The Week Ahead 4 May 2017



Dear Parents,

I write this week en route to London for the Headteachers’ Conference of The British Council of International Schools (COBIS).  The College was recently accepted into membership of COBIS, linked to our CIS Accreditation success.  This is the largest association of British international schools in the world. One of a number of significant educational networking benefits for member schools, for all their staff, not just their headteachers, is up-to-date training and awareness of best UK professional practice in both academic and pastoral educational provision.  This happens through many meetings and online opportunities, throughout the year and across the world.  Good schools ensure and encourage access to these opportunities for their staff, as clearly of essential benefit for both staff and pupils.  A school’s commitment to the ongoing professional development of its staff is also very important in recruiting, and retaining, a high calibre staff body as a whole. This is something we take very seriously at Wellington Tianjin, and the Second Master also writes on this important topic today, further below.

The staff educational ‘think-piece’ this week is by Mr Lewis, Head of Pastoral Care, on the importance of good routines for regular sleep from an early age.  This was also the theme for yesterday’s presentation in the Black Box Theatre for Junior School parents, by Mrs Zantua and Mrs Bradley.  My colleagues and I know that good habits and discipline in this area can be a challenge for some of our families in both Senior and Junior Schools, and if you feel you would like more advice or support concerning this, please do get in touch with us.

With best wishes to all our Wellington families.

Michael Higgins
Master


Teachers at Wellington

I have had several conversations with parents recently, and one hot topic has been the praise heaped upon our teaching staff. It is heartening to hear so many positive stories of teachers and TAs who have gone beyond expectations to help an individual pupil, or taken the time to meet with parents to discuss the progress of their child. Anyone who has spent time working in schools will know how exhausting teaching can be – breaks are rarely genuine down time and children have to be supervised throughout the school day by staff – so finding time to help pupils with their learning outside the classroom is not always easy. Teachers and TAs at Wellington have an enviable reputation for going the extra mile to help our young people, and we value their contributions enormously.

Recruiting and retaining staff who subscribe so wholeheartedly to Wellington’s values and ethos is a careful process. We look for men and women who excel in their practice and who are willing to erode their own time by giving freely to others. Not everyone is suited to being a ‘Wellington teacher’, and one of the challenges for senior leaders is to identify new talent as well as foster the rich seam of teaching expertise we have in school. Retaining the outstanding teachers we have is a key priority for us as a community – I know how much importance parents attach to this aspect of school, and we are fully committed to a programme of training and development that will help to keep our teachers engaged and flourishing in Tianjin.

Happily, the vast majority of our teachers will be here next year to help your children grow and learn, but later this term I will update you on the new staff joining our school in August. You will find them all highly trained, skilled professionals with the best interests of your children at heart. They too are committed to the Wellington values, and share our determination to continue the progress of the past few years. They join a strong and vibrant staff body, many of whom have been with the school since its launch, and I know that you will welcome them to the Wellington family we have here in the city.
Meet the Master,
1400hrs
Thursday 11th May

This week the Meet the Master slot is aimed at parents of children in Years 2-6. If you would like to attend, please confirm via email with Ms Emma Shi (emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn) by Wednesday 10th May.


University applications – thinking outside of the box

Our pupils have typically applied to universities in the United Kingdom and the United States of America, but in an ever-changing world, it is prudent for us all to be considering other destinations for our leavers. Developments such as Brexit in the UK and on-going uncertainty over the impact of a Trump presidency for the US, mean that our pupils now face greater complexity in making their choices for Higher Education. Whilst these two countries remain excellent options, there are other countries in the world offering brilliant opportunities. Japan, a stable regional influence with a strong reputation for its universities, is an attractive option. Nagoya University, for example, offers a diverse range of courses delivered in English and has international students from 97 countries studying courses ranging from Automotive Engineering, Law, Political Science, Economics and Business Administration to Cultural Studies. Tokyo University (ranked 31st in the world) has a plethora of programmes offered in English, for example Architecture and Urban Planning, International Economics and Master of Public Policy International Programme (MPP/IP). An additional incentive is the very competitive nature of the cost of university education in Japan; fees typically are less than $5000 / year and, of course, Japan is close to home for many of our pupils. Germany is another good option. German universities offer free tuition for international students and there are also excellent courses delivered in English at all the major universities. The Netherlands, Switzerland, Canada and Australia also offer exciting opportunities, with highly regarded courses and competitive fees. I am encouraging our pupils to look at all of the opportunities on offer and I hope that you as parents will too. Our new online platform, Bridge U, is helping our pupils to plan ahead and think about what it is that they need to do in order to plan their university applications.

