为什么惠立学校设立“百万”全额奖学金?

为什么惠立学校设立“百万”全额奖学金?三方力量联合发起惠立学校叔蘋奖学金
左起:
惠灵顿(中国)创始人兼理事长乔英女士
上海市教育发展基金会王荣华理事长
叔蘋奖学金管理委员会主席顾家麒先生
叔蘋奖学金管理委员会副主席顾伟诚先生
 
在中国,有这么一个奖学金,从1939年以一己之力创立,持续了80年,跨越了三代人,惠及近万名清寒学子,至今每年仍在全国范围内发放,堪称是近代中国存续时间最久惠及人数最多的奖学金工程,它就是“叔蘋奖学金”。惠灵顿(中国)创始人兼理事长乔英女士,就是其中一位获奖的“叔蘋”学子。
 
为发扬“得诸社会,还诸社会”的叔蘋精神,在叔蘋奖学金80周年之际,惠灵顿(中国)国际教育集团联合叔蘋奖学金、上海市教育发展基金会特别设立“惠立学校叔蘋奖学金”,全额资助品学兼优的中国学子接受惠立教育。
 
今天,我们来听听这背后的故事,惠灵顿(中国)为何要发起“惠立学校叔蘋奖学金”?
 
“得诸社会,还诸社会“的叔蘋奖学金,传承80年,惠及近万人
 
为什么惠立学校设立“百万”全额奖学金?
顾公叔蘋肖像
 
1939年,浙江湖州南浔人顾乾麟,以一已之力在上海创立了叔蘋奖学金。之所以命名为“叔蘋”,源于他的父亲——顾叔蘋先生。顾乾麟先生17岁时因父逝世而辍学,早早踏入社会经商创业。事业走上正轨后,顾乾麟秉承慈父叔蘋公“得诸社会,还诸社会”的遗训,创立了叔蘋奖学金。
 
为什么惠立学校设立“百万”全额奖学金?1939年顾乾麟先生在怡和打包厂
一人身兼数职
 
在创立初期战火纷飞的年代,叔蘋奖学金扶持了千余名优秀的清寒学子,让他们不因贫困而辍学。顾乾麟先生去世后,其次子顾家麒先生接任叔蘋奖学金管理委员会主席。虽身在香港,但顾家麒先生不遗余力践行着“得诸社会,还诸社会”的叔蘋精神,坚持助困扶志、奖学育英的理念,在顾氏先人基础上不断扩大捐助规模,吸纳各种专项奖学金项目,将“叔蘋奖学金”由顾氏家族善举,变成为全体叔蘋学子乃至社会各界友好人士共同的事业。

至2019年,叔蘋奖学金已历时八十年,设奖范围包括北京、上海、湖州、阜阳多地的几十所学校,累计近万人得奖,其存续时间之久、影响人数之多,堪称是近代中国存续时间最久惠及人数最多的奖学金工程。
 
为什么惠立学校设立“百万”全额奖学金?“叔蘋奖学金”管理委员会主席顾家麒先生致辞


在“叔蘋奖学金”80周年庆典上,五湖四海的“叔蘋人”汇聚在顾氏家族的故乡浙江湖州。八十年风雨征程春华秋实,三代人善念传承薪火相继,在场所有人无不为之动容。我们看到了解放前得奖学生,大多已年过九旬,白发苍苍;解放后得奖学生则风华正茂,蓄志奋进。

惠灵顿(中国)创始人兼理事长乔英女士与“叔蘋精神”的深厚联结
 

惠灵顿(中国)国际教育集团创始人兼理事长乔英女士,当属风华正茂的“叔蘋人”之一。
 
90年代初,当时乔英女士还是上海市第三女子中学的一名高中生,品学兼优的她通过选拔成为第34期叔蘋奖学金获得者,成为叔蘋大家庭的一份子。1994年, 因为是叔蘋得奖同学,乔英女士便被推荐参加“怡和奖学金”在大陆的第一次选拔。
 
