为后续申请环节留出较为宽裕的时间,确保在提交终稿前拥有足够的准备时间。

我校使用BridgeU作为学生们在线了解大学及其课程的主要平台,9年级以上的学生们在开始申请前的几年中,将使用BridgeU逐步建立起一份属于自己的大学申请资料。BridgeU是一个可以全面满足学生需求的平台,它简明易用,从个性化的课程推荐,到与老师的合作功能,再到向全世界的学校提交申请,各项功能全面实用。家长也可以在孩子的申请过程中使用BridgeU,获取相关信息。

 

3

Q: 我的孩子在11年级(高一),IGCSE考试的取消会影响到他/她未来申请心仪的学校吗?

我们在前不久为11年级(高一)学生家长举办过一次在线家长说明会,向家长们说明了,学校将尽最大努力保证学生未来的大学申请不受目前形势的影响。例如英国考试委员会已经在今年3月提出了相关政策,明确表示考生成绩不会受到当前疫情影响。学校老师将在自己教授的科目上为学生提供一切所需的专业建议,此外,升学指导团队也将随时为学生提供所需的帮助,或进行个别指导。

4

Q: 大学招生官不能像以前一样来校访问了,我要怎么去了解大学相关信息呢?

升学指导团队在Teams上定期发布我们从大学收到的最新相关消息。此外,越来越多的大学还为学生们开设在线说明会,确保他们能够了解到最新的消息。

天津惠灵顿大学升学指导团队

 

5

Q: 如果情况有任何变化,我们怎么保证及时获知呢?

我们非常欣喜地看到,学生和家长们都十分积极地投入到申请过程中来;在当前的形势下,尽可能保持沟通渠道畅通格外重要。我们为高中学生及家长每周定期开设在线交流会,学生和家长可以借此机会提出问题,我们也乐于解答大家的担忧和困惑。例如在近来的一次交流会上,我们讨论了不同国家申请流程的不同,交流了如何准备好英国、加拿大或美国大学的申请,还指导了学生们如何为艺术院校申请准备个人作品集。这样的交流分享会十分受学生和家长欢迎,也让升学指导团队能够为他们提供世界名校的最新消息。

 

6

Q: 我的孩子明年想申请牛津、剑桥,学校能提供什么样的支持?

我们为12年级(高二)学有余力的学生提供了特别的课程,确保他们的能力能够得到进一步提升;这在近来的在线教学时期也没有中断,学生们仍然每周得到老师与辅导老师的相关支持。师生们对教与学都付出了极大的热情,我们也收到了许多积极的反馈。毕业班的学生们仍在通过在线的方式不懈进行面试练习。此外,学生们每周还有机会探索A Level课程之外更广泛的知识,与他们的指导老师一起进一步提升自己。学校为学生们提供了大量的阅读材料及学习资源,供他们在自己感兴趣的领域进行更为深入的学习。

 

7

Q: 我的孩子还在9年级,但我们想更多了解大学申请流程。你们能给我什么建议呢?

我们每周设有辅导项目,年幼一些的学生也可以通过辅导老师早早开始了解大学信息。从9年级开始,学生就可以登录BridgeU,这个在线平台能够帮助学生在准备大学申请时,了解到更多信息,从而做出更优的选择。学生们可以和自己的辅导老师约定谈话时间,就未来的方向进行探讨,这样的探讨大大有助于学生未来准备自己的大学申请。我们同样欢迎家长们参与进来——您可以通过邮件来与升学指导团队预约谈话时间。

(jayne.sabio@wellingtoncollege.cn)

 

8

Q: 我怎样才能在大学申请中得到最大的收获?

在准备自己的大学申请资料时,一份展现自己优秀学术水平的漂亮成绩单是一个重要的元素。同时,升学指导团队一直在不懈努力,旨在为学生提供更多走向世界顶尖大学的机会。去年,惠灵顿学子就通过参与各种享誉世界的活动,为自己的大学申请增色不少;今年也不例外,我们已确定参加2020年英国物理奥林匹克竞赛、美国学术五项全能和十项全能。很遗憾因为疫情原因,学生将不能实际走进考场,而需要在线参加竞赛;在过去几周时间里,他们的在线课程也没有停歇,一直为竞赛进行着艰苦的学习和准备。

 

最后,大学申请对许多人来说都是艰难的,尤其是在当前这样充满不确定性的时期;但只要有充分的准备,资深老师的专业指导,学生仍能圆梦自己心仪的大学,实现人生的目标。