Royal Heritage

Wellington College Bilingual Hangzhou is an educational partnership between Wellington College and the China Xiaoshan Science and Technology Polis. We aspire to create a caring, bilingual community that develops well-rounded individuals with strong values and the skills to thrive within an ever-changing global society.

Royal Heritage

Wellington College in England was founded by Queen Victoria in 1859 as a national monument to Britain’s most renowned military figure, the Duke of Wellington, Field Marshal Arthur Wellesley, who also served the country with distinction twice as Prime Minister. Queen Victoria herself remarked that the Duke of Wellington was “the greatest man this country has ever produced”. The school was dedicated to be, and indeed has become, a living monument to the Duke of Wellington in perpetuity.

Heritage

Over 150 years later, the College is one of the most respected schools in the United Kingdom and also one of its greatest educational institutions; pioneering, innovating and transforming education for girls and boys. In the past decade alone, this vibrant and popular co-educational school has reached new heights in today’s rapidly changing and interconnected world.

The school has educated thousands of pupils – or, as the school names them, Old Wellingtonians (OWs) – who have become ardent supporters of the school. Links with the British Royal family also remain strong, with HRH Queen Elizabeth and her husband, HRH Prince Philip, regularly visiting the College. Few schools can cite such a deep and abiding tie to their lengthy history and proud heritage.

我们的悠久历史

英国惠灵顿公学于1859年由维多利亚女王为纪念大不列颠最伟大的军事家并曾两度任英国首相的惠灵顿公爵而建立。女王本人曾称赞惠灵顿公爵为“英国历史上最伟大的人”。而英国惠灵顿公学在其精神指引下逐渐成长为一所杰出学校的事实也成为了惠灵顿公爵永恒丰碑的鲜活载体。

我们的悠久历史

杭州市萧山区惠立学校坐落于中国•萧山科技城核心区,由杭州传化科技城有限公司投资建设,并聘请英国百年名校惠灵顿公学提供教育咨询服务,致力于创造富有人文关怀的双语社区,培养全面发展的、秉承优良价值观以及具备优质综合才能的惠立学生,以使他们能茁壮成长并适应日新月异的全球大环境。

英国惠灵顿公学于1859年由维多利亚女王为纪念大不列颠最伟大的军事家并曾两度任英国首相的惠灵顿公爵而建立。女王本人曾称赞惠灵顿公爵为“英国历史上最伟大的人”。而英国惠灵顿公学在其精神指引下逐渐成长为一所杰出学校的事实也成为了惠灵顿公爵永恒丰碑的鲜活载体。

Royal Heritage

150多年后的今天,惠灵顿公学已是英国最受尊敬的学府之一,同时也是青少年教育改革、创新的先驱。在过去的十余年中,这所男女同校寄宿学校一跃而起,在当今日新月异互联互通的世界中,成长为一所活力四射并广受学生家长青睐的名校。

在过去的岁月中,学校培养了一批批优秀的毕业生,他们被称为“惠灵顿校友”(即Old Wellingtonians ,缩写为OW’s)。而在成才后,他们踊跃投身到支持学校发展的事业中。惠灵顿公学与英国皇室的联系并未因时间的流逝而褪色,反而呈现历久弥新之态。伊丽莎白女王及其夫菲利浦亲王都定期到访学校。作为为数不多的具有历史深意、并与皇室关系紧密的学校,我们不胜荣耀。