“怡和奖学金“与“叔蘋奖学金”,有着四代人的渊源关系。源于顾乾麟先生的祖父,19世纪末在上海与英商怡和公司合作创办公司。1982年怡和集团为庆祝“成立150周年”设立了怡和基金会,该基金会与牛津大学、剑桥大学合作,向通过基金会面试并被两校录取的本科生提供3-4年的全额奖学金,即“怡和奖学金”。
 

 为什么惠立学校设立“百万”全额奖学金?
顾乾麟先生及夫人与怡和公司合作六十年合影
 
由于顾氏家族与怡和集团长期的精诚合作,并鉴于叔蘋同学的优异表现,顾乾麟先生向怡和基金会提议,每年在叔蘋得奖同学的高中毕业生中,挑选一名同学给予一个怡和奖学金名额。


当年恰逢乔英高三,因优异表现,与大陆其他20名候选人到香港参加怡和基金会的面试。乔英最后位列第二,没有拿到怡和奖学金,但在叔蘋奖学金现任主席顾家麒先生及怡和奖学金朋友的多方努力下,为她争取到另一个基金会的赞助,得以资助她在牛津大学的求学费用。乔英女士也成为牛津大学奥里尔学院(Oriel College)解放后第一位来自中国大陆的本科留学生。这是乔英女士与叔蘋奖学金最深厚最强烈的联结。

过去的27年,在叔蘋大家庭里,乔英女士得以结识众多优秀同龄“叔蘋人”,与他们一起相互学习交流,激励彼此共同进步。牛津大学的留学生涯,也为乔英女士打开了世界舞台。牛津毕业回国工作到创立惠灵顿(中国)国际教育集团,现旗下拥有9所惠灵顿外籍人员子女及民办惠立学校和幼儿园,成为中国国际教育领域最受人关注的办学集团之一,乔英始终感恩自己能够成为“叔蘋人“。

而最让她感动之处在于顾氏家族代代相传的高洁家风:不奢侈、不张扬、积极进取、回报社会等品质,皆成为她的人格榜样。乔英女士认为,这种榜样力量,在一定程度上成就了她今天惠灵顿(中国)的事业。她发下心愿,希望有朝一日在自己的学校,设立叔蘋奖学金。


“叔蘋奖学金”80周年之际,惠立学校叔蘋奖学金成立了!
 
12月1日上午在浙江湖州举办的叔蘋奖学金创立80周年庆祝大会上,乔英女士作为叔蘋奖学金得奖同学代表上台致辞,感恩叔蘋奖学金对她人生和人格的正向影响,同时宣布为发扬“得诸社会,还诸社会”的叔蘋精神,惠灵顿(中国)国际教育集团联合叔蘋奖学金、上海教育发展基金会三方力量设立“惠立学校叔蘋奖学金”。
 
为什么惠立学校设立“百万”全额奖学金?

惠灵顿(中国)创始人兼理事长乔英女士作为叔蘋得奖同学代表致辞发言

 

该奖学金面向9年级及以上品学兼优的中国工薪阶层家庭的学生,使他们有机会接受惠灵顿(中国)旗下惠立学校最优秀的双语教育,成为具有国际视野并为中华民族做出贡献的新一代栋梁之材,真正实现叔蘋精神。
 
作为惠灵顿(中国)最高级别奖学金项目,与以往设置的艺术、体育、学术专项奖学金或助学金最大不同之处在于,是专为中国工薪阶层家庭的品学兼优学生特别设立,且是全额奖学金。而且,考虑到学生家庭实际情况,该奖学金不但包括了全额学费,学校还支付上学期间的餐费、校服费及寄宿费等,因此奖学金比例高达110%。

若获奖学生入学后,学业品格一直符合条件,可持续申请惠立学校叔蘋奖学金,直至高中毕业,即意味着能够获得上百万的奖学金。
 
奖学金的首次发放在2020年天津惠灵顿国际课程中心落地,随着上海浦东新区民办惠立学校、杭州市萧山区惠立学校的发展,惠立学校叔蘋奖学金也将在未来2-3年开始发放本项奖学金。
 
