惠灵顿特质和价值观

惠灵顿特质回答了“惠灵顿公学的教育培养什么样的学生”的问题。我们希望培养惠灵顿学生下述五大特质。这五大特质互相关联,其中以“积极”为首要特质。

积极

我们希望惠灵顿学生在校期间能够对他们所做的每一件事情兴奋不已。他们养成积极面对生活后,在他们步入社会时,能够启发鼓舞他人。这是惠灵顿特质的核心支柱。

惠灵顿特质和价值观

慎思

惠灵顿的学生必须能够批判性地思考问题,进行深层次的学习。他们要能够在课程之外学习,好奇多问,终生热爱学习。

惠灵顿特质和价值观

独立

惠灵顿学生会锻炼个人、认知、人际、学习技能以应对学习和生活中的各种挑战。他们将适应、应对日新月异的世界,在其中茁壮成长。独立将体现在我们的课程、合作课程项目、教学方法、性格培养和领导力开发之中。

惠灵顿特质和价值观

个性

惠灵顿教育旨在帮助学生全面发展自己。惠灵顿公学视每一个学生为独一无二的个体,给予他们关怀,关注他们的幸福。培养学生的个性将体现在我们的课程、合作课程项目中,学生能够充分发现、发展自己的才能、热情和兴趣,最终让这些对世界充满好奇的孩子变成有趣的大人。

惠灵顿特质和价值观

包容

惠灵顿学生毕业后得到的不是精英阶级、特权、排他性等标签,而是行善助人的道德观和良知。这种包容涵盖了合作教育的自豪感、通过IB课程和海外学校走向国际化的承诺以及无与伦比的服务项目。

惠灵顿特质和价值观

 

五大价值观

2010年4月,惠灵顿大家庭投票选择了五大价值观,使“幸福”一词的概念成为每个人处事的核心。只要共同坚守这些价值观,我们在惠灵顿的生活、工作和学习将更加丰富我们自己的生活。拥有这五大价值观并非意味着我们要抛弃个人的信念。然而,当我们代表惠灵顿在待人接物时,应当将这五大价值观放在首位。无论学生、老师、行政人员亦或校长,作为一个惠灵顿人,都将秉承这五大核心价值观。它们是:勇气、正直、尊重、仁慈、责任。

勇气

勇气指克服恐惧、痛苦、危险、未知或恐吓的能力,以及为了追求成功而敢于冒险的精神。

尊重

尊敬指对个人、群体或其他对象表现出尊重平等的态度。这包括了自我尊重,即不愿为了获得别人的认可而放弃自己的价值观。

正直

正直指个人行为表现了其价值观和信仰,它体现了个人的一致性和真实性。

善良

善良指能为他人着想、无私奉献的精神。

责任

责任指为自己的行为负责的同时为人可靠、可被信任,为自己所在的社区及群体履行应有的义务。

The Wellington Identity and Values

What do we want Wellingtonians to be and to become? These five characteristics describe the Wellington identity.

INSPIRED

We want Wellingtonians to have been genuinely excited by everything they have done during their time at the College. They will have developed a zest for life so that they, in turn, go into the world ready and able to inspire others. This is the core pillar of the Wellington Identity.

Wellington Identity

INTELLECTUAL

Wellingtonians must move into the world with the ability to think critically and to engage in deep learning. They will be able to study beyond the bounds of any curriculum, to be inquisitive and ask questions of everything around them, and be imbued with a life-long love of learning.

Wellington identity

INDEPENDENT

Wellingtonians will develop the personal, cognitive, social and study skills to enable them to cope with the challenges of university and their lives beyond. They will adapt, cope and thrive within an ever-changing world. This will be reflected in our academic curriculum, our co-curricular programme, our commitment to the coaching philosophy, and our continued focus of character development and leadership.

Wellington identity

INDIVIDUAL

The aim of a Wellington education is to allow pupils to develop themselves fully in every sense, knowing that interested children become interesting adults. The pastoral care and focus on pupil wellbeing at the College will value each and every pupil as a unique individual. The journey to individuality will also be reflected in the broad curricular and co-curricular opportunities, where very pupil discovers and develops fully their talents, passions and interests, knowing that interested children become interesting adults.

Wellington identity

INCLUSIVE

Wellingtonians will leave the College, not in a bubble of elitism, privilege and exclusivity, but with the moral values and social conscience to serve others and do good in life. This inclusivity includes a strong pride in coeducation, and a commitment to internationalism through the IB and a service programme unrivalled in schools.

Wellington identity

 

THE FIVE CORE VALUES

In April 2010, the whole Wellington College community voted to adopt five values to help put wellbeing at the heart of everything we do. By collectively upholding these values, we will make the experience of living, working and studying at Wellington College one that enhances and enriches life. We have our own set of personal values and the five Wellington values are not intended to supplant those. However, when we act in the name of Wellington, we will uphold these five values above all others. Whether pupil, early years’ educator, administrator or Head Master, the five core values of being a Wellingtonian are Courage, Respect, Integrity, Kindness, Responsibility.

THE FIVE CORE VALUES DEFINED:

COURAGE

The ability to confront fear, pain, danger, uncertainty or intimidation. To take calculated risks in the pursuit of goodness.

RESPECT

A positive feeling of esteem for a person, group, entity or quality, resulting in acting with fairness. This can include self-respect which involves not compromising one’s values just to gain approval from others.

INTEGRITY

Consistency and authenticity. Acting in consort with one’s values or beliefs.

KINDNESS

Showing consideration for others and acting selflessly for their benefit

RESPONSIBILITY

Being reliable, dependable and accountable for one’s conduct. Fulfilling a duty. Acknowledging the need to serve communities in which we operate.