If you would like to know more about the ways in which we support our pupils from Year 9 upwards in plotting their university admission’s route, then please come to a briefing for parents on Wednesday 24th May. It is at 0900hrs in the Common Room, and I will be using the time to show how Bridge U works and how parents can access it to help their children in the increasingly complex process of successful admission to the world’s finest universities.


Tianjin Recycling and Environmental Challenge (TReC)

Wellington College took part in the Tianjin Recycling and Environmental Challenge (TReC) organized by the Environmental and Sustainability committee of AmCham China, Tianjin. Our pupils collected recyclable waste, and I am very pleased to announce that our school collected a whopping 160kg of paper and 6kg of plastic that will now be recycled. Many thanks for our Year 11 and Year 12 pupils who organised the collection of the recyclable materials and helping our environment.

Congratulations too to Maisie in Year 3 who won first place for her wonderful collage on how to be more environmentally responsible. The prize award ceremony was held on April 28th at the Westin Hotel.

This was the first time Wellington College took part in recycling challenge, and we are hoping that it will become a bigger part of our daily lives.



Common Room
0900hrs
Wednesday 10th May

Every Wednesday morning from 0900-1030hrs, parents will have the chance to engage with the school in sessions that cover all aspects of your child’s education, from the Early Years to A Levels and university admissions. The venue will vary according to the anticipated audience, and for the third meeting, parents will be in the Common Room for a briefing by the Head of the Junior School, Mrs Yynda Thomas

Our next briefing for parents is on Wednesday 10th May, following the very successful Nest meetings over the past couple of weeks. Please join Mrs Thomas and her senior team for a session on the importance of Transition Days for pupils moving to Year 7. This is a key opportunity for children to learn about the differences in the school day and ways of learning in the Senior School, and, whilst it is open to all parents, it is clearly of most use parents of children in Year 6. It will be held in the Common Room on Wednesday, 10th May from 0900-1030hrs.


This is another in our regular series of insights from teachers across the school into raising resilient and successful young Wellingtonians. This week, Mr Lewis writes about keeping a healthy balance of sleep, food and studying.

Let’s Protect Our Children

It is time to Pay Attention to the Science and make a change.

The wise saying, “Breakfast is the most important meal of the day” has been spoken by countless parents throughout the ages. It has been whispered in the ears of school children on early-to-rise mornings for centuries, yet the depth of understanding as to why breakfast is so important has only been brought to light in recent years.

The side effects of not eating breakfast negatively impact weight, hormonal health, memory, cognition and mood.

Research at the Leiden University Medical Center (LUMC) has shown that a person’s blood sugar levels are adversely affected by just a single instance of sleep deprivation. After a sleep of only four hours, the sensitivity to insulin drops by almost a quarter!

Sending children to School with sleep deprivation and no breakfast is undermining their health and chances of academic success – significantly.

According to the National Sleep Foundation, the recommended sleep times are:

  • Infants (4-11 months): need 12-15 hours (previously it was 14-15)
  • Toddlers (1-2 years): need 11-14 hours (previously it was 12-14)
  • Preschoolers (3-5): need 10-13 hours (previously it was 11-13)
  • School age children (6-13): need 9-11 hours (previously it was 10-11)
  • Teenagers (14-17): need 8-10 hours (previously it was 8.5-9.5)
  • Younger adults (18-25): need 7-9 hours (new age category)
  • Teachers and Parents (26-64): need 7-9 hours
  • Older adults (65+): need 7-8 hours

Now when we add in the following, the situation is alarming.