为什么惠立学校设立“百万”全额奖学金?
 惠立学校叔蘋奖学金揭牌仪式
左起为:王晓峰先生 、顾伟诚副主席、顾家麒主席、乔英女士、王荣华理事长、程艺华先生
 
在叔蘋奖学金80周年顾乾麟先生诞辰110周年暨湖州颁奖庆祝大会上,上海市教育发展基金会王荣华理事长、“叔蘋奖学金”管理委员会主席顾家麒先生与乔英女士揭牌“惠立学校叔蘋奖学金”仪式。叔蘋奖学金副主席顾伟诚先生、上海叔蘋同学会会长程艺华先生、北京叔蘋同学会会长王晓峰先生,与在场200多位叔蘋人,共同见证了惠灵顿(中国)及“叔蘋奖学金”这个值得记载的时刻。
 
“得诸社会,还诸社会”叔蘋精神的延续
 
为什么惠立学校设立“百万”全额奖学金?“叔蘋奖学金”管理委员会主席顾家麒先生致辞
 
乔女士在谈及叔蘋精神的理解时曾分享道:“我们每个人的成长不只是个人努力的结果,更重要的是我们生活在怎样的时代、怎样的社会。我们生活在中国经济飞速发展的时代,所得的大部分其实来自于社会。
 

如今我能从事自己热爱的事业,其实是很多人共同付出的成果。我有能力通过自己的努力去为别人创造价值,是‘还诸社会’的机会。给予的同时让我觉得再次获得,‘给’和‘予’有机的互生让我身心舒畅和富有满足感,而当这种良好感觉与为别人创造价值相联系时,我们就有无限的内驱力去不断努力,并为社会创造价值。”

犹记得顾乾麟先生常表示,他平生最大的快慰,就是看到他资助的学生,一批批从学校毕业,成为有用的人才,为社会做出贡献。乔英女士此举极好地发扬了叔蘋人的精神。

“惠贤育能、立德树人“正是惠立学校的校训,惠立学校期望通过这个极具吸引力的金额奖学金项目,培养一批具有高度中华民族文化自信和国际视野的学子,不断发扬“得诸社会,还诸社会”的崇高精神。

其他关注

 

教学

 

幸福关怀

 

工作机会

Huili School to offer highly valued full scholarships: why?

Huili School to offer highly valued full scholarships: why?From left:
Ms. Joy Qiao,Founder and Chair of Governors of Wellington College China
Mr. Wang Ronghua, Chair of Governors of Shanghai Education Development Foundation
Mr. Gu Jiaqi, Chairman of the Management Committee of Shuping Scholarship
Mr. Gu Weicheng, Vice Chairmanthe of the Management Committee of Shuping Scholarship
 
In China, a scholarship programme was founded in 1939 enhancing opportunities for three generations and nearly 10,000 students who experience poor study conditions. The programme continues to operate across China as the longest running programme with the greatest number of beneficiaries. The Shuping Scholarship.
 
Ms. Joy Qiao, Founder and Chair of Governors of Wellington College China (WCC), was one of the many beneficiaries of a Shuping scholarship. To realise the saying: "what is gained from the society should be returned to society”, and on the 80th anniversary of the Shuping Scholarship, WCC International Education Group launches the Huili School Shuping Scholarship. This will be awarded to Chinese students with both excellent academic results and wider talents and will provide a place at Huili School that is fully subsidised.
 
This article introduces the story behind why WCC has set up the Huili School Shuping Scholarship.
 
The Shuping Scholarship has been operating for 80 years, benefiting 10,000 students and fostering the belief “what is gained from the society should be returned to the society”.
 
Huili School to offer highly valued full scholarships: why? Mr. Gu Shupin
 
In 1939, Gu Jiaqi's grandfather, Mr. Gu Qianlin, founded the Shuping Scholarship. “Shuping” is named in memory of Mr. Gu Qianlin’s father, Mr. Gu Shuping. Mr. Gu Qianlin, originally from Huzhou, Zhejiang Province, discontinued his studies at the age of 17 due to the death of his father and set out early into a career and later business. Mr. Gu Qianlin adhered to his father’s legacy of “what is gained from the society should be returned to the society” and established Shuping Scholarship.
 
