A Masterclass of excellence by Wellington College Tianjin

Tonight’s audience in the Tianjin concert hall was treated to an astonishing performance of Carl Orff’s historic cantata, Carmina Burana. For the first time, Wellington College’s choir of pupils and staff came together to produce a vibrant and exhilarating production.

The school’s choir, made up of 150 pupils, aged from 10-17 years, have been rehearsing for this one-off performance since May. In combination with the professional musicians of the symphony orchestra, the students created a thrilling interpretation of this most complex of pieces, enchanting the audience with their skill and passion.

 

Carmina Burana

Brief Synopsis

Carmina Burana is a scenic cantata composed in 1935 and 1936 by Carl Orff, based on 24 secular poems of the 12th and 13th Centuries. The poems are mostly in Latin, the international language of medieval Europe, and come from a wide variety of historic and literary sources. The religious origins of the source material make it all the more surprising that most are bawdy student songs, celebrating such earthly pleasures as drinking, gambling, and dancing. Orff’s music is a modern masterpiece, setting these ancient texts to music that is as dramatic as it is immediately recognisable. Perhaps the cantata’s best-known movement is O Fortuna, notable for a driving rhythm that has made it one of the best-loved, and most performed, pieces of modern classical music.

Wellington College has been a centre of musical excellence throughout its history, well known across Tianjin for its annual musical productions and seasonal concerts. All students in the school have the chance to study music, take up western and Chinese musical instruments and perform regularly in public. This not only fosters musical talent but also helps young people to challenge themselves, grow in confidence and self-discipline, and push themselves to achieve things well beyond their own expectations.

Julian Jeffrey, the Master, commented that, “Wellington strives for excellence in all that it does. Our performers have worked so hard to balance their schoolwork and other commitments with hours of rehearsals for Carmina Burana; everyone can see how hard work can create these extraordinary results. I am so proud of them all, and grateful to my dedicated colleagues who have made all this possible.”

Ms. Faye Gossedge, Director of Music of the College and the Conductor of Carmina Burana, commented that, “Leonard Bernstein famously stated that, ‘to achieve great things, two things are needed; a plan and not quite enough time.’ Bernstein was right, we never quite get enough time, but we did achieve something great, and we certainly had the man-power.”

Tonight’s audience clearly agreed with Mr Jeffrey’s assessment of the quality of the students’ work, with wild applause greeting the rousing finale. Tianjin’s Concert Hall has witnessed many triumphant performances over the years, but few will have matched the euphoric atmosphere that swept across the auditorium throughout the electric production.

天津惠灵顿学校合唱团唱响旷世名作《布兰诗歌》

今晚,在天津音乐厅,150名来自天津惠灵顿学校合唱团的学生们成功地演绎了史诗级作品《布兰诗歌》。学生们激动人心的表演,为现场的观众们带来了一场非凡出众的视听体验。

 

《布兰诗歌》简介

《布兰诗歌》是由德国作曲家卡尔•奥尔夫(Carl Orff)在1935-1936年间谱曲的情景康塔塔,歌词取材自中世纪时期同名诗集中的24首,该诗集中包含了大量创作于12-13世纪的宗教与抒情诗歌。《布兰诗歌》的歌词选取自其中的抒情诗歌,大部分用当时在国际上通用的拉丁语写就。作品中既有颂扬美好道德的内容,也有讴歌游乐、歌舞等世俗生活乐趣的篇章。奥尔夫的音乐,是现代古典音乐作品中的重要杰作,用跌宕起伏的旋律与节拍展现了音乐更为本质的、原始的特质。其中的《哦,命运》以铿锵的旋律脍炙人口,深受大家喜爱,是现代古典主义的代表作品之一。

天津惠灵顿学校数年来以杰出的音乐教育资源享誉业内,特别是我校的年度音乐剧以及每年多次的音乐会。每一位在这里学习的学生都有机会学习音乐,如西洋或中国传统乐器,并定期参加公开演出。音乐学习不仅能促使年轻人发掘潜能,也令他们在更多领域不断挑战自己,有助他们在自信和自律中成长,取得超越预期的成就。

天津惠灵顿学校校长Julian Jeffrey先生说:“天津惠灵顿学校致力于追求卓越。每一位参与演出的学生都付出了极大的努力,他们利用课余时间进行艰苦的排练,同时兼顾忙碌的学业。只有这样的刻苦才能成就今晚这样成功的演绎。我十分为我的学生们感到骄傲。同时,由衷地感谢惠灵顿的老师们,他们的支持与孩子们的努力共同造就了这场精彩的演出。”

学校音乐总监、《布兰诗歌》指挥Faye Gossedge女士评价道:“世界著名指挥家、作曲家Leonard Bernstein曾有一句名言,‘想要成就大事,有两点是必须的:周全的计划与长时间的努力。’ Bernstein的话有其道理,我们的准备时间或许不够充裕,但因为有这样不懈努力的师生们,我们仍然取得了了不起的成就。”

今晚莅临现场的观众在演出结束后都报以热烈的掌声,他们与Julian Jeffrey校长的感受是一样的——学生们确实献上了极高品质的作品。多年来,天津音乐厅见证过无数非凡的表演,惠灵顿学子今天带来的震撼表演,再一次为观众们带来了无与伦比的视听享受。