  • One can of sugar-based drink a day increases the chances of early onset diabetes by 23%
  • 3 hours or more of non-education screen time is reducing exam grades by two grades in every subject taken.
  • Parents’ overuse of mobile phones is destroying family life according to a report by the BBC this week.

It is time for action everyone, time to make the change and protect our future.


As usual the Junior School was extremely busy, welcoming back Year 6 and their staff from the exciting trip to London. The children and staff had an amazing time, and have taken with them many happy memories. Another superb trip that we will look to continue next year.

Year 5 children showed off their performing skills on Friday with ‘Calamity Reigns’. The children produced many wonderful sketches that had the audience roaring with laughter.  The children wrote, produced and performed their own sketches during their Literacy lessons.  When children from a second language background are able to laugh at jokes involving word play, extending to writing their own jokes, let alone write a performance sketch it shows a thorough acquisition of the second language. All the children in Year 5 were outstanding, and performed with such expertise on the stage.

Year 2 children were also in the limelight on Friday, reciting poetry. 15 children from Year 2 who wanted to ‘show off’ their skills, performed their poetry in the Seldon Theatre in front of their parents and all of Year 2. The Master, Mr Higgins and myself scored them. They were all very brave to stand on stage on their own, not only remembering their poem but also putting actions to it. Ms Carr split the children into several categories; there were 3 children in each category. She then gave Mr Higgins and me a score sheet that I can only describe as a similar format to an interview process! We had to look for Projection, Diction, Expression and Pace – all sections had sub-sections with the top marks being 10 – it took us quite a while to determine the end result, and even harder finding winners in each of the categories as all the children worked exceptionally hard in remembering their poems.

The winners were:
Elementary – Eric
Beginner – Huahong
Upper Intermediate – Jia Jia
Intermediate – Umay
Advanced – Apple

All children that took part received a medal and certificate.

Also, we received some marvellous news on Monday. Sydney and Xiyuan’s ice hockey team gained the 2nd place in the All Star skating clubs National Championships. Six junior ice hockey teams across China joined in a 3-day competition in Shanghai. Both children were key players of team representing Tianjin Tigers. They played exceptionally well, with a strong team spirit (which they have learned at Wellington).

As individuals, each of them was rewarded as a top player in two games. Sydney, one of the only four girls in the competition, was rewarded as the top scorer from more than 70 boys and girls. The achievement has made the history for their team and has been fully recognized at both Tianjin and National levels.  We are exceptionally proud of both Sydney and Xiyuan as the students of Wellington – they are an inspiration to all our young children.



Monday 08 May 2017
0740hrs – 0800hrs
Whole School Staff Meeting (JAFJ) (Common Room)

1200hrs – 1230hrs
Wellesley House Assembly (Sports and Activities) (MS) (Theatre)

Wednesday 10 May 2017
0900hrs – 1030hrs
Parent Briefing: Transition Day for Year 6 (YT) (Common Room)

1545hrs – 1845hrs
TESMC Course (CN) (MB 335)

1600hrs – 1700hrs
Staff CPD – Support Triangle & PLCs (incl Safeguarding refresher) (JL)

Thursday 11 May 2017
1100hrs – 1500hrs
Year 12 IB A & AL (Year 11) Mandarin Trip to House of Caoyu & Liang Qichao (YZ)

1400hrs – 1515hrs
Meet the Master (Yrs 2-6) (ES) (Master’s Office)

Friday 12 May 2017
0830hrs – 0930hrs
Class Assembly – Year 1 (YT)

1400hrs – 1530hrs
Junior School Swimming (h) (SC) (Sports Centre)

1700hrs
Senior School Reports & Interims Published (DP)

