“The Caucasian Chalk Circle”

The Senior School Production of
“The Caucasian Chalk Circle”
was a huge success.

From Mr Bradley

Brecht’s perennial favourite play is a tough play requiring the cast to be all things: actors, puppets, comics, singers and musicians. Of course, this cast would also have to be set designers, costumers and lighting experts.

They impressed the audience through their harmonies and their discordance. I have thoroughly enjoyed this production from start to finish and I am proud not only of the performances but the journey that each member of the cast has taken. I hope this is just the beginning for each of them and that they will continue to produce work with such confidence. Well done to each and everyone of them. Thank you!

From the Cast

Our production of The Caucasian Chalk Circle brought to light the talent available in the Performing Arts at the College. Aside from the performance itself, the experience taught us a wide array of lessons. It revealed sides of people they had not previously been recognised; cast members learnt to speak confidently in front of audiences. We explored how to work as a group and how challenging and fun drama can be. It has encouraged many of us to pursue further drama opportunities.

For the performance, we composed our own music, made our own amendments to the script. We spent time and effort on the play and it was certainly worth every second. Mr.Bradley worked diligently to introduce us to different techniques which we then used to enhance our overall performance. We saw how Drama gave pupils an opportunity to step out of their comfort zone and try something new and exciting.

《高加索灰阑记》

由中学部学生表演的戏剧
《高加索灰阑记》
取得圆满成功 !

来自Mr Bradley

这部戏剧大师布莱希特最受喜爱的作品一直经久不衰,同时戏剧要求也难度颇高,从演员到木偶戏表演,从喜剧演员到歌手和音乐家,戏剧要求演职人员具备承担各种角色的能力。当然,演职人员还需要身兼美工设计、服装师和灯光照明的工作。

演员们的和声和错落有致的音乐旋律令观众印象深刻。从头到尾,我都在充分享受音乐所带来的乐趣。令我非常骄傲的是,这不仅仅是一场演出,更为每位演职人员开启了一段旅程。我希望这仅仅是开始,他们将充满信心,继续给大家呈现更多的作品。每一位成员都出色优异,谢谢你们!

来自演职人员

我们的作品《高加索灰阑记》给学校里具有表演艺术天赋的同学们带来了散发光芒的机会。除了表演本身,这一经历也让我们收获良多。它揭示了人们先前未意识到的自身多面性。剧组演职人员学会在观众面前充满信心地讲话,我们也在一起磨合探究怎样才能更好地进行团队合作,如何面对挑战,探索戏剧本身又能给我们带来多大的乐趣。这次演出鼓励了我们中许多人在未来继续追求更多的戏剧机会。

在整个戏剧表演的策划过程中,我们自己进行音乐创作、修改剧本。我们付出了大量的时间和卓越的努力,毫无疑问,每一秒都是值得的。Mr.Bradley和我们一起开展工作,给我们介绍和引入不同的技术以提升我们整体的艺术表现力。我们见证了戏剧是如何给予学生们机会以走出他们的舒适区并尝试新鲜刺激的事物。