Art Harvest | Official Opening of Our Staircase Galleries

Wellington College International Tianjin has an enviable record in producing top quality art and artists from among its pupil body. In 2019 alone, the school sent graduates to some of the most prestigious art and design institutions across the world, including scholarships to Parsons in New York, OTIS in LA and the university of the arts in London.

As a part of the recent refurbishment of the main building, we have created three wonderful new galleries to display the work of our pupils around the school. Two, the South and West Corner galleries, exhibit an ever-changing range of work by current pupils from Years 7-13. The main staircases, redecorated in such vibrant, Wellington colours, now house our permanent collection, a group of elite artworks by those former pupils who have gone on to study art and design at university. Much of the art displayed formed part of their final examination portfolios and thus reflects the very highest standards of work of our young artists.

The Master, Mr Jeffrey, commented on the gala opening of the galleries. “We have been a centre of excellence in art and design for a number of years, and it is an absolute delight to see the work of so many talented Wellingtonians presented in this way. The galleries provide daily inspiration for our whole community.”

Madeline Churchill, herself a graduate of the Ruskin School of Art at Oxford university and the school’s Head Of Art, explained that, “we always expect the very best from our pupils and we’re proud to exhibit such a diverse range of artworks which exemplify the learning process and growing creative confidence”.

Madeline Churchill, Head of Art

The innovative new gallery spaces, located in the stairwells of the school’s main building, include over 100 examples of work from the art school and provide a vivid example of how the marriage of talent and ambition, two hallmarks of an education at Wellington, can combine to stunning effect. Parents and visitors to the school are warmly invited to tour the galleries over the coming months.

惠灵顿学校艺术走廊,一个你一定要去的地方

天津惠灵顿学校在培养高质量的艺术设计类人才方面有着非常出色的成绩。仅2019年一年,艺术设计方向毕业生进入到了世界上一些最负盛名的艺术和设计高等学府,包括纽约帕森斯学院(Parsons)、洛杉矶奥的斯学院(OTIS)和伦敦艺术大学(university of the arts),并获得了奖学金。

最近,学校的主教学楼正在进行装饰,我们新建了三个很棒的画廊来展示学生的作品,包括南画廊和西画廊,用于展示7-13年级学生的作品。主楼楼梯间用惠灵顿的鲜艳色彩重新装饰,现在成为了我们收藏优秀学生艺术品的展示区,这些作品来自那些已经毕业的惠灵顿的学生,这些作品曾经是他们期末考试作品集的一部分,因此反映了年轻艺术家的最高水平。

校长Julian Jeffrey先生在画廊开幕式上致辞:“多年来,我校的艺术和设计教育一直处于业界领先地位,看到这么多才华横溢的惠灵顿人的作品以这种方式呈现,我们感到非常高兴。画廊每天都为惠灵顿社群提供着灵感。”

Madeline Churchill 是我校艺术教学部主管,她毕业于牛津大学拉斯金艺术学院,她说:“我们总是不断挖掘学生的潜能,帮助他们完成自己最好的作品。这些作品,是艺术学习过程中学生们发展创造力、获得自信感最好的诠释。”

Madeline Churchill, 艺术学科主管

位于主楼楼梯间的画廊总计展出了100多件作品——这是天分和努力共同作用的结果。我们诚挚邀请家长和友人前来参观。