每周快讯 2017年5月4日


亲爱的各位家长,

这周,我将前往伦敦参加COBIS(全球英国国际学校组织)校长年会,由于学校成功取得了CIS资质认证,近期COBIS也接纳我们成为正式会员。COBIS,是全球最大的英国国际学校组织,提供了巨大的教育资源网络,受益于会员学校的老师以及教工,为他们提供前沿的培训和当前英国最好的专业的教育实践,覆盖教学和校园关怀两大领域。通过一些列研讨会和在线分享,贯穿全年,覆盖全球。一所好的学校,应该为员工提供这样的平台和机会,毫无疑问,学生将会因此获益巨大。为教师提供持续不断的职业发展,对教师招聘、教师留用和教师整体的高水准都非常重要。天津惠灵顿国际学校,对教师工作非常之重视,下文来自副校长的专题文章将和您分享这个重要的主题。

本期“Week Ahead”的教育专题版块,您将读到学生工作副校长Lewis老师撰写的文章,从幼儿期培养孩子规律的睡眠、良好的作息是多么重要。值得一提的是,昨天以此为主题, Zantua老师 and Bradley老师为小学部家长做了专题讲解。我和我的同事们知道,对于一些小学部和中学部的家长来说,好习惯和好管教是满具挑战的事情,如果您想听一听我们的建议或者希望得到支持,不要犹豫请与学校联系。

向全体惠灵顿大家庭致以诚挚问候
校长 Michael Higgins


惠灵顿的老师们

最近我和家长朋友们做了一些交流,其中最重要的话题就是他们对我们教师团队的由衷称赞。很高兴能够听到这么多的老师和助教,他们如此积极地尽全力帮助某个学生,或者和家长见面讨论孩子的进步情况,这样的故事令我感到非常振奋并备受鼓舞。所有在学校工作过的人都知道,教学是一件很辛苦的工作—即使是可见休息,老师们也不能放松,因为孩子们在学校期间需要始终得到老师的看护—因此在教学以外的时间帮助孩子们学习不是一件容易的事情。惠灵顿的老师和助教们做出更多的努力,付出更多的精力帮助我们的学生,也为他们赢得了良好的口碑,我们也非常由衷感谢他们为此做出的贡献。

聘请并保持这样一支为工作全心付出,且符合惠灵顿价值观和教学理念的教师团队,有一套完善的流程。我们寻找的是在工作中表现出色的各位男老师和女老师们,并且愿意牺牲自己的时间无偿帮助他人。并不是所有人都适合做“惠灵顿老师”,而高管团队面临的一个挑战便是不断发现新的优秀教师,同时帮助现有的教师队伍发展完善他们的职业技能。保持这样一只卓越的教师团队使我们作为一个社群的首要关键—我很了解各位家长对于学校这一方面的密切关注,因此学校也尽全力为教师队伍提供培训和发展项目,以便使他们充分融入天津地区的教育环境,不断进步。

很高兴,明年我们的大部分教师将继续在这里帮助孩子们成长学习,本学期末我也将向各位汇报8月份将加入我们学校的新教职员工情况。您将看到新加入的成员们都受过高水平的训练,职业技能优秀,同时内心对您的孩子充满关爱。他们也将践行惠灵顿的价值观,并继续我们过去几年中取得的进步并做出自己的贡献。新教职员工们即将加入我们现有的这个活跃的集体,他们中的很多人是建校以来就来到惠灵顿的,我坚信各位也会在此欢迎他们加入我们的惠灵顿大家庭。

与校长见面
14:00 周四
5月11日

本周的与校长见面时间主要面向2-6年级学生家长。如果您想要参加,请于5月10日周三前发送邮件给Ms Emma Shi石老师(emma.shi@wellingtoncollege.cn)。


