Our Identity and Values

Our identity is founded upon the Huili Values that are reflective of our tradition and heritage. The Huili Values for Huili School Hangzhou are those values which form the foundation on which we perform our work and conduct ourselves. As individuals, we have an entire universe of values. However, some of them are so primary, so important to us that, irrespective of who we are, what we are, where we’re from, they are the core values we will abide by. In an ever-changing world, core values are constant. They are at the heart of everything we do, they underlie how we work, how we interact with others, how we learn. They are the practices we use every day in everything we do, not matter who we are.

Our Identity and Values

Our Identity and Values are consistent with those of Wellington College and reflect the authentic and close partnership that exists with the Wellington College China family of schools, including Huili School Hangzhou.

The Huili Identity answers the question “What is the finished product of an education at Wellington College”. The following five interlinked areas describe what we want Wellingtonians to be. Being inspired is primus inter pares.

Inspired

We want Wellingtonians to have been genuinely excited by everything they have done during their time at the College. They will have developed a zest for life so that they, in turn, go into the world ready and able to inspire others. This is the core pillar of the Huili Identity.

Intellectual

Wellingtonians must move into the world with the ability to think critically and to engage in deep learning. They will be able to study beyond the bounds of any curriculum, to be inquisitive and ask questions of everything around them, and be imbued with a life-long love of learning.

Independent

Wellingtonians will develop the personal, cognitive, social and study skills to enable them to cope with the challenges of university and their lives beyond. They will adapt, cope and thrive within an ever-changing world. This will be reflected in our academic curriculum, our co-curricular programme, our commitment to the coaching philosophy, and our continued focus of character development and leadership.

Individual

The aim of a Wellington education is to allow pupils to develop themselves fully in every sense, knowing that interested children become interesting adults. The pastoral care and focus on pupil wellbeing at the College will value each and every pupil as a unique individual. The journey to individuality will also be reflected in the broad curricular and co-curricular opportunities, where very pupil discovers and develops fully their talents, passions and interests, knowing that interested children become interesting adults.

Inclusive

Wellingtonians will leave the College, not in a bubble of elitism, privilege and exclusivity, but with the moral values and social conscience to serve others and do good in life. This inclusivity includes a strong pride in coeducation, and a commitment to internationalism, tolerance for differences and openness to a changing world.

Our identity is founded upon the Huili Values that are reflective of our tradition and heritage. The Huili Values for Huili School Hangzhou are those values which form the foundation on which we perform our work and conduct ourselves. As individuals, we have an entire universe of values. However, some of them are so primary, so important to us that, irrespective of who we are, what we are, where we’re from, they are the core values we will abide by. In an ever-changing world, core values are constant. They are at the heart of everything we do, they underlie how we work, how we interact with others, how we learn. They are the practices we use every day in everything we do, not matter who we are.

In April 2010, the whole Wellington College community voted to adopt five values to help put wellbeing at the heart of everything we do. By collectively upholding these values, we will make the experience of working and studying at Wellington College one that enhances and enriches a pupil’s life. As individuals we may have our own set of personal values and the Huili values are not intended to supplant those. However, when we act in the name of Wellington, we will uphold these five values above all others.

 

The Huili Values Defined: 

Courage

The ability to confront fear, pain, danger, uncertainty or intimidation. To take calculated risks in the pursuit of goodness.

Respect

A positive feeling of esteem for a person, group, entity or quality, resulting in acting with fairness. This can include self-respect which involves not compromising one’s values just to gain approval from others.

Integrity

Consistency and authenticity. Acting in consort with one’s values or beliefs.

Kindness

Showing consideration for others and acting selflessly for their benefit

Responsibility

Being reliable, dependable and accountable for one’s conduct. Fulfilling a duty. Acknowledging the need to serve communities in which we operate.

我们的特质和价值观

杭州惠立学校的五大特质与体现学校文化积淀的价值观相辅相成。五大核心价值观也是杭州市萧山区惠立学校教书育人的基础。每个人都有自己行为处事的价值观,其中一些价值观与其他价值观相比具有普遍通用的意义,无论是谁,无论来自哪里,无论做什么工作,都会遵循,它们被称作核心价值观。世界瞬息万变,但核心价值观却不轻易改变,它们是我们行为的准则,是工作、学习、人际交往的基础,融入在每个人的日常生活中。

我们的特质和价值观

我们的特质和价值观是与其他姐妹学校之间紧密联系的纽带。杭州市萧山区惠立学校作为大家庭的新成员,同样坚定地秉持着同样的特质和价值观。

五大特质定义了我们希望培养什么样的学生,它的内涵包括以下五点。

积极

我们希望学生在校期间能够对他们做的每一件事情兴奋不已。他们养成积极面对生活的态度后,在他们步入社会时,能够启发鼓舞他人。这是五大特质的核心支柱。

慎思

我们的学生必须能批判性地思考问题,进行深层次的学习。他们要能够在课程之外学习,好奇多问,终生热爱学习。

独立

我们的学生会锻炼个人、认知、人际、学习技能以应对学习和生活中的各种挑战。他们会适应、应对日新月异的世界,在其中茁壮成长。独立将体现在我们的日常课程、课后活动、教学方法、性格培养和领导力开发之中。

个性

惠立的教育旨在帮助学生全面发展自己。惠灵顿公学视每个学生为独一无二的个体,给予他们关怀,关注他们的幸福。培养学生的个性将体现在广泛的课程和课外学习的机会中,学生能够充分发现、发挥自己的能力、热情和兴趣,最终让这些对世界充满好奇的孩子变成有趣的成人。

包容

我们的学生毕业后得到的不是精英阶级、特权、排他性等标签,而是拥有行善助人的道德观和为他人服务的社会认知。这种包容涵盖了男女同校教育的自豪感、国际主义精神和面对日新月异的世界保持开放和接纳的胸怀。

上述五大特质与体现学校文化积淀的价值观相辅相成。五大核心价值观也是杭州市萧山区惠立学校教书育人的基础。每个人都有自己行为处事的价值观,其中一些价值观与其他价值观相比具有普遍通用的意义,无论是谁,无论来自哪里,无论做什么工作,都会遵循,它们被称作核心价值观。世界瞬息万变,但核心价值观却不轻易改变,它们是我们行为的准则,是工作、学习、人际交往的基础,融入在每个人的日常生活中。

2010年4月,英国惠灵顿公学大家庭从健全幸福 感的角度出发,共同投票选出了五大价值观。坚守这些价值观能使我们在校的生活、工作、学习更加充实和快乐。作为成年人,我们已经形成了自己的价值观,因此接受这五大价值观并不意味着放弃自己的价值观取向。然而,当我们代表惠立学校待人接物时,必须将这些价值观放在首位。

核心价值观的内涵为:

勇气

勇气指克服恐惧、痛苦、危险、未知或恐吓的能力,以及为了追求成功而敢于冒险的精神。

尊重

尊重指对个人、群体或其他对象表现出尊敬平等的态度。这也包括尊重自己,即不轻易为了获得别人的认可而放弃自己的价值观。

正直

正直指个人行为符合其价值观和信仰,它体现了个人的一致性和真实性。

善良

善良指能为他人着想、无私奉献的精神。

责任

责任指为人可靠、可信、对自己的行为负责,为自己所在的社区及群体履行相应的义务。