Huili School to offer highly valued full scholarships: why?Mr. Gu Qianlin
 
Initially established in war-ridden years, the Shuping Scholarship supported more than a thousand excellent but poor students, helping to prevent them from dropping out of school. After the death of Mr. Gu Qianlin, his second son, Mr. Gu Jiaqi took over as Chairman of the Management Committee of Shuping Scholarship. Although residing in Hong Kong, Mr. Gu Jiaqi spared no effort to realise the Shuping spirit of “what is gained from the society should be returned to the society”. He was fully committed to helping the poor, rewarding learning and educating the young, by continuously expanding the scale of donations to the scholarship fund. The expansion included special scholarship projects specifically supported by the Gu family’s charitable fund.
 
Huili School to offer highly valued full scholarships: why?Mr. Gu Jiaqi' speech on the 80th anniversary celebration
 
The Shuping Scholarship is now in its 80thyear, with the award extending to dozens of schools in Beijing, Shanghai, Huzhou, Fuyang and beyond. A total of nearly 10,000 people have been awarded a scholarship; the oldest and largest of an such foundation in China.

As part of the 80th anniversary celebration, Shuping scholars from all corners of China will gather in the Gu family's hometown of Huzhou, Zhejiang Province. Three generations of beneficiaries will be present, most notably some that were awarded the very first Shuping Scholarship who are over 90 years old.
 
A profound connection between the “Shuping Spirit” and Ms. Joy Qiao, Founder and Chair of Governors of Wellington College China
 
Ms. Joy Qiao, Founder and Chair of Governors of Wellington College China is one of the Shuping Awardees.
 
In early 90's, Ms. Joy Qiao was a senior high school student at Shanghai No.3 Girls' High School when she was awarded the 34th Shuping Scholarship. In 1994, Ms. Joy Qiao was then awarded the Jardine Scholarship, a trial in mainland China.
 
The Jardine Scholarship has a four-generation relationship with the Shuping Scholarship. Originating from Mr. Gu Qianlin's grandfather who co-founded a company in Shanghai with the British Jardine Company at the end of the 19th century. In 1982, the Jardine Group established the Jardine Foundation to celebrate its 150th anniversary, which collaborates with Oxford and Cambridge universities to offer full Jardine scholarships of 3-4 years to candidates who succeed in the foundation interview and who received an offer from these universities.
 
Huili School to offer highly valued full scholarships: why?
Cooperation between the Gu family and the Jardine Group
 
As a result of the Long-term sincere cooperation between the Gu family and the Jardine Group, and in view of the excellent performance of Shuping students, Mr. Gu Qianlin proposed to the Jardine Foundation that to select and award one student with Jardine Scholarship each year among the Shuping awardees who graduate from senior high school.

In the final year at senior high school, Ms. Joy Qiao’s excellent performance entitled her to travel to Hong Kong with 20 other candidates to attend an interview with the Jardine Foundation. She came in second place and missed the Jardine Scholarship, but with the efforts of the current Chairman of the Shuping Scholarship, Mr. Gu Jiaqi and friends of Jardine Scholarship, she was able to secure sponsorship from another foundation to subsidise her study at Oxford University. Ms. Joy Qiao then became the first overseas undergraduate student from mainland China to study at Oriel College, Oxford University since the liberation. This became the deepest and strongest connection between Joy Qiao and Shuping Scholarship.
 
Since, Ms. Joy Qiao has been able to meet many Shuping scholars and inspire them to learn from each other and grow together. The experience of studying at Oxford University brings Ms. Joy Qiao on to a world stage. Since graduation from Oxford University and returning to work in China, she established the Wellington College China International Education Group that now includes nine Wellington College International Schools, private Huili schools and nurseries, making it the most successful education groups. Ms. Joy Qiao is deeply grateful for the opportunities provided by being part of the Shuping Family.
 
What mostly moved Ms. Joy Qiao is the Gu family noble tradition: never extravagant, nor flamboyant but positive and giving. This is a model of her own personality, believing that the power of this spirit has contributed to the success of Wellington College China. She wished of one day setting up a Shuping Scholarship in her own school.
 
On the 80thAnniversary of “Shuping Scholarship”, Huili School Shuping Scholarship is established!
 