大学申请—打破陈规

我们的学生们通常会申请英国和美国的大学,但是在当今这样一个瞬息万变的世界,同时为毕业生们考虑其他大学选择将是更明智的做法。英国脱欧,以及现在持续的由特朗普当选美国总统后的不确定性,都使得我们现在的毕业生们在选择继续深造的地点时面对更加复杂的情况。虽然这两个国家仍然是很好的选择,世界上的许多其他过加也提供了极好的深造机会,日本,作为一个很稳定的地区,有很多知名学府,也是一个不错的选择。例如,名古屋大学有许多用英语教授的课程,其在校国际生来自97个国家,所学课程涵盖自动化工程,法律,政治科学,经济和商业管理以及文化研究。东京大学(世界排名31位),提供大量的英语课程项目,例如建筑和城市规划,国际经济以及国际项目公共政策硕士(MPP/IP)。一个额外的优势就是日本大学的学费很有竞争力;每年学费通常低于$5000 ,当然,日本对我们许多学生来说离家也更近。德国是另一个不错的选择。德国向国际生提供免学费学习机会,此外,许多主要大学都提供英语教学课程。荷兰,瑞士,加拿大和澳大利亚也有许多很好的机会,有高水平的课程以及有竞争力的学费标准。我在此鼓励我的学生们全面了解所有的深造机会,同时也希望您作为父母可以一起进行了解。我们新的网上平台Bridge U,正在帮助学生们进行提前规划,并且让他们了解大学申请工作的具体内容。

如果您想进一步了解我们如何帮助9年级以上的学生们进行大学录取工作规划,欢迎您于5月24日周三到校参加家长介绍会。地点在员工休息室,时间为09:00,届时我将向各位展示如何使用Bridge U,以及各位家长如何利用他帮助您的孩子完成大学申请工作,让他们进入世界顶级学府继续深造。


天津再循环及环保竞赛活动(TReC)

惠灵顿学校参加了由中国美国商会环保及可持续发展委员会举办的天津再循环及环保竞赛活动(TReC)。我们的学生们收集了可循环再利用的废品,我很高兴地宣布我们学校收集了重达 160kg的纸张以及6kg的塑料制品,这些都将被回收再利用。非常感谢我们11年级和12年级的学生们,他们帮忙收集了可回收利用的材料并且帮助保护我们的环境。

热烈祝贺3年级的Maisie,她的拼接作品充分展示了环保责任主题并获得了一等奖。颁奖仪式于4月28日在威斯汀酒店举行。

这是惠灵顿第一次参加这一回收再利用比赛,我们也希望这一活动将成为我们日常生活的一个重要部分


员工休息室,
09:00
周三
5月10日

每周三上午0900-1030,家长们将有机会参与到学校的各项有关您孩子教育的工作中,从低龄教育到A Level以及大学录取工作全都会有所涉及。地点会根据参加的观众有所不同,针对本次第三场介绍会,各位家长们将在员工休息室Common Room参加由小学部校长Yynda Thomas女士主持的说明会。

在过去两周成功举办两场幼儿园介绍会后,我们的下一场家长介绍会将在5月10日周三举办。欢迎您前来参加由Thomas女士和她的管理团队组织的介绍会,本期主题为学生升入7年级过渡时期的重要性。对于即将升入中学部的学生来说,这是他们了解升入中学部日常学习生活变化的重要机会,同时本次介绍会也面向全体家长开放,当然对大多说6年级家长来说该主题更加实用。介绍会地点在员工休息室,时间为5月10日周三, 09:00-10:30.


来自学生工作副校长(心理关怀)
本期教育热点,Lewis先生与各位分享如何均衡睡眠,饮食和学习以保持身体健康。

让我们来保护我们的孩子

我们应当注意科学并作出改变。

多年来家长们都在重复着这样一句话,“早餐是一天中最重要的一餐”。几个世纪以来,每个早起的清晨,学龄儿童的耳畔总会响起这样的提醒,然而对于早餐为何如此重要的深层原因,却是近几年才被发现的。

不吃早餐的副作用将对体重,生理健康,记忆力,认知及情绪产生不利影响。

莱顿大学医学中心(LUMC)的研究显示,一次睡眠不足就会对人的血糖水平产生不利影响。只需4小时睡眠后,对胰岛素的敏感度就会降低将近15%!

送睡眠不足,且没有吃早餐的孩子到学校上学将损害他们的健康,极大程度地影响学业进步。

根据国家睡眠委员会,推荐的睡眠时间为:

  • 婴儿(4-11个月):需要12-15个小时( 之前规定为14-15)
  • 幼儿(1-2岁):需要11-14小时(之前为12-14)
  • 学龄前儿童(3-5):需要10-13小时(之前为11-13)
  • 学龄儿童(6-13岁):需要9-11小时(之前为10-11)
  • 青少年(14-17岁):需要8-10小时(之前为8.5-9.5)
  • 年轻的成年人(18-25):需要7-9小时 (新的年龄划分)
  • 教师和父母(26-64岁):需要7-9小时
  • 年长的成年人(65岁以上):需要7-8小时

现在如果出现以下情况,就足以引起我们的注意。

  • 一天饮用一听糖分为主的饮料将增加患早期糖尿病的风险达23%
  • 3小时或更长时间的非教学屏幕时间将使每门考试成绩下滑2个等级。
  • 根据BBC本周的报道,家长过度使用手机将影响家庭生活。

是时候行动起来了,我们需要作出改变并保护我们的未来。


如往常一样,小学部依然格外忙碌,欢迎6年级的学生和老师从他们激动的伦敦之行归来。孩子们和老师们度过了美好的时光,并且留下了愉快的记忆。我们期待明年继续这一愉快的旅行。

5年级的孩子们在周五的‘Calamity Reigns’演出上展示了他们的表演才华。孩子们展示了自己创作短故事的能力,赢得了观众的喝彩和笑声。孩子们在语言课上写字,表演他们自己的短篇小故事。当孩子们能够理解非母语语言的笑话,进而创作自己的笑话,充分展示了他们学习语言的成果。全体5年级学生都非常出色,完成了如此专业的表演。

2年级的孩子们在周五同样进行了出色的表演,背诵诗歌。15个来自2年级的孩子们想要展示他们的技能,在塞尔登剧场全体2年级学生和家长面前背诵诗歌。我和校长Mr Higgins先生为他们评分。他们能够自己站在台上是非常勇敢的,他们不仅记住了诗歌,同时加入了动作表演。Ms Carr将孩子们进行了分组;每组有3个孩子。之后她给了我和校长先生一个打分表,整个过程类似一场面试!我们需要考察表演,背诵,表达和韵律-各个部分都有小的单元,最高分为10分-我们画了很长时间完成最终评分,而决定优胜者更加困难,因为所有的孩子们都为背诵诗歌付出了格外的努力。

获胜者是:
基础班 – Eric
初学者 – Huahong
中级阶段(初) – Jia Jia
中级 – Umay
高级阶段 – Apple

所有参加的孩子们都得到了奖牌和证书。

同时,周一我们得到了很激动人心的消息。Sydney 和 Xiyuan的冰球队在国家全明星滑冰俱乐部得到了第二名。中国6支小学冰球队在上海参加了3天的比赛。两个孩子都是天津虎队的重要队员。他们表现的非常好,拥有强烈的团队精神(是他们在惠灵顿培养出来的)

作为个人,他们每个人都被授予场上最佳队员称号。Sydney,比赛中的4名女孩之一,从70名男孩和女孩中脱颖而出,得到最佳射手称号。这创造了他们球队的历史,也得到了天津和国家水平的认可。我们特别为Sydney 和Xiyuan两位惠灵顿学生感到骄傲-他们也激励了全体学生。


2017年5月8日 周一
7:40AM – 8:00AM
全校职工会议 (JAFJ) (教师休息室)

12:00PM – 12:30PM
Wellesley 学院集会 (运动和活动) (MS) (剧场)

2017年5月10日 周三
9:00AM – 10:30AM
家长介绍会: 6年级升级日 (YT) (员工休息室)

3:45PM – 6:45PM
TESMC 课程 (CN) (MB 335)

4:00PM – 5:00PM
员工教研 CPD – 支撑三角 & PLCs (包括保护政策更新) (JL)

2017年5月11日 周四
11:00AM – 3:00PM
12年级 IB A 及 AL (11年级) 中文部曹禺及梁启超故居郊游(YZ)

2:00PM – 3:15PM
与校长见面 (2-6年级) (ES) (校长办公室)

2017年5月12日 周五
8:30AM – 9:30AM
班级集会 – 1年级 (YT)

2:00PM – 3:30PM
小学部游泳 (h) (SC) (体育馆)

5:00PM
中学部报告 & 期中成绩公布(DP)