On December 1st, at the 80th anniversary celebration of the Shuping Scholarship in Huzhou, Zhejiang Province, Ms. Qiao, as a representative speaker of Shuping Scholarship Students' Association, expressed her gratitude for the positive impact of the Shuping Scholarship on her life and personality. As part of her speech, She announced the launch of the Wellington College China International Education Group Huili School Shuping Scholarship in order to promote the belief that "what is gained from the society should be returned to the society”.
 
Huili School to offer highly valued full scholarships: why?
Ms. Joy Qiao's speech on the  80th anniversary celebration
 
This scholarship is open to students from Chinese working-class families in Grades 9 and above who have both excellent character and academic results. The scholarship will provide the opportunity to receive the very best bilingual education at Wellington College China’s private bilingual school - Huili School. It is hoped the scholars become a new generation of pillars within society, contributing to China and displaying a global mind-set, indeed, to truly realise the spirit of a Shuping Scholarship.
 
As the highest-level scholarship programme in WCC, the biggest difference to the previous arts, sports, academic special scholarships is that it has been specially established for students from Chinese working-class families. Moreover, taking the student’s actual family situation into account, the scholarship not only covers the full tuition fees, but also the expenses of meals, uniforms and boarding fees during the time at the school, so that it becomes a 110% scholarship.
 
If the successful scholar meets requirement in academics and character, they can apply for the Huili School Shuping Scholarship up to graduation from senior high school, meaning access to a scholarship worth RMB millions.

Huili School Shuping Scholarship will set up in Wellington College Bilingual Tianjin by 2020,and with the development of the Huili School Shanghai and Huili School Hangzhou, it will be also set up in the next 2-3 years in these schools.
 
Huili School to offer highly valued full scholarships: why?
The unveiling ceremony  of “Huili School Shuping Scholarship"
 
On the Huzhou award and celebration ceremony of Shuping Scholarship’s 80thAnniversary and 110thAnniversary of Mr. Gu Qianlin's birth, Mr. Wang Ronghua, Chair of Governors of Shanghai Education Development Foundation, Mr. Gu Jiaqi, Chairman of the Management Committee of Shuping Scholarship, and Ms. Joy Qiao unveiled the “Huili School Shuping Scholarship". Mr. Gu Weicheng, Vice Chairman of Shuping Scholarship, Mr. Cheng Yihua, President of the Shanghai Shuping Scholarship Students Association, Mr. Wang Xiaofeng, President of the Beijing Shuping Scholarship Students Association, and more than 200 Shuping representatives, witnessed the moment of Wellington College China and Shuping Scholarship coming together to offer further opportunities to students across China.
 
The  continuation of the Shuping Scholarship spirit of “what is gained from the society should be returned to the society”
 
Huili School to offer highly valued full scholarships: why?
Mr. Gu Jiaqi' speech on the 80th anniversary celebration
 
"The growth of each of us does not only result from personal efforts, but more importantly, what kind of generation and society that we live in," shared by Ms. Joy Qiao when she spoke about understanding the Shuping Scholarship’s spirit. “Living in an era of rapid economic development in China, most of what we get actually comes from the society. I can be engaged in the enterprise that I’m passionate about thanks to the joint efforts by many people.
Today, I have the ability to create value for others through my own efforts, which is an opportunity to “return to the society". Being able to contribute in this way provides a tremendous sense of comfort and satisfaction, and when this feeling is associated with creating value for others, we have unlimited internal drive to keep working hard and adding value to society.”
 
Mr. Gu Qianlin often said that the greatest comfort in his life was to see the students he supported, whom graduated from school to contribute to the society. Ms. Joy Qiao' intends to carry forward the spirit of the Shuping family.
 
“Encouraging virtue, maximising capabilities, establishing morality and developing talent” are the identity of a Huili School. The Huili Schools look forward to cultivating a group of students with a high degree of talent, global awareness and the confidence in Chinese culture through this scholarship programme to continuously carry forward the noble spirit of “what is gained from the society should be returned to the society”.

Where Next

 

Academic

 

Career

 

Latest News